Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, overall...
This dvd contains 2 films: THE CHASE (1946--85 min.) starring Robert Cummings, Michelle Morgan, Steve Cochran, and Peter Lorre. This is a pretty good movie about a guy who finds a mobsters' wallet, returns it to him, becomes the mobsters' chauffeur, then becomes dangerously involved with the mobsters' wife. A little on the surreal side but still a good film. This film is...
Published on October 14, 2004 by Michael C. Glancy

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Noirs; Awful DVD edition
Of the two films on this DVD, "The Chase" is the one really worth watching. It boasts a great cast (boyish Robert Cummings, French star Michele Morgan, and the unique Peter Lorre) and an interesting, dreamlike narrative adapted from a Cornell Woolrich novel.

"Bury Me Dead" starts off well, with a woman attending her own funeral, but, despite cinematography by...
Published on March 4, 2006 by Kardius


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, overall..., October 14, 2004
By 
Michael C. Glancy (Clinton,OK United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Film Noir Double Feature, Vol. 2: The Chase/Bury Me Dead (DVD)
This dvd contains 2 films: THE CHASE (1946--85 min.) starring Robert Cummings, Michelle Morgan, Steve Cochran, and Peter Lorre. This is a pretty good movie about a guy who finds a mobsters' wallet, returns it to him, becomes the mobsters' chauffeur, then becomes dangerously involved with the mobsters' wife. A little on the surreal side but still a good film. This film is said to have the most dreamlike atmosphere of all the noir titles. The audio and video quality is pretty good also. Before the film starts, there is an explanation of how difficult the restoration was. It talks about finding only 1 good print and dealing with a soundtrack that had sprocket holes in it. I think they did a very good job of cleaning this film up and bringing it up to par for DVD audiences. The audio during the opening titles of this movie isn't too good, but it clears up once the story starts. This is the better movie of the 2 in my opinion.

The second film is BURY ME DEAD (1947--68 min.) starring Hugh Beaumont, June Lockhart, and Cathy O'Donnell. This is an OK film about a woman who shows up at her own funeral then tries to find out who wanted her dead. The audio and video quality on this film is not too bad. The clarity is somewhat soft and the audio has some static here and there. This is probably the best print of this film available. Let's remember that this was just another B movie that was made by PRC, a poverty row independent studio. We're probably fortunate that this film still exists.

As extras, there is a commentary on both films by Jay Fenton, a noirish Superman cartoon titled SHOWDOWN (1942), some film noir posters and trailers, and a 25 minute film called DEATH BY PROXY which is a condensed version of BURY ME DEAD. This looks to be a 16mm film bought from a catalog for home viewing years ago.

All in all this is a pretty good disc, especially for the price. This may very well be the best presentation that both of these films get on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 killer noirs, plus great bonus features!, July 13, 2005
By 
Dave (Tennessee United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Film Noir Double Feature, Vol. 2: The Chase/Bury Me Dead (DVD)
To begin with, the main reason I purchased the VCI Film Noir Double Feature Vol. 2 dvd was because I wanted a better-restored version of "The Chase". The Alpha dvd I owned of that movie was virtually unwatchable, and I was glad to see that VCI had vastly improved the picture quality. Although there's about a 60-second scene in the movie where the picture is terrible, other than that it's very clear. Unfortunately VCI could not fix the annoying audio problems with "The Chase" and that was a letdown, yet I doubt you'll ever find a better print of this movie anywhere. The same thing happened with "Bury Me Dead": impressive picture quality, terrible sound quality. Still, VCI did their best to restore these two underated noirs, and the bonus features make up for the poor audio quality of the films.

First, we have the bizarre, dreamlike "The Chase" from 1946, based loosely on Cornel Woolrich's novel _The Black Path of Fear_. Robert Cummings stars as Chuck Scott, a penniless WW2 veteran who happens to find a wallet filled with cash. But because he's a "sucker", he returns the wallet to it's owner, who happens to be Eddie Roman (Steve Cochran), a wealthy gangster. Eddie's right-hand man Gino (Peter Lorre) doesn't like or trust Chuck, but Eddie does, and he hires Chuck as his new chauffer. Chuck likes his new job but soon falls for Eddie's beautiful wife Lorna (Michèle Morgan), who desperately wants to escape her mean and violent husband. The next thing you know Lorna and Chuck have fled to Havana, Cuba, with Gino (and other henchmen) hot on their trail.

Several murders later, we find out that the whole thing's been a nightmare in the troubled mind of Chuck. By the end of the movie the viewer doesn't quite know what to believe, except that this is clearly the most bizarre film noir ever made! I'd already seen this movie twice, but I never understood it entirely until I watched it with the commentary by Jay Fenton. Of course, there were some oddities in the movie that even he couldn't explain! I can understand why many viewers might not enjoy this movie, but I love it more everytime I watch it. The acting was excellent, not just Robert Cummings and Michèle Morgan but also Steve Cochran and Peter Lorre, who always played villians to perfection.

"The Chase" is unusually violent, even by 1940's film noir standards. There's two scenes where women get slapped or punched, one where a man gets killed by a big dog, one with a woman getting stabbed, two scenes of people getting shot, and one with a car getting destroyed (with two people inside) by a speeding train!

Next, we have the odd noir comedy "Bury Me Dead" from 1947. June Lockhart stars as Barbara Carlin, who near the beginning of the movie attends her own funeral (how noir is that?!?). All she knows is that another woman is burried in her grave, and someone had tried to murder her. Now that her husband Rod (Mark Daniels), family lawyer Michael Dunn (Hugh Beaumont), and adopted sister Rusty (Cathy O'Donnell) know that she's alive, she carefully recounts the previous days (via flashbacks) to see which one had the best motive for trying to kill her. She trusts the family lawyer, but Rusty hates her and Michael had been having an affair with another woman, so she watches her back. It isn't long before another attempt on her life is made, and this time the killer won't mistake another woman for Barbara...

"Bury Me Dead" has a fine mixture of humor and suspense, but the thing that really makes it special is John Alton's incredible cinematography. This low-budget "B" film noir was one of many released by the short-lived Producers Releasing Corporation (PRC) during the mid-1940's, and in spite of the awful audio quality the movie is very entertaining. I first saw Cathy O'Donnell in "The Best Years of our Lives" and she was just as impressive in this, and both June Lockhart and Hugh Beaumont give exceptional performances. The bonus features are awesome and include several noir trailers, a poster gallery (which strangely includes many of Rear Window, a movie I've never considered to be a film noir), optional commentary with both movies, and biographies/filmographies of the main stars of each movie. You probably won't find better-quality prints of these films anywhere else, so I highly recommend this well-priced dvd for fans of film noir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile noir detour, March 22, 2005
By 
rommyc "rommyc" (LOS ANGELES, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Film Noir Double Feature, Vol. 2: The Chase/Bury Me Dead (DVD)
2 strong B noir contenders on one disc, well packaged and presented. Jay Fenton's commentary is sometimes useful and sometimes obvious, the extras are a great bonus.

Bury Me Dead is part of an odd sub-genre I would call comic noir, the motifs and themes are the same but it's full of jokes, puns, and wisecracks. Also tries to be trendy by dragging psychoanalysis into the plot to no advantage. June Lockhart is pleasant enough to look at but, to quote a review of a more famous actress, her emotions run the gamut from A to B.

For the price and the rarity of these titles, this is a great addition to one's noir collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A special favorite of mine..., March 24, 2007
By 
Classic Gent (Rochester, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Film Noir Double Feature, Vol. 2: The Chase/Bury Me Dead (DVD)
It has a convoluted plot which leaves a number of questions unanswered but if you don't mind dreamy, impressionistic films, The Chase may be for you. I found it an outstanding (though atypical) example of the noir style and hard to forget. As explained in the DVD notes, this VCI edition is probably the best quality possible given the flawed source print. The 2nd film on this double feature disc, Bury Me Dead, is a so-so "comedy noir" featuring June Lockhart and Hugh Beaumont. My rating applies only to The Chase with no deduction for the substandard video/audio which apparently can't be helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Great Film, February 18, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Film Noir Double Feature, Vol. 2: The Chase/Bury Me Dead (DVD)
I have long supported the B category film noirs. Often they are as entertaining or more so than the A product. The stories are straight forward without having to stop for star turns. VCI and other companies releasing these films should be applauded for the efforts made. Having said that, I feel bad about having to give a downward thumb to "Bury Me Dead." It's the first title I've collected which I feel is a letdown. The acting is terrible as well as the pacing. I am a big fan of Hugh Beaumont, who was a very fine actor, with a highly likable aspect to his personality. He always turned in professional efforts as an actor. Here he is as flat as the rest of the film. I have to say that the film's final 10 minutes are really quite good as is the fade-out moment involving three of the characters. "The Chase," on the other hand, made the purchase worth while. It is a very well made film noir. Robert Cummings was a light comedienne who could do the job in turning in a solid sober performance. What worked against him was a softness in his delivery. But he was another very likable type and gives a good account of himself in "The Chase." Steve Cochran is always good especially in the number of films where he was teamed with Virginia Mayo. Who could forget the smoldering sexuality between the two in WB's "White Heat?"
I highly recommend this film noir set for "The Chase."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Leader in Film Noir, B-Westerns & Serials...VCI Enertainment ~ The Chase & Bury Me Dead", December 12, 2005
This review is from: Film Noir Double Feature, Vol. 2: The Chase/Bury Me Dead (DVD)
VCI Entertainment presents Classic Film Noir Double Feature Vol. 2.... "The Chase" (1946) and "Bury Me Dead" (1947) (Dolby digitally remastered)...featuring top performances by actors to die for from the '40s and '50s with outstanding drama and screenplays...from little known films that will leave you intrigued with all the suspense...so pop some popcorn, sit back and enjoy the movie.

First up we have "The Chase" (1946) (86 min. B/W)...under director Arthur D. Ripley, producer Seymour Nebenzal, associate producer Eugene Frenke, with original story by Cornell Woolrich (novel: "The Black Path of Fear") and Philip Yordan...the cast includes Robert Cummings (Chuck Scott), Michele Morgan (Lorna Roman), Steve Cochran (Eddie Roman), Peter Lorre (Gino), Jack Holt (Cmdr. Davidson), Don Wilson (Fats)...our story opens with Cummings finding a wallet on the street...after eating a meal with part of the money, returns it to the rightful owner Steve Cochran who is a menacing and very sadistic mobster...Cochran who is a control freak has another sick person on his payroll Mr. Peter Lorre...now enters Cochran's wife Michele Morgan, who's unhappily married to him and looking for a way out with Bob Cummings leading the way...will they make it or be caught like rats in a trap...is this chase real or will the "The Chase" begin all over again, who can tell........special footnote, actor Robert Cummings was known for his comedy and eternally youthful looks (which he attributed to a strict vitamin and health-food diet), became a popular leading man in light comedies and achieved several of his own television series "The Bob Cummings Show", Bob Collins (1955-1959) aka Love That Bob (USA: rerun title)...(1961) TV Series .... Bob Carson aka (The New Bob Cummings Show)..."My Living Doll" (1964) another TV Series as Dr. Robert McDonald (1964-1965)...all were in the top shows to watch during the '50s and '60s.

BIOS:
1. Bob Cummings (aka: Charles Clarence Robert Orville Cummings)
Birth Date: 6/10/1908 - Joplin, Missouri
Died: 12/02/1990 - Woodland Hills, California

BONUS FEATURES:
1. Commentaries by Jay Fenton (Film Restoration Consultant)
2. Scene Selections
3. Bios & Filmographies
4. Film Noir Movie Poster Gallery
5. Film Noir Trailers
6. Noirish Superman Cartoon "Showdown" (1942)
- the man of steel takes on gangsters.

Second on the double bill is "Bury Me Dead" (1947) (68 min. B/W)....under director Bernard Vorhaus, producer Charles Reisner, with original story by Irene Winston (radio play), Dwight V. Babcock and Karen DeWolf....the cast includes June Lockhart (Barbara Carlin), Hugh Beaumont (Michael Dunn), Cathy O'Donnell (Rusty), Mark Daniels (Rod Carlin), greg McClure (George Mandley), Milton Parsons (Jeffers, the Butler), John Dehner (Reporter), Peggie Castle (bit part)...our story opens with a burning stable and a body being carried out to the ambulance...is this the body of June Lockhart who is very well to do in society and has a nice bank account...during the burial and dark figure in a veil asks for a ride from Hugh Beaumont and to everyones surprise it's Miss Lockhart...now who do you suppose they buried...Mark Daniels is the husband and a prime suspect through the entire film...Cathy O'Donnell the little sister of Lockhart wants everything she can't have and thinks for world is against her...many flashbacks have the answer, can you guess who the real culprit is before the final scene...if you're into film noir you'll need to add this to your collection........special footnote, actress June Lockhart made her screen debut in "A Christmas Carol" (1938) with her parents actors Gene Lockhart and Kathleen Lockhart, smooth transition from movies to TV by starring in "Lassie" (1954) and "Lost In Space" (1965), a cult favorite among many Sci-Fi fans........here's a great deal of entertainment here for all the film noir fans out there...all courtesy of VCI Entertainment, who in my humble opinion is the best there is in restoring early serials and features like this one.

BIOS:
1. June Lockhart
Birth Date: 6/25/1925 - New York, New York
Died: Still Living

Great job by VCI Entertainment for releasing the "The Chase" (1946) and "Bury Me Dead" (1947), digital transfere with a clean, clear and crisp print...looking forward to more of the same from the '40s and '50s vintage...order your copy now from Amazon or VCI Entertainment, stay tuned once again with a top notch "Classic Film Noir" that only VCI Entertainment (King of the Serials) can deliver...just the way we like 'em!

Total Time: 153 mins on DVD ~ VCI Entertainment 8396 ~ (8/31/2004)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Noirs; Awful DVD edition, March 4, 2006
This review is from: Film Noir Double Feature, Vol. 2: The Chase/Bury Me Dead (DVD)
Of the two films on this DVD, "The Chase" is the one really worth watching. It boasts a great cast (boyish Robert Cummings, French star Michele Morgan, and the unique Peter Lorre) and an interesting, dreamlike narrative adapted from a Cornell Woolrich novel.

"Bury Me Dead" starts off well, with a woman attending her own funeral, but, despite cinematography by the great John Alton, the film then becomes a rather conventional whodunit with a surprising amount of wisecracks thrown in and no star appeal.

As for the DVD, the sound and image are terrible in both cases. I almost gave up when I first tried to watch them, but "The Chase" was interesting enough to make me glad I purchased this, especially since it seems unlikely either film will merit a "Criterion Collection"-style release. The DVD also includes numerous extras, but be warned that the image and sound are downright awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Noir, July 4, 2009
By 
VALENWORTH "AL" (HAYWARD, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Film Noir Double Feature, Vol. 2: The Chase/Bury Me Dead (DVD)
THE CHASE Finally a decent print of this overlooked gem. The picture quality of this restoration is, comparatively, excellent (considering the options we've had in the past!). The sound has a slightly annoying "hiss", but this is tolerable and soon goes away because of the crisp clarity of the original soundtrack itself. So--the print is OK on this interesting well-done Cornell Woolrich story...and talk about atmosphere and MOOD!yum yum

BURY ME DEAD has a fairly good premise but the film itself very quickly deteriorates untill it becomes annoying and tedious and laughable. Definitely not one of PRC's finest...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 24, 2014
By 
Ian C. Phillips (Arcadia, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Film Noir Double Feature, Vol. 2: The Chase/Bury Me Dead (DVD)
Very fast service; would order again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Excellent Noir, One Good Noir, But Poor Quality Video and Audio, March 2, 2006
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Film Noir Double Feature, Vol. 2: The Chase/Bury Me Dead (DVD)
The Chase: In Hollywood, directors get the credit. With The Chase, a strange, fascinating, neurotic noir, the credit should go to one of the masters of noir pulp fiction, the writer Cornell Woolrich. Like Phantom Lady, another Woolrich creation, the story centers around what might be struggling to get out of a person's head.

Woolrich wrote masterful pulp using his own name or the pseudonyms William Irish or George Hopley. He was a homosexual who loathed himself. He married a girl he idolized and saw the marriage annulled. Despite the money he made, he lived most of his life with his mother in decaying New York apartment buildings where his neighbors were lushes, prostitutes and drug addicts. At night, he'd troll the waterfront for anonymous sex partners. He became a deep alcoholic. And he turned out a stream of mystery novels and short stories that still are worth reading nearly 40 years after his death. Much of his material has been made into movies. If you like Hitchcock's Rear Window, you're watching a Cornell Woolrich short story. More often than not, the stories revolve around the black struggles that can happen inside a person's head. The Chase, based on Woolrich's The Black Path of Fear, is a noir worth watching.

One morning a down-and-out young man, Chuck Scott (Robert Cummings), finds a wallet on a Miami sidewalk. He finds the owner's name and address and delivers it to him. The owner, Eddie Roman (Steve Cochran), is a soft-spoken gangster with a penchant for hitting women, eliminating business competitors and for always being the man in control. His partner, Gino (Peter Lorre), who grew up with him, is just as ruthless and amoral, but not as psychopathic. Roman has been married three years to Lorna (Michelle Morgan), a beautiful, frightened woman who wants only to escape from him. Eddie Roman is amused by Chuck Scott's honesty and hires him as a chauffeur. Scott quickly learns two things. First, Roman has a car that is built so that from the back seat Roman can take over the accelerator. When he flips a switch he can move the car up to over 100 miles an hour. The driver can only steer and pray. The second thing Scott learns is that he is drawn to Lorna Roman.

It all comes together when Scott agrees to flee with Lorna to Havana. And then we descend into a dark swirl of murder, pay back, amnesia and fear. Half way through the movie we find ourselves in a paranoid dream of night-time Havana, of a horse-drawn carriage that rides off into a busy street, of a man glimpsed throwing a knife in a crowded bar, of a Cuban detective who casually uses a murder knife to spear a piece of melon from the table of a sobbing prostitute. Only later do we learn what is dream and what is real. If what was dream is frightening, what is real may turn out to be worse.

This really is an excellently developed story, and photographed with all the poorly lit streets and shadowy rooms a good noir needs. Cummings does a credible job as the uncertain but determined hero. Steve Cochran is first-rate as the menace. He's quiet, even thoughtful, but ready to do violent and unpredictable things in an instant. He has no intention of letting Lorna go. Lloyd Corrigan, a long time character actor, makes a memorable appearance as a businessman who won't sell his ships to Roman. He spends the rest of his life, which is brief, in Roman's wine cellar with a large dog. The music score is a strange dreamy underlay that suits the movie just fine.

Bury Me Dead: A woman in black takes a taxi to a cemetery one afternoon. She's going to attend the funeral of a person she knew quite well...herself. Barbara Carlin (June Lockhart) is a wealthy, self assured young woman who lives in a large mansion with stables and servants. She has a handsome and unreliable husband, Rod (Mark Daniels), and a troubled younger sister, Rusty (Cathy O'Donnell), who technically isn't a sister since Barbara's father never got around to adopting Rusty before he died. One night there was a terrible fire which destroyed the stables. The corpse which was found burned beyond recognition was assumed to be Barbara. On the way back from the funeral she hitches a ride with the family lawyer, the fussy, dutiful Michael Dunn (Hugh Beaumont), who helps manage Barbara's and Rod's affairs. As those around Barbara realize she is still alive, through a series of flashbacks we learn about the tense relationship between Barbara and Rusty, the likelihood of a divorce between Barbara and Rod, and Rod's relationship with the money-hungry girlfriend of a boxer who is as thick in the head as he is in the shoulders. As we learn more, we realize that Barbara is in danger as the real killer moves closer to rectifying the mistake when the wrong woman was murdered.

This is a classic B noir made on the cheap by a low-budget production house with B level actors. Cathy O'Donnell may have gotten off to a great start with The Best Years of Our Lives, but when she married an older man and infuriated Sam Goldwyn, she found herself in movies like this. June Lockhart at 22 gives a remarkably assured performance as a smart, rich woman who has a wry sense of humor and a realistic way of looking at things. "Perhaps I'm being a bit morbid," Barbara says to Michael and Rod. "Funerals always depress me. Especially my own." Also to be admired are two character actors who never made star names for themselves, but who appeared in dozens of movies. There's Virginia Farmer, a tall prune of a woman, who plays the housekeeper, and Milton Farmer as the butler, who played many a mortician.

Bury Me Dead is a noir with a light touch, full of sharp, comic dialogue with a morbid twist. The end of the movie, when the killer is revealed and begins a cat-and-mouse game in the silent mansion with Barbara, builds a competent amount of suspense. Is the movie good? It is if you accept the charm of second-billed B movies on the double feature marquees of movie theaters in the Forties. The killer, for instance, is not too difficult to spot if you enjoy red herrings, B list casting and the conventions of low budget noirs. Accept it for what it is and enjoy an hour at the movies.

These movies are part of a double bill on a VCI disc called Film Noir Double Feature. Both movies lack a lot, with fuzzy, grainy images and noticeable static on the audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Film Noir Double Feature, Vol. 2: The Chase/Bury Me Dead
$9.99 $7.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.