Automotive Deals Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews(1 star). Show all reviews
on February 16, 2015
Very poor citations written by one who obviously had much hatred towards Castro which leads to a biased documentary. I do not recommend this book to one that searches for unbiased history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2009
This book is far too biased to take seriously. Too much in your face, but little in the way of actual facts and documention. Stay away from this one...anything this strident, screams false. Look elsewhere if you want a more accurate depiction of Cuban political history.
44 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2007
"Fidel: Hollywood's Favorite Tyrant" is the kind of radical right-wing piece of hate speech so commonly published and rarely ever read or taken seriously except by radical right-wingers who've already made their mind up about the subject. Do the research and you will see that most of Humberto Fontova's facts are completely off. Che Guevara for example was not a Stalinist, he was a Marxist, true, but he even cautioned against implementing EVERY Marxist idea to a society (this is outlined in "The Che Guevara Reader"). Fontova's claims of the Cuban system are also off, Cuba has the highest life expectancy rate in Latin America and even the purest water sources for the population. Fontova obviously belongs to the hateful Miami Cuban Mafia that would be happy to see Cuba return to it's previous status of a virtual U.S. colony and racist state. Fontova rarely ever touches upon the fact that the United States waged an illegal terrorist campaign on Cuba that has killed hundreds (unlike the false "genocide" numbers Fontova provides here which are ludicrous), in fact, one of the key terrorist, Luis Posada Carrilles, is in U.S. custody and has admitted to blowing up a Cuban airliner with 75 civilians onboard, the Bush White House refuses to extradite him. Fontova calls popular figures such as Oliver Stone "idiots," eventhough he probably couldn't hold his own on a debate with Stone and goes on to lash at other cultural figures (I suppose Fontova also considers Nobel-Prize winner Gabriel Garcia Marquez to be a half-wit for his friendship with Castro). To make matters worse, Fontova has a dead writing style that borders on the monotone. The use of language is bare and simplistic, throwing accusations without facts, attacking others without valid reason and supporting terrorist actions against a sovereign nation. For the real facts on Cuba I would recommend the titles published by Ocean including "Fidel: My Early Years," "Che Guevara Reader," "Latin America: A Continent Awakens" and many others. If you want to read radical right-wing propaganda that would make the likes of Oliver North and Pat Robertson proud, this is the book for you.
2525 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2007
This author is incredibly biased and left Cuba when he was a child- too young to remember or understand anything. I don't know his family's story, but the truth is that most of the Miamians have never even been to Cuba and are 2nd and 3rd generation, and that the first wave of Cubans was not poor people on rafts- it was fascists who supported Batista, rich brothel and casino owners, mobsters, etc. Not a great crowd, to say the least. People love Fidel Castro throughout the world for a reason... check out "Fidel, the Untold Story" for a good documentary that gives the other side. I'm not saying Fidel hasn't done some bad things, but he's not even close to the Stalin that the liars in Miami paint him as. For all my anti-Communist sentiment, I have to say, this book is ridiculous. Anyone who actually believes that Cuba was better under Batista had better think twice about the sources they are hearing.
1313 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2006
This is one of the few books which made me think that I should ask for my money back. Fontova touches on valid points but his selective history and his unbearably basic prose make this book worth less than the paper it is printed on.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2005
I hate to say it but this book seems to display the common misconseptions of anti-communist america as well as the blatent disrespect for a country which is bashed constantly by american media as an island of violence poverty and an uncivilized people. I live in the West Indies and grew up without a hatred of people for their government and without such terrible media. I bet you leave out that Cuba has one of the best medi care services in the world. Its citisens all get free health care and free education. Of course there has been violence against certain groups and I'm sure its government may have a few cowards but it was at the same time that cuba was having its revolution to free the people that the US was hanging blacks from trees. And if we are going to talk about cowardice leaders or incompatent combatants why dont you take a look at who you(the US of A) elected as your president. Both Fidel Castro and Che Guevera came from wealthy famalies both went into respectable professions and after seeing the treetment of their fellow being they decided to give it up to fight for equality. The men and women who leave cuba leave because they want to be rich and better then everyone else instead of equal too. Even the little gonzales boy said he prefered Cuba and he WAS NOT BRAIN WASHED. sorry but this is a very ignorant book.
33 comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2005
As I have stated in previous reviews, when an author writes and reserches an individual, they should be as impartial as possible and present both sides, this book however, is anything but impartial. The audience is clearly the cuban exile community
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2005
Leave it up to people like this writer to give right-winged cons a bad name all on thier own. Horrible.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2005
A very biased book that is not backed up by many facts. The book neglects to mention Cuban-American terrorists like Orlando Bosch who killed 76 Cuban teenagers in a plane who were returning from a lacrosse match in Venezuela. It also doesn't mention the numerous attempts on Fidel Castro's life by our own CIA or the positive changes that have come to Cuba during the revolution.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.