Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Blake Shelton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Outdoor Recreation

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Right off the bat, I have to assume that the only way anyone can put together a collection of 10 films noir and sell it for less than 10 bucks is to get the movies from the public domain and not have to pay any royalties for them. Usually, collections assembled in that way are pathetic at best, such as the "50 movie packs" of science fiction, westerns and other genre films that you can pick up for a song. Most if not all of the films in such collections are obscure, laughably bad grade-Z stinkers that are a total waste of time to watch. Plus, their video and audio quality typically suck big-time.

That's not the case for "The Film Noir Collection." First, the movies are not that obscure. In fact, some of them are genuine classics. Several are available individually (a quick search found "Whirlpool," "D.O.A." and "Scarlet Street," and there may be others). Eddie Muller covers five of these movies in his fantastic film noir volume "Dark City: The Lost World of Film Noir," which gives them a lot of legitimacy. I haven't yet watched them all, but I have run all of them for a few minutes to make sure they played okay and to check out the video and audio quality. It should be no surprise if I say that the video and sound quality vary greatly among the films. They're unrestored and un-remastered, obviously, so their quality doesn't compare with films that have gotten professional treatment. But they're not that bad, either. Most of them are not as sharp as they could be, some are too contrasty and some are not contrasty enough, and the sound levels vary wildly from one to another. But all are very watchable.

The 10 films come five each on two DVDs, each with a main menu only. There are no chapter stops, "making ofs," interviews or any other extras--again, for this price, that shouldn't be a surprise. The whole thing comes in a single plastic case tucked inside an embossed metal tin, which, to my mind, serves absolutely no useful purpose whatsoever, since the graphics on the tin are exactly the same as the graphics on the plastic case. Why not lose the tin and knock the price down a little more? But that's not a complaint. This collection is well worth its price, and any film noir fan should pick it up without a second thought.
2121 comments|91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
A wonderful set of classic Film Noir, It includes some of my old time favorites of D.O.A. with Ed O'Brien looking for the person who poisioned him before he dies, The Stranger with Loretta Young and Edward G. Robinson, a wife finding out that her husband is an infamous Nazi spy, Shock with Vincent Price, a wonderful film Noir, different than the usual horror classic that you usually see him in, He still plays a Dr. but the outcome flows with the suspense of a classic Noir,Quicksand..ahh with a young Mickey Rooney, Jeanne Cagney, and Peter Lorre. Unique in itself, with the suspense,it keeps you entertained from beginning to end. Other Classics..Beat The Devil, Impact, Scarlet Street,Port of New York, Whirlpool, and They made me a Criminal, keep the viewer going from one film to the next, Over 15 hours appx. 902 min. Done on 2 DVD discs, with your classic Movie Tin. A wonderful set for the Mystery/Suspense film Noir buff! Hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2013
I love film noir. I knew of only one of these movies by title (DOA) when buying this and realized I've watched three of the ten. I ended up liking 9 of the 10 movies and watched all of them over 4 days. Even the movie with Mickey Rooney in it was great (Quicksand), probably my favorite (and I'm not a Mickey Rooney fan). This is a great value and a must buy for people who like film noir. You won't be disappointed. 10 movies for $10. Excellent! The tin it came in was kind of cool, too.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2014
A wonderful gift for anyone who enjoys either Humphrey Bogart or film noire. My favorite movies in this collection are "DOA", "Impact", "The Stranger", and "Whirlpool". The Bogart film "Beat the Devil" isn't my favorite film from Bogie; however, even a not-great Bogart film is a great film. If you haven't seen "The Stranger", by all means watch it as soon as you can. "DOA" is great, so much better than the remake.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2013
Not the best quality but acceptable. These films have not been restored but the contrast and resolution are adequate for standard TV viewing. I have seen better quality of the same films elsewhere but for the price, these are OK.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2012
The two discs included hold some minor Film Noir from the late 30's through early 50's. I have always liked Beat The Devil, D.O.A is a fun, outlandish Film Noir, and the others are right on par.
The price was very good, and the films may not be academy award calibre (The Stranger is a standout), but they are solid Film Noir examples with known actors like Bogie, Edward G., Peter Lorre, John Garfield, Gene Tierney, Vincent Price, Orson Welles, Jennifer Jones, Edmund O'Brien, Pamela Britton, Richard Conte, Jose Ferrer, Yul Brynner, Scott Brady . . . and etc. Not bad for Hollywood stars and character actors.
The quality may be lacking on some of the prints, but all in all you can't beat this gritty, fun collection.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2013
A mixture of very the very good with some less well known but entertaining movies. Unfortunately the DVD are not top quality with several of the movies experiencing skips in locations reproducible across a number of players :-)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2014
This is a great old collection of old movies. So many of these old movies have been ignored for so long, its nice to be able to enjoy them. Yea, they are not all great movies, but its a great collection to have and enjoy.
Don't get this looking to be amazed by the best of the best. Its a great collection of interesting pieces.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2013
Excellent selection. I was especially pleased to see the last one made by Bogart- the Harder they Fall. Quintessential Bogart.
22 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a good collection of film noir films. "The Stranger" directed by Orson Wells in 1946 is a gripping film that picks you up and doesn't let you go until the last frames. It had one Oscar nomination for writing. Loretta Young as Mary Longstreet is gorgeous and compelling, torn by love for her husband and her slow realization of his evil nature. Edward G. Robinson makes a strong presence throughout the film, driving the case to its breathtaking conclusion. Wells' penchant for close-up inserts and stark lighting choices make this an amazing film. Richard Long who would later become a television star on series like "The Big Valley" does a good job as Mary's younger brother Noah. The 2-DVD set opens with "Whirlpool," a 1949 film directed by Otto Preminger about a woman (Gene Tierney stars as Ann Sutton) suffering from kleptomania who undergoes hypnosis and becomes a suspect in a murder of which she has no memory. It's a gripping drama that has humor, but also keeps you on the edge of your seat. The 1950 film "D.O.A." stars Edmond O'Brien who gets poisoned and tries to figure out who his killer is in the hours he has left. The countdown to death adds a frantic pacing to the film which serves it well. Pamela Britton who later became well-known for her work on the TV series "My Favorite Martian" sinks the film a bit as a secretary in love with her boss. Her performance seems so melodramatic that it loses reality for me quite a bit. The 1949 film "Impact" has a strong story about a hard-working industrialist whose wife tries to kill him. Brian Donlevy turns in a somewhat wooden performance as Walter Williams. Helen Walker plays his conniving wife to great success. Her real-life car accident killing a war veteran turned the public against her, which reduced her choices to playing female villains. Ella Raines plays Marsha Peters who befriends Williams as a talented mechanic in a small Idaho town. "Beat the Devil" is a 1953 Humphrey Bogart film that is played tongue-in-cheek. With a screenplay by Truman Capote and directed by John Huston. Jennifer Jones plays the scatterbrained flirt who makes up delicious scenarios that the villains mistakenly believe. Gina Lollobrigida plays Bogart's wife. Peter Lorre sulks in creepy fashion. While the film doesn't totally hang together, it is interesting and was named as one of the top 10 films of the year by the National Board of Review. The other films in the set are worth watching. There are some imperfections in the original films, but they do not overall distract from viewing. The little tin box helps dress up the collection. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse