Customer Reviews


219 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (62)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't care what they say, this was slippery, gross and totally entertaining!
Being a big fan of the previous Final Destination movies I knew I would love this one as long as it stuck to the formula. Not only did this movie accomplish the task, it left me squeezing my boyfriends arm a few times too many, a good sign that the disturbing scary horror parts did their job! I liked al the new characters introduced, a class of McKinnley high school...
Published on September 23, 2006 by - Kasia S.

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Logic is breaking down...
I caught FD 1 and 2 before this came out, and 4 as soon as it was available, but missed this one until I rented this week. It strikes me as a good indicator that the franchise was going downhill. I was actually fairly impressed with the acting (I was impressed with Winstead since first seeing her in "Scott Pilgrim") and also with the way the script handles the...
Published on December 13, 2011 by David N. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't care what they say, this was slippery, gross and totally entertaining!, September 23, 2006
By 
Being a big fan of the previous Final Destination movies I knew I would love this one as long as it stuck to the formula. Not only did this movie accomplish the task, it left me squeezing my boyfriends arm a few times too many, a good sign that the disturbing scary horror parts did their job! I liked al the new characters introduced, a class of McKinnley high school seniors celebrating end of their schooling with a wild night at the amusement park. The whole movie does not take the place in the park, only the beginning, the place of unspeakable horrors and lot's of bloody bodies.

Mary Elizabeth Winstead in head role as Wendy Christensen was a new face to me but a joy to watch on the screen. She had a really disturbing premonition of the roller coaster ride breaking, and while everything happened as she imagined, the remaining people who thought they were lucky had no idea what horrible things would await them. I was shocked at the gruesome death scenes perfectly set up in a cat and mouse style of a game. It reminded me of those old fashioned Dominoes games I would play, arranging the pattern on the floor for hours, then at one push one thing led to another and the whole design pushed forward slumped in a mess. That's how death worked in this movie, one misplaced object would leak onto another, push a cart then a bottle toppled over, wetting a heater which in then increased the temperature in a tanning booth while two saved girls tanned in. A coat hanger tripped by an air fan showed the bookshelf on top of the booth locking them in, that is how this movie happens. There are no bad guys, no monsters , no ghosts, just that evil draft and unfortunate coincidences that somehow brought boys and girls to bloody pulp. All of the death scenes were amazing, as much as disturbing, they were really shown in full detail, as I had no idea this movie was going to be that hair raising. The rollercoaster scene itself was incredible, totally disgusting and something I will love to see again.

The best, well the most disgusting death scene was with the nail gun, you guys who have seen it know what I am talking about, I was shocked yet at the same time I was really impressed at the effects and the poor actors. Overall a great fun movie, a blast to watch and really gory but interesting enough when you care for the characters.

I loved trying to figure out with them how to cheat death and seeing their failed attempts and small successes lead somewhere. I hope more parts will come out, as I can never get bored of this theme!

- Kasia S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3rd Times the Charm...with an Extra Twist!, July 22, 2006
All throughout high school I was a devoted horror movie fan. Over the years I've lost a little of my enthusiasm for the genre as it has steadily progressed away from the edge-of-your-seat thriller that I loved so dearly, and on towards mindless gore and cheap "pop-out" scare tactics. Where's the excitement?

Final Destination 3 is certainly a thrill ride worth taking. I almost didn't watch it, but I was intrigued by a very unique feature on the soon-to-be released DVD version. It is a 2-disc special edition that has all the usual features such as commentary and behind-the-scenes featurettes...BUT the "intriguing" DVD aspect I am speaking of is the "Choose Your Own Adventure" format available on the Special Edition DVD version released Tuesday July 25.

MOVIE PREMISE: As a group of friends are about to get on a rollercoaster, one of them, Wendy, suddenly has a vision of the rollercoaster malfunctioning, and everyone onboard dying. After Wendy begins to panic and tries desperately to warn all those on board, she gets off the coaster, along with a few others. After the coaster crashes just as she predicted, strange things begin to happen to all those who deboarded the doomed coaster. Death will not be avoided for long. After realizing the pictures she had taken with her digital camera that night held clues to the terrifyingly gruesome ways in which each person was going to die...Wendy and her friend/fellow doomed survivor Ryan, try desperately to warn all those who escaped the accident. They realize that each person is being killed in the order that they sat on the rollercoaster...in the order they were meant to die.

On the DVD, once you click on "Play Movie", you will be given the option of watching the theatrical release version of the film, OR....watching the movie in Choose-your-own-adventure style (which they call "Choose Their Fate"). If you choose the latter (which certainly makes things more interesting), then the movie will pause at key points in the film and give you two choices that will directly effect the way the film progresses.

For Example:
...A flip of a coin will decide where your boyfriend will sit on the coaster. Do you A.) Call Heads, or B.) Call Tails?

...A huge sign is about to fall on top of a man and crush him to death...does he A.) dive to the left, or B.) dive to the right?

...Your friend specifically asks you *not* to look at his picture and possibly foresee the way in which he'll soon die. Do you A.) take another look anyway, or B.) do as he asks and don't look.

Each choice you make has a very specific effect. Some choices will either save a character...or condemn them to a gruesome death. Some choices can't save a character...but they alter the way in which that character dies. Some choices will even end the film early!

It's a new and very fun feature that I've never seen done before, and regardless of the fact that some people feel the "Final Destination" movies have become a little formulaic...it's still worth checking out and having a go at deciding each character's fate.

HELPFUL HINT/SPOILER: When watching the film "Choose Their Fate" style...I recommend that when it comes time to make your first choice (which will be a coin toss...Heads or Tails), that you choose Heads. If you choose Tails, the movie will end almost immediately afterwards and you will not have a chance to see the rest of it play out. Choosing Heads will take you forward with the film...the rest is up to you!

Also...when making your choices...choose wisely and FAST. If you wait longer than a few seconds to make your choice, then Fate will choose for you. Good Luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Final Destination 3" AKA 'Cheating Death..., February 12, 2006
By 
Director James Wong (IV) returns to bring us the next horrifying installment to the FD franchise. The original cast from, the first and second films have been removed entirely, but we are introduced to some interesting new young faces, including Mary Elizabeth Winstead (as the main heroine). I liked the original just as much as I did with FD2, but I absolutely LOVED FD3! Personally, I consider it to be the best one thus far even if the stubborn critics disagree! Mr. Wong knows how to entertain an audience by making his movies scary, imaginative, and fun at the same time! His work is also the most original, when compared to most of the cheap, PG-13 imitations put out today. I got the opportunity to view this with my older brother and friend at the movie theatre yesterday and wasn't in any way disappointed!

Taking place six years since the tragic account of Flight 180 (See the original, "Final Destination"), high school senior, Wendy Christensen (Winstead) has a premonition involving a fatal rollercoaster accident. Before the ride is launched, she succeeds at saving herself and most of her friends from meeting an untimely demise. But death soon comes back to re-claim its victims, as mysterious and bizarre accidents begin to occur! Now, Wendy must solve death's puzzle and save everyone before it's too late! Her only clues lead to the photographs that she took of herself and her friends at the carnival, which also represent the order that they're to die in. Will she succeed, or will death finish them all?

If you've enjoyed FD1 and FD2, then you're sure to enjoy FD3 even more! The acting can drag a little here and there, but the well-written script and amazing special effects do more than make up for it! Furthermore, the death sequences are very creative and executed nicely even more so than that of the first two films (Watch out for the tanning booth and weight room scenes)! However, if you are squeamish and/or the faint of heart, then you may want to look elsewhere! You'll need a very strong stomach if you are to get through the whole movie! But longtime horror fans and gorehounds alike are sure to enjoy this third [and possibly LAST] 'Destination'!

SCRIPT: 10/10

ACTING: 7/10

SPECIAL EFFECTS: 10/10

MAKEUP EFFECTS: 10/10

MY OVERALL RATING: 10/10

...Can't wait for the DVD release!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Of Sequelitis Doesn't Hurt An Entertaining Horror Flick., February 21, 2006
It's tough to come up with a premise for a horror movie that hasn't already been done (or done to death), but the creators of the original "Final Destination," Glen Morgan and James Wong, sure had no problem back in 2000. Now, returning to the franchise they created, the respective writer and director return (after being absent for "Final Destination 2") with an all-new, exciting and invigorating sequel. Starring Ryan Merriman ("Halloween: Resurrection"), Mary Elizabeth Winstead ("The Ring 2"), two plastic bimbos who look too old to be high schoolers, and someone named Texas Battle (?), "Final Destination 3" is a lot like it's predecessors; this one isn't shy when it comes to gore and innovative and wild death scenes.

Hate to make the comparison, but "Final Destination 3" is a lot like a rollercoaster ride. It has it's ups and downs, yet totally unpredictable. Although this movie obviously feels like a retread (kinda hard to stretch this premise to far), there are still a few elements to keep this movie feeling fresh. For starters, James Wong's directing here is a bit more stylish than it was in the original, and some of the death scenes are just as, if not, more, clever and creepy as those in the first two. This time, instead of an airplane or a car crash, our main character has hallucinations of a rollercoaster going off it's rails. After successfully getting half the people kicked off the ride, she can only watch in horror as the remaining victims plummet to their grisly deaths, as predicted. Also, as predicted, the characters wise up to "Death's Plan" and quickly try to find ways to avoid it. One angle that this film had that the other two lacked was a stalker that isn't supernatural. Not to ruin anything, but out of all of the events, a main character finds themselves being stalked by another. This was a cool addition to a tried and true storyline, but I just wish they would have taken it farther.

If you enjoyed the first two movies, buckle up and enjoy. "Final Destination 3" definitely lives up to the legacy. Despite the fact that this franchise feels like it's running out of steam (and supposedly, this is the "Final" installment), the third movie delivers enough thrills to keep even the most discriminating horror junky happy. One thing is for sure, I'll definitely think twice next time I'm standing in line for a rollercoaster...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the biggest plot holes ever?, August 22, 2006
This review is from: Final Destination 3 (Widescreen 2 Disc Thrill Ride Edition) (DVD)
This movie was tremendously entertaining, so much so that I decided to watch it a second time. But during that second viewing, one of my friends pointed something out to me that I hadn't noticed, and apparently very few people did.

In the premonition sequence, Frankie Cheeks drops his camera and it latches onto the coaster rail, starting the sequence of events that led to the deaths. However, when Wendy gets everybody off the back of the train, Frankie is one of the people that survives, never having dropped his camera.

The roller coaster sequence could not possibly play out in the same fashion as the premonition, and theoretically the deaths might not have happened at all without the camera on the tracks.

I don't understand how this could go overlooked by the hundreds of people that produce and edit a movie. That glitch has the possibility of rendering the entire movie pointless, and nobody seemed to notice it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Logic is breaking down..., December 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I caught FD 1 and 2 before this came out, and 4 as soon as it was available, but missed this one until I rented this week. It strikes me as a good indicator that the franchise was going downhill. I was actually fairly impressed with the acting (I was impressed with Winstead since first seeing her in "Scott Pilgrim") and also with the way the script handles the characters, which gives this film a degree of emotional depth that might easily be compared favorably with the first film. Where it goes downhill is in handling the logic of its premise. It's bad enough that there's the completely gratuitous nudity in the tanning bed death scene, and the absurd exageration of the nail gun accident. (What kind of nail is long enough for an exit wound??) What bugs me is that the roller coaster accident, which is supposed to start things off, simply doesn't make sense. Was it caused by the idiot with the video camera? If so, why did it still happen when said idiot got off? And how did the track just happen to be damaged in the path of the out-of-control car, without being noticed by park maintenance OR causing another accident first? And ultimately, would it really have been any less horrifying if the whole thing had been over in seconds like a REAL train wreck? It comes down to poorly thought yet overly elaborate and drawn out storyboarding, and the same problem can be seen in much that follows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rollercoaster Of Death, July 6, 2006
This review is from: Final Destination 3 (Widescreen 2 Disc Thrill Ride Edition) (DVD)
I saw this film the day after its release and despite being extremely ill, I really enjoyed it.

This time, the film looks at a group of teenagers enjoying graduation by going to a funfair. One of them is a photographer for the school paper and starts to notice strange things in the photographs she takes. (For instance the ride that said 'high die' instead of 'high dive') Her friends decide that they want to go on the rollercoaster and although the photographer isn't sure about it, she decides to go on it as well. I was so scared when the rollercoaster started to move. That part was really good because it definitely built up some tension and as soon as the rollercoaster went down the drop, things really started to get nasty. (In a good way though!)

The death scenes in this film are incredibly gory. There nastier than the first film. (Again, in a good way!) My favourite death scene had to be the one of those two girls on the sunbeds as that part truly terrified me and had me on the edge of my seat. I also loved the ending too but i won't say anything about that 'cause I don't want to give too much away!

"Final Destination 3" wasn't as good as the first film but its still great and all fans of horror and gore should get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Third Time's the Charm...Or Something, July 29, 2006
By 
Felixpath (Vermont, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Final Destination 3 (Widescreen 2 Disc Thrill Ride Edition) (DVD)
Ah, "Final Destination" movies.....a guilty pleasure if ever there was one. The third film in the franchise follows closely in the footsteps of its predecessors, creating a predictable thrill ride of ominous signs, paranoia, desperation, and gruesomely inventive deaths. The deaths are really what it's all about. The FD films are standard Dead Teenager Movies that try to pretend they're more high-class via an inspired gimmick: instead of being eaten by some monster or hacked up by a psychopath, the young stars are killed by....(drumroll)....Fate Itself. Basically, Fate (or Death, or God, or whatever you want to call it) has a grand scheme, everyone dies at a set moment in time, and if you screw up the design by cheating Fate/Death/God, it will do its very best to correct the mistake by causing you to die, using whatever materials it finds handy, such as a speeding truck. Or a weight machine. Or a nail gun. The motto of these movies should be "Proudly Searching for New Ways to Get Deep-Sixed."

In the first "Final Destination," seven people were saved from an airplane crash when one kid had a "vision" of the tragedy...and then the survivors died anyway. That film had a fresh idea, a solid cast, and good dialogue that included some nice discussions about the nature of God and fate. "Final Destination 2," which used a highway pileup as its main tragedy, had some great deaths but overdid it with the ridiculous plot twists and gimmickry. ("Hey, each one of us is somehow connected to one of the victims in the first film!") Now comes the third film, which has a roller coaster crash, a prophetic digital camera, and one more twist: really, really annoying characters. While the teens in the first two films were likable enough, FD3's slew of survivors/victims seems drawn from a list of negative teenage stereotypes. Do we have a leering, perverted sleazebag? Yup, and he's played by Sam Easton. How 'bout a pair of airhead clickie girls (Chelan Simmons and Crystal Lowe)? An arrogant super-jock (Texas Battle)? A sarcastic Goth couple (Kris Lemche and Alexz Johnson)? All there. So the twist is that instead of feeling for these people, we eagerly await their deaths. And since the deaths are the heart of the franchise, this is mostly a good thing.

Good thing the film's heroine is smart, nice, and sympathetic. Her name is Wendy (Mary Elizabeth Winstead), and he first see her at an amusement park with her boyfriend and the rest of their senior class, enjoying an end-of-school bash. She's taking photos for the yearbook, and takes so many in the film's first five minutes that we know this must be important somehow. She reluctantly allows the others to drag her onto the towering roller coaster, but right before the ride starts, she has a vivid, real-time vision of the coaster breaking and everyone on board -- herself included -- dying violent deaths. She panics and gets ejected from the ride, along with her best friend's boyfriend, Kevin (Ryan Merriman) and the aforementioned gang of bratzillas. Her best friend and boyfriend stay on the ride, and are killed when her vision comes true.

And then, of course, the survivors start to die in accidents that make the roller coaster crash look humane. The first death scene, involving a tanning salon, is truly horrific, and also features enough bare breast footage to satisfy the male contingent of the audience. After that, it's the filmmakers trying to outdo themselves with blood, flesh fragments, and mayhem. Kevin reads about FD1's plane crash on the web, and Wendy checks the photos she took at the amusement park and realizes that they contain clues about how everyone will die. She and Kevin start trying to warn the others, but their classmates are too full of themselves. In FD2, all the characters joined forces to try and survive. Not here. The deaths become poetic justice for scoffing at the two lead characters. As for "serious" dialogue, the Kris Lemche character is the only one who really gets to wax philosophical about the whole death/fate concept, though his solution for cheating death is just plain cold. Adding to the fun is Julie (Amanda Crew), Wendy's little sister, who wasn't on the roller coaster but has enough screen time to let us know she'll be crucial later on. And there's always the chance that Fate/Death/God will suddenly change the rules on you. It rarely plays fair.

FD3 tries to have the same slick, intellectual vibe as FD1, but it's a little too formulaic, a little too careless with its story. Wendy and Kevin's exploits seem more like a convenient way to get the characters to various cool-to-die-in locations. (A weight room! A home appliance warehouse! A tricentennial celebration!) The photography gimmick is nicely done, but it leads to an awkward moment when Wendy whips out a "similar" photo of the World Trade Center with the shadow of a plane projected onto one tower. The filmmakers obviously intended this to be a solemn statement about how our innocence has been lost in a post-9/11 world, but it comes across as cheap and tasteless. There's also a pointless subplot (copied from FD1) about a pair of cops who become mighty suspicious that these two teens are present at so many death scenes, but that little story dead-ends. And, like the first two films, FD3 has a mean-spirited downer of an ending. Apparently, the reward for triumphing over death is more of the same.

The bottom line is that "Final Destination 3" is the right kind of film for watching on DVD, with a bunch of friends who can join you in groaning and cheering at the appropriate moments. Maybe you can make bets on how the next obnoxious teen will die. You can't make bets on WHO will die next, because any eight-year-old could figure that out during the opening credits. The first "Final Destination," like the first "Halloween" and the first "Friday the 13th" and the first "Nightmare On Elm Street," was a fresh horror concept that has spawned sequels that are pretty trashy, but still a lot of fun on a base level. And for those of you who angry that violent death is now considered entertaining, I should point out that there are many, many high-quality films that treat death with solemn dignity, and those films have my deepest respect. It's just that after the award-winning tragedy of the Brokeback Mountains and the Million Dollar Babies, I kind of need a film like "Final Destination 3" to unwind. Don't you?

PS: The "demon" voice coming from the roller coaster is the voice of Tony Todd, who played the creepy mortician in the first two films. Psych!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final Destination: My Room Watching This!!, June 16, 2006
By 
Final Destination 3 still delivers even with the same plot as the first two. In this one, a class is at a carnival for a Graduation Party. The main characters all decide to go on the rollercoaster "Devil's Flight." They all board the rollercoaster when suddenly one of the students, Wendy, has a terrifying and graphic premonition of the rollercoaster derailing and everyone on board dying. When she wakes up, she freaks out and gets half of the people off of the rollercoaster. Now death is after the survivors. Most of the actors in this movie are relatively unknown, similar to the first two, but there are a few stand out characters. Wendy is played by Mary Elizabeth Winstead (Sky High), Kevin is played by Ryan Merriman (The Ring 2), The role of Erin is played by Alexz Johnson (Instant Star), and Ian is played by Kris Lemche (Ginger Snaps). Final Destination 3, in my opinion, has the best death scenes out of the three, but the worst character development. Still, the deaths are why people see the Final Destination series anyway, right? The DVD brings in some pretty cool features. There is the Dead Teenager Movie documentary, commentaries by the people who worked on the movie, etc... am I forgetting something? Oh yeah! The Choose Their Fate feature!! In this feature, you can either watch the movie as it was shown in theaters, or you can watch it according to your own decisions. In Choose Their Fate every ten minutes or so, a screen will come up asking you a question that has two choices. You choose one of them and it happens. It's just like those books you read as a kid that asked you a question and you would turn to a certain page to see what happens. I think this will be very interesting to see. I am very excited about this dvd and I am counting down the days until it is released!! A little over a month to go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rollercoaster.... of death!, August 1, 2006
This review is from: Final Destination 3 (Widescreen 2 Disc Thrill Ride Edition) (DVD)
The movie itself ain't that great, kids. Watching it again, I realized how much of it is mired in plot holes, which I won't bother detailing. Granted, there are some great death scenes and in the end, that's what we all want, isn't it? Anyway, I'm going to focus my review on the disc itself rather than the movie.

This DVD has a choose your fate feature that wears thin pretty quickly but I will say that this new breed of interactivity with movies on DVD is exciting. I can foresee some interesting things to be done in the near future expanding from this idea and the feature is worth a look, even if it gets kind of corny halfway through.

The best thing about this disc is the "Kill Shot" making-of the film which is an all inclusive feature length documentary on the shoot. This kind of stuff never gets old to me and this is actually one of the better ones I've seen. It is very well put together and covers just about everything you'd want to know about the film.

The sound and picture on the disc are very nice but in sound it ranks second to Final Destination 2, which had one of the most bombastic DTS-ES mixes I've ever heard.

There is also a commentary track by the filmmakers and trailers, commercials, etc.

For the price it's going for, you do get a lot of bang for your buck, so I will recommend it. Just don't buy it expecting a world class award winning film and you won't be disappointed as FD3 is lacking a bit in the story department.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Final Destination 3 (Widescreen 2 Disc Thrill Ride Edition)
$5.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.