Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars From Home Movies to Feauture Films--there are no small roles...
This is a very detailed reference book. It takes a person from the beginning phases of Filmmaking to the intricacies of the process of negotiations and the final Wrap up. Very valuable guidance, direction and you can tell Bryan Michael Stoller has walked his talk. He is very knowledgeable in this business of Filmmaking and shares his knowledge with clear delivery and...
Published 1 month ago by Julie Belmont

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not much information
This book really is for dummies. Normally the dummies book series are very insightful but this one was boring with not much info gained. Seems like the author never hit it big in film and has resorted to talking more about it in the book- than providing valuable info.
I guess if you just want to get a over view of the film industry this is an okay read.
Published 22 months ago by JORDAN BETTEN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars From Home Movies to Feauture Films--there are no small roles..., January 7, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Filmmaking For Dummies (Paperback)
This is a very detailed reference book. It takes a person from the beginning phases of Filmmaking to the intricacies of the process of negotiations and the final Wrap up. Very valuable guidance, direction and you can tell Bryan Michael Stoller has walked his talk. He is very knowledgeable in this business of Filmmaking and shares his knowledge with clear delivery and wit--which helps to remember the steps to a Filmmaking Success. In this book he walks the reader though the process from the birth of an idea and story, pre-production, financing, all the technical matters involved in bringing the project to fruition and later post-production. He also goes into detail to perhaps the most important phase...promotion and marketing.
This book is a very valuable resource which needs to be in everyone's bookshelf from the beginning actor to the accomplished director/producer. Show business and Filmaking is a business and this book educates and implements the workings of a highly and successful business venture as well a great Creative delivery of a vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book, April 6, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Filmmaking For Dummies (Paperback)
Great book , very informative . Full of handy tips and contacts for making anything from a small home video to a full blown film !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfaction as always, May 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Filmmaking For Dummies (Paperback)
Filmmaking For Dummies (For Dummies (Career/Education))

I'm working on a novel in which the hero is an independent filmmaker. Although I do have some knowledge of the industry, I didn't feel sufficiently informed to accurately include details in the book. However, since I don't plan to turn the book into a movie, I didn't need a technical manual. Dummies to the rescue.

This book provided precisely the information I wanted in the usual easy-to-comprehend style for which this series is famous. I suspect it would be equally valuable for someone considering making a film. I would suggest other books on the subject be acquired before proceeding with the latter, but as a source of basic information, Filmmaking for Dummies is an excellent resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not much information, April 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Filmmaking For Dummies (Paperback)
This book really is for dummies. Normally the dummies book series are very insightful but this one was boring with not much info gained. Seems like the author never hit it big in film and has resorted to talking more about it in the book- than providing valuable info.
I guess if you just want to get a over view of the film industry this is an okay read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you don't have a clue, then this is the place to start., June 16, 2014
If you don't have a clue, then this is the place to start. I read this book and found most of the information to be elementary but beneficial. The greatest aspect to the book for me were the resources listed throughout the book. This book definitely covers it from the first idea to the finished product being distributed. But keep in mind, this is a very basic book and serves as a guide to getting your feet wet and laying the foundation to moving on to more in-depth books on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very informative, February 5, 2014
Helpful, with lots of ground covered. Well written and easy to understand with good illustrations. Covers the most recent trends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complete and interesting, January 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of many dummy books that take you hand-in-hand down the path to video and movie making. It's as complete as any I've read, but makes it nice having it all in one book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Basic filmaking at its easiest, December 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is is beginners look at all the aspects that people need to start creating videos and films from inception to finalizing. A great beginning book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really excellent !, June 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Filmmaking For Dummies (Paperback)
This is a really excellent book. It handles the filmmaking process, in detail, from concept to distribution. I was honestly surprised at how comprehensive it is. A wealth of information is presented clearly, and without fluff. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a wonderful book, especially if you are a one-woman/man show, September 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Filmmaking For Dummies (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book, especially if you are a one-woman/man show, this is all you need! I learned things in here that I didn't learn in film school, that I further investigated on the internet. I will never let this book go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Filmmaking For Dummies
Filmmaking For Dummies by Bryan Michael Stoller (Paperback - November 10, 2008)
$19.99 $14.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.