Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Fight the Silence
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEM

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
50
Format: MP3 Music|Change
Price:$5.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 4, 2014
One thing I love about For Today is that every album from them is great in their own right for different reasons. Each one has a different feel from the next and conveys different messages. "Portraits" was all about prophets from the Old Testament, "Breaker" was a concept album about a man's journey to salvation, and this one is no different. "Fight The Silence" is their most socially-conscious album to date dealing with such subjects as human trafficking, greed, helping the poor/homeless, and children who have been left without a father. It is a more melodic album than their last efforts, but that doesn't mean that they "sold out". No matter which album it is, For Today has always found the right sound musically for their lyrics and I believe that that's the sound that they needed to go along with the lyrics on this album. The added clean vocals of their guitarist Ryan Leitru is a welcome addition to the album as well, especially after hearing his amazing acoustic cover of "Fearless" on their "Prevailer" EP, and with the inclusion guest vocals from Matty Mullins of Memphis May Fire on the song "Break The Cycle" makes this a great album overall. I highly recommend you pick this up because For Today has and always been a great band that is grounded in their Christian faith and has always had something different to add to the metal world.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2014
Before 'Fight the Silence,' For Today was one of those groups that I always told people that I sort of liked but that was about as far as it went. However, that changed with the new album as it has blown me away! This album is a lyrical and musical treat.

First of all, the production quality of this cd is top notch. It's very crisp and full with lots of texture and layers. Also, the cd booklet is very nicely done and contains all lyrics. This is always good with a group like For Today who delivers a strong spiritual message.

A wonderful thing about 'Fight the Silence' is the addition of clean vocals along with the usual heavy vocals. This adds a whole new dimension to For Today's sound. This album is aggressive but also melodic. There are some fantastic breakdowns sprinkled throughout the album, and they occur at just the right times.

Lyrically, things are just what one would expect from For Today. They are very spiritual in nature and quite thought-provoking. I found my mind and spirit renewed after listening to this from start to finish. One of my favorite lyrics is from "Fatherless":

"Now I've come to see,
It was never "me" I was looking for...
It was always Him, It was always Him"

Thank you, For Today, for what you do. Thank you for providing hope in this fallen word. Thank you for the music you make and for letting God work through you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2014
Overall this is an excellent album by four today!

I would say it is overall some of the strongest work they have ever done as a band that shows they are adapting and changing as they grow. It is traditional hasted a metal screaming, but also has a skillet for disciple type singing at.

Pros = a huge pro is that it deals with global topics such as slavery and extreme poverty

Cons = in my opinion it is not singing like traditional screamo bands do when they do clean singing or clean vocals but rather it is more in the style of skillet for pillar (if you like those bands then go)

I am not a huge fan of the clean vocals but I do love this album especially for the topics that it goes over.

Also Lead Screamer Mattie Montgomery does do some interesting dynamic stuff with his voice when screaming in the album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2014
In the summer of 2013, For Today released an EP. Those four new tracks were an awesome sign of what was to come. Fight the Silence has deeply root Christian lyrics and is metal as it gets. My personal favorite track is Molotov. It is the first track and it sets the tone for the rest of the album. "There is a system designed to destroy us. We'll send it back to hell!" is one example of their deeply root Christian message. The style of this record seamless goes from metal to hardcore, to even a little death metal, and back again. It is absolute joy to listen to for this metal. This is Christian metal at it's best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2014
Ever since the release of "Breaker," this band has only gotten better and better. Each album, For Today brings in a new element. Whether it's spoken word, string arrangements or interludes of guitarist Ryan singing....it's all progression to their sound and keeps their records fresh.

In my opinion, the best albums need a couple listens to really soak in. That's no different with Fight the Silence. This album grows on me each time I listen. Mattie's screams are so clear and Ryan's vocals keep getting better with each release.

Don't miss out on another great For Today record..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2014
I will now continue to listen to these guys.I have known about this band for quite some time, but for whatever reasons they never stuck out to me...Until now. This album immediately fell into my top 10. They nailed this album in every way possible, in my humble opinion. On top of the amazing musicians and singers/screamers, the lyrics are awesome awesome awesome. I love their message. I support these guys 100 percent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2015
This is hands down one of my favorite albums by For Today. Like most people have said, this still does sound like some of their previous albums, but in a very good way because it sounds fresh and different in its own right. Each song is still very heavy and awesome to headbang to. I bought thsi album on vinyl for an amazing price. The shipping, on the other hand, was pretty bad. I dont not know if it was simply the person who delivered it or if it was damaged from the very beginning of the shipping process. The top right corner of the album cover was bent and shriveled pretty badly, making the cover look all raggedy. Then, this is where I got scared, the top of the cover, as well as the inner jacket, were torn about an inch across, as though someone had put force on the bottom of the cover and the record was pushing its way through the top. My main concer was the integrity of the record, but so far so good. I examined it several times over just to be sure it was fine, so I haven't noticed any damage to the record. The stars above are simply ratings for the music/album itself, but the shipping does not deserve any form of merit, in any shape or form because if I were a serious, die-hard vinyl collector, houses would have been burned down already. So Amazon, I hope this gets back to you and you deeply consider how you treat your customers items and orders because this is definitely unacceptable, seeing how we spend our hard earned money on a service that we expect great service from....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2014
Another great album by For Today! With the powerful vocal styling we've grown accustomed to on every album and the musical intensity we heard on Portraits and Immortal, For Today delivers another amazing album. I'm not one to break albums down track by track but each track holds it's own on this recording.
The things I love about this band are that they deliver the music and sounds their fans want to hear and at no point have they sacrificed their values or their message. The message of Jesus Christ needs to be told and For Today will always deliver that message to anyone willing to listen. For Today is unrelenting in their intense desire to deliver the Good News to the masses and using heavy metal to do it.
Favorite track: Dead To Rights
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2014
I love this new album! Before releasing it, the band has said it's their best album to date and soooo true! I love their last two a lot and this one has joined that group as well. just truly perfect :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2014
An interesting thing happens when a band finds and lands on “their sound.” When this happens fans and critics alike, as they are oft prone to do, inevitably make one of two judgements. One group decides that the band has become too generic and has given up on evolving their sound (and perhaps are lazy for doing so) while the other group is excited that the band has found their niche, their groove, and can know what to expect when they invest in each experience.

Your (musical) experience with Fight the Silence will be shaped in large part by which of these two groups you fall in. As can be expected, Fight the Silence is a powerful and passionate album that is lyrically bold, musically aggressive, and goes one-step further than just wearing its message on its sleeve. That being said, it is also largely similar to the band’s recent releases Immortal and the Prevailer EP. If you are the type that expects each album to be a completely different experience (as with bands like Project 86), this fact will likely lead to subtle disappointment. However, if you are one who has found a deep appreciation for the sound and style For Today have honed in on since their incredible Breaker album, then Fight the Silence will definitely satisfy.

Fight the Silence, more so than any other For Today album is a call to arms against some very specific evils in this world (and that’s saying something!!!). In partnering with the A21 Campaign, which works to free people from human trafficking, the band is making a statement that it is no longer okay for anyone to remain silent when evils like trafficking (“Fight the Silence”) and extreme economic inequality/poverty (“A Call To Arms”) have become such a stark reality.

For Today have never been ones to shy away from presenting bold, activating/challenging messages in the past, but this album still finds ways to kick it up a notch; including covering growing up without a dad (“Fatherless”), being hated and betrayed by friends (“Hated by the World”), and even in presenting powerful moments of auditory redemption (“For the Fallen”). Combined with the increased “catchiness” of many of the songs, these accessible moments will likely make this the band’s most challenging, yet most broadly appealing record to date.

Ever the first to put their money where their mouth is, it should be noted that a portion of all album sales (as well as a partnership in their concerts) will directly go to A21. In this, Fight the Silence backs up the very challenge it lays down. Though objectively this fact has nothing to do with the music itself and its depth/skill or lack of quality, the partnership adds quite a bit of subjective flair to the experience. Fans who make a purchase are not only buying into For Today as a band, they are also doing something of perceptible merit. Whether or not this fact overcomes the similarities to Immortal/Prevailer (for those in the first camp) will be entirely up to you.

Album Breakdown: The album begins with the raucous “Molotov,” which is a classic For Today anthem mixed with a bit of Nu-metal flair. Thematically, the song is nearly identical to past jams like “Fearless” or “Devastator,” save for the increased inclusion of Ryan’s clean vocals. As an opening jam, “Molotov” is a great track that works well to rile up the listener and prepare them for what’s yet to come. It will also likely be a highlight track when performed live.

The title track (and primary cause of the album) follows. Little can be said about this track that is not summed up in the opening discourse about the album. Musically, “Fight the Silence” features some nice lows and harrowing moments where Mattie just bottoms it out vocally. Be sure to check the official video out, below, to get a taste of the song and thereby the overall sound of the album as a whole, which follows most of the same patterns and movements.

“Pariah” returns to another of the band’s well worn themes of standing for God even in the face of opposition. “You can’t kill me, I’m already dead. This is the martyr’s cry. So as the crowd demands my head, my time has come to die. Death is only the beginning of everything I’m living for.” Musically, Mattie once again burns his vocals with some really deep moments that sell the shear conviction being presented. In many ways, “Pariah” is a follow up to “Stand Defiant,” though certain lyrics are a little more graphic (such as the description of being stoned to death and drug through the streets).

“Reflections” takes a much welcomed detour into a much more stripped down and beautifully atmospheric soundscape. As a pace breaker alone the track is great, however the change in style also just works musically. Unfortunately, “Reflections” is a very brief change of pace (at just over two minutes) as “Break the Cycle” immediately crushes back in with some of the heaviest sounds on the album. “Break the Cycle” (which features another Matty – This time Matty Mullins of Memphis May Fire) focuses on the “blind leading the blind” nature of our self-destructive world. In this, it points out the false, broken, misguided leaders who take others down with them and yet points beyond this to a time where, of course, the cycle is broken by the blood of Christ. “In a world heading for self destruction, the answer is here. Are we too blind to see it… there is hope in the blood.”

“A Call to Arms,” a very aptly named track, begins with some very Ekklesia styled fry screaming and growling. Combined with faster drumming and more crushing guitars, “A Call to Arms” is both the heaviest songs on the album and one of For Today’s hardest songs to date. The focus of the track, as mentioned, is the disparity between the very rich and the very poor, who are “dying in the streets.”

In my first listen to Fight the Silence I was prepared to say that though the entire album is, as usual, very good, there wasn’t really any one song that stood out from the last few albums the way “Crown of Thorns” did on the recent EP. After a few listens, however, I have come to the conclusion that “For the Fallen” is that song. Though it is very typical fare for the band in many places, there are some wonderful moments of sublimity to be found. Between the clean vocals throughout, the occasional nu-metal pacing (even briefly mirroring P.O.D. near the middle of the song), and the harrowing chant of “dead men tell no tales,” “For the Fallen” is a highlight track on the album and in the band’s discography.

As something of a one-two punch, “Fatherless” directly follows creating two of the most relatable and immediately gripping songs on the album. The heart-wrenching key “tell me who I am, I can hardly stand” sets the backdrop for Mattie’s tale of losing his father to cancer when he was just eight years old. As Mattie screams, “I had no one to run to, but everything to run from” “Fatherless” will rip your heart to shreds. Musically, very heavy screams are offset by powerfully melodic cries reaching out to a father that is no longer there… yet, also hinting at the hope found in being fathered by God.

“Dead to Rights” follows the familiar “court room” scenario utilized in the past by artists like KJ-52 to show how guilty we are in our sins. In this, it shows God as the righteous judge who will come to judge the living and the dead. “There was no way out for me, I had blood on my hands. Guilty! Guilty!” The imagery of Christ taking our sentence is then utilized to remind us of the substitutionary atonement Jesus provided for us on the cross. Musically, “Dead to Rights” is in line with the rest of the album.

“One Voice” features some of the best guitar work on the album with some nice winding riffs that play between the foreground and mid-ground nicely. That guitar part aside, “One Voice” did ring a little close to “Under God” from Immortal with a little of the flair of “The Only Name.” “Resonate” follows as the second pace-breaker track of the album. As with “Reflections,” “Resonate” is a nicely acoustic/atmospheric song that really brings a different flavor along with it. If I had one issue with these two tracks it is that they are such great tracks, but they are sadly gone almost as soon as they start.

The album closes with the aforementioned “Hated by the World,” which smacks of the band’s personal struggles in finding fame in the mass market and yet being reviled for their faith. It would hard not to hear lyrics like “betrayed and abandoned… rejected…” and not think of such instances as Fronz’s unkind words this past year. “Hated by the World” is something of an autobiography of the band that battles the darkness in secular venues and are sometimes less than supported by those within the faith.

As a closing song, I would have preferred “Dead to Rights” close out the album on a more positive/theological note. Putting “Hated by the World” at the end makes the album leave on a bit of a melodramatic note (uncommon for For Today). Still, the line “What I thought was unbreakable, is lying broken at my feet. I haven’t given up on you, even if you gave up on me” is a beautifully redemptive moment to end the album on.

Musicianship: Fight the Silence is very much in line with For Today’s other most recent albums. In fact, this may be to a fault. Similarities between Immortal and the Prevailer EP are so strong in places that fans looking for a new direction will likely be a bit put off. Still, For Today has made it to the top with their sound for a reason and Fight the Silence only reinforces the great talent the band has.

Lyrics/Spiritual Content: For Today are some of the most bold and faith-filled guys out there. This comes across in every album and it would be hard, considering the level of boldness they’ve already adhered to in the past, to amp that up in any way. Still, in partnering with A21 and facing some even more relatable issues, Fight the Silence becomes even bolder than before. In addition to this, moments like Mattie’s struggle growing up without a dad and the betrayal the band has faced make the album one of their more relatable pieces of work. The trade off in this is that the songs (on the whole) are less theologically focused, however.

Lasting Value: As I’ve wrestled with giving this album a 3 (based on the large similarity to their past work) or a 4 (based on the fact that For Today is above average in every way that relates to their message, intensity, passion, and musical prowess), it was this category that gave the tipping point. Though the album itself may blend with their past two efforts, the high relateability of several songs combined with the cause behind it leaves me feeling like this album will actually have a bit more impact than what has come before.

Overall: For Today is back with their signature blend of hard music that includes indelible passion, boldness, and lyrical aggression. Mattie Montgomery and company are always willing to step out for what they believe and often wear their faith on their sleeves, but Fight the Silence is somehow an even more passionate call to action than usual. Fans who were engrossed in their last two albums will eat this album up. However, it should be noted that the similarities to those records is strong enough that others may leave feeling that Fight the Silence is really Immortal part 2.

RIYL: August Burns Red, Phinehas, Memphis May Fire
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.