Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: 4 Film Favorites: Critters (Critters, Critters 2, Critters 3, Critters 4)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 14, 2010
If you're a 70's - 80's pepsi generation child, you know what this movie is about. I bought the 4-pack because it was really cheap and offered free shipping. Full of creepy and comedy scenes, this movie is without a doubt one of the better 80's movies. Critters is about little bowling ball sized monsters with nothing but fur and teeth. The original Critters was released in 1986 and did great at the box office. I've seen all four of the parts and they are all equivalently good. Directed by Stepheh Herek, this movie recieved "two thumbs up" from Siskel and Ebert.

(Wiki) The central focus of the series is upon a group of ravenous & carnivorous alien creatures called "Krites" that have the ability to roll into little furry balls and combine into a pernicious sphere that can roll across the landscape and cause destruction. In appearance, the individual Krites resemble small furry/spiky animals with large mouths and many sharp teeth. Throughout the movies they attack humans and livestock by biting and attempting to eat them, or at least a piece of them. The spikes on their backs can be launched as projectiles, with devastating effect at times (actually the spikes can render the victim unconscious or asleep and pulling them out can awaken the victim). The coloration of the Krites varies between black, brown and navy blue. In the original film they also managed to grow to a larger size.

(Wiki) The storyline for the first two films involves bounty hunters from outer space who hunt the extraterrestrial monsters in small American towns. The setting for the third movie is a city. In the final film, the hunt takes place on a space station.

(Wiki) The Krites are ravenous monsters without conscience that exist simply to eat and breed and the main human characters in the films endeavor to protect themselves from the creatures while trying to think of ways to defeat them. Terrence Mann appears in all four films as an interstellar bounty hunter named Ug and Don Keith Opper also appears in all four films as Charlie, a bucolic alcoholic who rises to greatness when called upon to defend mankind from being converted into brunch. Leonardo DiCaprio had a role in Critters 3. Dee Wallace-Stone starred in the first film and Billy Zane had a small role in that production. Scott Grimes starred in the first two films as Bradley Brown.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2011
i'm not sure if i received an older or newer version of this from amazon but my case contains all four movies on their own separate disc.

the video quality is pretty great for DVD & it's absolutely worth buying this set over the individual movies.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2010
A must have collection if you don't have any of the Critter films. Watched Critters growing up in todays times they are funny to watch. Always loved the little fur balls.
44 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2010
Any horror movie fan deserves to buy this set. All of these movies are fun and entertaining. You can't beat the price for this content. If you love the "Critters" films and you don't own them on DVD yet, then do yourself a favor and buy this set. It is well worth the price.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2011
I remember watching this movies as a kid with my parents. Are they exceptional well-written? No. Are they entertaining? MOST DEFINITELY! And that's really all you can ask for in a movie. The icing on the cake was the fact that I got all four for only ten bucks. Talk about a steal! This collection comes highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2016
Not bad movies when bored..however in my opinion i only like the first & fourth film...definitely 80's movies...not much complaints about the quality I just didn't like the 2nd & 3rd movie...you do however get to choose for each movie if you want to watch in a full screen or wide screen format though!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2013
This series is pretty funny, such a knock off of Gremlins. I ended up buying this collection because every year before Halloween I add a couple new horror flicks to my collection. These aren't what you call quality horror, but again, they're entertaining & fun to laugh at. I watched these with a group of friends & we all had a blast, we all remembered going to the video store with our parents & hoping they'd let us rent horror movies, fun times!

The DVDs: All of the DVDs worked perfectly, I didn't have an issue with any of them. I love how all 4 movies come in one small case, taking up less room on my collection display.

Side Note: The song from the 1st one plays many times throughout the movie, it was stuck in my head FOREVER, you gotta love some of those 80's songs!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2015
All four movies are attached to one spindle, which is a little dangerous for the discs. I was taking the DVDs out of the case and immediately dropped them. There wasn't much damage, so we were able to have our Thanksgiving Day Critters marathon, but that was just lucky. Movies 1 and 2 are the best, movie 3 was giggle-worthy because of young Leonardo DiCaprio, and movie 4 is a bit exploitative and Aliens-knockoffish, but for the price and the complete collection, this set was definitely worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2013
Classic cheesy horror movies. Great for sitting around with some friends passing around a...cigarette...and laughing at the corny-ness of the quadrilogy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2015
Freaking 4 Criters movies!! Grab a bottle of wine to enjoy with this box of cheese. If you haven't seen a Critters movie don't start here. Wait until you see one on a TV Saturday matinee. They aren't for everyone but if you have an affection for lame 80s special effects then check these out. 4 movies for less than $10 buck you can hardly go wrong.
Each movie is on it's own disc which is nice. No lame double sided discs. Each disc has it's own artwork also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse