Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rises to my expectations...
This record is as unique as the last, being a hardcore fan *and* an emo fan myself.
1. The After Dinner Payback - 10/10 - Perhaps the hardest and most melodious on the record, combining the two singers exceptionally well...great lyrics too.
2. Lilacs and Lolita - 9/10 - A back and forth between Francis and Ben, which gives them a chance to show off both their...
Published on January 17, 2004 by Amber Riippa

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Disappointment
Their first album and their demo were both incredible listens, but this falls quite short of those. This band is incredibly talented and can play great metal music, but are also good at mellowing out a bit too. Too Bad You're Beautiful is a great cd that mixes both almost flawlessly. The guitar work is complex and should be able to please the biggest metal fan and the...
Published on December 21, 2003 by matt rich


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rises to my expectations..., January 17, 2004
This review is from: Fiction We Live (Audio CD)
This record is as unique as the last, being a hardcore fan *and* an emo fan myself.
1. The After Dinner Payback - 10/10 - Perhaps the hardest and most melodious on the record, combining the two singers exceptionally well...great lyrics too.
2. Lilacs and Lolita - 9/10 - A back and forth between Francis and Ben, which gives them a chance to show off both their talents.
3. No Trivia - 8/10 - Slower, definately, sung completely by Francis, and more emoish, so this song would be more for the emo kids. I like it, but if the guitars were a bit heavier, I'd love it.
4. Miligram Smile - 8/10 - Great lyrics, they're sick: "sew the lips right into your smile" and "everyday I pray for the sadness" but there's room to improve with everything else, it's less melodious.
5. The Second Wrong Makes You Feel Right - 10/10 - excellence, one of my favorites, can't complain at any aspect.
6. Every Reason To - 8/10 - Again with a sort of back and forth with Fran & Ben. The guitars go fast and then slow down, in tune with them, which I like.
7. Autumn's Monologue - 9.5/10 - What can I say? This girl (Melanie Wills) has mad talent, and it shows. When I first heard this song, I couldn't help but to sing along once I got the lyrics down, and the piano adds so much to it.
8. Alive Out Of Habit - 10/10 - Starts out slowly then picks up. Again with the sick but emo lyrics (Identify your patients, XY configurations - I say that I don't need you, but I'm a liar, I swear I do), and great harmony...the "paradox" feeling.
9. All I Taste Is What's Her Name - 9/10 - The emo feel with this one, with the back and forth, but it's not bad at all.
10. The Fiction We Live - 9.5/10 - The response to #7, a real "stop what you're doing, listen, and comprehend" song. it's thoughtful and sweet, but a bit depressive, "deep, deep, deep in the fiction we live..." Sung completely by Fran.
11. I'm The Best At Ruining My Life - 9/10 - Although not quite as good as Short Stories With Tragic Endings, but still worth it. Again, sung completely by Fran. The guitars are in between hardcore and softcore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too Bad This Isnt as good as the first one, September 14, 2003
By 
travis (aberdeen,sd) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fiction We Live (Audio CD)
with the follow up to the brillant "Too Bad You're Beautiful" comes the sophmore realse of "the fiction we live" some may call it a sophmore slump and some might say even better than the first. in my view "Too Bad..." was better and much heavier which the hxc fans out there would like more than this new realease. but if youre more of an "emo" kid that likes the core thrown in there this you will like too. Drummer Francis has a few songs that he sings by hiself like "No Trivia" "the fiction we live" and "im best at running my life". Benjis screaming isnt in the songsas much because of this but its still alright. As on the song "Short Storesi With Tragic Endings" from Too Bad... the ladie singer comes back with track 7 "autumns monolague" then track 10 "the fiction we live" is a respnse to "autumns monoluge" both songs are slower and mostly acoustic. The Cd starts off with Benji's screaming again in "the after dinner payback" to get the blood flowing like Too Bad..francis also addes in his sing-screams into the mix.there isnt a song that matches too "short stoires..." on this album but this album is still really good none the less. the hardcore has drowned a little on this album and singing is taking over a lot but still a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Album is Not Made for Everyone., November 4, 2003
By 
pelfmon (paris, kentucky USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fiction We Live (Audio CD)
I have noticed some negative reviews especially those dissing the band as a failure in the light of their last album. The truth is this band is not trying to recreate the what was done on that album, in fact every song they write comes straight from them and nothing is forced. And this is why not everyone will like this album. When a band does what they want, examples Entombed, Poison the Well, Metallica, Cave In, Bad Religion, Rancid, etc., people always will get disappointed but then again in those same cases the fan base also increases as the band has many facets for many people to enjoy. FATA are an excellent band and when a song of theres is stuck in my head and I haven't even listened to the band in say a week they have something going for them.
This album is great album and should be taken for what is and not be compared to the last album or other bands. Good music is good music, and this is excellent music. Listen to a few of their songs, buy the CD, or just go see them live, Whatever you do give this band a chance they deserve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but missing something when compared to TBYB, October 20, 2004
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Fiction We Live (Audio CD)
Firstly, I'm actually 19, but I can't be bothered creating an account. Now to the album. Fiction We Live is a fairly solid release, but it seems to be too much of an effort to appeal to a mainstream audience. Don't get me wrong, I love the CD, but when compared with Too Bad You're Beautiful, I just feel that this album lacks the energy and pure brutalness of TBYB. That was something that drew me to FATA in the first place. I heard a few songs off TBYB and decided to buy the CD. I loved it. And as soon as FWL came out, I ran out and bought it too. But when I had listened to it...too much emo singing from the second vocalist and not enough of the brutal riffs and screaming from the first. But the female singer from the last track on TBYB returns, and does an even better job on 'Autumns Monologue'. I love her voice, and the song does a good job of bringing you away from the heavier material. All in all, a good, solid release, but if you dislike emo in a big way, you may be disappointed with a lot of the songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great album... FATA comes out strong again, September 23, 2003
This review is from: Fiction We Live (Audio CD)
this album is, from start to finish, simply awesome. I still can't believe how much these guys have taken off, and even though their new label does make them sound more polished (vagrant does that to everyone), they still totally rock out. Only reason i give 4/5 stars is cuz Fran needs to give the mike more to Ben... he's gotta have one of the sickest screams in music today, and to me, that's really what makes FATA shine. While Fran's vocals are cool, there's a billion bands out there that sound like that; more harmonizing or something. All in all definitely worth your $$ though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Disappointment, December 21, 2003
By 
matt rich (Hamburg, N. Y. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fiction We Live (Audio CD)
Their first album and their demo were both incredible listens, but this falls quite short of those. This band is incredibly talented and can play great metal music, but are also good at mellowing out a bit too. Too Bad You're Beautiful is a great cd that mixes both almost flawlessly. The guitar work is complex and should be able to please the biggest metal fan and the mellow stuff is done well and sounds honest. It is one of my favorite cds and, therefor, caused this album to be a disappointment. I got this the minute it came out, expecting some incredible music, but instead I got a much more generic sounding FATA. The metal was toned down considerably, and I don't only mean the screaming. The guitar work is much more generic and full of slow chugging guitars instead of the organized chaos that was the first album. The screaming is all but phased out in favor of the drummers disappointing vocals. His vocals on the first album are fine and the song he does all by himself is one of the best songs on the album. See? I'm not prejudice against emo. Now on this album he sings probably four of five times as much, and it pretty much sucks. I don't know what he did, but he sounds much worse than the first album. Ever line he sings is in the exact same key and sounds the same, causing many of the songs on this album to sound the same. His vocals are a hell of a lot better on the first album and I hope they realize this before the next release. The screamin, on the other hand, is much better on this album, but you won't hear much of it. The lyrics aren't as good as the first album either. They sound a lot like typical emo wear tight clothes, cry, and point and sing along stuff than the first album did. One thing to say for the drummer, though, is that they drums still sound great. The Autumn Monologues is a decent track, but it doesn't belong on the album. It was already to emo without an acoustic all girl vocal break up song. A lot of people have been blaming
Vagrant records for the change in sound on this record, but keep in mind that Vagrant picked this up at the last minute because they were rejected by Island Records and this was actually supposted to be their major label debut, which didn't suprise me at all, as, when I saw them at Warped Tour 2 years ago the majority of people watching them were girls aged 12-15. Thanks, Hot Topic! Anyway, Island rejected it because it had too much screaming. Overall, it isn't a terrible cd; just a terrible disappointment if you loved their last album as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fiction We Live, March 31, 2005
This review is from: Fiction We Live (Audio CD)
OK... if you would like a description of THE FICTION WE LIVE, it's a mesmerizing mixture of punk, hardcore metal and emo... A breed of music that is most uncommon, however satisfing and brutal all at once. The variety of the band's musical talents are expressed fluently, yet in different concentrations in each song. The After Dinner Payback, Lilacs & Lolita and Every Reason To are awesome songs to thrash to, and in turn the album has great cooldown songs such as No Trivia, Autumn's Monologue and The Fiction We Live. I personally love this album, simply for it's outstanding variety and the band's talent in their own unique sound. I give THE FICTION WE LIVE by FROM AUTUMN TO ASHES two big thumbs up and hope they keep their style alive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without a doubt, a masterpeice, November 12, 2004
This review is from: Fiction We Live (Audio CD)
From Autumn To Ashes is one of the best screamo bands on earth. The Fiction We Live is an excellent CD from beginning to end, with Milligram Smile being poetically addicting. Everything about this album is shocking. They've made some serious gains and I advise anyone to buy this CD and I promise you will love it until the day you die.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars <3, July 4, 2005
By 
Chaos (Jaxxxsonville) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fiction We Live (Audio CD)
From Autumn to Ashes is what brought me to the hardcore scene.

This cd is what started it all. And now i just cant get enough. And they are really good live! This is my favorite band. I even like 'Autumn's Monologue' and 'The Fiction we Live'.

"I break in two over you"

Check out:

"The After dinner Payback"

"Lilacs and Lolita"

"Milligram Smile"

"The Second Wrong Makes you feel Right"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Record, December 20, 2003
This review is from: Fiction We Live (Audio CD)
A few months back, I purchased the "Freddy vs. Jason" soundtrack for bands like Ill Nino, Murderdolls, etc. I was listening through the whole album and sampling the bands I had never heard before. From Autumn to Ashes was the first band that competely gripped me. "The After Dinner Payback" was (and still is) an amazing track. I loved the hardcore vocals and furious double-bass drumming, and then the switch to emo/punk style vocals halfway thorugh was very original and kept me entertained. I went out and bought this album first chance I had, and found myself listening to "TADP" a few times before any further listening. "Lillacs & Lolita", the second track on the album, very much resembled "TADP", but was no where near as good. But the next track, "No Trivia", was very much a suprise. The emo/punk style vocalist/lead drummer (which would be interesting to see live) Fran Mark sings this whole emo-style ballad. Normally, I despise emo in all its whiny, apathetic "my girlfriend left me" pity, but this is different. But it's a return to the norm with "Miligram Smile", another one of the best tracks on the album.
Fran Mark sings throughout most of the album, but hardcore vocalist Ben Perri also gets his share. I do prefer Perri's Jamey Jasta resembling voice over Mark's, but we might get more of that on albums to come. The guitarist is good. Lots of soaring, complicated riffs thorughout, but also quiet, acoustic licks as well. The bassist isn't above most metal bands (no Les Claypool, but I wasn't expecting that) but does often play two notes of different strings at the same time, something not seen much in rock music much. However, the drummer is a brilliant highlight. As I said before, Fran Mark is also the lead drummer, which I would see as being extremely diffulcult. It's hard enough for me to play bass and sing at the same time, but to play drums? Hells yea, tha'd be hard. And he's a GOOD drummer, too. Very fast, on-time beats, great loops, fills, etc.
As I said before, I do prefer Perri's voice because Mark's can become annoying at time, as it is very high pitch and can be whiny. However, the brilliant music MOSTLY makes up for it.
Another bring down is the sometimes ridicoulus lyrics. While "The After Dinner Payback" and "Miligram Smile" boast great lyrics, lines like "Half as true and dishonered seamen / Who breathe pacific and fight off demons" in "No Trivia" are seething with stupidity. I mean, you can go ahead and call me immature for pointing this out, but you have to be pretty out of tune to even mention "seamen" in a hard rock song and expecting it to be taken seriously.
But despite its flaws, this album is a good effort and I will definetly check out "Too Bad You're Beautiful". I recommend FATA if you like bands such as Hatebreed, 18 Visions, Static-X, or are a fan of heavier punk, hardcore or even emo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Fiction We Live
The Fiction We Live by From Autumn To Ashes
Buy MP3 Album$8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.