Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did I go so long without one of these....
We have never had a dishwasher in our house so i promised the wife she would have one by mother's day. After finding out our kitchen cabinets were not modular but one long single cabinet, I wondered how in the heck was I going to fot a dishwasher in here. Well I removed 2 drawers and 2 cabinet doors underneath them. but I still had the framing and floor to deal...
Published 20 months ago by Brian Schaffels

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Got top of the line to avoid complications.
I shopped around and despite other less expensive options decided I wanted this versatile tool to last & perform for a long time. Used it within days of receipt and worked great. Went to use it again yesterday, less than 3 months of ownership, and the switch craps out. Unfortunately it can't be returned. So, I'll see what stuff is usable with whatever alternate I...
Published 15 months ago by fkuyt


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did I go so long without one of these...., May 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fein 72293768090 Top (2013) Kit MultiMaster Oscillating Multi-Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)
We have never had a dishwasher in our house so i promised the wife she would have one by mother's day. After finding out our kitchen cabinets were not modular but one long single cabinet, I wondered how in the heck was I going to fot a dishwasher in here. Well I removed 2 drawers and 2 cabinet doors underneath them. but I still had the framing and floor to deal with..Enter the Fein Multimaster. I was able to make short work of the frame with flush cuts. Then i had to cut the counter top bullnose 3/4 inch higher, done with no problem. Then I cut out the cabinet floor and plunge cut a hole between the 2 cabinets for the plumbing. The Multimaster had the job done in an hour. I have now noticed other jobs around the house I have been putting off but now have a way of doing them with the Fein Multimaster. Worth every penny. Ordered on Amazon and saved almost $200.00 from buying locally. Would HIGHLY recommend !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Tool, Poor Packaging, August 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fein 72293768090 Top (2013) Kit MultiMaster Oscillating Multi-Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)
The Fein MultiMaster is the 'Cadillac' of these type tools. There is no doubt it has a 'Cadillac' price-tag; however, It is sturdy, powerful, and reliable (so far). At 3.2 Amps power it seems stronger than other contemporary machines on the market that claim 4.0 amps I've looked in to for purchase. The volume of the tool is not as loud as some reviews had stated. The weight is not bad either. The 16 foot power cord comes in very handy. The hard tool case holds pretty much all accessories you could ask for neatly and organized.

My only gripe was the packaging for shipping. The first item came with the outer box barely there, or intact. Pieces (tool heads) were missing and if it weren't for the hard tool case I'm sure more would have been 'misplaced'. Amazon was great replacing the tool and its contents overnight; And for a Saturday delivery. This was appreciated in view of the fact that I needed it for a current project completing our basement. Only one day was lost waiting - highly acceptable.

The Product Description put out by Amazon is confusing, possibly misleading, and incorrect when it states that the tool comes with "1 - Profile Sanding Kit". In reality that option can be had for 40 something dollars extra and, of course, separate.

The more I use this tool the more I can speak on it capabilities outside of what I've already used it for to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, and accurate., June 27, 2013
By 
John De Ryckere (Eau Claire, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fein 72293768090 Top (2013) Kit MultiMaster Oscillating Multi-Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)
One thing about owning a home, there's never a shortage of things to do, or if you're like me, tools to buy. I looked at a variety of oscillating multi-tools before deciding on the Fein. The others I tried out either did not have the power to do work quickly or couldn't do fine work. The Fein, while quite pricey especially compared to those available at big box stores, satisfies both criteria. The first job I did with it was to undercut the drywall and door frames in my dining room before the installation of a hardwood floor. Using a piece of scrap flooring as a guide I made quick work of the second phase of the project. The job it did on the door frames was very good, my hardwood slides underneath with a barely perceptible gap, and the gap itself is even. Changing blades is much easier than on most other saws I tried, just pull back the release lever, remove the pin and change blades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far so good, October 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fein 72293768090 Top (2013) Kit MultiMaster Oscillating Multi-Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)
I bought this tool primarily to perform plunge cuts on 2" thick Teak wood and Douglas Fir decking on a battleship which I volunteer on. I've put this tool though its paces for a week, made a number of cuts and although its not easy to cut vertically through hardwood decking this tool performs the task well. Plunge cutting between narrow deck boards cannot be done with a circular saw, jig saw or Sawzall cleanly but this tool is designed for this type of work and does it well. The tool has a nice feel and the motor doesn't bog down or heat up when making difficult cuts. So far so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tool is solid build but the Fein blades are not :-), December 29, 2014
This review is from: Fein 72293768090 Top (2013) Kit MultiMaster Oscillating Multi-Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)
I bought a FMM250q top set(sn. 2014.03XXXXXX) plus 6 extra Fein blades from toolnut for $200 shipped. Before I ended up with Fein I bought a much cheaper dremel MM20 2.5A tool. That tool is quite but not very powerful and finally returned it due to the saw blade went out extremely quickly. I only cut about 10 feet then the blade ruined on dremel. What I'm doing is to fix my floating bamboo floor that don't have enough expansion space. The floor went underneath the Sheetrock, so I have to use this tool to cut a deep trench and then use chisel to rip the bamboo out. The Fein feels really solid and very powerful. This is made for construction not for hobby. Fein is louder, in the corner of the room my ears hurt after several minutes of continues use. I'd guess an earplug is needed for daily use. I ruined 2 BIM wood blades for 3 rooms. That's why I rated 4 stars. This might not be fair since underneath my floating bamboo floor it is the concrete. The blade tips will hit the concrete sooner or later, and eventually the whole blade became bald. Anyway, the ruined the blades can still be grind to flat to serve as a scraper or be sharpened to be knife. I found the material on the blades are very good.

The case is very well build and designed. The handle is very cleverly designed. It can be hide by roll to one side. You have 3 position to grab the tool box. Either sides or pull the handle to the middle to lift it. I like this design very much. There is one problem inside the box. They used black foam to hold the tool but the foam on the right side to support the tool is much thinner then the left side. On mine, the foam on the right side broke during the shipment.

Since the blades of Fein is more expansive and behaved not much better for me as dremel blade, so I'd like to rated 4 stars.

My choice of the multitool order was Milwaukee, Bosch, Makita and Fein. Milwaukee doesn't have a corded version. Bosch doesn't have a kit with as many as blades as Fein at this price. For Markita, Homedepot didn't want to honor a 20% discount from a smaller competitor. So I ended up with the original Fein. I think I made a right choice on buying the top set with extra 6 blades. Buying separately will cost a lot more.

The tool less blade exchange works fine for me. You need to have a little bit of strength and do it SLOWLY for the first several blade changes. As a safety rule, wearing a glove is always help especially if you are not a careful person. My 13 years old son did it too fast and no glove, so it hurt him a little. My 8 years son is fine with the blade change since he did it slow ^_^.

I'm a DIY for home improvements. I did many things in my house. I like Milwaukee and Bosch tools. Bosch blades always last a long time for me. Every Bosch saber saw blade can let me cut several hundred feet of bamboo floor. Bosch has an universal saw blade for multitool. So I'd guess their tool should as good as Fein or maybe even better when consider the blades.

I just saw Bosch has a "Oscillating Multi Tool Adapter". Based on HD reviews, 2 people claim that it works for Fein to use bosch blades. I'm going to get one to open the door for bosch blades. I noticed that some of the Fein blades I own have both Fein and other type of interface(maybe that's OIS). It is interesting to see the competition bring us benefit of both Fein and Bosch.

Wow! We can have either Fein or Bosch and cross use their blades. This might not be good for Fein since Bosch is fairly large to compete with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORTH THE EXTRA DOLLARS, August 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fein 72293768090 Top (2013) Kit MultiMaster Oscillating Multi-Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)
This is a serious pro piece--not a wimpy knock off. It differs from others as you set the variable speed and then just have an on off, rather than a trigger that creates variables speed with pressure...Takes a little getting used to but allows you to be VERY consistent..
Weighty but balanced.. Looks like all the attachments i could need for quite some time.

Definitely has the power to do what you need, no underclassed motor...

Worth the money...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must have for DIY's, August 24, 2013
By 
L. H (Cashiers, NC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fein 72293768090 Top (2013) Kit MultiMaster Oscillating Multi-Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)
Much improvement over past model, Love the sturdy travel case and this tool does soooo much. A must have! This tool is extremely versatile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Fein tool is clearly vastly superior to the other multi-tools i've seen., April 3, 2014
By 
Fred (Cheshire, CT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fein 72293768090 Top (2013) Kit MultiMaster Oscillating Multi-Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)
What an outstandingly useful and versatile tool!

I 'm having a kitchen re-done by professionals and noticed their constantly reaching for this tool -- clean notches in 2x4's, tough corner cuts, cutting out grout, cleaning subfloor, etc.

I'd been looking at multitools for sometime since some of the guys at Habitat for Humanity bring theirs for jobs, but I was never very impressed by their tools ability to do the job.. This Fein tool is clearly vastly superior to the other multi-tools i've seen.

I've now used it on three different projects around the house and absolutely love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True quality, September 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fein 72293768090 Top (2013) Kit MultiMaster Oscillating Multi-Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)
I didn't want to spend this much cash on a tool of this nature but once I started using it I realized what a powerful and precision engineered tool this is. It makes for very easy work out of what would otherwise be a very difficult task. Bottom line for me: A pleasure to use and money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful Multi-Master Tool, August 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fein 72293768090 Top (2013) Kit MultiMaster Oscillating Multi-Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)
Given that this tool has been around for a number of years and woodworking magazines as well as Online tool sites have abundantly praised the product, I doubt I will sway many new minds by stating it serves a useful purpose. While it would not be in my top five "must have" list of woodworking tools, its certainly has a place and function in a well-rounded workshop. A number of other tool makers have come out with their own versions (usually lower priced) but I'm a firm believer in German product quality. Even a casual examination of the case, accessories, and the tool itself show a lot of thought went into it and the result is a durable, long lasting product. Fein was a relatively obscure company until they came out with the Multi-Master Tool but its success was a hit for the company. Prices are more affordable now than when the product first came out. I expect mine to last for many more years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.