Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book worth reading
Reviewer- Ashley from Franklin, TN nited States This book focuses on the life of a girl in Southern North Carolina. Her mother, a well-cultured woman from Boston, tries to make the girl Kate have the kind of lifestyle that she had. Her father, a layed-back easy-going man, lets Kate choose whichever lifestyle she wishes to have. This book is full of pain and sadness;...
Published on July 11, 2000 by Ashley Moseley

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wish I Could Get a Refund
I bought this book based on the half dozen good reviews posted here on amazon.com. After getting a third of the way through the book, I am confident that the people who wrote these shining reviews are either friends of the author or teenagers.

I can't imagine what the point of this book is. Nothing happens! The characters are unrealistic, the story jumps...
Published on October 14, 2012 by Scout


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book worth reading, July 11, 2000
By 
Reviewer- Ashley from Franklin, TN nited States This book focuses on the life of a girl in Southern North Carolina. Her mother, a well-cultured woman from Boston, tries to make the girl Kate have the kind of lifestyle that she had. Her father, a layed-back easy-going man, lets Kate choose whichever lifestyle she wishes to have. This book is full of pain and sadness; heartache and happiness. I recommend this book to teenagers, as a teenager, I feel I can relate to it and hope that others who read this book will also like it and relate to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book Review of Ferris beach by Jill McCorkle, April 14, 2000
By A Customer
Book Review of Ferris Beach by Jill McCorkle
Ferris Beach is a book that is filled with many details of the characteristics of a small-town. It gives an intimate portrait of each character and their personality. The novel takes place in the south in the 1970's during a time of change. The young girl in the book reveals several details about her family and friends whom she is very close to. The reader can easily become attached to the characters by using a vivid imagination, which allows them to relate personally from their own experiences. The author, Jill McCorkle, touched on every subject that could possibly affect any person who reads it. Kate, whom some would call the heroine of the novel, was at an age where everything in her life could have a lasting effect. She was very impressionable. Her immediate family and her distant relatives could be considered opposites, but Kate loved them all. She was cought in a tug-of-war between what her gut feelings compelled her to do, and doing what she knew would be the right thing. That is something very hard to deal with. There are also friends and neighbor's who contribute the uneasy atmosphere of the community. There are a few twists and turns in the story which capture the reader even more intensely. This story can make the reader sad, or be cheery at the same time. Jill McCorkle has a way with words which allows the reader to feel those emotions. Many have said that she is the finest writer, not just in the south, but anywhere. She is real and authentic with her writing. She expresses real situations, real emotions, and real human nature. The characterizations in Ferris Beach are very well developed and may sometimes resemble someone we know. All of these aspects summarize why this is a great book to read and recommend to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of those books you re-read all the time!!, May 30, 1999
By A Customer
The first time I read this book I was still young, but I loved it. The way Jill McCorkle potrays each character so realisticly is amazing and wonderful at the same time. This is my tenth time reading it and each time I read it it gets better and better. I recommened this book to anyone who loves realistic fiction storys that make you feel like you see the characters to the supermarket tomarrow. I was touched the way I could relate to the main character (Kate). Please take time to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Physical beauty is an important issue for teenage Kate., December 24, 1998
This review is from: Ferris Beach (Turtleback)
Kate and Misty are best friends who are on the fringes of their school's social arena, but there is no feeling that they stick together only because they can't find anyone else. They are true best friends who enjoy each other's company.
Kate has a large red birthmark on her face that she is extremely self-conscious and shy about.
There is a mystery about Kate's beautiful cousin Angela, that never really gets resolved. Angela's mother died while giving birth to Angela, and Kate's father Fred (who is Angela's uncle) and his mother raised Angela. Angela's mother never said who the father was. (One of the other readers thought it might have been Fred himself, whis is an intriguing thought and made me go back and read the book with a new eye.)
Angela is the right age to be Kate's mother if she'd have had her at age seventeen, which causes much speculation and yearning on the part of Kate, who feels stifled by her much older and old-fashioned mother. It always seemed to me that Fred was in love with Angela, who is young and beautiful. Certain his plain, dowdy wife Cleva seems to be jealous and insecure when Angela is around. Kate yearns to be as beautiful as Angela. Misty's mother is a great beauty. Much of the story seems to center on Kate's yearning for physical beauty and the lives of those who both have it and lack it, but eventually Kate learns a more balanced view of this. The beautiful women seem to have as hard a time with their love relationships as the plainer ones do.
This story takes place in the South in the 1970s, when there was a huge gap between the old ways and the new. Bigotry is touched on in several places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wish I Could Get a Refund, October 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ferris Beach (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book based on the half dozen good reviews posted here on amazon.com. After getting a third of the way through the book, I am confident that the people who wrote these shining reviews are either friends of the author or teenagers.

I can't imagine what the point of this book is. Nothing happens! The characters are unrealistic, the story jumps pointlessly around, and nothing makes much sense. But by far the most annoying thing about this book is the author's constant use of italics. Every page contains one or more words in italic type and for the life of me I can't figure out why. The occasional italicized word for emphasis would be acceptable. But why so many?

I won't even mention the typos (of which there are many).

I'm terribly disappointed by this "novel" and will delete it from my Kindle. What a hot mess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not enough follow-through, September 14, 1998
By 
mztup@hotmail.com (San Francisco Bay Area) - See all my reviews
while doing a reader's advisory workshop in our library, i was given this title to read. I had begun by saying that HOUSEKEEPING was one of my favourite books, so taking the information i had given my collegue, she went to Novelist, Amazon.com, and Fiction catalog to see what she could come up with. Indeed this book has quirky characters, but i was disappointed that the quirkiness was just briefly mentioned and not continued. A girl with a birth mark on her face, feeling isolation, and taking the occasional turn at pretending to be Helen Keller, could have gone much further.. i would have like to have seen that characteristic continued. I was very disappointed that there were so much loose ends at the end of the story. Throughout the story we share Kates puzzlement about her mother, about her cousin, but at the end when she stays with her cousin, she only asks if she was her mother, but doesn't follow through with any questions about her cousins father.. which throughout the book gives the impression that kate's father may have been the father, or some other scandal. Even though i was disappointed at the ending, i did nevertheless stay up until 3am to finish the story. I found myself caring about the characters, wanting to go further, and i feel that that in itself is a great feat of writing... i shall now look to see what she has written since this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ferris Beach, October 21, 2003
Ferris Beach a novel written by Jill McCorkles is taken place in a small town down in the south around the 1970's.This novel is about a young gurl named Kate Burns who has wanted to live in Ferris beach her whole life. Kate is a shy,confused young women who was all cought up with her conscience. Her family and realitives who lived some what appart you could say were some what different but no matter what kate still had love for them.kate was trying to get along with herself in her lonely world. in this story there are a few of ups and downs which help you to get into it. a girl named Misty who moves into town from ferris beach. Misty and her family is everything kate wants to be. they end up being good friends and growing up together. they share secrets about every thing until that one night on fourth of july we everything went bad and their lives changed forever. at this point kate begins to realize that life's little supprises can not always be egnored and things sometimes dont endup getting betteryou just get used to it. this book is ful of exciting twists you look foward to. i think that this book is okay. i think there could be a little more excitement in it.Other then that its a great book. the author Jill McCorkle writes in such a way where she helps you to understand and put yourself into the characters shoes. she makes it where you feel like you can relate to the characters and see their point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative novel of a Southern town in the 1970s, December 30, 2009
This review is from: Ferris Beach (Paperback)
This coming-of-age novel packs a surprising punch. McCorkle deftly shows her ability to build a large set of characters, to let them loose, and to have them behave believably. She captures a small Southern town in the midst of social change. Integration is on hand; a Toyota dealer now sits alongside a Ford dealer on the pike; a new high school is being built. We follow McCorkle's main character, Katie, through childhood and early adolescence, to her first love. As she makes her way in the world, she learns about loyalty, betrayal, and dishonesty, and she understands that adults make mistakes. The key is how to deal with one's mistakes and what to learn from them.

This highly evocative novel uses the popular songs of the 1970s and earlier decades as its soundtrack. It fills the reader's mind with the sights, tastes, and smells of the decade. It quietly achieves a high level of literary success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Gets Better Every Time I Read It, October 17, 2005
This review is from: Ferris Beach: A Novel (Hardcover)
It's such a shame that this book is out of print. The premise is deceptively simple, at least at first glance. It is narrated by Kate, who is growing up in 1970's North Carolina. She and the other characters are so well-rendered, so realistic in speech and action, that nothing about this book seems contrived or forced. It gives the reader a look at change and at second chances that come in unexpected and sometimes unwanted ways. It's also about realizing that people and things are not always what they appear. It's about growing up. This is a slower, character-driven novel, both humorous and sad. I think teenagers and adults would enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior!!!!!, May 20, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Ferris Beach (Paperback)
This book seems so real. It's about a girl named Kate. Kate's cousin Angela is a very mysterious young woman. Nobody knows who her father is ,her mother died when she was born. Sometimes you think Kate's father ,Fred, might be her father, and other times I tend to think maybe Angela and Fred are secretly in a relationship. That secret is never unvailed. This book tells about Kate's teenage years and all the good and bad things that happen. It keeps you turning pages rapidly, i would deffinently suggest reading this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ferris Beach
Ferris Beach by Jill McCorkle (Paperback - September 22, 2009)
$13.95 $8.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.