Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


92 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An important book
These photographs are shockingly beautiful, largely because ofthe deceptive simplicity of style.
[Some] have complained that the photographs in this book are not "artistic" enough. As I see it, the importance and beauty of this book is its willingness to portray women's genitals in an honest, non-sexualized way. Art or abstraction is entirely...
Published on July 20, 2000 by Mike Rust

versus
38 of 51 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it purports to be
This book suffers from a problem in the billing it has been given. I was disappointed. Having purchased it, I would say it should be categorized as a teaching aid, and the book itself suggests that it may be useful to doctors, nurses, or teachers-anyone whose work involves talking with people about their bodies. Unfortunately the book is for sale at Amazon in a section...
Published on July 6, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

92 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An important book, July 20, 2000
This review is from: Femalia (Paperback)
These photographs are shockingly beautiful, largely because ofthe deceptive simplicity of style.
[Some] have complained that the photographs in this book are not "artistic" enough. As I see it, the importance and beauty of this book is its willingness to portray women's genitals in an honest, non-sexualized way. Art or abstraction is entirely opposite to the purpose of portraying the reality of women's bodies, as free as possible from the typical conceptions of Western culture (think of how naked women are usually shown in canonical art, or, better yet, pornography). The remark one reader made that many of the vulvas depicted would scare male readers is quite telling. They might scare a lot of readers, and the confrontation and analysis of that fear is what makes this book immensely important rather than just visually beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars such a useful teaching tool, March 13, 2005
This review is from: Femalia (Paperback)
I used Femalia in a variety of workshops I present for women, many of whom previously didn't even have words for their sexual parts beyond "down there."

And I've found that looking at and talking about these photos often enables women to talk about sexual issues, trauma, abuse or sexual joy, often feeling safe to do so for the first time in their lives.

Now that I've begun reading about the horrible new plastic surgery they call "labial beautification," I wish more women had access to a book like Femalia to see how diverse and wonderful women's bodies are.

It's intriguing to me that many of the reader reviews posted here by by men who complain that the photos didn't do a thing for them. I don't think these were intended to be sexual turn-ons. And those who've complained that these photos are merely gynecological are missing the point. Unlike men, women can't easily see their own sexual parts. It's important and helpful that these show--in a very realsitic fashion--just how we are made.

Bottom line--if you'll forgive the pun--is that I find Femalia to be an incredibly empowering book for the women who've seen it and one of the best teaching tools available as far as female sexuality is concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Femalia, December 21, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Femalia (Paperback)
Femalia is a wonderful book illustrating the many variations of vulva. If any girl or woman thinks her vulva is deformed, ugly, etc. this book should help them understand that each vulva is unique and beautiful. The photography was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Important Work of Art, September 27, 2003
By 
Kate Mckenzie (Wellington, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Femalia (Paperback)
A number of reviewers here have objected to the classification of the images in 'Femalia' as art, on the grounds that they fail to measure up to their aesthetic ideals. But art, as any public gallery worth the name will attest, is far more than mere pretty pictures.
True Art challenges one's worldview. And 'Femalia' certainly does that. It is a brave and lonely voice challenging the contemporary view of the female body, so overwhelmingly submerged in fantasy and falsification.
This is an important work. I highly recommend it to any man genuinely interested in the female form, and to any woman estranged from her own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent in every way., July 19, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Femalia (Paperback)
This a book mothers should give their adolescent daughters and their sisters and their friends.
It is a book women should give their lovers.
It is a book the reveals a spectrum of female beauty few have ever seen. These pictures are presented without sensationalism and without censure. They work as art. They work as anatomy lesson. They work as images for a holy altar to the Great Mother of us all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suberb, extreme high quality photographic book, October 14, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Femalia (Paperback)
Although a small, thin book, this book is superb! It contains 32 color photographs of womens' vulvas; the photographs are extremely high quality, extremely beautiful, and extremely well printed. I like to show the book to as many people as I can; I think it's a brilliant book that all people should consider owning. It is the only book in this area I know of, and a companion Malia volume would be very welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Femalia, October 3, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Femalia (Paperback)
This book was very therapeutic for me! Many women are unaware of the internal features of the labia. I recommend it for women who need to become familiar with their bodies. It's great resource for women who suffer from a sexual dysfunction. For example, Vaginismus, women are scared to look at themself or feel shameful and this book will help them heal from this thought process
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Real Deal!!!, June 29, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Femalia (Paperback)
This book is nothing but vulvas. Pure and simple.
I bought this book because my girlfriend was always asking what other women look like. Her query made me curious too and she had heard about this book. We both enjoyed it and appreciated the clear photos, variety of shapes and colors and gave us a new appreciation of our own bodies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty is truth, and truth beauty., February 22, 2002
By 
This review is from: Femalia (Paperback)
No airbrushing, no artistic lighting, just page after page showcasing the diversity of vulvae. Each one as different as the faces of the women must be that own them; the subjects are kept anonymous so no bias can be given by the viewer; for who is to say what connotes pulchritude of genitalia? This book is at once theraputic and aesthetically pleasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful women!, September 29, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Femalia (Paperback)
I was always nervous about the way my labia looked. Finding this book of pictures in the store helped me immediatly feel better.The drawings in other books are always extreamly difficult to acknowlege as anything that would belong to my body. I have yet to see one drawing that was much more than a bunch of wavey lines put together to form "?"something"?" But this book has actual photos that allowed me to see how wonderfully different all women are. It's just beautifull!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Femalia
Femalia by Joani Blank (Paperback - Jan. 1993)
Used & New from: $1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.