Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A knockout
Beautifully written book (with the exception of some typos). The book assumes you have prior knowledge of muay Thai so don't expect a step-by-step instruction manual. You may want to look elsewhere for basic instructions. The book serves its purpose well and breaks down the methods, mechanics, tools, ranges and strategies needed to succeed in the ring. You might get a...
Published on October 23, 2002 by James Pohh

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Since I started Muay Thai about 6 months ago, I got very interested in reading this book, both based on the title of the book and the reviews on Amazon.

The title of the book is somehow deceiving, and the reviews were probably written by people who never practiced Muay Thai or just started a week ago. The book really doesn't teach you any strategies besides the...
Published on May 6, 2012 by Niels


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A knockout, October 23, 2002
By 
James Pohh (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fighting Strategies Of Muay Thai: Secrets of Thailand's Boxing Camps (Paperback)
Beautifully written book (with the exception of some typos). The book assumes you have prior knowledge of muay Thai so don't expect a step-by-step instruction manual. You may want to look elsewhere for basic instructions. The book serves its purpose well and breaks down the methods, mechanics, tools, ranges and strategies needed to succeed in the ring. You might get a bit confused in the beginning when Van Shuyver attempts to give the reader a physics lesson on power and movement. I guess we should have paid attention in class huh.
Fighters are broken down into four major categories: aggressive, elusive, counterer and tricky. I think we all fall somewhere within these categories but it is interesting to see how a muay Thai stylist deals with such fighters and the book goes into many possible options. There's even a self-assessment you can take to determine your fighting style. All in all, a good bang for your buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For anyone with an interest in Thai martial arts, November 13, 2002
This review is from: Fighting Strategies Of Muay Thai: Secrets of Thailand's Boxing Camps (Paperback)
Fighting Strategies Of Muay Thai: Secrets Of Thailand's Boxing Camps by martial arts expert Mark Van Schuyver with the assistance of Kru Pedro Solana Villalobos (owner, director, and head instructor of the Thailand Arts Institute) is a straightforward presentation of timing elements, strategies, and training techniques of the martial art of Muay Thai boxing. An informative text illustrated with black-and-white photographs explores individual techniques in-depth, as well as conditioning methods, and the four basic types of fighter, and much more in this excellent overview of Muay Thai discipline. Fighting Strategies Of Muay Thai is essential reading for anyone with an interest in Thai martial arts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is where you should start, September 24, 2004
This review is from: Fighting Strategies Of Muay Thai: Secrets of Thailand's Boxing Camps (Paperback)
This is a great book. I bought 3 Muay Thai Books and I stopped buying it after I purchased this one. This book is compilation of author's training experience at Thailand and at his gym(Dojo) with his students. If you are a beginner, it gives clear conditioning plan with things to consider and also it gives tips on fighting strategies. However, this book is little light on technical side.

All in all, this is a good book and if you are serious about training and want a book to supplement your training, this is where you should start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, May 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fighting Strategies Of Muay Thai: Secrets of Thailand's Boxing Camps (Paperback)
Since I started Muay Thai about 6 months ago, I got very interested in reading this book, both based on the title of the book and the reviews on Amazon.

The title of the book is somehow deceiving, and the reviews were probably written by people who never practiced Muay Thai or just started a week ago. The book really doesn't teach you any strategies besides the obvious (if you have a physical strong opponent, be elusive and get him tired kinda stuff..), and as a beginner with more then 4 weeks experience, this will not teach you anything new.

Poorly spend 20 bucks or so..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The next best thing to learning it in a Thailand camp, August 7, 2003
By 
This review is from: Fighting Strategies Of Muay Thai: Secrets of Thailand's Boxing Camps (Paperback)
Villalobos (The true contributor of this book) is the REAl DEAL, who show us the true picture of what are being taught in Thailand's camps. Not a step-by-step guide for beginners, but any intermediate to advanced martial artists would surly benefit from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start with this, August 4, 2006
This review is from: Fighting Strategies Of Muay Thai: Secrets of Thailand's Boxing Camps (Paperback)
Muay Thai is one of the few external martial arts styles I greatly admire. No-nonsense but deep, it is perfect for self defense or competing. So far this is the best book on Muay Thai I read. I wouldn't say: "Read this book and go bust skulls"- but if you are wondering what's Muay Thai like before you want to start training, and don't want to rely on some hear-say info, this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lousy Insights, August 30, 2008
By 
Aphex Bin (New York City) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fighting Strategies Of Muay Thai: Secrets of Thailand's Boxing Camps (Paperback)
As a professional Muay Thai instructor under Surasute Surachai...I am not impressed....pretty common sense unless you are a Beginner...Study with a certified Muay Thai instructor for insights....this book was bought for a student...after reading the other review Hypes...got nothing out of this book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vilalobos rules, January 12, 2007
This review is from: Fighting Strategies Of Muay Thai: Secrets of Thailand's Boxing Camps (Paperback)
A must have in the library of any muay thai practitioner. Real advanced topics adressing types of opponents, defensive and offensive manuevers for and against each style fighter, plus workout programs and dietary guidelines. Really well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good for beginners, July 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fighting Strategies Of Muay Thai: Secrets of Thailand's Boxing Camps (Paperback)
good book for beginners. the strategy for different type of fighters is very helpful. i've been practicing muay thai for 2 yrs now and i was still able to pick up a few things from this book. the pictures are clean and it's pretty detailed on descriptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Strategy material, February 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fighting Strategies Of Muay Thai: Secrets of Thailand's Boxing Camps (Paperback)
Although it explains the very basics about the techniques, the knowledge of this book is better absorbed if you have more than 1 year of practice and you are serious about getting into a fight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fighting Strategies Of Muay Thai: Secrets of Thailand's Boxing Camps
Fighting Strategies Of Muay Thai: Secrets of Thailand's Boxing Camps by Mark Van Schuyver (Paperback - September 1, 2002)
$33.00 $24.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.