Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Product
This product is a good product. Filemaker is owned by Apple so It like other Apple products, expensive. The draw backs is networking. You have to have Filemaker on each computer. The Great things about filemaker is it will run on Windows, Mac, Ipad, Itouch and Iphone. You have to have Filemaker Go for the Ipad, Itouch, and Iphone and currently Go is Free. 12 is a...
Published on July 18, 2012 by chamblee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bento
If you purchased Bento and invested any effort making it meet your workflow, keep in mind this company tries things and drops them. Having said that, Filemaker is a good product. The question is how long will it be supported by Apple.
Published 10 months ago by aaardvarj


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Product, July 18, 2012
This review is from: Filemaker Pro 12 [Old Version] (DVD-ROM)
This product is a good product. Filemaker is owned by Apple so It like other Apple products, expensive. The draw backs is networking. You have to have Filemaker on each computer. The Great things about filemaker is it will run on Windows, Mac, Ipad, Itouch and Iphone. You have to have Filemaker Go for the Ipad, Itouch, and Iphone and currently Go is Free. 12 is a big upgrade from previous Filemaker Products, so you can't run it with previous versions. You have to upgrade all computers. This product is on the right track, if they would just make it more cost effective for small business / small Network users then it would be a 10 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compatible with Retina Display MacBook with Mountain Lion, July 27, 2012
By 
H. Hwang (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Filemaker Pro 12 [Old Version] (DVD-ROM)
I have owned or worked with FileMaker Pro 6, 8, 9 and now 12 for over 10 years. It's nice program with a lot of flexibility and power. Compared to older versions, using the likes of Inspector, which is also present in 11, makes making layouts a breeze.

If you are using Lion or Mountain Lion for Mac, any version older than 11 would not work on your computer. It is important to note that database for 12 is not compatible with 11 or older. For many people, it may make sense to stay with 11 for a while longer in order to be able to exchange information with other people still using older versions of FileMaker.

In my opinion, there now may be one clear reason for preferring 12 over 11 - Retina Display MacBooks. With Mountain Lion as OS (but apparently not Lion), FileMaker Pro 12 gives crystal clear texts. I don't think this is true for 11.

I'm only giving 4 stars because of some bugs that interfere with my use (see a long list of known bugs in various versions of FileMaker at [...] ) as well as lack of a stronger finder function - something that would temporarily or optionally highlight search terms found in the database.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 12 Ways FileMaker 12 Will Impact Your Work and Business, February 13, 2013
This review is from: Filemaker Pro 12 [Old Version] (DVD-ROM)
The newest version of FileMaker was released in April 2012 after nearly 2 years in the making. With it has come a slew of new features and many things that the FileMaker world has waited for with anticipation. Here are 12 ways FileMaker 12 will affect you and your business:

1. FileMaker 12 is a major release. Along with it comes a new database file format change...the first since FileMaker 7. Although conversion of your existing files will be fairly painless, there must be testing and planning in the upgrade of this software. If you haven't yet converted old databases from FileMaker 5 format, you've got two file format conversions to do to get up-to-date. If you remember the migration from .fp5 to .fp7 as being painful and expensive, the migration from .pf7 to .fp12 will be nothing like that. FileMaker 12 is a release that builds the infrastructure possible for even more future innovation.
2. You must upgrade your FileMaker server, clients, and databases all at the same time. Everyone will need to be running FileMaker 12 to access your updated databases. No more mixing and matching of server and client 9, 10, and 11. There may also be increased system requirements. For example, FileMaker 12 will not run on any older PowerPC based Macintoshes anymore. You may need to upgrade your operating system to a more recent version before you can install FileMaker 12.
System Requirements for FileMaker client:
Mac OS 10.6 Snow Leopard, and 10.7 Lion (Leopard and PPC no longer supported on the Mac OS.)
Windows XP SP3, Vista SP2, and Windows 7
3. If you run any plug-ins or other software that integrates with FileMaker, you'll want to wait until new versions are released that are fully compatible and tested with FileMaker 12.
4. The pre-built themes are one flashy new FileMaker 12 feature. You'll need to find a balance for using them. They are easiest to use with new solutions that are built from the ground up. Old solutions may need a lot of work to take advantage of the theme features. If you're testing the themes always work on a backup copy of your solution.
5. The new starter solutions will provide you with better starting points for new databases that you want to develop on your own. Taking advantage of the iPad and iPhone with FileMaker Go is much easier with built-in layouts and support for mobile devices.
6. FileMaker Go 12 on the iPad, iPod Touch, and iPhone is now FREE...making it easier to deploy your custom database application on the latest mobile technology. (Formerly, FileMaker Go was about $19.99 for the iPhone/iPod Touch and $39.99 for the iPad.)
7. FileMaker 12 performance enhancements make remote hosting of FileMaker in the cloud an even more attractive option.
8. New development tools make it easier for developers like Cimbura.com to create custom business application solutions faster. The result is that you'll save money with our increased productivity.
9. Features like gradient fills, corner radius, etc. will allow FileMaker solutions to look more modern.
10. Some FileMaker 12 features you'll notice immediately after your upgrade, but others will require database enhancements to take advantage of them. So you'll see more improvements over time as we rework fmIgnite features and our other solutions for FileMaker 12 . We'll suggest the improvements to you that will make the most sense for your organization. For example, maybe you've wanted to manage files within FileMaker. The new container field options make this easier and more practical.
11. FileMaker Server enhancements will make hosting more reliable, capable, and speedy. We'll be able to take better advantage of the hardware available on a server. Backups will be easier to maintain. If you're not currently taking advantage of FileMaker server, now may be the time to do so. Configuration of the server will be critical. The following articles contains some helpful server 12 technical information from Wim Decorte and Steven Blackwell.
12. Anyone that has purchased FileMaker volume licenses and has a current maintenance plan through FileMaker will automatically receive FileMaker 12 at no additional cost.
Many other features included with FileMaker 12 make it a more powerful, reliable, and useful application solution tool kit so that it can solve even more problems and make your business more efficient, productive, and profitable. Download a free copy of FileMaker 12 for evaluation online.

This release of FileMaker sets the stage for some incredible new functionality in the future. Converting your solutions to FileMaker 12 is a valuable exercise. If you are starting from scratch it's even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't be without it, December 23, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Filemaker Pro 12 [Old Version] (DVD-ROM)
I have used Filemaker for many years, and it's the easiest database software to use. I have several databases, large and small, on Filemaker, and I wouldn't be without it. Filemaker 12 continues the tradition of excellent products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bomb of Databases, November 24, 2012
By 
P. Schwartz (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Filemaker Pro 12 [Old Version] (DVD-ROM)
This is by far the best program with which to build your relational database apps. Very strong scripting makes this really versatile. I have been working for years with an older version and had to upgrade because of the rich variety of new features. What it really needs is a comprehensive training manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FileMaker Pro just keeps getting better!, March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Filemaker Pro 12 [Old Version] (DVD-ROM)
Have used several versions of FilemakerPro for fifteen years. It just keeps getting better.
Has functioned great for my historical research in tracking thousands of records and easy
searches for data needed for a specific article.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Data Base Made Easy - User Frendly & Effective, June 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Filemaker Pro 12 [Old Version] (DVD-ROM)
I purcased this version as an upgrade to FileMaker Pro 7, which I had been using successfully for several years on both MAC and Windows platforms. I upgraded because I had a need for one of the newer features - the ability to save layouts and reports in PDF format. This newer version is a nice refinement on my older version, all of the "old" features are there in a similarform & format so the amount of relearning to use previous features was minimal. If you using FileMaker Pro to build your first data base, the training tutorials are an excellent tool. I wish such a tool was available when I first started to use FileMaker Pro (version 3!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FileMaker is the Easiest to use Database, March 3, 2014
By 
AKChester (Anchorage, AK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Filemaker Pro 12 [Old Version] (DVD-ROM)
Been using FileMaker for work for years. It is easy to use for ANYONE. If you have never made a database, you can learn how to start in 10 minutes. It is intuitive. However, even though it is easy, it is also a robust database that can be used for nearly any size or complex database system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Updated my Filemaker on my new laptop, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Filemaker Pro 12 [Old Version] (DVD-ROM)
I bought a new laptop last year, and my older version of Filemaker Pro didn't work on it. This is exactly what I needed to update my Filemaker files to use on my new laptop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bento, December 14, 2013
By 
aaardvarj (Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Filemaker Pro 12 [Old Version] (DVD-ROM)
If you purchased Bento and invested any effort making it meet your workflow, keep in mind this company tries things and drops them. Having said that, Filemaker is a good product. The question is how long will it be supported by Apple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Filemaker Pro 12 [Old Version]
Filemaker Pro 12 [Old Version] by Filemaker Inc. (Mac, Windows)
$308.71
In stock. Usually ships within 4 to 5 days.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.