Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hahaha
Larknews is the best thing to come from Christianity since ...well, salvation. This book sprinkles some of the best news articles from Larknews in with a wonderfully hilarious introduction to Evangelical Christianity for those hell-bound sinners that dont have giant Thomas Kincaid paintings adorning walls in every room of their house.

I may not be an...
Published on March 24, 2006 by raven

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Field Guide...
It was just ok, mildly amusing at times, but frequently the jokes got very old and overdone. Sometimes even satire gets stretched a little too thin.
Published 18 months ago by Frank A. Darby


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hahaha, March 24, 2006
Larknews is the best thing to come from Christianity since ...well, salvation. This book sprinkles some of the best news articles from Larknews in with a wonderfully hilarious introduction to Evangelical Christianity for those hell-bound sinners that dont have giant Thomas Kincaid paintings adorning walls in every room of their house.

I may not be an evangelical myself any longer [having moved on to one of those liturgical 'religious' churches] but I spent enough sundays sitting in the padded pews of a smiley happy mega church to know that this book is spot on. If you have a good sense of humor this is definitely a book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christian Saturday Night Live, March 28, 2006
If Saturday Night Live was organized by a bunch of Christians, this is what is would be like. Kilpatrick brings raw satire to a Christian format that makes for some great laughs and insights into Evangelical behaivor. If you're a Christian with a good sense of humer, this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pop-Culture Romp with Super-Sizing Lens of Evangelicalism, March 28, 2006
By 
Ken L. (Chico, Ca.) - See all my reviews
Kilpatrick has an amazing wit. "Jesus is coming back - probably tomorrow." The Rapture as ultimate "I Told You So." The author both celebrates and pokes fun at pop culture. From Sponge-Bob-Square-Pants to Marilyn Manson (who even the devil himself seems to fear), Kilpatrick presents life in all its beautiful, unseemly, squirmy glory, through the super-sizing lens of Evangelicalism. In "Field Guide," Evangelicalism appears less a religious stance and rather more a collection of forgivable, if pesky, cultural-biases. If Evangelical speculations that Pat and Debbie Boon will be playing in heaven, AC/DC in hell, leave you entertaining sympathy for the devil, you're perhaps getting the author's key message: An overemphasis on worldly "trappings" (Christian-paraphernalia, right-wing political-party affiliation) that attend a supposed commitment to following Jesus, misses the point. The religious life is far simpler, yet endlessly more challenging: treat the guy standing next to you in line at the supermarket the way you'd like to be treated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a perfect satire, March 26, 2006
Having grown up in the church and attended a Christian college, it's scary how right on Kilpatrick is in his field guide. I laughed out loud several times in recognition, and shook my head in embarassment as I noted truths about myself and friends of mine. This is a must-read if you are an evangelical with a sense of humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sacred cows, March 21, 2006
If you look at life differently than most people and see humor where others see sacred cows you'll dig this book. If you're an evangelical, reading this book is like seeing yourself on video for the first time -- you'll realize you're not as attractive as you thought. Even so, you'll find yourself laughing way too much and you might even shed a tear and determine to change the way you go about living out your faith. I highly recommend this book, as it is challenging and funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!!!, March 22, 2006
Joel Klpatrick's book, "A Field Guide to Evangelicals and Their Habitat" sounded funny, but upon reading it I realized I was wrong, it was hilarious. I tried to read a segment to my husband, but I was laughing so hard he couldn't understand what I was saying! I just loved the bluntness and the God's honest truth about us evangelicals. Hopefully we'll live this one down. If you want a truly funny and different angle, you'll love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and insightful, June 25, 2006
I bought this book on the recommendation of a few who are malcontent with the evangelical life. I thought it was definitely a good laugh, but if you are evangelical, be prepared to laugh at yourself and not get offended! Though mostly accurate, there were some definite dated things...such as I doubt many evangelical teen girls have Michael W. Smith posters on their walls anymore...a whole new slew of Christian music talent has overthrown the exclusivity of one act. Otherwise, it's a quick easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Parody or mockery?, January 11, 2007
By 
R. Israel (San Jose, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book was funny in many places and accurate for the most part (at least according to my evangelical experience). Sometimes, though, it seemed to fall off the edge from comedic caricature to cynical critique. A number of years back there was a book called "Growing Up Born Again (GUBA)" that did a similar thing, but that book was more effective in pointing out the foibles of the evangelical movement without losing its affection for the topic.

Of course, an anthropological field guide would attempt to remain neutral in its description, so one wouldn't expect Kilpatrick's work to reflect any commitment one way or the other as GUBA did. However, in places the Field Guide lost its sense of genre parody and slipped into a tone that struck me as mockery. That is OK if that is what Kilpatrick wants to do, but it doesn't live up to the really brilliant idea of using an anthropological field guide as a means of parodying the Evangelical subculture of Christianity. The fine line of parody vs. outright mockery is crossed at times and that left me feeling that the fiction of the field guide was not as consistently sustained as it should have been to make the impact of the book more effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you laugh, March 28, 2006
By 
David Murrow (Anchorage, AK USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Funny, funny, funny. Mr. Kilpatrick corrals all the sacred cows of the evangelical church, then lights a barbecue. Very well written, and did I mention that it's funny?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laughed Outloud, June 8, 2006
Joel Kilpatrick is hilarious. This book guts the subculture of evangelicalism in America, and then picks it apart with irreverent, though never disrespectful, insights. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Field Guide to Evangelicals and Their Habitat
A Field Guide to Evangelicals and Their Habitat by Joel Kilpatrick (Paperback - March 14, 2006)
Used & New from: $1.52
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.