Customer Reviews


428 Reviews
5 star:
 (250)
4 star:
 (87)
3 star:
 (56)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, proper special editions
This review is for the "Batman Anthology" set, where each movie is packaged in a new, 2-disc special edition. There is also an older, "Batman Legacy" set with the bare-bones editions, and Amazon seems to be grouping the two reviews together.

It's about time that Warner Home Video has finally given these superhero films the two disc, special-edition treatment...
Published on October 19, 2005 by Simon

versus
85 of 100 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good value, but the quality is terrible.
I'll admit that the price is cheap. Having all four films for less than $10 is great, but upon watching the first disc, I find that the quality of the transfer is absolutely terrible. Lots and lots of pixelation artifacts, especially when there's black on the screen, and let's face it, BATMAN was not a brightly lit film. The quality is barely, BAREly above VHS. I feel...
Published on January 14, 2010 by Jonathan Kui


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, proper special editions, October 19, 2005
By 
Simon (Brampton, ON) - See all my reviews
This review is for the "Batman Anthology" set, where each movie is packaged in a new, 2-disc special edition. There is also an older, "Batman Legacy" set with the bare-bones editions, and Amazon seems to be grouping the two reviews together.

It's about time that Warner Home Video has finally given these superhero films the two disc, special-edition treatment they deserve. Each film comes with restored/enhanced video and audio, and all the special features one expects from a current dvd release these days; we get commentaries, archival music videos and trailers, making-of featurettes, interviews, retrospectives, and deleted scenes. The last bit will be of special interest to some fans, especially because the Batman Forever DVD finally includes those missing sequences we saw in the storybooks and trading cards (though they appear here in rough form). Also of interest to fans of the animated series is the abandoned "Robin sequence" from the original movie, where they got Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamil to bring the storyboards to life. Overall the special features are excellent, and these special editions are not a cheap double-dip.

The big question is if you should shell out for the box set, which includes the generally reviled "Batman and Robin." Personally I completely love the first three movies, and since the box set is about the price of buying them seperately or even cheaper, I'd say go for it. The Batman and Robin edition has enough special features to be worth the investment, and besides that the complete box set just looks nicer on my shelf. If you only like two of the four movies, it's a harder decision. If you can guarantee to yourself that you'll never be tempted to pick up more than two of the films, grab them individually. But if you're a collector who might eventually cave-in and get the others for completion's sake, the best bet is to buy the box set now.

Either way, it's nice to finally own these films with all the trimmings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 100 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good value, but the quality is terrible., January 14, 2010
By 
Jonathan Kui (Cold Spring Harbor, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'll admit that the price is cheap. Having all four films for less than $10 is great, but upon watching the first disc, I find that the quality of the transfer is absolutely terrible. Lots and lots of pixelation artifacts, especially when there's black on the screen, and let's face it, BATMAN was not a brightly lit film. The quality is barely, BAREly above VHS. I feel like they hooked a VCR up to a DVD recorder and had at it. I'm not even talking about grain (which I would expect from an older film transfer), but rather poor resolution. There are no solid diagonal lines, everything is blocky. The video looks like an SVCD that was poorly upconverted to DVD.

It's good value, if you're just looking for an affordable way to complete your collection, but if you're used to DVD-quality video, you will be disappointed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Bats" In The Belfry, October 25, 2005
"Haven't you ever heard of the healing power of laughter?"
"I am Catwoman. Hear more roar."
"It's true, I was there #1 son, but, they treated me like #2!"
"By the way, I've seen your mind - freak!"
"Your not sending me to the cooler!"
- The Joker wants to put eternal smiles on Gothamites, Catwoman has more than a frog in her throat, The Penguin can't get family time, The Riddler has a meeting of the minds, while, Mr. Freeze cools off, as they all try their hand at destroying "Batman"

Finally, after roughly five years since the release of the bare bones "Batman Legacy" DVD edition & on the heels of "Batman Forever"'s tenth anniversary on video, comes the "Batman Anthology". The first four "Batman" films are represented here with 2 discs covering each film in widescreen with Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS, with director's commentary.

"Batman"
- Disc 1: feature film & one (!) theatrical trailer ("Warner" advertised the sh*t out of this film in 1989 & all they put is one release trailer!)

Disc 2: On the set with Bob Kane -the creator of "Batman" takes a small tour thru the set of the first film. It lasts about 2 minutes & really isn't worth losing sleep over, if you miss it.

"Shadows Of The Bat: The Cinematic Saga Of The Dark Knight" Parts 1-3: this is definitely worth checking out. Everything you pretty much need to know about the progression of Batman from the comic pages of D.C. to the big screen release of the first film is here. If there is a reason to get this box set this is it. Big thumbs up.

"Legends OF The Dark Knight: The History Of Batman"
Need another reason to own this box set? here it is. Doc covers the complete history of Batman, from an idea of Bob Kane's, to comic hero, to T.V. star of the 60's, to big screen Dark Knight hero of the 80's & 90's. Another big thumbs up.

"Batman" Documentary Gallery - O.K. look behind the scenes at making the film. From the gadgets & sets, to the costumes & the score. Cool enough to look at, but, something you would expect from a box set like this.

Hero & Villians Profiles - basically, a bit of a rehash look at the main characters from the first film.

Robin storyboard sequence - an idea that was dropped & might have actually pissed off a lot "Batman" fans. Basically, it's a chase sequence with Batman chasing The Joker through the streets of Gotham City. The chase eventually leads to a circus, The Flying Graysons, & the origin of Robin. I, personally, thought this sequence was overkill & makes you question did the filmakers need to have the Joker be responsible for both the origins of Batman & Robin?

Prince's music videos - yup. Oversexed & silly even for it's time. I couldn't even sit through watching "Batdance". Prince is O.K., but, can you really take a man seriously when he's dressed as half-bat, half-clown? I call it half-as*ed.

"Batman Returns"
- Disc 1: Feature film & theatrical trailer (yeah, just one)
- Disc 2: "The Bat, The Cat, & The Penguin" - original CBS special shown with a repeat showing of "Batman" in June of 1992, a couple of weeks before the release of "Batman Returns". Robert Urich hosts & its pretty cheesy in some areas.

"Shadow Of The Bat: The Cinematic Saga Of The Dark Knight" Part 4 - decent chronicle of the history of "Batman Returns". There is a big problem, however, with the interviews. All of the Michael Keaton, & some of the Michelle Pfeiffer, Danny DeVito interviews are rehashed from the CBS special, & its like watching pete & repeat. Nothing has been changed. My advice watch this first then go to the CBS special. Trust me on this one.

Heroes & Villians - profile of main characters

Beyond Batman Doc Gallery - behind the scenes look to "Batman Returns"

Siouxe & The Banshees "Face to Face" music video - ever wonder what happened to this group? Watch this video & wonder no more.

"Batman Forever"
- Disc 1: Feature film & wow!..., 1 trailer
- Disc 2: "Riddle Me This - Why Is Batman Forever?" - CBS special that was broadcast with "Batman Returns" in June 1995, a couple of weeks before the theatrical release of "Batman Forever". Chris O'Donnell hosts & asks the question: Do you like your cheese grilled or with a slice of tomato? Taste the cheese.

"Shadow Of The Bat: The Cinematic Saga Of The Dark Knight" Part 5 - everthing you need to know about "Batman Forever" & the rumors & gossip surrounding the film are debunked right here. Great stuff.

Beyond Batman Doc Gallery - a look at the making of the film. Just like the first two films.

Deleted Scenes (!) - Holy cutting room floor, Batman!
alternate beginning (Two-Face escapes Arkham Asylum. "The Bat Must Die!" in blood on his cell wall), Bruce Wayne faces his fear in the bat-cave, are a few of the deleted scenes. Pretty cool, overall.

Seal, "Kiss From A Rose" video - classic video from the film, but where the hell's the "U2" video!?

Heroes & Villans Profile

"Batman & Robin"
- Disc 1: Feature film (sheer toy-ettic torture) & trailer
- Disc 2: "Shadows Of The Bat: The Cinematic Saga Of The Dark Knight" Part 5 - YES!!! Joel Schumacher finally apoligizes for making this film!!(my soul reason in buying this box set was to see what was going to be said about this fourth film)

"Warner Brothers" wanted a more family inspired film, with lots of toys for the kiddies.

With the film being rushed into production & the emphasis, from toymaker Kenner, for more characters & vehicles to be "toy-ettic" (so they can make massive amounts of money off the toys, even if the movie sucks, which it does) "Batman & Robin" was doomed from the starting gate.
Why didn't Schumacher bow out of the project if he knew it was gonna suck?
Even after all this I still find the film painful to watch.
Chris O'Donnell adds: "Batman Forever" felt like we were making a film. "Batman & Robin" felt soft, like making a toy commercial."

Deleted scene - Alfred's lost love. Ho-hum.

Batman doc gallery - behind the scenes of "Batman & Robin"

four music videos - they all suck. Believe me.

Heroes & Villans Profile

Overall, this is a great set & is worth getting, for the right price that is. This isn't the last definitive set for the "Batman" films. "Batman Begins" isn't included in this set, but, it seems like the franchise has been revived with the latest film & hopefully won't fall to the trappings of "Batman & Robin".
Either way Batman is forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holy Budget DVD, Batman!, November 1, 2009
Way back in 1989, long before the current influx of superhero films, millions of people lined up to see Michael Keaton put on Batman's cape.....nah, let's be honest, people lined up to see Jack Nicholson's version of the Joker. However, Keaton's wonderful performance shocked audiences and so began a string of successful films that got progressively campier over time.

If you're like me, you thought "Batman" was excellent, liked "Batman Returns" even though alterations were made to the Penguin, enjoyed Val Kilmer, Tommy Lee Jones and Jim Carrey in "Batman Forever" despite the campiness, and thanked the good Lord above that "Batman Begins" and "The Dark Knight" managed to wipe away the stain of the fourth film in this collection, "Batman and Robin."

This "Four Film Favorites" collection gives fans of Batman and superheroes in general all four of Warner Brothers' late century versions of Batman on two bare bones discs. According to the box, each film comes with production notes. What this boils down to is a stills gallery, brief actor bios, and a few lines about makeup, special effects, and Batman's wonderful toys.

The actual films are presented in a widescreen format and appear to lack any major clean-ups. The first film is a bit grainy at moments and the third film had faint traces of pixellation in close-ups, but the second and fourth film look visually excellent.

I won't waste any time reviewing each film in depth. If you want this collection, you probably already know why you are getting it. I purchased it primarily for the first and third films in the franchise. Being a completionist, though, I wanted to get the second and, yep, even the fourth film in this collection. This two-disc set gives you all four films for a wonderful price.

Highly recommended to fans of Batman or comic book films who want all four of these movies without breaking the bank. It will give you a taste of some of the best and some of the worst moments in comic film history!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 78 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The near best and absolute worst of the Dark Knight, October 15, 2005
Compiling the first four Batman films, which as a previous reviewer noted both helped resurrect comic to film adaptations and nearly kill them as well, the Batman Anthology is better left on the shelf and the Special Editions of the first two films are the only ones worth purchasing. The first film, released in 1989 and directed by Tim Burton, cast Michael Keaton as a brooding Dark Knight trying to save Gotham City from the diabolical Joker (Jack Nicholson) while wooing reporter Vicki Vale (Kim Basinger). This first film was revolutionary in it's tone and delivery when first released, and it hasn't aged very well, but the page it takes out of Frank Miller's classic Dark Knight Returns helps seperate it from the campy television series, which is why it became the blockbuster it did. Nicholson was perfectly cast as the Joker, and his performance will go down in history as one of, if not the, best comic book villains of all time. The second film, Batman Returns, was released in 1992 with Burton in the director's chair again and Keaton reprising his role and this time taking on the Penguin (Danny DeVito) and the sexy Catwoman (Michelle Pfeiffer) as well as a crooked mayor (Christopher Walken). Batman Returns was one of the few super hero sequels that managed to successfully capture the spirit of the first film, and be it's equal as well. The third film, Batman Forever, saw Joel Schumacher take over as director, and Val Kilmer dawning the cape & cowl this time around to take on the Riddler (Jim Carrey) and Two-Face (an overacting Tommy Lee Jones). Bats is also joined for the first time by Robin (Chris O'Donnell) as he woos the beautiful Dr. Chase Meridian (Nicole Kidman). This film was a split between critics and fans alike, as the dark tone is pretty much gone and replaced by an uber-campiness, but it's nowhere near as bad as what would follow it. 1997' Batman & Robin is arguably the worst comic to film adaptation of all time, with Schumacher back at the helm and the miscasting of George Clooney as Batman, with Chris O'Donnell returning as Robin, and Alicia Silverstone as Batgirl. They take on Mr. Freeze (Arnold Schwarzenegger) and Poison Ivy (Uma Thurman), but before you get to that point you'll be wondering how this piece of crud ever got greenlit. Each film has been re-released in Two-Disc Special Editions with an assortment of extras, but this box set features no exclusive features itself. If you're a Bat-fan, then you already know to skip this set and just buy the first two (and maybe the third depending on how much you liked it) instead of getting this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman Legacy DVD Review, April 9, 2003
By 
Jeffery Bauman (Garden City, Michigan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Here we have it, all four Batman films all together in one DVD box set. The series started in 1989 with the original classic Batman. In 1992, the series was continued with the superior Batman Returns. In 1995, Batman's story continued, and Robin was introduced in Batman Forever. The series ended in 1997 with Batman & Robin. Here I'll review each film, as well as the DVD.
Batman: Here, Batman is played excellently by Michael Keaton. Batman must save Gotham City from The Joker (Jack Nicholson). Keaton makes a great Batman, and Nicholson is superb as The Joker. Tim Burton brings a dark visual style which I vastly prefer to Joel Schumacher's neon colored versions. Movie: (5/5)
Picture Quality: The picture quality is quite good. A few specks show up every now and then, but nothing too bad. Black level is dead on with excellent clarity. (4.5/5) Sound: The Dolby Digital 5.1 soundtrack is excellent. It was great to hear the Batman theme with such clarity and force. A great soundtrack all around. (5/5) Extras: The extras are some very interesting production notes, which are quite informative. (3/5)
Batman Returns: The best film in the series. This time, Batman (Keaton) must save Gotham from the evil monster, The Penguin (Danny DeVito), and the slinky, mysterious Catwoman (Michelle Pfeiffer). Once again, Keaton makes an excellent Batman. DeVito is also excellent as the montrous Penguin, but it's Pfeiffer who unquestionably steals the show. Easliy the best film in the series. (5/5) Picture: Batman Returns features stunning imagery as well as some dark imagery which the DVD captures beautifully. Black level is dead on. The picture is wonderfully crisp and clear. Great all around. (5/5) Sound: The Dolby Digital 5.1 track is also great. Surrounds are used heavily and to great effect. I've never heard this film be so clear and dynamic! (5/5) Extras: Some very interesting production notes. (3/5)
Batman Forever: Here's where the series took a dip. Burton gave up the directoral reigns to Joel Schumacher. This film is still pretty good, though, despite what others think. Batman is played by Val Kilmer who makes a pretty good Batman, but he's no Michael Keaton. This time, Batman must battle Two-Face (Tommy Lee Jones) and The Riddler (Jim Carrey). Batman falls in love with Chase Meridian (Nicole Kidman), and teams up with Robin (Chris O' Donnell). (4.4/5) Picture: The DVD displays stunning image quality. The colors are so vibrant and bold. Black level is dead on. (5/5) Sound: The Dolby Digital 5.1 track is incredibly clear and dynamic. Surrounds are put to heavy use. (5/5) Extras: Again, some interesting production notes. (3/5)
Batman & Robin: Easily the worst of the series. I still find it somewhat enjoyable for it's pure campiness. Now George Clooney plays Batman. Clooney's okay, but Michael Keaton IS Batman. Batman (Clooney) and Robin (O' Donnell) must save Gotham City from Mr. Freeze (Arnold Schwarzenegger), Poison Ivy (Uma Thurman), and Bane (Jeep Swanson). They're joined by Batgirl (Alicia Silverstone). (3.7/5) Picture: The picture quality is pristine, with excellent clarity. The colors are very vibrant and bold. Black level is also dead on. (5/5) Sound: The Dolby Digital 5.1 track is very clear and dynamic. The surrounds are put to constant use. (5/5) Extras: Again, some interesting production notes. (3/5)
Conclusion: The Batman Legacy is worth it if you're a fan of the series, or really like the Batman character. While Batman Forever and more so Batman & Robin are a little less than perfect, the first two films are more than worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman: The Motion Picture Anthology 1989-1997, March 23, 2009
In order to convey where I'm coming from, I was never able to see the original Batman or the equally stunning Batman Returns in theaters when they were initially released. I figured that these new Blu Ray discs in combination with my high definition monitor. Well, I was beyond blown away with the image transfers from DVD to Blu Ray. As one would expect, with each progressing film the picture gets better. But even Batman and Batman Returns look great, especially considering how old the source material is. This is, without a doubt, a must have for any die-hard Batman fan if you want to experience the first four films in the highest quality available. Noteworthy is the fact that although the less than impressive third and fourth films are a bit goofy, they do look visually stunning on Blu Ray. If there is any silver lining for "Forever" and "B&R," it's the fact that the colors jump off the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bat-tastic! unless u have the 8 disc box set already, March 15, 2009
Great set of all four original Batman movies. The quality of the picture and sound are by far the best I've seen and heard for these movies. The special features are even better. You get a bunch of things such as commentary by both directors, featurettes, music videos and a six part documentary through all four of the films. It even makes Batman and Robin more enjoyable even though it is the worst one of them all.

This set,however, could been absolutely seen as a rip off to people who own the set on 8 disc regular dvd as it has the same special features that was on the previous one that was discontinued but now reavailable again. Is it worth the money for bluray? If and only if you never owned the box set before. I never owned it and when I found out it would be rereleased I figure I would spend the extra 24 dollars and get it on bluray(59.99 for regular; 84.99 for bluray).I only owned the old version of the first three that had no special features at all, so it was a no brainer for me and well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A review of the set, not the individual films., November 23, 2009
By 
Matthew D. Davis (Ventura, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This set is amazing! It is all 4 movies for a very low price of 10 bucks. I picked this up at my local Target on Thursday and watched all the batman movies through the weekend. This set includes four Batman films. Batman (1989), Batman Returns (1992), Batman Forever (1995), and Batman & Robin (1997). The special features include some character facts and production notes. It is all very basic reading material on the disc, but I found a lot of it to be very interesting. They could have had absolutely no special features at all, and I still would think this set is worth it! Is this set better than the Motion Picture Anthology? Well it depends on how much you care about these movies to want to watch all the special features for them. I would say I wouldn't mind watching the special features of the first two movies, but the last two I could do without. As far as the price goes, this set is better because it is only 10 bucks and the anthology is $80. As far as picture quality goes, all the films looked great to me. You can't really go wrong with this release, you get 4 films for 10 bucks in a single DVD case on 2 discs (and the discs are double sided with one movie on each side for those worried about compression)! Talk about saving shelf space! I am thinking of buying the other sets in this series like the superman and matrix collections and replacing my existing DVDs with them just to save shelf space alone! Anyways this is the first of the "4 film favorites" collections that I have bought and I am very happy with the purchase. Sure not ALL the films are that great, but your going to be spending more than 10 bucks for just one of these films and I can tell you that 2 of the films should be owned by everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holy Batman has gone Blu, February 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I will spare everyone the movie reviews of the movies in this set , because frankly i think you have had to at least seen one or two movies in this set at some point. It's 2010 and these movies are old. With that being said the first two are the best and the last two are just ok. But the High def collection as a whole is great , because the picture quality and the audio quality on all four films is really good. And that is the reason your buying this set on blu-ray in the first place. Right! In this collection is Tim Burton Batman 89 and Batman returns and Joel Schumacher Batman Forever and Batman & Robin. This collection is filled to the brink with Special Features. Including Audio commentary , behind the scenes , trailers and other great amazing features. Do you love batman , did you enjoy the films in this set and do you want the best picture and audio available on any format. If the answer is yes , then what are you doing reading this. Click Add and Buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.