Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A More Mature Melodic Sound With A Message
One thing I love about For Today is that every album from them is great in their own right for different reasons. Each one has a different feel from the next and conveys different messages. "Portraits" was all about prophets from the Old Testament, "Breaker" was a concept album about a man's journey to salvation, and this one is no different. "Fight...
Published 5 months ago by Brian Mohler

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars amazing cd, bad condition
First of all, there was nothing wrong with the actual CD, the music on it is amazing and inspirational. As far as the band and their music goes it is completely amazing and has been since day one. When i got the album in the mail however, it was shipped in the worst possible condition, As soon as i took the plastic off of the album it self there were cracks all over the...
Published 4 months ago by shadow walker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A More Mature Melodic Sound With A Message, February 4, 2014
This review is from: Fight the Silence (MP3 Music)
One thing I love about For Today is that every album from them is great in their own right for different reasons. Each one has a different feel from the next and conveys different messages. "Portraits" was all about prophets from the Old Testament, "Breaker" was a concept album about a man's journey to salvation, and this one is no different. "Fight The Silence" is their most socially-conscious album to date dealing with such subjects as human trafficking, greed, helping the poor/homeless, and children who have been left without a father. It is a more melodic album than their last efforts, but that doesn't mean that they "sold out". No matter which album it is, For Today has always found the right sound musically for their lyrics and I believe that that's the sound that they needed to go along with the lyrics on this album. The added clean vocals of their guitarist Ryan Leitru is a welcome addition to the album as well, especially after hearing his amazing acoustic cover of "Fearless" on their "Prevailer" EP, and with the inclusion guest vocals from Matty Mullins of Memphis May Fire on the song "Break The Cycle" makes this a great album overall. I highly recommend you pick this up because For Today has and always been a great band that is grounded in their Christian faith and has always had something different to add to the metal world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Fight the Silence' - For Today's strongest album yet, February 9, 2014
This review is from: Fight the Silence (Audio CD)
Before 'Fight the Silence,' For Today was one of those groups that I always told people that I sort of liked but that was about as far as it went. However, that changed with the new album as it has blown me away! This album is a lyrical and musical treat.

First of all, the production quality of this cd is top notch. It's very crisp and full with lots of texture and layers. Also, the cd booklet is very nicely done and contains all lyrics. This is always good with a group like For Today who delivers a strong spiritual message.

A wonderful thing about 'Fight the Silence' is the addition of clean vocals along with the usual heavy vocals. This adds a whole new dimension to For Today's sound. This album is aggressive but also melodic. There are some fantastic breakdowns sprinkled throughout the album, and they occur at just the right times.

Lyrically, things are just what one would expect from For Today. They are very spiritual in nature and quite thought-provoking. I found my mind and spirit renewed after listening to this from start to finish. One of my favorite lyrics is from "Fatherless":

"Now I've come to see,
It was never "me" I was looking for...
It was always Him, It was always Him"

Thank you, For Today, for what you do. Thank you for providing hope in this fallen word. Thank you for the music you make and for letting God work through you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is an incredible album!, March 8, 2014
This review is from: Fight the Silence (Audio CD)
This album is great. It's powerful, honest, and relatable. The music is forceful and energetic, and well done. Turn it up loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare for Judgment, March 6, 2014
This review is from: Fight the Silence (MP3 Music)
Nothing better than a serious Christian dedicated to Gods glory, unless it's through heavy metal. This album is simply amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I highly recommend this album, February 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fight the Silence (MP3 Music)
Lyrics are clean and there's definitely a message I haven't heard any curse words either its hard good to get down in a mosh pit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "CLEAN HARDCORE METAL!!", July 12, 2014
This review is from: Fight the Silence (Audio CD)
FAVORITE ALBUM FOR ME. THIS WAS MY THIRD ALBUM, AND I WISH I WOULD HAVE BOUGHT THEM LIKE I ALWAYS DO, NEWEST ONE AND LAST ONE 1ST, THAT WAY I CAN HEAR THEM WHEN THEY STARTED AND PRESENT DAY. IMMORTAL IS GOOD, BUT THIS ONE IS GREAT!! MOLOTOV HITS HARD, COUPLE GOOD ONES, THEN BREAK THE CYCLE BASICALLY JUST SLAMS YOU DOWN. THE SONGS ARE REALLY PUT TOGETHER WELL, AND IT ENDS WITH HATED, WHICH I LOVE. ITS FUNNY, I REWRITE THE SONGS WHEN I HEAR THEM. I WAS SINGING LOVED BY THE WORLD, BUT LETS FACE IT CATHOLICS/CHRISTIANS ARE HATED BY PEOPLE BECAUSE WE ARE GOOD AND POWERFUL, AND THAT SCARES A LOT OF PEOPLE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its great!, July 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fight the Silence (Vinyl)
Its great!Its great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 2, 2014
This review is from: Fight the Silence (Audio CD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fight the Silence (MP3 Music)
This is a great hardcore album. A number of awesome songs, the band just doesn't use clean vocals as much as I would prefer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I don't see how they can top this, May 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fight the Silence (MP3 Music)
For Today is one of those very few bands that just keep getting better and better with every album. Another important thing is the fact that they have held onto their Christian beliefs and haven't stopped putting Jesus first. If you like Christian Metalcore, this is an album you must listen to. Also, when you use http://smile.amazon.com, Amazon will donate .5% of your purchase to a charity that you select. For Today refers the charity "The A21 Campaign" in their music video Fight The Silence, which raises awareness on human trafficking. If you want to help end human trafficking then choose that charity. If you know of a better charity then pick that one, it's your choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fight the Silence
Fight the Silence by For Today
Buy MP3 Album$6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.