Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb King quad-pack
There's no "extras" in this Stephen King flip-disc double pack beyond movie trailers. Widescreen transfers are of excellent quality.

All four titles are appealing, but for different reasons.

DOLORES CLAIBORNE is the most "normal" film here. It deals with a mother/daughter relationship and their past history, plus the mom's renewed trouble with a...
Published on October 10, 2009 by Annie Van Auken

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
Great movies
Can't beat the. Price
I had been searching or cats eye and was excited to see it in this set
Published 24 months ago by Tabitha Getty


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb King quad-pack, October 10, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4 Film Favorites: Stephen King (Creepshow, Dolores Claiborne, Dreamcatcher, Stephen King's Cat's Eye) (DVD)
There's no "extras" in this Stephen King flip-disc double pack beyond movie trailers. Widescreen transfers are of excellent quality.

All four titles are appealing, but for different reasons.

DOLORES CLAIBORNE is the most "normal" film here. It deals with a mother/daughter relationship and their past history, plus the mom's renewed trouble with a local sheriff who has been trying for about 20 years to see her convicted of murder.

Just saw CREEPSHOW for the first time and really liked it. Here, a father takes his pre-teen's horror comic book away and trashes it. The book flips open and a single panel from five different comics segues to live action, in other words, into five short stories. Best of the lot is "Tide," the one in the middle. King himself is the star of tale #2. After we see all five there's a final shock for the dad who foolishly threw his kid's book away.

CAT'S EYE is another anthology, one that follows a gray tom's adventures as he travels south, roughly along the East Coast. In North Carolina, the cat bonds with a very young Drew Barrymore, who can't convince her scoffing parents that there's a small monster hiding inside her bedroom wall.

DREAMCATCHER features a malignant version of the magic we see in THE GREEN MILE (1999), but it's really a very gross film about giant razor-toothed worms from outer space trying to conquer Earth via the water supply. A bloody stomach-turner, this one!

Parenthetical numbers preceding titles are 1 to 10 imdb viewer poll ratings.

(5.9) Cat's Eye (1985) - Drew Barrymore/James Woods/Alan King/Robert Hays/Candy Clark

(6.5) Creepshow (1982) - Hal Holbrook/Adrienne Barbeau/Fritz Weaver/Leslie Neilsen/Carrie Nye/E.G. Marshall/Ed Harris/Ted Danson/Stephen King

(7.2) Dolores Claiborne (1995) - Kathy Bates/Jennifer Jason Leigh/Judy Parfitt/Christopher Plummer/David Strathairn/Eric Bogosian/John C. Reilly

(5.3) Dreamcatcher (2003) - Morgan Freeman/Thomas Jane/Jason Lee/Tom Sizemore/Donnie Wahlberg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting way of enjoying movies, July 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4 Film Favorites: Stephen King (Creepshow, Dolores Claiborne, Dreamcatcher, Stephen King's Cat's Eye) (DVD)
It was a great idea to add these multi packs of movies. I am a big fan of Stephen King word, read most of his books, and many of the movie are close. These four movies, jump from the supernatural to the daily living of the abused.
dreamcatcher is a great movie, has a solid story, good actors, alot of gore, but some true meaning. I don't like to give away a movie or it's ending, I believe every person has a right to an opinion.
Dolores Claiborne is one of my all time favorites, and Kathy Bates is great in it. Not a typical scary movie, but real, and strong, and strong subject matter. Really some powerful stuff.
Cat's eyes is a you're a kid, enjoying your first horror flick, it's good, not as scary as you remember but this full of memories and of course a very young, cute drew barrymore.
cheepshow- just awesome, comic book, good, scary, creepy, gorey, wonderful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars horror, February 8, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4 Film Favorites: Stephen King (Creepshow, Dolores Claiborne, Dreamcatcher, Stephen King's Cat's Eye) (DVD)
great movies I bought this for my daughter she loves Stephen King movies I think she has already watched them 10 times already she'll never get tired of watching thees well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, March 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4 Film Favorites: Stephen King (Creepshow, Dolores Claiborne, Dreamcatcher, Stephen King's Cat's Eye) (DVD)
Great movies
Can't beat the. Price
I had been searching or cats eye and was excited to see it in this set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!, April 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4 Film Favorites: Stephen King (Creepshow, Dolores Claiborne, Dreamcatcher, Stephen King's Cat's Eye) (DVD)
I loved all the shows except for The creep show. I havwe watched all the other 3 twice already. I would recommend!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four GREAT film adaptations from Steven king novels!, February 10, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4 Film Favorites: Stephen King (Creepshow, Dolores Claiborne, Dreamcatcher, Stephen King's Cat's Eye) (DVD)
I love movies based on Steven King novels. My wife had not seen all these movies, so I bought this collection so she could watch the film versions of the novels. The films stay true to the book and they are great to watch. I was very please with the quality and the price of this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow., October 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4 Film Favorites: Stephen King (Creepshow, Dolores Claiborne, Dreamcatcher, Stephen King's Cat's Eye) (DVD)
You just can't ask for a better selection than this of King's novels set into screen. They are the ones that make you want to think yet allow you to not. Captivating is what I call King. And these movies are the ones that go to the brink, but don't push you over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Purchased these as a gift., May 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4 Film Favorites: Stephen King (Creepshow, Dolores Claiborne, Dreamcatcher, Stephen King's Cat's Eye) (DVD)
Gave these as shift, my friend loves scary movies and she loved these. Se said they were a perfect mix of everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stephen King Must Have!, July 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4 Film Favorites: Stephen King (Creepshow, Dolores Claiborne, Dreamcatcher, Stephen King's Cat's Eye) (DVD)
Creepshow was one of the older movies and very, very good based on the concept of the old scary comic book stories. It is a must have for any Stephen King fan for their collection. It's good with a bowl of popcorn on Halloween night.
Cats eye is a series of stories that takes you through the adventures of a cat on his way to save a little girl from a troll. Each story has you on the edge of your seat. There is a lot of psychology at work with this one and the stories end with the final one with Drew Barrymore playing the little girl who is saved by the brave furry little "General" who protects her even going as far as to play the troll on the record player and send him flying into a box fan. It's also a good movie.
Dreamcatcher is too good a movie to tell you about so I'm not going to spoil it.
Morgan Freeman gives a magnificent performance and well lets just say, you'll never
say SSDD again without thinking of this movie. It's a good movie. Watch it.
Dolores Claiborne is in my opinion the definition of true horror, working hard all her life to try to give her child a future only to find she's married to a monster who takes the money and abuses the child in a way that is just unthinkable. I think
this one would be good for any psychology class dealing on subjects of coercive paraphilias to gain an understanding of what it is like for victims of it. It would
be an excellent movie for certain kinds of psychology or sociology classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen King movies, January 10, 2010
By 
M. Reynolds (Ruston, LA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4 Film Favorites: Stephen King (Creepshow, Dolores Claiborne, Dreamcatcher, Stephen King's Cat's Eye) (DVD)
I have only watched Dolores Claiborne from this four-movie DVD set so far. As always, Kathy Bates is great, but the real plus to this movie (beside the story) was Jennifer Jason Leigh! She delivered a powerful performance as Dolores' daughter and you could really feel the pain and anguish of this young woman. I loved this book and although I've watched the movie only once thus far, I will watch it again and again. For those unfamiliar with Stephen King's work, you may not know this book is slightly related to the "Storm of the Century" movie/script that I found to be the best-ever Stephen King book-to-screen movie yet.

Sorry, I can't reflect on the other movies in this set yet, but Dolores is watchable and more understandable after having read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.