Facility Spring Cleaning Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Beauty Gifts Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 26, 2008
Dr. Mike Adams is a skilled author and a true satirist, and his latest book is written in the spirit of Jonathan Swift. Adams uses words like rapiers (warning to feminists: rapier is to rape as niggardly is to ... well, to the "n" word - i.e., they don't mean anything like the same thing). This bad pun (mine) is something akin to the real skewering Dr. Adams gives to feminist individuals - and the feminist movement - that are making our college campuses today less fun - and far less instructive - than they've been in the past. Would that there be more honest "insider" assessments of the world of the Ivory Tower today - and, perhaps, fewer "true believers" intent on imposing their views on the world, whether the world wants them or not.

You've heard the expression, "I couldn't put this book down." I feel that way - since it arrived from Amazon on Monday, the book has been my constant companion - I've read it at red lights, waiting in line at the drive-through, in my doctor's office (waiting for my annual physical) and over several meals. It is episodic enough to be read in brief snatches, yet compelling enough to stay by your side - like a bag of potato chips you can't put down - until it's finished. If, like me, it left you wanting more, I suggest Dr. Adams' first book, "Ivory Tower of Babel," or his regular column at Townhall.com: [...] However, as much as I liked his first book (hint: a lot) and his regular columns (ditto), I like this latest book even more. It is hard-hitting, to the point ... and relentless in it's successful quest to skewer feminists with their own words.

Other reviewers have itemized the features - but let me highlight a few features, such as:

The lesbian feminist academic who wrote a scholarly paper (published, if you can believe that) on how "queer studies" should be expanded to include love-of-pets (yes, "that kind" of love).

The feminist student who was so outraged at Dr. Adams that she had her daddy write him a nasty note.

The feminist professor who stayed with another professor not her husband (he was also married) at a conference, then bragged about it to her class in vivid detail, then said "what?" when asked if this was academically, professionally or morally appropriate.

The married feminist professor who was hitting on a (male) candidate for a teaching position, and who got outraged at another married feminist professor who was doing the same thing, on the same campus visit.

There are so many more, but half the joy of this book is unearthing the next absurdity.

Beyond that, as a two-times adjunct professor at two state universities, as an administrator at two state colleges, and as the father of a full-time academic professor now in his second major university post, I know from first-hand that Mike Adams' observations ring true. Chapter and verse. Been there and done that.

His wit is sharp, his logic unassailable, his facts clearly substantiated and his targets fairly skewered (usually by their own words and deeds), Mike Adams is in top form. If you have a child heading for college - or if you pay taxes that support a state college - this book ought to be required reading. And, if you have a real concern about today's cultural moral relativity - and want some facts to support that concern, Read This Book!
66 comments|171 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2009
In FEMINISTS SAY THE DARNDEST THINGS, Mike Adams, a tenured professor of criminology at the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, takes a satirical poke at feminists, a collective that he sees as totally lacking in even an iota of humor. And that, Adams urges, is precisely the point. Feminists are seen as locked into a bear hugging mindest that has little to do with equal pay for equal work and everything to do with issues that are the sole preserve of the liberal left. His book is a collection of articles that he had published for the campus newspaper and their brevity cuts both ways. On the plus side, Adams can draw an indelible portrait of a campus feminist who can literally not see one micrometer beyond the range of her limited logic. On the down side, such brevity appeals more to those who delight in such Swiftian jabs but less to those who prefer more sobering and detailed examination of an issue that simply cries out for extensive analysis.

It is hard for many readers to accept that a long time ago, Adams himself was once part of the very tribe that he now punctures with his dry wit. When he was originally hired as a non-tenured professor, he was both a leftist and an atheist. As the years passed, he changed incrementally, but until he was granted tenure, he dared not speak out. But now he dares, and in books like this one, he sees feminists as the antithesis of what higher education should be. The problem with devoted feminists is not that they are sometimes wrong or even perpetually wrong, but their wrongness lies in their willingness and eagerness to go on the attack even against all logic or fairness. Adams fills his book with dozens of first hand experiences with feminist colleagues who do not shrink from the most baseless accusations against him merely out of pique. Part of the attraction of FSDT lies in his even handed replies. He emails his response to the accuser, asking her for further clarification of her charges, all the while assuring her that both the original charge and the clarification will be included in future chapters of his next book. It is no surprise, then, that he rarely now receives any follow up. But we who read his books do not need them. His point that feminist scholarship is an oxymoron is well taken, especially after more than a few feminists asked him an oxy-what?
55 comments|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2009
This collection of letters addressed to the Feminists in Academia is an extraordinarily bold endeavor by Dr. Adams who must feel like a canary in a room full of cats. The only problem is, unbeknownst to the cats, this canary has fangs! Dr. Adams mocks the hypocrisy of the feminist movement in our institutions of higher learning with his unique blend of humor and razor sharp wit. In what must be extremely acerbic confrontations in what can only be described as (ironically) a hostile environment for him, Dr. Adams pulls back the curtain to reveal the man (or woman in this case) pulling the levers and pushing the buttons. He entertains, educates and gets a little comeuppance in the process. A superbly entertaining read!
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2012
This book is great for anyone who would like some insight into the feminist mindset. It was a great read. I read Mike Adams articles when they are published and - since reading his writings, he has never failed to provide me with additional information that would have not been readily apparent. The finally chapter - alone - is well worth it. I actually cried, it was that moving. But - then, again - I am female.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2012
A few months back, Saturnay Night Live did a comedy skit involving the economic relations between China and the US; SNL was criticized because---of all things---some of the economics mentioned were off. It was a comedy skit, people! Come on!

The same thing can be said for this book. It's a satire, folks! It's supposed to put a smile on your face (except for the feminists who, if they try to smile, their faces will crack). If you want a detailed evisceration of feminism check out the works by Sommers and Paglia and Genovese-Fox (all of them women, BTW). So, criticism of this book on the basis that it is not a scholarly work, is absurd. It is a fun book, poking fun at those hate-filled fanatics (and their sycophants), who desperately need to be ridiculed, so their hatred can be diluted (and speaking of hatred, check out the reviews here of those who did not like the satire).
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2011
Anyone who thinks that campus feminism is weird doesn't know the half of it. Mike Adams's insider account shows what craziness many of these people are capable of, made all the worse for being sheltered and pampered by PC college administrations. I can tell similar anecdotes from personal experience. Higher education doesn't get much lower than this. Adams's humorous defiance calls to mind Jesus's cleverness in unmasking the stupidity and hypocrisy of the educators of his day. Adams is an associate professor of criminology at the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, apparently denied promotion because of his political views and activities -maybe even in part because of the publication of this book! The format is a collection of letters to campus feminists, some actually sent and some never sent. Many gave me a good chuckle. But the final chapter, a letter to his adopted Vietnamese daughter, is serious and moving. He praises his deceased grandmother Virginia and holds her up as a true feminine model. Many will see this book as confrontational and negative, but I think it is ultimately life-affirming and upbuilding. After all, it is the radical feminists who are in favor of extinguishing unborn life and humiliating men -another case of victimizers assuming the role of victims. Compared to their often strident, self-righteous tone, I think Adams's style is actually often gracious and gently mocking.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2008
I am a 60-year old professional woman. As a young adult and beyond, I watched the modern feminist movement give birth to itself in much the same way I watch many of my patients at work give birth to their babies--both processes can be described as noisy, messy, extremely vocal but often incoherent, achingly shrill, and painfully loud, with a decided focus on what "self" is experiencing at the moment. And let's not forget the overwhelming sense of satisfaction and pride at what all the commotion produced. At least the babies are beautiful.

Both of Dr. Adams' books neatly skewer liberal/feminist (oops! did I just repeat myself?) inconsistencies and hypocrisy. I made my first mistake in reading his latest book on a trip of several hours with my youngest daughter, aged 29. My second mistake was reading her some of the things that made me laugh out loud, when she asked me what was so funny. As a result, I ended up being forced to read to her for several hours until we got home again, because every time I tried to quit and read ahead, she would whine, "Hey! You're supposed to be reading to ME!" She was much easier to stifle when she was a little girl and I could just send her to bed.

It can't be easy to be Mike Adams, but it sure is funny to read about Mike Adams being Mike Adams, human burr under the feminist saddle. May his tribe increase.
33 comments|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2012
Professor Mike Adams hits the nail on the head about the Left's biased approach to equality. The examples he uses are from his personal life, and he presents it in a way that is both humorous and instructive. This book gives a glimpse of why we have such a divided country today; and it is a good example of why, for the sake of self respect you should never have a liberal as a friend. If the Founders' would see this country now, they would weep.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2008
A great read does not even begin to describe this book. I read it in less than 24 hours, one because is was so great, and two, I wanted to hurry and finish so my wife and I could read it again together. Dr. Adams book is depressing, funny, and hard hitting, sometimes all in one sentence! As a father of three young kids who may eventually enter the college system, this book shed some light on the things we do not see in the media, or hear about on a day to day basis. It highlighted to me what has changed in radicalism since I was in school. And finally, if you read and liked "The Ivory Tower Of Babel", then this book is a great follow-up. If you have not read it yet, consider picking it up as well!
11 comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2009
I spent Valentine's Day riding around running errands with my husband and reading this aloud to him as we rode. (It was a birthday gift from him to me a few weeks before.) He stopped me at one point and said, "I really love you!" because I was laughing at the feminists harder than he was! It's an excellent book, and Adams does what he does better than most -- skewers with great humor the political correctness of college campuses where unconstitutional "speech codes" are one-way streets and dissent is intimidated into silence. Thank God for a man who WILL NOT BE SILENCED.
99 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse