Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Tap Giveaway Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Luxury Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer TL256 TL256 TL256  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now Learn more

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 9, 2012
I am absolutely in LOVE with 50 Shades...I have read all three books in ONE week and am re-reading the third installment!!! I am really hoping for some sort of fourth installment. These books are awesome. The best romance novel I've ever read!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2013
Well I don't know what all the haters are on about but I loved this final book in the Fifty Shades trilogy. In fact for me each book just got better, with "Freed" becoming my favourite. Granted I had a few issues, like the constant Mr. Grey/Mrs. Grey every single time they addressed each other, which was all cute and newlywedish at first and then just proceeded to drive me crazy. But I still had trouble putting this one down; I am a total sucker when it comes to the tortured hero so I understood my falling for Christian but Ana surprised me and I came to appreciate her as she grew a backbone and learned how to handle her man and his many moods.

Plus there's an actual story here; I mean stuff happens other than in the playroom. We get car chases, assorted stalkers, blips, kidnappings, bar fights, car accidents, drunk Christian, out of control Christian, raging Christian, playful Christian, needy f'd up Christian it was just such an all-out emotional journey and managed to leave me shocked several times. I also found it fascinating to watch Christian lose control and for Ana take it, not what I was expecting but all his shades finally made sense.

Ana's hilarious inner goddess is still with us and I was happy to see the inclusion of more sexy, fun, playful or in this case argumentative e-mails as Ana tries to stand her ground against a very controlling and used to being in charge Christian. These things were part of what separated Fifty from the Twilight universe for me and also why James' writing grew on me since that first book which felt immature, you could really hear her voice here and I now can't wait to see what she writes next.

I also loved the ending which finally "freed" Christian and left me in a very happy place; it just felt so complete, like okay you guys are going to make it, thanks for the journey. Of course this could have something to do with the many assorted epilogues we get, my favourite being the inclusion of Christian's Midnight Sun-ish POV first meeting of Ana. I would read the whole series again from inside his head. Laters.

"I need control Ana. Like I need you. It's the only way I can function. I can't let go of it. I've tried... And yet, with you..." He shakes his head in exasperation. I swallow. This is the heart of the dilemma -his need for control and his need for me. I refuse to believe these are mutually exclusive."

"Do you want a drink?" I ask super sweetly.
"No thanks" he says not taking his eyes off me, and I know that he's helpless. He does not know what to do with me. It's comical on one level and tragic on another."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2013
I was expecting more adult and hard passion love making. Listening to friends describe this book was misleading . While reading this book I felt like I was back in high school listening to a friend talk about her first time. The way these adults act is adolescent to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2012
I don't see what all the fuss is about. The book is ok, the story line is plausible, and you get pulled in enough to care about the characters. But I didn't find it as overly sexy as the media is hyping it to be. If you want crazy sexuality try the Sleeping Beauty Trilogy by Anne Rice, or the Princess Merry and Anita Blake series' by Laurell K Hamilton.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2012
Fifty Shades of Grey: Book One of the Fifty Shades TrilogyThis is certainly an interesting book and full of contrasting and enigmatic twists and turns. No matter how the story is twisted and turned at the end of the day, it is a very delicate but strange love story. The story starts with a young virgin,Anastasia Steele, losing her virginity under somewhat strange circumstances for the innocent and sensitive young girl that she is; and at the hands of the strange and enigmatic, but mesmerising, Christian Grey. Most virgins that I know of will find the deflowering experience painful physically and immemorable. Strangely she climaxes on it and thoroughly enjoys the experience. In spite of the strange contract that is offered to her for her to be Christian's sub and for him to be the dom in a BDSM relationship, she holds her own in the relationship as long as she is not in the red room where she can be tied up and rendered helpless and punished if she so much as disobeys Christian. I did not enjoy the description of the sex and love making as I find the circumstances and the descriptions somewhat contrived and amateurish. But I thoroughly enjoyed the conversations that Anastasia has with her conscience and her inner goddess as it shows the sensitivity of the love she has for Christian. The enigmatic, handsome and mesmerising Christian is again larger than life and somewhat contrived in the way he talks and behaves. I cannot relate to him as a man in any way. A totally screwed up behaviour for a real man that is in love, I cannot see any man behaving like him in real life towards the woman he loves. Nevertheless, I intuitive think that most women will like the romanticism and the power of his character when mixed with his obvious charisma and attractiveness to woman. I strongly recommend this novel more for the woman in you. I do not think that most men will be able to relate to Christian as a man and hence may hate this book. The love story buried in the novel is poignant and touching and only finally pushes out strongly and acutely when Anastasia walks out on Christian at the end of the book. A fine preparation for, and lead in, to the sequel.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2012
Incredible that I even know about this book.

Let alone read it.

Disturbing.

I'm okay with erotica, but why this kind?

Think about the generations after us, our kids, and then read this book and slap yourself.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2013
T

thought the book was poorly written. Had a hard time staying focus. Seems all the book was about how infatuated she was with him and it got boring. Also how stupid anyone would agree with his wishes since a normal person would consider him to be a sociopath
.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2012
Format: Kindle Genre: Early 21st century Romance. Interestingly, Fifty Shades generates comparatively few middle of road reviews. I cannot recall seeing such an even split between haters and lovers of a book. There are fifty hundred-plus reviews of this book/series posted here on Amazon. So I won't bother to summarize a narrative plot that has already been summarized fifty hundred different ways. What's to love, and perhaps more importantly, what's to hate?

Like many readers I read for different purposes in different contexts. One of my reading scenarios is reading while on the stairclimbing machine at my gym. For this I select fluffy novels with narratives I don't have to concentrate on or think about. I read on my Kindle. Generally, a decent fluffy novel will keep me climbing for one hour before I remember just how tired/hot/sweaty/bored I am. Fifty Shades kept me climbing for about 45 minutes before I felt like chucking my beloved Kindle across the gym. But enough about me and context, now onto Fifty Shades.

Fifty Shades of Grey (and its progeny) was easy to read, with a fairly evenly paced plot, and, as many have commented, an uncomplicated narrative about two people playing around with their own sexuality. Essentially, she discovers coital addiction (what else do we expect from a virgin) while he learns (and we learn) to understand his need to control his and others' sexual acts. The narrative language is unsophisticated, the scenes unrealistic, the cultural bloopers laughable, and the characters are caricatures of a poor little undervalued-for-her-beauty innocent and the wealthy, dashing needs-to-be-saved-by-the-woman-who-loves-him rogue.

How is this book different from most romance novels? I think it has to do with the sex. It's everywhere, and what I mean is that it happens nearly everywhere within the narrative world and in nearly every chapter. Some raters are calling this book "mommy porn" to allude the fantasies harried, working women (on stairbclimbers, maybe?) with children and the same old husband can vicariously experience while reading this book. Sure, I see that. And is that so bad? It's fiction, bad fiction for reading sake, but its corniness (and a word that rhymes) makes it both a subject of fascination and scorn all at once.

I have to say the dialog and writing did cause me to roll my eyes. A lot. (Uh-oh.) Yet despite her lack of writing prowess, EL James has enjoyed overwhelming sales (the books are everywhere I look). This is one author who is laughing her way to the bank. I hated that I wouldn't stop reading it even though I didn't like a single line of this book.

I rate this book three stars for its pedestrian construction of "mommy porn" via a fantasy narrative that follows a tried and true popular romance paradigm about a virgin who tries to resist but quickly falls for a young, self-made, wealthy man who has (mommy) issues.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2014
I honestly do not read books if its not a magazine or a school assignment I won't even bother to pick it up, but I have been hearing a lot of hype about this one and what made me finalize my choice to get it is when I saw it featured on wendy willliams (how you doooin') my friend had the book and let me borrow it and I was in love with the series ever since. Not going to lie the second book could have been a tad bit better but in all honesty this book is beyond amazing. I really got into it when I was at work and had nothing to do but it's just amazing It makes me want a Christian with the vanilla alternative and anyone who has read the book would know what that means ;) If this was real I would love to meet these two! This book will make you look twice at your boyfriend/husband. I still haven't had the time to get fifty shades of freed (if you haven't read the series yet do not read the next part) and I cannot wait I cried at the ending of "Darker" with the proposal and I cannot wait to read what the next book holds. I PERSONALLY recommend the series I see it has a lot of bad reviews and I don't see how anyone can hate the book honestly. Maybe if your a dreamer a person who is crazy about love, sex, drama and a little mystery this book is def. for you! don't think twice about this book just pick it up and read it! even if you don't wanna buy it go to your local library and rent it...you can thank me later! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2015
At the end of book 1, I had to go on to book 2 to see what happens next. It is very dark and full of VERY descriptive sex scenes so if you arent int that, don't read it. If you can get past all the sex and BDSM, there is a love story underneath it all and that is what I liked best about all 3 books. If you were/are into Harlequin romances, then you will like this. Think of as a Harlequin romance with a lot of very descriptive sex scenes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse