Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Mudcrutch Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Outdoor Recreation SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 1, 2016
Poorly written silly drivel, the characters are ridiculous and under developed. Its just crappy fluff which can be entertaining and at times this is but not really worth the money, crossfire books are better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2014
I really enjoyed the books. I read all 3 in a small amount of time because they were hard to put down. I had heard so many people talking about these books that I decided to check them out myself. I'm so glad that I did!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
I chose the five star rating because this book met my expectations and more. I love that it was written so classy some erotic books are just plain porn but this book actually had a great story line to go with. Recommended of course for mature audiences. I really enjoyed reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2013
I really enjoyed reading the whole trilogy. I found the main characters to be intriguing, endearing and believably complicated. I found myself wrapped up in the story, really wanting to see what would happen next. By the end I just wanted to spend more time with the characters. I feel the trilogy has been unfairly typecast as a soft core porn or a book about bondage. It is neither of those things. It is a great love story which happens to have some kinky details. At any rate, I thoroughly enjoyed it and will look forward to any future books written by EL James.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2012
Its a very easy read that hard to put down. It's very easy to put yourself in the shoes of the main character and feel drawn to the character of the fictional Mr. Grey, a charcter that would otherwise be a repellant individual. The plot was suspenseful and surprising even if the outcome was expected. The thrill was in the journey which is fine by me since the journey last longer than the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2015
In this rare case... I am hoping the movie is better than the book. Poorly written but enough content to keep you reading.... And I kept reading in hopes it would get better and because "everyone else was doing it".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2014
Major yawn fest. The third book had more of a plot if you could call it that. The trilogy is a white knight rescuing a damsel locked in a tower of virginity cliche. I thought we had moved past this. Would recommend if there was absolutely nothing else to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2014
I am not going to write much.

All the negative reviews I agree with, it has a slight "teen literary writing" about it. However, the positive reviews are spot on as well. As erotica goes this book is well done. My favorite aspect of the book is the underlying romance that is hidden between Ana and Christian. One that is twisted and upsetting but draws you in page after page.

I am very much excited to read the second a third book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2012
I just finished reading all 3 books. In my opinion the first book was the best which I'm using the term best loosely. I wasn't sure what all the hype was for,its a standard romance novel. The concepts aren't new and I've read better romance trilogies. It's definetly not a great piece of literature but its a quick and fun read as long as you take it with a grain of salt. Yes Mr. Grey is a billionaire, flys his own plane, etc but that part doesn't bother me, its a romance novel.
I had a couple of issues though: First Ana is annoying. She is suppose to be a strong character but she doesn't come across like that. She comes across as a typical teenager(she's suppose to be in her 20's) who is insecure, who overanalyzes everything way too much, and who doesn't have a clue about life.
Second I feel this book is actually doing a disservice to the BDSM community. From what I know, just because someone is into BDSM, doesn't mean they have a traumatic past. Its simply another thing that turns some people on, no different than any other sexual activity. And in true BDSM, the submissive gets as much pleasure as the dominant. I feel it was portrayed badly, but again its a romance novel.
My pet peeve with the actual writing was the constant emails, it struck me as filler. I think the book could have been condensed into 2 if you eliminated all the emails, all the inner goddess talk, and half the sex scenes. There is a sex scene every other page and while it didn't bother me, it tends to lose its novelty, I found myself skipping some scenes.
Just take it for what it is, a very light reading, a romance novel with miminal plot and heavy on sex. Don't over analyze it, don't expect a great piece of literature and its fine.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2012
These three books are well worth reading even though they have been labelled a mummy book, what the heck is a mummy book, the language won't appeal to every one and neither will the sexual content but hey they are good reading. I enjoyed them
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse