Customer Reviews


190 Reviews
5 star:
 (150)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great bargain
The four film favorites series took on Dirty Harry in this set. There are five Dirty Harry films, but the last film, The Dead Pool, is not really worth watching, so this is a great economical way to experience the Dirty Harry films.

Dirty Harry: Whether taken as social commentary or just an entertaining action flick, this one is a classic. 5/5

Magnum...
Published on May 7, 2010 by Erik Bateson

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great price for four flicks but lousy packaging (you get what you pay for)
Good way to pick up four Dirty Harry flicks in one shot for a bargain price, but the packaging is not suitable.

The films were each on their own DVD disc (a good thing IMO) but instead of using a four DVD case this is just a single disc case. Perhaps the inner spindle hub is a little larger than normal (I'm not sure) but in any case all four discs were just...
Published on December 3, 2012 by Heisenberg


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great bargain, May 7, 2010
By 
This review is from: 4 Film Favorites: Dirty Harry (Dirty Harry: Deluxe Edition, The Enforcer: Deluxe Edition, Magnum Force: Deluxe Edition, Sudden Impact: Deluxe Edition) (DVD)
The four film favorites series took on Dirty Harry in this set. There are five Dirty Harry films, but the last film, The Dead Pool, is not really worth watching, so this is a great economical way to experience the Dirty Harry films.

Dirty Harry: Whether taken as social commentary or just an entertaining action flick, this one is a classic. 5/5

Magnum Force: While not as strong as the first, this is a worthy successor, if a little long. 4/5

The Enforcer: This one is where the series begins to feel a little tired, but it does have many memorable bits, including the holdup scene in the beginning and Harry's first female partner on the force. 3.5/5

Sudden Impact: Clint Eastwood's only Dirty Harry film as director, this is an enjoyable entry in the series, featuring one of the series' most famous lines, "Go ahead, make my day." The actress who plays a female rape victim in the film gives a poor performance in an otherwise decent film. 3.5/5

There you have it. Every Dirty Harry film, I feel, was weaker than the previous one, but the first four are worth watching. Get a great film and a few decent films for a good price. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Harry Collection on Blu Ray, August 18, 2013
Dirty Harry Collection

The good news is that you get all 4 Dirty Harry films on Blu in one collection. Each film is on its own separate Blu Ray disc. The odd thing here, and the first I've ever seen for BluRay disc collections is that there are only two pages which hold the discs. Each page holds 2 discs, one on top of the other. I do not think that this will damage the discs in any way but I would certainly rather have had one page/holder for each disc.

Dirty Harry...
VIDEO..A far cry from the poor masters of this film on Standard Def yet the transcode to Blu Ray still has some video issues. While the color grading has increased color resolution considerably, they have also crushed the blacks a great deal so that details in the many dark and shadowy areas are almost completely lost. Skin tones do vary from normal and natural to, in a couple of scenes, almost orange. In the opening scene which is a wide angle shot including the ocean, the grain in the water is quite obvious with almost a flicker to it and there is one short shot of a car's grill where stair stepping is observed as well. The video quality really does vary as I observed a couple of shots with thread noise and also a dark blotch which was either on the camera lens or on whichever master they converted to blu ray from. Mbps rate appeared to average in the high teens/low twenties. Despite all this, this remains the best looking video of Dirty Harry that I've seen.

AUDIO...The lossless Dolby True HD 5.1 is the surprising star of this film on blu ray with some very nice panning between the front and rear stages as well as some discreet channeling across the front stage. Not much LFE use but it does provide some ambience for the gunshots. All dialogue was easy to understand and far more transparent than any lossy audio codec. There was no need to adjust volume levels once they were set.

Magnum Force
VIDEO...After viewing Magnum Force on Blu Ray, it occurred to me that this will be the best we ever see of this series of Dirty Harry movies. Magnum Force on Blu Ray is definitely greatly improved over its previous versions in Standard Definition, yet, it is not without its faults. Colors are natural and consistent throughout the film with normal appearing skin tones. There is a fine film grain for the length of the movie but no artifacts or real dirt that I could see. Contrast has been greatly improved and the entire image cleaned up as compared to SD releases, though small detailing in hair, leaves and such appear somewhat smooth. This also can be attributed to a soft camera focus which only sharpens when there are facial closeups where details and pores are easily defined. The best transfer of Magnum Force I've seen.

AUDIO.. Dolby True HD 5.1 is the lossless audio codec used again which will always be superior to a lossy codec. Early in the film the audio reminded me of the old movie newsreels shown in the old movie houses. It sounded a touch tinny and distant. This cleared up and the audio then sounded fine to me with clear and transparent dialogue. The surrounds are used here and there during most of the film with some nice panning between the stages and a few discreet foley fx. However, the last half hour really brings your surround system to life with plenty of rear to front & and front to rear audio panning and a ton of discreet directionality being sent to your surrounds of the bullets flying and cars racing by. It really makes a great quality difference. There is not a whole lot of work for your LFE channel other than to supply a little low end ambience.

Exttras...An excellent half hour documentary on the moraility of the Dirty Harry movies, as well as the typical commentary, trailers and a few other worthy extra documentaries. I believe I have seen all of them on previous releases but can't specify where. They might have been included on the extras disc of the 35 films, 35 years Clint Eastwood Collection which was so horribly made in terms of movie quality.
All in all, Magnum Force, as a film held up and retains its aging legs.

The Enforcer..
VIDEO...Generally, the Enforcer retains the same color grading, the same look as its two predecessors. The film grain is less noticeable and I saw no artifacts or aliasing anywhere. I also noticed an improved contrast that is better than the previous two films in the 4 film collection and significantly better than any Standard Def version.
Despite improved contrast, focus tends to be soft which is typical of film rather than the ultra sharp contrast of movies shot in video. Mbps rate seemed to average in the mid twenties and the overall transfer is not bad at all. About 20 minutes in, as the bad guys break into the warehouse, the film stalled for several seconds before picking up again. I went back to the same spot to repeat this issue and it did occur again. About 15 seconds of more or less, unimportant scene was missed.

AUDIO...Again the audio is a lossless Dolby True HD 5.1 audio and the levels are just fine with a nice spread across the front stage of its music score. While there is some panning between the front and rear stages, do not expect a whole lot nor should you expect much discreet directionality. There is some but not a lot.

Extras...More of the same older, but still quality documentaries regarding violence in movies, a very short doc on Eastwood being involved in the production and several trailers.

Sudden Impact
VIDEO...Probably the cleanest transfer of the four with only a mild film grain, barely noticeable. Colors appear richer and there are more details within the darker areas. Mbps rate appears to be the lowest, averaging in the mid teens. I saw no artifacts or aliasing anywhere and contrast really is quite good. The soft focus of the other films remains here but is in no way distracting, nor does it take away from the film. Overall a nice transfer
and definitely better than previous standard definition releases.

AUDIO..Lossless Dolby True HD holds some nice directionality for all the surrounds when needed. The quieter foley fx, especially on beach scenes are nicely discreet according to the assigned channels without being distracting from the center dialogue or action. The sub is asked to do some ambient work though not often. All audio levels are as they should be.
Extras...One commentary and another documentary on the evolution of the Dirty Harry films. Again, I have seen these before.

This 2013 collection release is undoubtably a double dip by the company to gain purchase from those who do not already have these movies on Blu Ray as individual discs. If you have them already on Blu Ray, then this collection is not for you but should you only have the films on Standard Definition discs or collections than go ahead and spring for it. The transfers are not perfect but there is a good enough amount of improvement between the SD releases and these to encourage your purchase.

All my reviews focus only upon the quality of a film's transfer to blu ray. I do hope this review has been of some help to you.
Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Choice., July 26, 2010
By 
Gary Peterson (San Diego, California USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 4 Film Favorites: Dirty Harry (Dirty Harry: Deluxe Edition, The Enforcer: Deluxe Edition, Magnum Force: Deluxe Edition, Sudden Impact: Deluxe Edition) (DVD)
My wife and I picked up a "Dirty Harry" DVD and liked it very much. Good entertainment, albeit somewhat violent! In any case, we enjoyed it enough to buy all four of these movies as individual DVDs and I reviewed each DVD for Amazon. You can look them up if you're interested in my opinions. Afterwards, we discovered this 4-pack of DVDs of the same movies. What can I say? I rated all four individual DVDs highly. They were excellent! Perhaps "Sudden Impact" was my favorite (5 stars) and "The Enforcer" was my least favorite (4 stars), but only by a slight margin. Anyway, this 4 pack is a bargain over purchasing them as individuals and they're all very entertaining movies. If you like Clint Eastwood movies, and Dirty Harry movies in particular, it's a good choice.

Gary Peterson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great price for four flicks but lousy packaging (you get what you pay for), December 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4 Film Favorites: Dirty Harry (Dirty Harry: Deluxe Edition, The Enforcer: Deluxe Edition, Magnum Force: Deluxe Edition, Sudden Impact: Deluxe Edition) (DVD)
Good way to pick up four Dirty Harry flicks in one shot for a bargain price, but the packaging is not suitable.

The films were each on their own DVD disc (a good thing IMO) but instead of using a four DVD case this is just a single disc case. Perhaps the inner spindle hub is a little larger than normal (I'm not sure) but in any case all four discs were just crammed together on that single spindle, rubbing into each other, and I was amazed that any of them were in OK shape. As it turned out three were fine but one is scratched up very badly.

Amazon is sending me out a new set but I assume it will be the same packaging with the same odds of the DVDs being scratched. I'm hoping that the one disc that is bad in the copy I bought is OK in the new set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Harry 4-Film Collection, August 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4 Film Favorites: Dirty Harry (Dirty Harry: Deluxe Edition, The Enforcer: Deluxe Edition, Magnum Force: Deluxe Edition, Sudden Impact: Deluxe Edition) (DVD)
I just received my DVDs the other day and wanted to add a few comments to the list here.

First, my set included 4 single-sided DVD discs rather than 2 double-sided ones. I am not sure if that is the new way to package this set but it was a pleasant surprise for me based on the product details posted on Amazon. However, the 4 discs were stacked one on the other on a single spindle which isn't ideal. I plan to separate them somehow to keep them from scratching each other.

Second, all discs do include extra featurettes of some kind in addition to the main film. This only adds to the value of these movies.

Considering I paid less than ten dollars, this set is a great value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish all 5 films were in here, March 5, 2010
This review is from: 4 Film Favorites: Dirty Harry (Dirty Harry: Deluxe Edition, The Enforcer: Deluxe Edition, Magnum Force: Deluxe Edition, Sudden Impact: Deluxe Edition) (DVD)
This is a great place to start if you're looking to check out the Dirty Harry saga. My only regret is that the 5th installment in the series, The Dead Pool, isn't included. I was able to pick up a copy at Best Buy for only $10 so I can't really complain though. Besides saving a lot of space on your DVD shelf, this is a must have for any Clint Eastwood fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Drawing the Line, October 20, 2014
This review is from: 4 Film Favorites: Dirty Harry (Dirty Harry: Deluxe Edition, The Enforcer: Deluxe Edition, Magnum Force: Deluxe Edition, Sudden Impact: Deluxe Edition) (DVD)
Times change and the world seems ever more gray where you can’t necessarily tell the good guys from the bad. DIRTY HARRY has stood the test of time and remains a classic film based on the mores of a modern society tempered with logical judgment of how to dispense justice to those unlawful individuals in that society. Clint Eastwood as Dirty Harry is the personification of that tool of logical judgment much to the disdain of his superiors and to the legal system he works within. DIRTY HARRY and SUDDEN IMPACT are the two films that bring the motivations and morality of this character under close scrutiny as he comes full circle with a rather dichotomous approach to his job over the span of time of these two films. When I first saw SUDDEN IMPACT I thought Clint Eastwood had somehow sold out on the underlying essence of the character he had been portraying. He took the realistic base from the first three DIRTY HARRY films (DIRTY HARRY, MAGNUM FORCE and THE ENFORCER) and replaced it with some type of pseudo surrealistic parody that seemed so repulsive it bordered on bad taste to say the very least. However, after repeated viewing it started to grow on me and I actually wanted to watch it over and over. I couldn't get enough of it. It certainly was not the same Dirty Harry but it had a very blunt approach for dealing with crime and criminals. In the first three films the bureaucrats constantly accused Harry of crossing the line yet the audience knew Harry was right and the bureaucrats were just a bunch of crybaby liberals (at least that's what the directors wanted us to think). In SUDDEN IMPACT Clint Eastwood is at the helm. Eastwood proposes a question to the audience: You like crazy? Do you want to see crazy? I'm going to give you crazy. Film making is a business and like a good businessman Eastwood gives his audience what they want. Yet Eastwood is no fool. Without artistic merit this film would have been a failure. Eastwood is playing the auteur filmmaker here and he is very successful at it. This film is way ahead of its time. The fabric of a sane society is being pulled apart. Family values, if you like, are out the window. Eastwood collects the most vile, repugnant and repulsive villains for this film that literally defines the meaning of trailer trash. The Mafia hoodlums at the beginning of the film look like... choirboys compared to the bunch of wacko amusement park crazies he ends up exterminating by the film's end. If Eastwood had not directed this film with his offbeat humor and unconventional style, if he had played it as a straight drama, the critics would have screamed murder. SUDDEN IMPACT is a good film. It's a stand-alone modern day apocalyptic tale delivered for your approval by Dirty Harry. Looking at MAGNUM FORCE there is an attempt to justify the true motivations of the character but that film is not successful thematically and is rather heavy handed. THE ENFORCER's straight forward approach is more satisfying. If America ever had a blunt instrument, it certainly could be Harry Callahan. I can still remember Reni Santoni asking in the original DIRTY HARRY, "Why do they call you Dirty Harry?" Now we really know more than ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No Gray Line, October 18, 2014
Times change and the world seems ever more gray where you can’t necessarily tell the good guys from the bad. DIRTY HARRY has stood the test of time and remains a classic film based on the mores of a modern society tempered with logical judgment of how to dispense justice to those unlawful individuals in that society. Clint Eastwood as Dirty Harry is the personification of that tool of logical judgment much to the disdain of his superiors and to the legal system he works within. DIRTY HARRY and SUDDEN IMPACT are the two films that bring the motivations and morality of this character under close scrutiny as he comes full circle with a rather dichotomous approach to his job over the span of time of these two films. When I first saw SUDDEN IMPACT I thought Clint Eastwood had somehow sold out on the underlying essence of the character he had been portraying. He took the realistic base from the first three DIRTY HARRY films (DIRTY HARRY, MAGNUM FORCE and THE ENFORCER) and replaced it with some type of pseudo surrealistic parody that seemed so repulsive it bordered on bad taste to say the very least. However, after repeated viewing it started to grow on me and I actually wanted to watch it over and over. I couldn't get enough of it. It certainly was not the same Dirty Harry but it had a very blunt approach for dealing with crime and criminals. In the first three films the bureaucrats constantly accused Harry of crossing the line yet the audience knew Harry was right and the bureaucrats were just a bunch of crybaby liberals (at least that's what the directors wanted us to think). In SUDDEN IMPACT Clint Eastwood is at the helm. Eastwood proposes a question to the audience: You like crazy? Do you want to see crazy? I'm going to give you crazy. Film making is a business and like a good businessman Eastwood gives his audience what they want. Yet Eastwood is no fool. Without artistic merit this film would have been a failure. Eastwood is playing the auteur filmmaker here and he is very successful at it. This film is way ahead of its time. The fabric of a sane society is being pulled apart. Family values, if you like, are out the window. Eastwood collects the most vile, repugnant and repulsive villains for this film that literally defines the meaning of trailer trash. The Mafia hoodlums at the beginning of the film look like... choirboys compared to the bunch of wacko amusement park crazies he ends up exterminating by the film's end. If Eastwood had not directed this film with his offbeat humor and unconventional style, if he had played it as a straight drama, the critics would have screamed murder. SUDDEN IMPACT is a good film. It's a stand-alone modern day apocalyptic tale delivered for your approval by Dirty Harry. Looking at MAGNUM FORCE there is an attempt to justify the true motivations of the character but that film is not successful thematically and is rather heavy handed. THE ENFORCER's straight forward approach is more satisfying. If America ever had a blunt instrument, it certainly could be Harry Callahan. I can still remember Reni Santoni asking in the original DIRTY HARRY, "Why do they call you Dirty Harry?" Now we really know more than ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 4 TIMES THE .44..., February 26, 2015
This review is from: 4 Film Favorites: Dirty Harry (Dirty Harry: Deluxe Edition, The Enforcer: Deluxe Edition, Magnum Force: Deluxe Edition, Sudden Impact: Deluxe Edition) (DVD)
This quadrilogy of DIRTY HARRY films is the perfect starer kit for any action, 70's super-cop, Clint Eastwood / DH fanatic! DIRTY HARRY gets things going w/ Harry Callahan facing off w/ a Zodiac-inspired sniper / murderer, called Scorpio (Andrew Robinson). Eastwood hit the ground running in this masterwork of -necessary- police brutality! MAGNUM FORCE pits Harry against a team of vigilantes, out to terminate the worst criminals in San Francisco, without the benefit of due process! Harry must confront his own brand of policing when he's asked to join them. A classic! In THE ENFORCER, Callahan gets a new partner- A woman (Tyne Daly)! Remember, this was a big issue in 1976! Can Harry battle both his chauvinism AND a gang of psychopathic, pseudo-revolutionaries out to cause havoc? This is the lesser of the DH movies, but still good. SUDDEN IMPACT has Harry matching wits w/ a female rape-survivor (Sondra Locke) on a rampage of vengeance. Can Harry catch her before she kills all who have wronged her? Another moral dilemma for Callahan, as she's doing what he'd probably do in her position. Callahan unleashes the .44 Auto-mag (an automatic hand-cannon) in all of its glory! Of course, this one also made the phrase, "Go ahead, make my day!" an 80's cultural phenomenon! Buy this collection right now!...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for 4 of the 5 films, June 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 4 Film Favorites: Dirty Harry (Dirty Harry: Deluxe Edition, The Enforcer: Deluxe Edition, Magnum Force: Deluxe Edition, Sudden Impact: Deluxe Edition) (DVD)
I had been waiting to get the 5 Dirty Harry films on DVD. The previously released sets have been VERY expensive.

If you want the films this is a way to get at least 4 OF THEM NOT ALL 5 at a decent price.

Even though "The Dead Pool" is the least memorable of the films still should have been included.

From the original 1971 film "Dirty Harry" to "Magnum Force" to "The Enforcer" to my favorite of the films 1983's "Sudden Impact".

All the films are wide screen.

Good to see in a cheaper package each film has an extra with it.

NO chapter search list or film information. Cheaper DVD package you know that type of thing would not be included.

OK, I am going to complain about these every time I get a DVD with them. CHEAP & HORRIBLE!! THESE ARE TERRIBLE. This DVD plastic case is one of those that has THE INTENTIONAL HOLES IN THEM. Your DVD's can be easily damaged because of these holes. Whoever designed them & whoever said this is a good idea WAS NOT THINKING of their customers, just a way to cut corners.
They WANT the DVD's to get damaged so you HAVE TO purchase same films again in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.