Truck Month Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Lacuna Coil Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Outdoor Recreation SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 26, 2013
There are already sooo many reviews for this book, but just wanted to give my two cents. James is definitely breaking a taboo by introducing BDSM in this book but unfortunately the characters are just kind of annoying. Although, Christian Grey does indeed seem like quite the hunk. The story is just too much though. I do give her kudos for spurring a huge debate! I read it out of curiosity because of the hype and seems that many others are too, that must count for something. Overall, could have been better written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2012
To respond to another review - I agree that it seems like a teenager wrote this book. The "hero" is straight out of the movie Pretty Woman. A rich man who acquires, sells, goes on jaunts because he can, etc. The "heroine" (and I hesitate to call her that) is remarkable only in her insecurity. Ana is a early 20-something virgin with some major insecurity issues. No one loves her! No one could possibly want her! She whispers or mutters every word she says, as if she's ashamed of the words that come out of her own mouth. That, or she's biting her lip all the time. And, of course, it's so HOT!

There is absolutely no character development in this book. I'm confident that the only people who purchase the other books in this trilogy are just interested in the smut. Fool me once, shame on you, E.L. James and NY Times Bestseller List! I bought this book because I wanted to see what all the hype was about. Question answered - it's just that today's readers don't want character development or proofread/edited writing. Today's readers want a superficial storyline with lots of graphic sex (or vampires).

Really, a sad commentary about the state of the world that this is a NY Times #1 bestseller. Save your money and read Tess of the D'Urbervilles for free on your Kindle.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
honestly, I hate to be negative, but guys, this is just a romance novel. not even a terribly good one. please don't take away my girl card. this book tells its readers that love fixes all of our flaws, and all of the flaws of the people we love. the characters have no gravity to their personality or decisions. it's like those wheels you could spin when you were a toddler and it would land on an animal and the toy would make that sound? like that, Ana & Christian have like 7 basic reactions to any situation, they feel them with no particular affinity or relationship to the situation itself, and each of the 7 are rote, trite, prerecorded spiels.

for reals, the sex would be hot if I gave a damn about any of the characters

=gets off soapbox=
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2013
I enjoyed the beginning of book 3 in the fifty shades trilogy, but a third of the way through I started to lose a little interest and then the excitement picked back up the last 1/3 or so. I love how e.l James ended the story, allowing me to use my imagination to finish a scene that was started. Then came the epilogue which was fairly long and very thorough with a fully satisfied; no questions asked type of finish. I liked that very much. It was a happily ever after finish that gave a peak into Christian and Ana a few years later; A well deserved ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2014
I enjoyed reading through the relationships that developed in the book and I find that they are well presented at times. I wish the rest of the book could be presented in the same manner but the story line is thrust into the background and left to act as a filler in between various sex and other acts. The book is not bad, but it feels incomplete. See what you think.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2013
This is a story of a seemingly sick mind and a women who is impressed with his money and his magnificent looks. The story follows this couple as it becomes clear there is more to this man than his money and his looks, there is danger at every turn. Sex....oh yeah, plenty of sex, crazy sex, dangerous sex and the reader is most likely turning pages with record speed. A well written and easy to comprehend read but be prepared......and keep your spouse or partner NEARBY....believe me you.'ll know why. Now I understand why this book (and the other two sequels) are so popular; add a little sex and it's interesting; add a lot of sex and it's even better but put sex escapades on just about every page--all kinds of sex-good, bad, kinky, crazy sex and you have a winner-----three of them!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2014
I got through to chapter 14 and found it boring. same thing over and over again. not fore me. cheers
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
These books are so dumb. I really don't understand what all the hype is about. Did not enjoy at all.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2013
Along with the first book, this is an awsome book. The story starts to open your eyes about two people who have fallen in love with their own issues. Love the story line. Its not mommy porn you have to look past that and just read.......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2012
The process of ordering the books was seamless and in fact encouraging for future purchases. I am completely happy with my purchases. In fact, I have stopped reading number three in fear that I am so close to the end of the most 'page turning/click over' novels I have ever read. I do not wish to end this love affair I am experiencing with the author and her featured actors - Christian and Ana.I see shades of Ana in me and I find her inspiring and enjoy the exhaustive Christian! Even have my poor husband joining me with the read and he too commented on the wonderful writing style and skills of the author, Madam James. I need you to continue with your new career in writing, please so I can finish book three in anticipation of four and five. Let me know who inspires you! warmest
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse