Customer Reviews


10,618 Reviews
5 star:
 (7,511)
4 star:
 (1,146)
3 star:
 (768)
2 star:
 (442)
1 star:
 (751)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1,391 of 1,484 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting
My husband heard about this trilogy on a morning radio show and recommended I read it. I looked it up, read the product description, and decided that it didn't sound like "my kind of book." Over the next few weeks, several friends mentioned it to me. A very close friend told me, "It's about bondage. But keep an open mind. And JUST READ IT!" So I downloaded it and began...
Published on May 28, 2012 by Sierra K. Sorrell

versus
1,620 of 1,924 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle price too expensive!
Why so much for this Trilogy? I would love to read this set, and I love my Kindle. However, I am not willing to pay this price for a simple download. There is something not quite right when it is cheaper to purchase the actual paper books than the Kindle editions. Publishers need to re-think their pricings if they want dedicated customers, in my opinion.
Published on April 18, 2012 by J. C. Freundel


‹ Previous | 1 21062 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1,391 of 1,484 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting, May 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My husband heard about this trilogy on a morning radio show and recommended I read it. I looked it up, read the product description, and decided that it didn't sound like "my kind of book." Over the next few weeks, several friends mentioned it to me. A very close friend told me, "It's about bondage. But keep an open mind. And JUST READ IT!" So I downloaded it and began doing just that...

The first few chapters of book one set the scene...naive, bookish girl meets attractive, billionaire CEO and lust ensues. The rest of book one was sex. Explicit sex. And at first it was "steamy." But I quickly found myself wondering when it would end. I read it all, though in reality, I could have skipped entire chapters and really missed nothing.

Books two and three got more into the actual story line and made me glad I stuck with it. I quickly realized that the descriptive sex scenes in book one were necessary to fully develop the two main characters. On the exterior, Christian is a powerful, worldly man but through his interactions with Anastasia, the reader begins to see his immaturity and "damaged" side. And Anastasia's oblivion over the fact that every eligible bachelor in her life is fawning over her betrays her presentation of herself as an ordinary, bumbling recent college grad. It was exciting to see the evolution of Christian and Anastasia throughout the trilogy.

To say that this is "a book about bondage" is wrong. Yes, there are a few select scenes that depict sex with restraints or spankings or floggers. But in the grand scheme of things, they were isolated, fleeting events. Instead, I would say this book is a love story. It's about the concessions we will make for the one we love and the "hard limits" that keep us true to ourselves. The author has created two very memorable main characters and a laundry list of amazing supporting characters, including "the inner goddess" who honestly was one of my favorites! And I especially liked the last chapter (following the epilogue) which was told from Christian's perspective. I would have liked to have had more of his point of view sprinkled throughout the books.

What's interesting to me is that these books have received such a wide array of ratings by Amazon users. Clearly the author has done her job of presenting a controversial theme and getting readers talking. I notice a few unifying comments from the reviewers who did not like the book (or gave it a low rating)....

1) The ebook is too expensive. - To this I say that it's unfair of readers to low ball their rating of the author's work simply because they're unhappy with the publisher's price. As a consumer, you have the option to buy or not to buy. You also have the option to buy hard copies rather than ebooks. If you don't want to shell out the extra few cents to buy the trilogy instead of the three individual ebooks, then don't. If you'd rather buy the paperbacks, then do. If you'd rather borrow a friend's hard copy or check it out of the library, go for it. But don't hold that against the author!

2) There was no story line. - To this I say, "You must have stopped reading at the end of book one."

3) There was too much repetition. - To this I say I think Anastasia's inner dialogue includes a lot of "holy crap" and "oh my" for a reason. Despite her personal and professional evolution, she's still a bit unsure of herself and her ability to adapt to her new lifestyle. No matter what, she's still young, naive Ana on the inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


483 of 561 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hopelessly in love with this series!, April 18, 2012
I finished this book last night.. and now I know the saying of "I feel like i've lost a friend". I won't say these are the best written books out there. They aren't suppose to be. I had so much fun reading them every day. I love books that go day by day. It makes it seem more real that way, like I know what they're doing every day. I never in a million years would have thought I would like these books.. let alone LOVE them! This is why I think everyone should give any book a chance.. it might surprise you. I love how this book played with your emotions. One minute I hated Christian and the next I loved him. You could totally feel the emotions through this book. I'm not sure what i'm going to do with myself now that i'm done. They were my first 5 star books of the year and I know I will have a hard time thinking about anything else but these books. So glad my book club suggested them.. otherwise I would have missed out on this wonderful trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1,620 of 1,924 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle price too expensive!, April 18, 2012
Why so much for this Trilogy? I would love to read this set, and I love my Kindle. However, I am not willing to pay this price for a simple download. There is something not quite right when it is cheaper to purchase the actual paper books than the Kindle editions. Publishers need to re-think their pricings if they want dedicated customers, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1,071 of 1,273 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Price too expensive - amazon / kindle needs to review prices, April 21, 2012
I agree with other critic. As much as I want to own this Trilogy, they've set the Kindle edition price far too high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


165 of 196 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Like no plot and atrocious writing? This book is for you!, July 21, 2012
By 
Toaorp (California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I would like to say that I liked this book. I would like to say that the writing was wonderful, the characters three dimensional and the sex steamy. Unfortunately, I really can't.

Discussions about BDSM and power play relationships could have helped to mainstream alternative sexualities, but the characters were so cardboard thin that you could never really grasp why the author kept droning about them (you may already by thinking "oh my" - might as well get used to that phrase, it is used over 80 times in the first book alone).

Want to know a little bit about the characters? Ana is the dumbest person alive. Really. She appears to be an undersexed, ignorant college grad who knows nothing about her body, boundaries, safety (forgetting safe words?! Really??), independence or basic brain functioning (when there is a crazed gunwoman on the loose, she can't figure out why the fireworks were stressful for the bodyguard). Christian is a maladjusted survivor of childhood trauma who copes by sadistically beating and controlling women who look like his mother. He has "stalker-like tendencies" (which are terribly amusing to the characters in the book), a "twitchy-palm" (because threatening to beat people who do things you don't like is SOOO hot...) and is by turns taciturn and distant or clingy and needy. While I'm not against consensual erotic punishment, her lack of consent and the severity of the interactions made this book (and their relationship) a little rape-y for me.

As for the sex, which is why many have found these books so good, it is incredibly repetitive. When one of them isn't murmuring to the other - which happens 140 times in the first book - he gives her a look, she gets wet, she passively exists while they have sexy-times (except for her gyrating hips) and eventually she explodes. Same formula. Every. Single. Time. While this may not be problematic for you for one book, by the end of three you can't wait for it to be over, which is not exactly the feeling I want to have when I finish a trilogy.

For a longer, more articulate review, check out Katrina Lumsden's on goodreads (it is absolutely hilarious). For a better book series, check out Jo Davis's firefighter series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


703 of 852 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rip OFF, April 23, 2012
on several occassions i have chosen to order the printed version rather than the digital because of pricing. i feel abused when the digital cost is moe than the written. the only excuse for such high pricing is greed. shame on you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


204 of 245 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Barbara Cartland Discovers Sadomasochism, April 28, 2012
I am no literary critic. In fact I consider myself a bit of a literary Philistine. But this has to be the worst written book I have ever read. Even I can recognize that there is no real plot, the characters are shallow and irritating, especially the downtrodden little heroine, there is no climax (except for the obvious) and I think the author must have had an appointment or just given up when she reached the end because there is no conclusion (after repeating part of the introduction, the author simply trails off with a "That's all ... for now. Thank you, thank you, thank you for reading.") The sex and S&M descriptions are repetitive and boring (since our hero and heroine are at it like rabbits every three pages or so and how many ways can you describe an orgasm). I am astonished that in 2012, this kind of formulaic, cliche romance can get so much hype and accolades(ordinary girl meets dashing multimillionaire who showers her with trinkets, regularly rips off her bodice, or at least multiple pairs of La Perla lacy panties, and they all lived happily ever after). It's like an updated Barbara Cartland novel spiced up with endless descriptions of sex and S&M. I give it one star because it was such a trainwreck, I was compelled to read it to the very end just to see whether anything exciting ever happens--trust me, it doesn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Some of the worst writing I've seen in years, July 22, 2012
I bought this trilogy to read while on vacation, thinking that it might be a fun read to enjoy on the trip. I should have saved my money and gone to see the world's biggest ball of twine or something equally entertaining.

Written by someone who doesn't seem to have a grasp of American colloquialisms, it has adolescent dialogue, poorly developed characters, a 21-year-old naïve virgin who becomes a multiorgasmic sex goddess, and a billionaire control freak who likes beating the s**t out of women and marginalizing them as being nuts and not worthy of "more." Never mind his whopping case of Stockholm syndrome that is pervasive throughout all three books.

And frankly, I got tired of all the sex scenes. When I started the third book, and it was a rehash of the first two, I skipped ahead to see how things ended. It was totally and completely unbelievable.

Dear mommies seeking porn: Do yourself a favor. Put the kids down for a nap, and search for free porn on the internet. It's much cheaper and there's better variety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


193 of 233 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Um, Wow. Holy Crap. It's 'down there.', May 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If I never hear those phrases again I'll be okay. I will say that the first book was fine for me. I was interested. But by the second book it was all redundant. Reading the same sex scenes over and over and over on every other page really took away from any plot these books could have had. If she had taken out 3/4 of the redundant sex scenes, I think she could have had ONE fine book. There was no need for three books in my opinion. I cannot tell you how many times I began to roll my eyes. "He touched my sex." Seriously? I understand that the author is not American, but if the scenes are set in America with American characters, you'd think the author would at least study up some on some of the terminology. Do people really say "He cupped my sex?" Also, I found it laughable that this virgin became such an expert in the orgasm department that she was able to give multiple orgasms when told to. I have to say I also felt really weird reading this as an adult. The book itself read to me like a teenager's thoughts. Not a twenty-something's. So when I'm having to trudge through sex scenes where the character seems to think and act like she's 15 it was really kind of odd and weird. Also, the man is a billionaire. Does he only have two outfits? Was there really a need to constantly let us know what they were wearing? I think her plum dress is probably worn out by now. Does she not have any other clothes? Also, the bit part in the last book about the kidnapping, etc. That plot just seemed thrown in there to me. It was almost like she was desperate to keep the books flowing, but lacked in the imagination department. I honestly expected the book to finally end in the second book thinking it could have easily ended. But it just kept going on and on. Definitely was not worth the thirty dollars I paid for this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


148 of 178 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars After the first book, just stop, May 15, 2012
By 
Can't lie, I bought it after the hilarious SNL spoof. The first book was pretty thrilling in terms fulfilling cliches that all girls thought about since middle school--handsome rich guy, elusive and mysterious, determined to pursue you at all cost, suddenly showing up at places unannounced to take your breath away, etc. She loves him and keeps saying so, he keeps brooding and telling her to eat. I know I didn't get into this for literary rewards, I just want to fantasize about Christian Grey because guys like him are as real as a tap-dancing unicorn (seriously, an Adonis billionaire at the age of 27? Please, even Mark Zuckerberg has a pot belly).

However, I would strongly advice you to stop reading after the first book (especially if you enjoyed it). I get that this is based on Twilight's fan fiction, but man does it get annoying very fast. The first book I read through in two days, the other two (though trying hard to like it) could only be skimmed over with a snort. I pressed the Kindle refund in no time. What started as a sorta believable narration from a 21-year old morphed into the voice of the author's inner old cougar. This is clearly her middle-aged fantasy and she is not modest about deploying every cliche.

It seems like E.L. James has literally ran out of ways to shake up the vocabulary and sentence structures from the first book. In fact, it started mirroring Twilight's simpering speech of "he's too good for me, he is so handsome, I can't believe he's mine, oh I love him so much" prose to ad nauseam. If I closed my eyes I would have sworn two 13-year old girls got together and compiled a super list of the perfect guy. Christian is handsome, rich and glowers a lot--that is as complex as his character gets. Ana, though charmingly stubborn and somewhat smart in the first novel, has become an idiot lacking in the simplest of common sense. I am a woman in my 20s, college educated, and I find Ana's growing stupidity very out of touch and aggravating. This is what the author thinks 20-something year olds do versus understanding how we really operate. Ana gets herself in trouble in not-so-cute or sympathetic ways while Christian growls and suddenly shows up everywhere at the drop of a hat (doesn't a man like that work?). Christian also needs a new pair of pants because he's wearing the socks off of those flannels for the past three books.

The s*x? Let's not even go there. Ladies, we can all agree that unless you are in the adult film industry, a big "o" every s-i-n-g-l-e time is just acting. Not even good acting because we at least pace it out (don't lie, we've all been there). Perhaps Mr. James should take notice. It repeated like a bad porn formula from the 90s after the first book...curious, does the author watch lots of those? It sure sounds like it, you old minx.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 21062 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy Set
Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy Set by E. L. James (Paperback - 2011)
Used & New from: $15.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.