Customer Reviews


325 Reviews
5 star:
 (271)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Breasts
Fifty Shades of Chicken: A Parody in a Cookbook opens with the genius dedication, "For chicken lovers everywhere," and just gets lewder from there. In addition to being a parody of "Fifty Shades of Grey"-style erotica written from the perspective of a young hen, "Fifty Shades of Chicken" is also a lavishly illustrated cookbook in its own right. With titles like "Plain...
Published 22 months ago by Anastasia Beaverhausen

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as amusing as I had anticipated
A friend recommended the book to me and at first it seemed funny, but upon receiving it and spending more time reading it, the jokes became flat and the recipes were not all that inspiring.
Published 18 months ago by Wendy in Oregon


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Breasts, November 15, 2012
By 
Anastasia Beaverhausen (Where the Beavers Live) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades of Chicken: A Parody in a Cookbook (Hardcover)
Fifty Shades of Chicken: A Parody in a Cookbook opens with the genius dedication, "For chicken lovers everywhere," and just gets lewder from there. In addition to being a parody of "Fifty Shades of Grey"-style erotica written from the perspective of a young hen, "Fifty Shades of Chicken" is also a lavishly illustrated cookbook in its own right. With titles like "Plain Vanilla Chicken" and "Steamy White Meat," the recipes are what makes this book more than a one-note joke or gag gift (pun intended). If only more cookbooks were this profane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dripping Thighs?!? Extra Virgin Breasts?!? Yes Please!!!, December 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades of Chicken: A Parody in a Cookbook (Hardcover)
What can be said about this book?!? I picked up a copy for my Mother, my sister, and my aunt as a Christmas present. I believe all of them have read 50 Shades of Grey. Regardless if they have or haven't it should be worth a laugh at Christmas time, right?!? When the book arrived I just had to open it. Being a guy, I have not read the original book (not enough pictures for me) but my wife had (thank God) so I knew what the premise was. Boy did it have me rolling on the ground laughing. It is VERY well written. I read it to my wife, out loud, in the best Patrick Stewart voice I could muster. While I might not get all the "inside" jokes that people who followed the original picked up on, I can recognize good writing when I see it. This was VERY well done! The book is beautiful. Nice print, nice pictures, nice feeling to the pages and the binding. Just all around well printed book. I am the cook of our household being a former Sous chef. I have not made anything out if this book yet since the only copies I have are going to other people. But, yes I will admit, I have ordered a copy for myself to read, alone, by the fire for some "inspiration". It truly is food porn in the greatest way! Can I get one in the 50 Shades of Pork?!? This are some bad things that I want to do to some ham hocks!!! (I have seen the 50 shades of bacon but I don't think it is done to the same quality or by the same people based on the amazon preview I can look at)

To the person that gave this book 3 stars because it is gross to think of your food sexually... Lighten up.. No one was implying that you sick a drumstick in your gigi. Although you might want to take the stick out of your... oh never mind!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High quality - and terribly entertaining!, November 18, 2012
By 
Shanababe (The Evergreen State, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades of Chicken: A Parody in a Cookbook (Hardcover)
After reading a couple of excerpts, I decided that I had to get this book - I was hoping it would be the perfect wedding present. I pre-ordered 4 copies, and they arrived yesterday. I am completely impressed with the quality of the book itself, and the pictures are somewhere in between traditional glossy cookbook pictures and tasteful food erotica (male hands, forearms, and abs are pictured - and those are high quality as well!). There are a couple of pages where there is a very minor blurring / shading issue with the text (only noticeable because the rest of the book is so impeccably done), but other than that, I am completely happy. I look forward to giving this at bridal showers, anniversary parties, or any other event I can think of!
** Important disclaimer - I have not tried any of the recipes. However, they look wonderful - and I laughed myself silly reading the cookbook last night! Hurray for FL Fowler!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need a napkin, please...., November 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fifty Shades of Chicken left me hungry and wanting for more. At first blush, I wanted to be that chicken.. to be touched and marinated. Cooked. I wanted Shifty Blades to want me every day.
This book is more than just a parody. It draws the reader in with breathy stories and succulent recipes. Absolutely finger licking delicious. And Julia, she is behind it all. Tsk.Tsk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, November 27, 2012
By 
Laura S (Wheaton, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades of Chicken: A Parody in a Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is a great value. High quality hard cover book, it will make a great funny Christmas present for friends that cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book rules, February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades of Chicken: A Parody in a Cookbook (Hardcover)
Need I say more?

I bought this as a Christmas gift for my sister-in-law and she died laughing. She loves to cook, she loves the original Fifty Shades and now she Loves her new cook book.

This is definitely a gift that keeps on giving!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All things beautiful...., November 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades of Chicken: A Parody in a Cookbook (Hardcover)
.... come in sleek little packages. The book looks beautiful and skimming through it was a treat. It fit the NPR review. Thanks very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Gift, November 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades of Chicken: A Parody in a Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is a gift for my sister. I read about this book in the newspaper and it sounded cute. Although, once it arrived I could see it is even better. I look forward to her reaction when she opens the gift, and then begins to read the book/look at its pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome cookbook, even for (sexually secure) men, January 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades of Chicken: A Parody in a Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is a great way to get friends to come over and cook. Okay, so they're mostly female. And to any of the other few males out there looking for a good chicken cookbook, honestly this one is top notch. I've tried about 4 recipes so far, and each one of them has been delicious. Good place to start if you're just foraying into the realm of cooking like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resisting the urge to make a pun, December 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades of Chicken: A Parody in a Cookbook (Hardcover)
The book was beautifully done, easy to read and follow and so punny! There are short story type things that parody the actual book and the whole thing is just fantastic.Also it has a lot of delicious looking recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fifty Shades of Chicken: A Parody in a Cookbook
Fifty Shades of Chicken: A Parody in a Cookbook by F. L. Fowler (Hardcover - November 13, 2012)
$19.99 $13.34
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.