Customer Reviews


27,779 Reviews
5 star:
 (12,757)
4 star:
 (3,131)
3 star:
 (2,576)
2 star:
 (2,390)
1 star:
 (6,925)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


745 of 899 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Either you love it or hate it...
Okay one thing is clear about `50 shades of grey', you either love it or hate it. I read the book on impulse after a friend recommended it as `similar to twilight', so mind you I had no idea the book dealt with BDSM. My first reaction was `what the hell?!', I have to say it was clearly a surprise and not one I was entirely content with but 50-75 pages in why not...
Published on April 10, 2012 by lccilliyah

versus
24,270 of 25,212 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Did a teenager write this???
I really don't like writing bad reviews. I admire people who have the courage to put pen to paper and expose themselves to the whole world, especially those writing erotica. Having just finished this book, however, I feel compelled to write a review.

About half way through the book, I looked up the author to see if she was a teenager. I really did because the...
Published on April 15, 2012 by meymoon


‹ Previous | 11501 1502 15032778 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, October 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mediocre

Well written but rather boring after the first few chapters. Would not bother reading any followup books, unless they some better content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not much to the story...other than the obvious, October 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Storyline seems kind of long and drawn out. Was really hanging on every word in the beginning but once you get past the initial shock value with regards to the sex and kinky stuff felt like I was reading the same stuff over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok, still dont get what all the fuss is for., October 23, 2012
By 
Kamilah Jean (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Book was good on content, not sure still what all the fuss is for, just my regular reading. nothing out lan dish for all this hype. good characters and your average story like for this type of genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written, but does it live up to the hype?, October 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well written and descriptive, but I thought the book was lacking in depth, much like the relationship of the characters.   
Very little is revealed in the first book, which leaves you wanting more....precisely the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Story okay, writing not so okay, October 23, 2012
This review is from: Fifty Shades of Grey: Book One of the Fifty Shades Trilogy (Paperback)
I am a constant reader and lack a local bookstore. Sometimes, I have to settle for the sad excuse of the literary section of Walmart when I find myself in a bookless pinch. Everyone on the planet has told me I have to read this book, it will blow your mind. I avoided the bandwagon until now. I decided give it a try. The story I enjoyed and I liked the characters but I can assure you my mind is intact, though I might have to read some Isaac Asimov just to remind myself I'm still a smart woman.

That being said, the writing is horrible. I don't care how good a "story" is if the language and writing are bad, the story is ruined for me. I was ready to give up in the middle but I kept on because I can't leave a book unfinished. By the last few pages of running hands through each others hair, pulling, tangling, twisting, smelling, and nuzzling I was ready to drown the book in my bathtub. I'm surprised either one of them had any hair left at the end. The sexual situations become so predictable I started skipping them. If all the repetitiveness was edited out this novel would have been a short story. I don't think I needed to read the rules of the contract three times. I got it on the first go around. Lastly, I noticed typos and important words to a sentence just left out.

However, if you don't mind all that. You will like it. When I tried to ignore it I did actually enjoy the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fifty shades of laughter, October 19, 2012
I read all sorts and read this out of pure curiousity. Once I got over the 'shock' of the graphic sex scenes I have to admit that it was a great read - pure chewing gum for the brain!!! It made me laugh out loud. If only I had all that energy....!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as expected, October 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was disappointed with the ending of this book. I have been told by friends to keep reading and I will eventually love the series. I plan on reading the next two. I hope everyone is right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like the end but begining was slow, October 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have now read all three of the fifty shade books. With the first book I was not as impressed with it as I thought I would be with all the high reviews that some of my friends gave this boook. When the true story came out the book was good. But I felt that it was a slow start to get to a good ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yowzer!, September 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read these the week before my husband and I married. All THREE books in less than a week. Got pregnant on our honeymoon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Contractual sex, September 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fifty Shades of Grey: Book One of the Fifty Shades Trilogy (Paperback)
I admit that, although the story seems unrealistic, I did find myself wanting to find out what the big secret with Christian Grey was. Having read both Nine and a Half Weeks and Story of O, I felt this first book offered nothing new to the genre. The contract Mr. Gray doled out to Anastasia (the protagonist) made me nod off; it could have been paraphrased. Yes, this book was smutty, but since it was marketed as such, I don't feel betrayed. It was too clinically detailed, as so much soft porn is. But at least now I'll know what all the kids are talking about on Pinterest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 11501 1502 15032778 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fifty Shades of Grey: Book One of the Fifty Shades Trilogy
Fifty Shades of Grey: Book One of the Fifty Shades Trilogy by E. L. James (Paperback - April 3, 2012)
$15.95 $8.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.