Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice within it's limits, but this needs more options
This is a good alternative to buying a binding machine, but it has limitations. Once you get the hang of it, the spiral binder goes on easily, in 30 seconds or less. The cover holes did not quite line up with the paper holes, but they turned out to be close enough. The set will make four presentations and includes 40 sheets of paper or ten sheets [twenty pages duplex] per...
Published on December 27, 2011 by Actmeister

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cuts the need for a machine--works as it should
What's in the box?

Enough materials to make 4 10-page presentations with front and back covers and spiral bind them.

How does it work?

Print on the pre-punched paper and then twist the spiral binding into the holes.

Does it work?

Easily enough. You have to make sure all the pages are stacked properly. It's also fairly...
Published on January 16, 2012 by Doug Hibbard


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice within it's limits, but this needs more options, December 27, 2011
This review is from: Fellowes Twist and Bind All-In-One Machineless Binding Kit, 4 Pack (5226304) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a good alternative to buying a binding machine, but it has limitations. Once you get the hang of it, the spiral binder goes on easily, in 30 seconds or less. The cover holes did not quite line up with the paper holes, but they turned out to be close enough. The set will make four presentations and includes 40 sheets of paper or ten sheets [twenty pages duplex] per presentation. They offer paper separately, so I tested to see how many sheets the binder would hold. The maximum seems to be twenty sheets [forty pages duplex].

The paper has a nice weight to it, and has a flat finish. It's not an especially bright white. I've seen brighter copy paper. The bound presentations open easily and lay flat, though it can be problematic flipping to the next page without fanning the paper a little.

At list price, it works out to $2 per presentation. At Amazon's price about $1.80. It's good they offer additional paper in packs of 50 sheets, but they also need some other options. I would like to see covers and binders sold separately as well. I would also like to see larger binder combs and other types of paper. I'd also like to see tab sheets. But maybe that's just me. After all, if you're going to do a lot of presentations, you'll probably want to buy a binding machine.

And this offers a nice alternative to Kinko's, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cuts the need for a machine--works as it should, January 16, 2012
By 
Doug Hibbard (Almyra, Arkansas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fellowes Twist and Bind All-In-One Machineless Binding Kit, 4 Pack (5226304) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
What's in the box?

Enough materials to make 4 10-page presentations with front and back covers and spiral bind them.

How does it work?

Print on the pre-punched paper and then twist the spiral binding into the holes.

Does it work?

Easily enough. You have to make sure all the pages are stacked properly. It's also fairly easy to print. The pre-punched holes do not exceed the normal margins.

Drawbacks?

The package is handy if you need to make 4 reports that are 8 or 9 pages. If you're out to make 2 20 page reports, then you've got spare covers and binders. If you're making 4 10 page reports, better hope you don't misprint anything, because there's not spare paper for that.

It's also a little on the time consuming side, so if you are going to do a lot of binding, you'd be just as well to invest in a comb-binding machine.

However, if you need a once-a-school year bound report, this will meet that need well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It works., May 3, 2012
This review is from: Fellowes Twist and Bind All-In-One Machineless Binding Kit, 4 Pack (5226304) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
First, you've got to print your presentation (about 10 pages) on the pre-punched paper.
Second, align the front and back covers with the 10-pages of presentation paper.
Third, align and twist the spiral wire onto the presentation (easy enough, but not problem free as some patience and care might be required).

The total process takes less than a minute.

The package comes with 4 packs. The cost of each presentation pack is about $1.80 on Amazon.

One day I had to do a larger job for work and a copy shop did the batch at about $2.5 each. I dropped off and I picked up, worry free.

So, I think it is reasonable to keep a couple at hand for small jobs etc. But for the larger jobs, go find a copy shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Especially Handy or Dandy, February 27, 2012
This review is from: Fellowes Twist and Bind All-In-One Machineless Binding Kit, 4 Pack (5226304) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I am the first ot admit that I am not a "crafty" person. I do not knit or crochet and do not have the patience to spend hours on something that looks like you got it in the Dollar Store. That being said, I am always tempted by projects that can arugably save me money.

This kit contains four covers, prepunched paper and wire spirals. The paper quality is aceptable. Putting it together involved lining up the holes in the cover and paper and threading the spirals through the holes. It wasn't brain surgery but it was a bit time consuming and not fun. The end result was okay, a bit chintzy looking. It would be okay for a short report or estimate but frankly, the machine binding is quicker, easier and really not all that expensive. It isn't a bad product but not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neat Little Kit, January 12, 2012
By 
Richard Wagoner (Rancho Palos Verdes, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fellowes Twist and Bind All-In-One Machineless Binding Kit, 4 Pack (5226304) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is actually a neat little kit. It comes with clear plastic front covers, matte black "think paper" or "thin cardboard" back covers (whichever description you prefer) with a nice, professional texture, pre-punched paper and black spirals ... enough to make four professional-looking reports.

I would have liked more paper ... there are only 40 so you definitely have to buy more if you have a lot of items to bind together, but the paper itself is good quality and worked equally well when run through my ink-jet printer as it did in my laser printer. I prefer heavier paper (24 pound) but the 20 pound paper included is fine for most people.

My son used it for a presentation he needed to put together for school and it worked great. The spirals went right through the paper and covers with little effort, making for a very nice looking report. I highly recommend this kit for anyone needing to make a good impression on a report.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Provides a professional looking presentation, January 3, 2012
By 
This review is from: Fellowes Twist and Bind All-In-One Machineless Binding Kit, 4 Pack (5226304) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I didn't know what to expect when I opened the package. I did find the 4 black coils, 8 front covers, and 40 sheets of pre-punched paper as indicated. Keep in mind that anything you need to have in the presentation kit has to be printed on the pre-punched paper or that no more than 10 sheets and the covers can be included. Installing the coil was a challenge at first because you have to have all the sheets aligned with no slipping. Once the coil starts it's relatively easy to continue and the end result is no different than when done by a machine. As far as price goes, it ends up being about $2.00 per kit which is on par with having an office supply store make them for you. The plus is that you can make the kits in your own office without having to purchase a costly machine or go to an office supply store to have them made. As far as I'm concerned, I think this product is good and it works for small projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Professional looking results for occasional needs, December 28, 2011
By 
Wayne (Silicon Valley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fellowes Twist and Bind All-In-One Machineless Binding Kit, 4 Pack (5226304) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This kit gives you everything you need to create two to four bound presentations. In addition to the four clear plastic covers, four black grain covers and four spirals, you get forty sheets (80 sides) of printable punched high quality paper. You can create four presentations with an average of twenty printed pages in each. I was able to get a bit over 30 sheets (60 pages) between the covers and still have the spiral go on smoothly. You probably won't be able to come up with a single 80 page presentation without the binding process becoming awkward, and turning pages might not be smooth at that point. But any presentation from a handful of pages to about 30 sheets should work well.

If you plan to make presentations such as this with any regularity, you might want to consider a binding machine. But for occasional use, the process goes more smoothly than I would have expected. As long as you don't overload the number of sheets, once the process is started, all that remains is to keep twisting until you are done. Likewise, the presentation will come apart easily for recycling or reuse, if you buy extra printable pages separately.

If you plan to make several larger reports, you will need to buy a refill pack to make use of the leftover covers and spirals. However, you can still end up with some robust reports at a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome product, May 14, 2013
This review is from: Fellowes Twist and Bind All-In-One Machineless Binding Kit, 4 Pack (5226304) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a brilliant idea. If you ever have a project that needs to be bound and you don't have access to a binding machine, this is perfect. Each pack includes 4 backs, 4 clear front covers, 4 spirals, and 40 sheets of prepunched paper. I had two big fears and they both were groundless. I worried about the paper going through my printer. No problems, it fed through and printed perfectly. Then I thought that twisting the spiral through the holes would be awkward. It wasn't. It was super easy, just line up the pages and covers, insert the top of the spiral into the first punched hole, and twist. No misfeeds or problems. It was fast and easy. What a wonderful idea, and so many uses! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pretty good for kids crafts, April 22, 2013
This review is from: Fellowes Twist and Bind All-In-One Machineless Binding Kit, 4 Pack (5226304) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
We used these for some kids crafts. We made a recipe book with lots of cool pictures in it for a birthday.

it was nice, the kids felt that they could really make a "real book". And it was easy enough to use.

Its certainly better than a binder for most things.

I could also see where it would be useful for procedural manuals at work. It keeps things from being bulky. Normally we use a three ring binder and those can be annoying because they are always thick no matter how little we put in them.

I would recommend it for anything where you want to have a slightly upgraded feeling of quality.

Here is the direct link to more paper if you need it.Fellowes Twist and Bind Machine-Free Kit, Pre-Punched Paper Refill, 50 per Pack (5226101)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cost effective kit for producing polished reports, April 12, 2013
By 
BMAR (Northern USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fellowes Twist and Bind All-In-One Machineless Binding Kit, 4 Pack (5226304) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I have used this kits both for producing reports for a committee I work with and work my son's written reports. The kits includes everything need to make a report - pre-punched paper, covers and the binder. This all makes it an amazingly simple kit to use. We increase the utility/value by printing on both sides of the paper. A very easy way to produce a polished looking report with minimal effort and time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.