July 22, 2008 | Format: MP3

Some music from this album is free with
Join Amazon Prime
Also available in CD Format
Song Title
Popularity Prime  

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: July 28, 2008
  • Label: Byelobog Productions
  • Copyright: 2008 Misanthropy Records
  • Total Length: 1:04:32
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B001DXDEH4
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (56 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #21,376 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 56 customer reviews
In a word, it's unique and pretty good too.
E. Roberts
Varg's vocals sound incredibly tortured and tormented,but are perfect in contrast with the layered guitar riffs.
Supreme Ruler
Varg is a lot more norse inspired on this album, and there's some interesting stories in the booklet.
en norsk kis

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

37 of 40 people found the following review helpful By Christopher Krause on January 31, 2008
Format: Audio CD
I have such reverence for this album that it feels like arrogant presumption to even talk about it and judging it seems to be blind hubris. One thing is for sure: Filosofem ("The Philosophy") defined contemporary black metal by blatantly ignoring the rubrics, limitations and "rules" that had come before it and truly maturing the genre as a diverse artform. Before Filosofem most black metal sounded similar, explored similar lyrical motifs and avoided incorporating elements from other genres, after Filosofem black metal became a spirit rather than a rule-bound scene, a spirit which permeates every release but does not restrict the music technically. In essence Filosofem signaled the death knell of "true" black metal and gave birth to post-Black Metal.

Instead of having a fixed toolset to work with, Filosofem introduced the notion that the true black metal artist should use whatever he can to express the feeling of dread, isolation and misery he is overcome with - inspiring contemporary bands like Deathspell Omega, Diabolical Masquerade, Astrofaes, Leviathan, Xasthur and Blut Aus Nord to incorporate experimental, introspective movements within their work which during the time before Filosofem would have been considered pretentious at best, and at worst, a betrayal of the "true" meaning of black metal.

Filosofem ignored the restrictive boundaries and formula of prior black metal and presented a very personal, existential philosophy on life - expressed musically in a novel way.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful By W. G on September 8, 2007
Format: Audio CD
This is the last Burzum album that is metal, with the next two being dark ambient recorded in his jail cell. While those are good, they don't have the same impact as his metal albums and in particular, this one. This was released while he was in jail and he says he has never heard the final master of it (he has later explained why he said that) but it is perfect. A lot of people like to complain about the sound, saying it is horrible and that any atmosphere is lost due to it, but that is simply untrue. Any real black metal fan knows that production like this only ENHANCES the atmosphere to even greater proportions. While Varg may not be the most talented musician in the world, his knack for songwriting and mesmerizing passages are one of a kind. Just listen to the first track, Dunkelheit, and tell me it is not brilliant.

This album consists of 4 metal tracks and 2 ambient ones, the last two being ambient, and even more, the last track is the ambient version of track 4.

1. Dunkelheit (Darkness) - metal
2. Jesus' Tod (The Death of Jesus) - metal
3. Erblicket Die Töchter Des Firmaments (Beholding the Daughters of the Firmament) - metal
4. Gebrechlichkeit I (Decrepitude I) - metal
5. Rundgang Um Die Transzendentale Säule Der Singularität (Travelling Between the Transcendental Pillars of Singularity, or something like that. My German is not too good) - ambient
6. Gebrechlichkeit II (Decrepitude II) - ambient

With that said, the metal songs themselves are really Ambient Black Metal because they entrance you and provide wondeful soundscapes. Every track on here is amazing, even the 25 minute track 5, which works even if it is only the same 6 notes being played over and over again.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful By E. Roberts on April 20, 2005
Format: Audio CD
A guy complained about the production ruining the music. I don't think so in this case, it works fine. Burzum has other releases where the production truly is quite (bad), like the aske/self titled. I think his statemenst would make more sense in that context.

As for the music/album, I'd say Varg has made a beautiful and personal album, his melodies touch on odd emotions that are carried throughout, his songwriting is fine that doesn't really stick to a particular bm aesthetic though it does have that vibe. I can't complain. It's a contemplative album that tells plenty about the guy who wrote it if you're willing to pay attention to detail. Lots of people try to create black metal that is 'true' and 'kvlt', whatever the that is they miss the point of making music(although I do enjoy a good homage to a particular sound). Regardless of who he killed and what he burned, this guy made honest music and it's pretty darned listenable. This actually sounds like it came from one mind, one musician, with no other members to contribute their misinterpretations of what Varg was after. The album runs the gamut of emotions from dark, brooding, sorrowful, introspective, reflective, contemplative, odd melancholy, and the serenity of being completely alone, lost in the wonders of drifting thought uninterrupted. It's a very human album, if you ask me and I don't think I've really heard anything as personal as this, save maybe stuff like Hank Williams Sr or Today is the Day. In a word, it's unique and pretty good too.

I recommend it, but surely you're not clueless as to what this sort of stuff is.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category