Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$9.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 8, 2004
Hi...
this is a great movie..great transfer and great extra features...commentary, roundtable with hall of fame baseball players...bravo special ...current day update on the actual field of dreams location....BUT , and its a big one...it does NOT contain the fabulous hour long making of documentary from the initial release!!! as well as many of the other bonus features....
so.....if you are a fan , you will most likely want both editions...
I don't understand why they couldn't have included the bonus features from the first "collectors" edition to make this the definitive issue...but Like ON GOLDEN POND ...you get a newer edition with great extras which don't duplicate the original....
anyway...just thought I'd warn fans out there who are thinking of "trading up" for the new edition...
66 comments| 104 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2007
I saw Field of Dreams in 1989 at the theater with my wife and cried my eyes out at the end of it. She thought I was totally crazy and freaked out over the tears that I was shedding over a movie about baseball. When she asked me what was wrong, I didn't know what to say because I had no control over the tears that were flowing. It surprised me as much as it did her. I've since seen Field of Dreams about twenty-five times, and it's now an American classic. I no longer break out in tears when viewing the film, but my eyes still get kind of watery for the magic of the movie hasn't diminished with time. It's just as powerful now as it was eighteen years ago.

As all of you probably know by now, Field of Dreams deals with an Iowa farmer named Ray Kinsella (played wonderfully by Kevin Costner), who hears a mysterious voice in his cornfield one day, saying the famous words, "If you build it, he will come." Since Ray's the only person who can hear the voice, he has to wonder if maybe he's going just a little bit crazy. As the movie progresses, Ray decides to do what the "voice" wants and plows under a third of his major crop so that he can build a baseball diamond for no apparent reason. Now, everybody in town thinks he's absolutely nuts. His wife, Annie (played by Amy Madigan), sticks by him through thick and thin, but she does worry about how all the mounting bills are going to get paid. In time, however, the ghosts of baseball players from the past appear from out of the cornfield to play on this rather unique ball diamond, including the legendary "Shoeless" Joe Jackson (played by Ray Liotta in one of his first acting roles). The catch here is that only Ray and his family can see the ghosts. With the bank threatening to foreclose on the farm, the "voice" tells Ray to go on a long journey to get a reclusive novelist, Terence Mann (played by James Earl Jones), who lives in Boston and an elderly doctor, Archibald "Moonlight" Graham (played by the late Burt Lancaster), who lives in Minnesota, and to bring them both back to the ball field. What happens after that is for the viewer to find out as the film delves into the emotional need for a special "reunion" and the sheer magic of making your dreams come true.

Let me just say that at the end of the film, the camera rises up to show hundreds of cars approaching the Kinsella farm at night, which is poetic in that it eventually happened in real life. Since 1989, over a million people from all over the world have visited the real Field of Dreams, which is located on the eastern side of Iowa about seven miles outside of Dyersville. This movie not only touched my heart, but evidently the hearts of millions of others. It was even nominated for an Academy Award for Best Picture of 1989. I consider this film to be # 1 on my personal top-10 list because it not only deals with the reunion of father and son, but the possibility that you can actually make your dreams come true if you believe in yourself. This special two-disc anniversary edition is definitely worth the upgrade. I spent the money without a second thought. The first disc contains the complete theatrical release, plus a full-length commentary by its director, Phil Alden Robinson, and the director of photography, John Lindley. The second disc contains a number of featurettes. The first is a thirty-minute get together between Kevin Costner and three baseball stars, Bret Saberhagen, Johnny Bench, and George Brett. They watch the movie at Kevin's house and then discuss their careers in baseball, their sons, and how the movie has affected their lives. The second feature is a look at Galena, Illinois, which was used in the movie to represent the small city where "Moonlight" Graham lived--Chisholm, Minnesota. The third feature is a look at the real Field of Dreams outside of Dyersville, Iowa, and how it's grown since its construction in 1988. This is a great little documentary that discusses how this magical field has affected the hundreds of thousands of people who have visited it over the last fifteen years. The fourth feature is the Bravo show: From Page to Script, which deals with the novel, Field of Dreams, and how it was turned into an Academy Award nominated movie. If you love the film, you're going to enjoy this fifty-minute documentary. You finally get to meet the author of the book, William Kinsella, and to hear how the director, Phil Alden Robinson, began to doubt himself during the making of the film. All in all, this is a very special movie with wonderful behind-the-scenes stuff that certainly adds to the enjoyment of the movie. As Phil Robinson says, though the film didn't win Best Picture of 1989, it turned out to be a movie that literally changes people's lives for the better. That's the big reward for him. Highly recommended.
33 comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2003
I love baseball. Not only in its purest form is it the greatest game ever invented, it is also the only game that completely and thoroughly transcends and binds our country to past, present, and future--generation to generation.
Director Phil Alden Robinson's FIELD OF DREAMS pays homage to baseball's majestic, magical link to nostalgia. When a struggling Iowa farmer, Ray Kinsella (Kevin Costner) begins "hearing voices" and subsequently plows under his cornfield and builds a baseball diamond, he becomes a pariah to his community--to his family. But Ray knows he's tapped into a special level of consiousness: a beautiful, soothing karma that slowly but wonderfully manifests itself throughout this incredible film. The baseball field itself becomes a portal to another world, enabling players from baseball's Golden Age to return. To play baseball. As the film draws to its dramatic, moving ending, Ray surveys his field of dreams and remarks, "This is perfect."
And it is.
Kevin Costner turns in his finest performance. Ray Liotta, Amy Madigan, Timothy Busfield, and the great Burt Lancaster are exceptional. But it is James Earl Jones, who plays disgruntled author Terrence Mann and eventual soul mate to Kinsella, who is the catalyst that takes this film to a higher level. And FIELD OF DREAMS goes to that level, and beyond, like a homerun leaving the upper deck. Highly, highly recommended.
22 comments| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2007
OK, I'll start by admitting my bias when it comes to this film. Field of Dreams is my favorite all-time movie--there, I've said it! So this release was obviously among my first HD DVD purchases, and I have to say I wasn't disappointed in the least. It looks and sounds better than ever. A lot of reviewers have taken this HD DVD to task for the apparent grain and false hues in the image, but my conclusion is that this transfer is the very best that can be had from the original film stock. The release shouldn't really be criticized for decisions the director and DP made 15 years ago! So, yes, I agree that this isn't the best image I've seen on HD DVD, but it ain't bad, either. By no means does it distract from the engrossing, emotional storyline. The extras, ported over from the 15th anniversary DVD release, are abundant and interesting, especially for the legions of fans still captivated by this film. They just don't make 'em like this anymore, so don't dare miss this movie (and HD DVD), which makes you who believe that anything is possible if you have faith.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 14, 2004
Field of Dreams is an incredible movie. It is about the importance and timeliness of belief and hope and family and even baseball. It has a fine cast with Kevin Costner, Ray Liotta, James Earl Jones and Burt Lancaster and Amy Madigan who all work so well together. This is also one of a handful of movies that is even better then the book.

I also agree with and want to thank a prior reviewer who suggested keeping your old Field of Dreams DVD (mine is the Collectors Edition) and buying the new two DVD version (rather than trading the older version for the newer one). The extras on both are great. I especially loved the deleted scenes included in the new version as well as a piece on how people still visit the field where the movie was made. Still, The Making of Field of Dreams on the earlier DVD, which is not included in the new version, taught me much about the movie and movie making and added to my appreciation of the movie. If you can--keep both copies in your DVD library.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2013
This is a 2-disc version of Field of Dreams. It is a great story starring Kevin Costner who is a corn farmer in Iowa. He builds a baseball diamond to bring dreams to reality. Great performances, dialogue and plot twists are in Field of Dreams. With over 4 hours of bonus content it is stacked with extras. Universal ported over all the supplements from the 2004 two-disc anniversary edition on DVD. You also get a digital copy. My only complaint is that the picture and audio quality are fairly average.

Special Features:
Audio Commentary
"From Father to Son: Passing Along the Pastime" (SD, 39 minutes)
"Roundtable with Kevin Costner, Bret Saberhagen, George Brett, and Johnny Bench (SD, 30 minutes)
"The Diamond in the Husks" (SD, 18 minutes)
"Galena, IL Pinch-Hits for Chisholm, MN" (SD, 6 minutes)
Deleted Scenes (SD, 17 minutes)
"'Field of Dreams': A Scrapbook" (SD, 90 minutes, 1996)
"Page to Screen" (SD, 46 minutes, 2003)
Theatrical Trailer (SD, 2 minutes)

Video Resolution/Codec: 1080p/VC-1 | Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1
Audio Formats: English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 Surround, English Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo
Subtitles/Captions: English SDH, Spanish Subtitles, French Subtitles

Buy this Blu-ray.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2014
Quick Story recap; Struggling farmer starts to hear a mysterious voice in his fields. He listens to the voice and builds a baseball field and finds himself going on a long trip to find the mystery behind the voice.

This is my favorite Kevin Costner movie. I especially enjoyed Costner and James Earl Jones together on screen. Good acting from everyone.

This movie is very good. There are so many classic lines that i quote from time to time. It is one of those movies that is just iconic in it's genre. This is a movie that any age can enjoy and will enjoy . Terrific story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2000
Most of the time we're told that God moves in mysterious ways. There is a grand plan but it is too complex for any one person to understand. Well, that has never sat comfortably with me and it is this feeling that "Field of Dreams" addresses. We watch spellbound as one act on the part of an Iowa Farmer, brings about positive changes in a great many lives. What at first seems a crazy act, blossoms into a miracle, as the full scope of the plan becomes apparent.

This movie speaks to many parts of the human heart but the common theme is redemption. Most of us have regrets, some big, some small. But all we can usually do is dream about the world of "what if". When Ray Kinsella, (Costner), starts to hear voices, "what if" starts to become very real indeed. Psychiatrists would not hesitate to diagnose a farmer, who hears voices and then plows his corn crop under to build a baseball diamond, as schizoid. But Ray has more faith than most doctors, and his wife, Anni, supports him all the way.

Despite the financial problems of the farm, Ray listens to the voice and takes off on a road trip. He aims to find Terrence Mann, (James Earl Jones), a famous writer from the 60's who has dropped out of the public eye. Interestingly, the voice never told him to do this. It tends to be very general about things, saying "If you build it, he will come" or "Go the distance". But Ray becomes adept at reading the signs and interpreting the specifics.

As he travels across the country, Ray picks up partners. And in the end he manages to participate in several transformation which are much more remarkable than a cornfield turning into a ballpark. A burned-out writer gets an injection of passion. A small town doctor gets to play out a lost opportunity. A disgraced ball player is able to pick up the bat one more time. Ray is finally able to forgive and apologize to his father, and his family farm gets a new lease on life.

It's true that "Field of Dreams" is a feel good film with a happy ending but it's more than the standard Hollywood treacle. Powerful themes are woven amongst some very real characters. Themes like faith, trust, perseverance, selflessness and hope. Of course it also says a lot about baseball, which is not surprising given that Kevin Costner is the star. You walk away from this movie believing in miracles and suspecting that God may know what he's doing after all, at least when he's not busy playing ball down in Iowa.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2015
Field of Dreams has become a classic movie, often quoted and discussed. But this is an obvious conclusion upon watching it for the first time because it's about a man, pure of heart, trying to come to some resolution about his relationship with his deceased father. This is about the strength of a family, about undying friendships and new ones, about the struggles of life, about loyalties.

This is about a plain man and his family as they strive to keep their family farm going as times are very tough. But then starts the hair raising coincidences that piece the story together and things begin to fall into place. Ray Kinsella, the owner of a farm in Iowa where he grows corn begins to hear voices in his head. He follows the voices and plows under a third of his corn to build a regulation ball field. The corn being his only crop and income, a crop which pays the bills.

Then follows his search to a reclusive writer, James Earl Jones, and from there the two of them visit a old retired doctor, Burt Lancaster.
The field is built and all of the old time great ball players start emerging from the corn rows, Shoeless Joe Jackson, played by Ray Liotta, among others. The story evolves and the reason for it all is finally explained.

Anyone who loves baseball will fall in love with this story, anyone who loves their dad will connect, anyone with a dream will connect. It is a rare person who can watch this move and emerge with a dry eye. It is truly one of the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2001
Okay, this is a feel good movie. You cry at the end because you are happy for Costner's character for having this supernatural chance to meet again with his father and "have a catch". They, beyond the grave, reconcile differences they had in life. The plot is fantasy at its best, very far-fetched, but with an excellent cast, which makes the story engaging and heartfelt. It is one of the few movies in which I have enjoyed Costner's performance and found him warm and likeable. Although at first his pairing with Amy Madigan as his wife seemed a bit strange, I came to appreciate their functioning as a family unit. Madigan and Costner are passable as 60s liberal leftovers who try to make a life as farmers in Iowa, but somehow are missing some magic that leads Costner into a quest for himself (midlife crisis, you could say) that makes him hear voices and obey their commands. James Earl Jones is excellent as Terrence Mann, and it was nice to see Burt Lancaster play the small but pleasant role of Archibald "Moonlight" Graham. Ray Liotta was actually also a joy to watch as Shoeless Joe Jackson. I genuinely enjoyed the picture and appreciated that it did not try too hard to teach any lessons nor did it try to be anything more than it was. It also has at its heart a healthy love for American history and baseball's place in it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse