Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A flop? PAH!
I thought this "sequel" to "A Fish Called Wanda" was far superior and funnier than the original. Complete with the orignial cast to "Wanda", John Cleese stars as Rollo Lee who is in charge of an English Zoo financed by an insideous American company known as Octopus Ink which has told the Zoo they either make the animals more exciting or...
Published on May 24, 2000 by Bret M. Herholz

versus
34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This film really deserves to be released in widescreen
Either you love this film or you don't care for it. It alldepends depends upon your particular sense of humor. In my case, Iadore it and find it hysterically funny.
My problems with this DVD have nothing to do with the film. Instead, my problems are with the transfer. This disc is one of the worst excuses for a pan and scan disc I've seen. I gave up trying to count...
Published on July 25, 2000 by J. Hauer


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This film really deserves to be released in widescreen, July 25, 2000
This review is from: Fierce Creatures (DVD)
Either you love this film or you don't care for it. It alldepends depends upon your particular sense of humor. In my case, Iadore it and find it hysterically funny.
My problems with this DVD have nothing to do with the film. Instead, my problems are with the transfer. This disc is one of the worst excuses for a pan and scan disc I've seen. I gave up trying to count the number of times that two characters were having a conversation but only one of them could be seen! Often, there was dialog and you didn't even know another character was even there until they spoke!
Even though I adore the DVD format, for this title, buy the VHS version in widescreen instead. You'll get to enjoy the film and actually see the action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A flop? PAH!, May 24, 2000
By 
Bret M. Herholz (Worcester, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fierce Creatures [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I thought this "sequel" to "A Fish Called Wanda" was far superior and funnier than the original. Complete with the orignial cast to "Wanda", John Cleese stars as Rollo Lee who is in charge of an English Zoo financed by an insideous American company known as Octopus Ink which has told the Zoo they either make the animals more exciting or they'll be shut down. Jamie Lee "I'm in love with my body" Curtis and Kevin Kline play Willa and Vince, a couple of Octopus Ink exects who have come to oversee the companies demands on the zoo are carried out. Although, Vince would rather spend the time overseeing Willa. Michael Palin also returns as Bugsy, a chatterbox zoo worker that has a fascination with creepy crawly insects. This movie kept me laughing from beginning to end. Some of the best scenes are the most suttle and even the sexual innuendo's were tastefully done which I think is a rarity for a movie to achieve something like that nowadays. And Kevin Kline does a fantastic job as the conniving Vince. John Cleese also shamelessly pays homage to both Monty Python and Fawlty Towers which makes this movie a treat for fans to watch. So I recommend this movie highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good movies presented badly, July 14, 2004
By 
Chris Truax (Cadillac, Michigan USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fierce Creatures (DVD)
This is a very good movie but to get the feel of the full story it needs to be seen in the original aspect ratio of 2.35 to 1.Many scenes edges are chopped off and distractingly paned across.
Universal releases several other of its popular (and not so popular)films in widesceen format so why not this popular movie. I would recommend the widescreen version of the video tape if you can find it over the full screen dvd.
So to Universal get this movie on dvd the way it was filmed and intended to be seen, please !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not "A Fish Called Wanda", July 3, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fierce Creatures [VHS] (VHS Tape)
It's not A Fish Called Wanda, and that's a good thing because it's a different movie. If it were a sequel, people would still complain as sequels are "never as good as the original". Both "Fish" and Fierce Creatures are comedies but in completely different ways. Whereas "Fish" is a more adult comedy using hilarious sexual situations and harsh language, "Fierce" has more of a Monty Python flavor of lunacy. I find Fierce Creatures the funnier of the two, but A Fish Called Wanda is the better made movie. If you're a Monty Python fan, I recommend this highly. If you're not, you need to rethink your values and hop onto the British humor bandwagon and stop filling your head with the infantile "gross-out" drivel that's so popular right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and worth it in its own right, February 5, 2002
This review is from: Fierce Creatures (DVD)
I've three things to say about this movie:
1. Anything with Michael Palin is worth renting or buying.
2. Too bad this movie suffers from the inevitable "Fish Called Wanda" comparisons. "Fish" appears in many "Top 10 Comedies of All Time" lists. In comparison, "Fierce Creatures" is just a clever little movie. Accept it at that and you'll have a lovely time. These four actors know comedy.
3. Kevin Kline as the Rupert Murdoch-like takeover artist? Maybe the most side-splitting characterization ever seen on film. Why don't more people talk about that portrayal? It's astoundingly great acting. You could watch the scene where he "does the deal" 20 times in a row and laugh every time. Just the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for Monty Python fans...., March 7, 2005
This review is from: Fierce Creatures (DVD)
They're baaaaaack......the funny four from "Fish Called Wanda." John Cleese, Michael Palin, Kevin Kline and Jamie Lee Curtis wanted to work together again, but didn't want a sequel to "Wanda" so they set Cleese to work on a script.

Rod McCain is a NZ media mogul whose "Octopus" Empire swallows up businesses and spits them out again---not quite what they were before. McCain hires Willow Weston (Curtis) as a manager for a media publication and the job is gone before she can even report. With the help of McCain's son, Vince, WIllow manages to land on her feet (Vince is hoping eventually to land her on her back) as the manager of a British Zoo.

Ex-cop, Rollo Lee (Cleese) is already there. He's the Zoo Director and his idea to put the sleepy zoo on the map is to get rid of all of the tame animals and focus on "Fierce Creatures."

Naturally, the three of them collide with some of the best comedic routines I've seen in a long time. With a few brief exceptions, "Fierce Creatures" is funny all the way through.

I would like to note that the full-screen DVD cuts a good deal of the picture off. If you really want to see all of this film, get the widescreen VHS version. I was disappointed that the DVD editing could not be better and that's the reason for deducting one star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boundless enjoyment of this film, September 18, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Fierce Creatures [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I happen to enjoy English comedies. This one is quite good. I laughed all through the movie and enjoyed myself considerably. I disagree that the picture doesn't rate with a Fish Called Wanda. I took the movie out from Blockbuster because I noticed that Robert Lindsay was one of the animal keepers. Look out. This guy is terrific especially after just seeing him in the Hornblower Series. Thanks for a great movie and hope to find other movies with Robert Lindsay in the States.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-release is still in pan and scan!!!!!!!, June 2, 2010
This review is from: Fierce Creatures (DVD)
After being out of print for a while, Fierce Creatures was finally re-released on June 1, 2010. However, Universal has ignored what the fans want! Instead of the re-release being in widescreen, it is still in pan and scan!! I give the film 5 stars because it is hilarious. I wish we could rate both the film itself, and separately, the studio releasing it. Universal gets a minus 10 stars for releasing this marvelous film in pan and scan. I am glad that I did not get rid of my laser disc of this title. At least it is in wide screen. UNIVERSAL...WAKE UP AND START USING YOUR BRAINS. FIERCE CREATURES DESERVES A WIDE SCREEN BLU RAY RELEASE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Creatures" is lovable and cuddly, July 25, 2002
This review is from: Fierce Creatures (DVD)
John Cleese, best known for his turns in Monty Python and Fawlty Towers, stars in a hilarious comedy centering on the lack of all that is cute and cuddly. With a great supporting cast and an ever-growing level of mindless farce, this is a great time-waster.
The movie opens with Willa Weston (Jamie Lee Curtis) coming to work at Octopus Inc., a massive multi-corporation owned by the semi-psychopath Rod McCain, or as he is known there, "Rod Almighty." Willa has to deal with the devious associate Neville (Bille Brown) and McCain's annoying son Vince (Kevin Kline, who also plays Rod), who spends a great deal of time trying to seduce her. She petitions Rod to let her manage a zoo he acquired in England, and gets to go -- if she brings Vince with her.
In England, new director Rollo Lee displays a new moneymaking tactic to the dismayed animal keepers: Only dangerous animals are allowed at the zoo, and anything cute, cuddly, herbivorous, and unable to bite off major appendages is history. The keepers desperately try to convince him that anteaters, bandicoots, tarantulas and lemurs can be vicious, unaware that he is secretly keeping the animals in his home.
But things degenerate even further when Vince and Willa arrive. Vince despises animals unless they entertain him, and soon turns the zoo into a mess of weird costumes and media endorsements. Willa and Rollo dig deeper into shady dealings and corporate psychosis -- only to have a new mess of problems rear their ugly heads.
The cast for this movie is truly inspired: Cleese plays the desperate, Basil-Fawlty-esque director of the zoo, who has a secret soft spot for animals while trying to maintain the appearance of toughness. Michael Palin plays a motormouthed tarantula keeper with encyclopedic knowledge on everything. Kevin Kline plays both father and son so well that it's almost astonishing that Rod and Vince aren't played by different people. Ronnie Corbett is a lesser but still hilarious as the tiny Reggie Sea Lions.
The humor is outrageously funny, especially when it is either clever or farcical: Vince and Willa hearing Rollo's frantic words to the animals: "Get off the bed!" "Ow, don't pull!" "Stop licking my-" and "Go play with each other!"; the hide-the-body sequence late in the film, which has a frenzied energy that will make people roll in the aisles; the keepers faking elaborate injuries; the scene where Terry the tarantula gets loose, causing Cub and Rollo to desperately strip off in a closet; a repeat of Cleese's "light switch" joke; and the following scene where Willa looks into the half-naked Rollo's room, finds a sheep and a pair of very embarrassed women, one of them half-naked as well, and comes to the obvious conclusion. And the scene where police officers are assaulted by zookeepers in big stupid-looking animal costumes is absolutely priceless.
What is not funny? Well, the fart jokes got old before they even started. And Jamie Lee Curtis lacks any amusing qualities whatsoever: she doesn't have a funny moment in the entire movie. While every other character has some individual quirks or humiliating moments that make them more human and understandable, Willa Weston doesn't. She's a plastic Barbie doll. Which brings up another pet peeve: So much attention is paid to Willa flashing her cleavage at Vince and Rollo. Her role could have easily been filled by a Wonderbra. She's a far cry from Carey Lowell's Cub, a smart, pretty and active woman who maintains the respect of the viewers. And the sentimental flashes only bog down the plot, such as Curtis's reminiscing about a gorilla.
Despite these flaws, "Fierce Creatures" is a hilarious comedy that, though it sags a bit in the middle, becomes outrageously funny near the end. Cleese, Kline and Palin are at their best here, and you'll walk away with a new appreciation for the shooting skills of lemurs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apparently, a minority opinion, February 15, 2004
By 
Bob Stout (Houston, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fierce Creatures (DVD)
Unlike others, I liked this much more than "A Fish Called Wanda". I can't really say why - all the principal actors are the same. Perhaps it's just that it's not as edgy as "Wanda" and I'm a sucker for a comedy with a streak of sweetness. Michael Palin was funnier in Wanda, but Kevin Kline's dual role here is suitably smarmy and villainous without going as far over the top as I felt he did in "Wanda". Jamie Lee Curtis is good in both, but John Cleese really won me over with his hapless charm as the wannabe corporate exec with a heart of gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fierce Creatures [VHS]
Fierce Creatures [VHS] by Robert Young (VHS Tape - 1998)
$14.98 $5.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.