Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Blake Shelton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars14
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$28.05+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 23, 2002
Beautifully written book (with the exception of some typos). The book assumes you have prior knowledge of muay Thai so don't expect a step-by-step instruction manual. You may want to look elsewhere for basic instructions. The book serves its purpose well and breaks down the methods, mechanics, tools, ranges and strategies needed to succeed in the ring. You might get a bit confused in the beginning when Van Shuyver attempts to give the reader a physics lesson on power and movement. I guess we should have paid attention in class huh.
Fighters are broken down into four major categories: aggressive, elusive, counterer and tricky. I think we all fall somewhere within these categories but it is interesting to see how a muay Thai stylist deals with such fighters and the book goes into many possible options. There's even a self-assessment you can take to determine your fighting style. All in all, a good bang for your buck.
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2002
Fighting Strategies Of Muay Thai: Secrets Of Thailand's Boxing Camps by martial arts expert Mark Van Schuyver with the assistance of Kru Pedro Solana Villalobos (owner, director, and head instructor of the Thailand Arts Institute) is a straightforward presentation of timing elements, strategies, and training techniques of the martial art of Muay Thai boxing. An informative text illustrated with black-and-white photographs explores individual techniques in-depth, as well as conditioning methods, and the four basic types of fighter, and much more in this excellent overview of Muay Thai discipline. Fighting Strategies Of Muay Thai is essential reading for anyone with an interest in Thai martial arts.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2004
This is a great book. I bought 3 Muay Thai Books and I stopped buying it after I purchased this one. This book is compilation of author's training experience at Thailand and at his gym(Dojo) with his students. If you are a beginner, it gives clear conditioning plan with things to consider and also it gives tips on fighting strategies. However, this book is little light on technical side.

All in all, this is a good book and if you are serious about training and want a book to supplement your training, this is where you should start.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2012
Since I started Muay Thai about 6 months ago, I got very interested in reading this book, both based on the title of the book and the reviews on Amazon.

The title of the book is somehow deceiving, and the reviews were probably written by people who never practiced Muay Thai or just started a week ago. The book really doesn't teach you any strategies besides the obvious (if you have a physical strong opponent, be elusive and get him tired kinda stuff..), and as a beginner with more then 4 weeks experience, this will not teach you anything new.

Poorly spend 20 bucks or so..
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2003
Villalobos (The true contributor of this book) is the REAl DEAL, who show us the true picture of what are being taught in Thailand's camps. Not a step-by-step guide for beginners, but any intermediate to advanced martial artists would surly benefit from this book.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2006
Muay Thai is one of the few external martial arts styles I greatly admire. No-nonsense but deep, it is perfect for self defense or competing. So far this is the best book on Muay Thai I read. I wouldn't say: "Read this book and go bust skulls"- but if you are wondering what's Muay Thai like before you want to start training, and don't want to rely on some hear-say info, this book is for you.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2012
good book for beginners. the strategy for different type of fighters is very helpful. i've been practicing muay thai for 2 yrs now and i was still able to pick up a few things from this book. the pictures are clean and it's pretty detailed on descriptions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2008
As a professional Muay Thai instructor under Surasute Surachai...I am not impressed....pretty common sense unless you are a Beginner...Study with a certified Muay Thai instructor for insights....this book was bought for a student...after reading the other review Hypes...got nothing out of this book...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2007
A must have in the library of any muay thai practitioner. Real advanced topics adressing types of opponents, defensive and offensive manuevers for and against each style fighter, plus workout programs and dietary guidelines. Really well written.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2012
Although it explains the very basics about the techniques, the knowledge of this book is better absorbed if you have more than 1 year of practice and you are serious about getting into a fight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse