Customer Reviews


260 Reviews
5 star:
 (194)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Misleading title, must-have game.
This is actually two old-school console RPGs in one set of packaging. Why the collection is called "Final Fantasy Chronicles" instead of "Chrono Fantasy" or something like that, I don't know, but the important point is:
One of the two games included is Chrono Trigger.
Chrono Trigger remains the greatest console RPG ever made. The version on...
Published on May 3, 2002 by Ryk E. Spoor

versus
35 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad port of an exceptional game
Chrono Trigger and Final Fantasy IV are reviewed and re-reviewed several times over. Both games are exceptionally story rich, with enjoyable character interactions and interesting plot lines. The graphics are what you would expect from the time, and don't detract from the game play or enjoyment at all.

However, I think it's important to note some of the...
Published on June 28, 2007 by Jacob A. Manalan


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

93 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Misleading title, must-have game., May 3, 2002
This review is from: Final Fantasy Chronicles: Chrono Trigger/Final Fantasy IV (Video Game)
This is actually two old-school console RPGs in one set of packaging. Why the collection is called "Final Fantasy Chronicles" instead of "Chrono Fantasy" or something like that, I don't know, but the important point is:
One of the two games included is Chrono Trigger.
Chrono Trigger remains the greatest console RPG ever made. The version on this new CD compilation is identical in play to the original, but includes several animated cutscenes (done by Bird Studios, producers of Dragonball/DBZ and owned/operated by Akira Toriyama, who did the character designs for Chrono Trigger as well) which are themselves worth the price. (In point of fact, the price itself is interesting; the compilation of Chrono Trigger and Final Fantasy 4 costs less than either of them did separately when first released.)
Chrono Trigger centers around the adventures of Crono (yes, that's the correct spelling), a young man whose only apparent unusual feature is skill with a sword; otherwise, he lives a rather ordinary life, getting his allowance from his mom, taking care of his pet cat, and, as the story begins, looking forward to the Millennial Fair. At the Fair, he meets with a pretty blonde girl, Marle, who wears an interesting pendant, and who as a stranger to his town asks him if he'd be nice enough to show her around a bit.
Things get strange when they visit the exhibit area of one of Crono's friends, Lucca, who's an eccentric inventor. Her invention mysteriously reacts to the presence of Marle's pendant, and Marle vanishes, leaving the glowing pendant behind. When Crono decides to follow her wherever she's gone and bring her back, he's catapulted into a time-spanning adventure which will take him from the present to 65 million years in the past, and thousands of years in the future, and eventually to confront a world-destroying monster which may, at the same time, have been responsible for the creation of Crono's own civilization. Along the way he will learn secrets of his world's history, gain new powers, and gather allies, ranging from the super-strong cavegirl Ayla to the technologically advanced machine-man Robo.
Chrono Trigger's greatest claim to fame was, and is, that it boasts many possible endings, all quite different, based on what decisions you make during the game. They're not all easily predictable, either, and at least one or two are rather creepy. It's also interesting in that, after a certain point, you no longer have to keep Crono in your party (most games have a set viewpoint character that you have to keep around). It's quite possible to finish the game with *ANY* combination of available characters.
Gameplay is, in my opinion, superior to that of any of the Final Fantasy games. For one thing, it avoids the "eternally wandering monster" phenomenon which makes overland travel in the FF series so damnably frustrating, while still allowing you to wander freely across the land and visit places, looking for clues, new things to buy, and new friends and allies. For another, the combat sequences are much more active than those of other RPGs of its same era, and include special techniques -- both for individuals AND ones combining the techniques of two or three characters at once. Once you beat the game, you have the option of using "new game+", which allows you to start with the same power, and most of the items, that you'd gained along the way the first time. This is useful for those trying to play through again, since it allows you to zip through combats which, the first time, took many minutes to complete. (it does, however, introduce a bit of cognitive dissonance, especially in the early parts of the game: "How the heck are they throwing ME in jail?! I have enough power to level this entire CASTLE by myself!")
The soundtrack of Chrono Trigger is unbelieveably good. Somehow, through the miracle of MIDI, the original game had 3 full CDs worth of music crammed on it, and the skill with which the MIDI was composed and produced made it sound, at the time, very nearly orchestral. Even today the sound isn't bad, and the re-done, fully orchestral version is amazing. Each major character has its own theme, and they're all excellent. Chrono Trigger's soundtrack still rates as one of my absolute favorites.
If you like console RPGs at all, this is one that you absolutely MUST buy, and keep enshrined somewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two epic RPG's in one package!, October 25, 2005
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy Chronicles: Chrono Trigger/Final Fantasy IV (Video Game)
Two RPG masterpieces, Final Fantasy IV and Chrono Trigger, have been
re-released in this great package with some nice additions. I'll be reviewing the two games.

FINAL FANTASY IV

INTRO: In 1991, FFIV was originally released in America for the SNES under the name, "Final Fantasy II." But the SNES version was pretty flawed. For one thing, they censored the script and and it was horribly translated. Another thing is that they took out a few things, such as the Developer's Room. Also, they toned down the difficulty. Now the game has been re-released for the PS1 with the complete, uncut script, Developer's Room, and a harder difficulty.

GAMEPLAY: This was the first FF game to have more than the number of characters in your party. (you can have up to five characters in your party. Sweet!) The game has lots of secrets, spells, weapons, and summons. It's a really addicting RPG with a great challenge.

GRAPHICS: Meh. It was made in 1991, so of course the graphics look outdated. But they were good for the time.

SOUND: Not much to say about the sound. It's your standard SNES sound.

MUSIC: I love the music in this game. Even 14 years later, the music still packs a punch. I especially love the boss music. It's very catchy.

STORY: This game has a great story. I won't spoil it for you, but the story is very original, filled with plot twists.

ADDED EXTRAS: Besides having the complete, uncut game, not much. Just an FMV scene.

CHRONO TRIGGER

INTRO: Ten years ago, CT was released for the SNES. Even now, it's still one of the most loved and popular RPG's ever. Now it's been re-released with a ton of extras.

GAMEPLAY: CT is an RPG. However, there are things that are special about this game. For one thing the battle system is unique. You can use moves that combine different characters. It's a bit hard to explain.

Another thing that makes this game unique is the fact that you can time travel. You can alter the past, and have fun. Plus, more eras mean more sidequests.

GRAPHICS: Very ahead of its time. CT's graphics were beautiful, from the colorful 2D textures, to the forests, the graphics were topnotch.

MUSIC: Like most RPG's, CT has an epic musical score.

SOUND: Pretty good for 1995.

STORY: The story, I believe, is solid. It isn't the best RPG story ever, but it is easy to understand and very entertaining.

REPLAY VALUE: Most RPG's don't really have a replay value, but this does. Once you beat the game, you can do a New Game+, which allows you to start the game over with everything you had on the first game. Plus, there are many, [and I mean MANY!] endings to unlock.

ADDED EXTRAS: Awesome anime cutscenes, and much more!

OVERALL: Two epic RPG's in one package. A must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The games that started it all, June 28, 2001
By 
William Lindsey (Snellville, Georgia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Final Fantasy Chronicles: Chrono Trigger/Final Fantasy IV (Video Game)
In essence, it was Final Fantasy 2 that hooked a lot of people into the the craze of the series b/c most didn't know of the first one. For those who did were ... over the 32-bit power of this enhanced game. It started most of the concepts that exist in today's recent Final Fantasy's. With this reproduction of this classic w/ new FMV's, it sure to draw back all the old fans as well as some new ones who are curious too see how much the series as evolved over time. If you can stand to revert graphics wise then you can really enjoy this game. After all, superior graphics cannot beat the power of a solid story line. Chrono Trigger, like most things, beats it's sequel Chrono Cross. After Final Fantasy 3 came out as well as Secret of Mana, squaresoft realized that alot of people loved final fantasy but liked Secret of Mana's fighting system where you can see the enemy before you get into a fight and can be prepared vs. just running into them by surprise. Squaresoft decided to combine the best of these 2 games and created Chrono Trigger and made it the best game for the SNES system, as far as RPG's were concerned. Some people may have noticed as I did that Chrono, the main character, looks a lot like Goku from Dragon Ball Z. The reason for this is b/c Akira Toriyama did the art work for it and has now done the anime cut scenes that have been put into the game which is something that I look foward to seeing. This is among my favorite RPGs, at least w/in the top 3. It still beats even a lot of new ones on the PS1. I recommend buying this even by the simple fact if you like RPGs, you are getting 2 for the price of one, and if you pre-ordered it from ..., then your saving even more money on 2 classic games that for me, started the fever for Role Playing Games that hasn't stopped yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will be impressed, July 3, 2001
By 
Amazon Customer "JRC" (Storrs, CT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Final Fantasy Chronicles: Chrono Trigger/Final Fantasy IV (Video Game)
Even though I am a member of the "played them already" club, these games still never fail to disappoint. Chrono Trigger is a timeless (no pun intended) classic that will entertain you each and every time through. And FF IV is the pioneering FF for North America, and now is probably the most challenging FF out there (the Japanese FF III is probably the toughest of all 9 Final Fantasy games).
Those of you who have played the FF Anthology know how horrible the loading times were in each game - fear not. The loading time in FF IV is non-existant. The only parts that take a while is when you are saving and loading your game, which is expected with memory cards. Chrono Trigger is slow at times - most notably when you start/finish a battle and access the menu screen. Most of it is negligable in my opinion.
Even if you own both original cartridges, it's worth it to play FF IV again, as it is like a completely new game, with a new translation and it's UNCENSORED!!! That's right, what Japan got originally we now have. Get it right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad port of an exceptional game, June 28, 2007
By 
Jacob A. Manalan (seattle, wa United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy Chronicles: Chrono Trigger/Final Fantasy IV (Video Game)
Chrono Trigger and Final Fantasy IV are reviewed and re-reviewed several times over. Both games are exceptionally story rich, with enjoyable character interactions and interesting plot lines. The graphics are what you would expect from the time, and don't detract from the game play or enjoyment at all.

However, I think it's important to note some of the issues in porting this cartridge game over to a Playstation disk. Cartridges, like the original one designed for the SNES have very fast data reads. This keeps the pacing of the game brisk and enjoyable. Unfortunately, when porting this game to a playstation disc, they did not take into account the amount of time it takes to seek data off a CD. As a result, the game has a series of small 10 to 15 second delays between various screens, interactions, and other events. This becomes a bit tedious, especially in the early game, when much of the game is developing the story stage. The game is still quite playable and enjoyable, but it does detract from the overall gaming experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FINALLY Final Fantasy IV for the PlayStation, February 24, 2003
By 
John Nolley II (Fairfax, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Final Fantasy Chronicles: Chrono Trigger/Final Fantasy IV (Video Game)
The original Final Fantasy Anthology released in Japan contained versions of FF IV (known in a watered-down version to US fans as FF 2), FF V (never released in the US), and FF VI (aka FF 3 to Americans). However, supposedly due to glitches in the gameplay, Final Fantasy IV was not included in the Anthology's US release. Square has remedied this omission brilliantly with the release of Final Fantasy Chronicles for the US.
To many people, Final Fantasy II on the Super Nintendo set the standard for console RPGs to follow with its non-linear gameplay, involved story line, detailed characters, and beautiful musical score. Yet we all had to put up with a poor translation and a game made "easier" for the US audience until now--and now US gamers can experience the game as it was meant to be, including updated FMV opening and ending sequences and all the secrets left out of the original US release.
As a bonus, this release also includes another Square RPG, Chrono Trigger, in a similarly full-featured adaptation from its original console. No Final Fantasy fan can be without this title in their library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all time favorite games!, October 9, 2005
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy Chronicles: Chrono Trigger/Final Fantasy IV (Video Game)
This is a really nice remake of a great classic (FFIV). They improved the dialogue, and added in a lot of great items. The challenge level, however, was bumped up significantly. The game was originally paced so you didn't have to spend nearly as much time leveling up. A few of the bosses surprised me this time through (I've played the SNES version multiple times in my day). The story is unchanged, however. A must have for any FF/Classic RPG fan! As a bonus, I finally got to play Chrono Trigger!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Anthology!....Even with the Worst Hero Ever!!, May 22, 2003
By 
This review is from: Final Fantasy Chronicles: Chrono Trigger/Final Fantasy IV (Video Game)
Frankly I don't know why people loved FF:Anthology so much...it really wasn't that good. I mean, FF6 was better on the SNES, minus the FMV, and FF5 wasn't that good to begin with. This, on the other hand, features Chrono Trigger, a rather good game, and a highly enhanced version of Final Fantasy IV, the game that launched the series into the main character-based RPG series in history! Personally, I say go with this package, definately!!
Chrono Trigger is a good game, with nice SNES graphics that're almost as good as Super Mario RPG's, decent music (although no FF6, and certainly not Yasonuri Mitsuda's best...even close), a nice out-of-battle interface, and an interesting quest that takes you throughout time. True, since I never really played this game until FF Chronicles, I may have liked it more if I actually got it in 1995 (just about the only Square game I missed between the years 1991 and 2001). I don't agree that it's quite possibly the greatest RPG of all time (mostly because I HATED Chrono, the character, SO MUCH!!!), but it is a nice enjoyable romp, and features plot twists that were about time, yet somehow weren't stolen from either H.G.Welles or Dr. Who! That got me at least!
Now, I'm not gonna deny it, but to me, the whole point of buying this package is for FF4! The graphics are suprememly outdated, and so is the sound quality, but that doesn't change much when it comes to this game...quite possibly the greatest FF of all time! The music is better composed than in Chrono Trigger, the characters are almost infinitely better, the battle system and interface are very easy to use, and even if you've played though it on the SNES a thousand times, unlike Chrono Trigger, this game features something new on the PSX.
Yes, it's sad, that while FFIV was greatly enhanced and a totally new experience on the PSX, Chrono Trigger remains almost completely unchanged from what I can figure out. Behind them both are nice long storylines, and behind FFIV is also strong character content. Chrono Trigger's is full of many choices, which even FFIV doesn't have! The plot twists are also cool, even by today's standards, although there's no real food for thought like in FFX or either Xeno games. While FFIV doesn't feature much more food for thought, it does tell one of the greatest RPG tales of all time by far, and still contains some of the greatest musical tracks ever written. Nobuo Uematsu may be loosing it now, but when it comes to his middle works like this through FFVII, he was quite a head-turner. You follow Cecil on a much more elaborate and detailed quest than that of Chrono Trigger, which is dialogue centered, but still features a great gameplay system, albeit old, and full of random battles. The equipping interface is still larger than that of any other strictly console-RPG I've seen (in terms of weapons and armor). I kid you not when I say that FFIV is the reason I became a film major! It was 12 years ago I saw the light, and it still shines onto me as strong as ever!
Whether the more fun and basic, yet fast-moving quest of Chrono Trigger is your type, or the more elaborate and character driven Final Fantasy IV is your type (like it is mine, as you could figure out), this game is a must have! Two legendary games!
I think they could have called this: "Final Fantasy: The Two RPG's that Wrote the Book that all RPG's Would Later Follow", except for the fact that it's way too long of a title. Original and entertaining until the end of time, get these games, for the power of epic awaits you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The classics never die!, September 1, 2001
By 
Ben Rowland (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Final Fantasy Chronicles: Chrono Trigger/Final Fantasy IV (Video Game)
"Final Fantasy Chronicles" combines Final Fantasy IV (II in the U.S, released in 1991) and Chrono Trigger, two of the most innovative and challenging RPGs of all time.
The version of Final Fantasy IV found here is the complete version of the game, with a bit more challenge and velocity than the SNES release. Skin deep, though, they are basically the same game. The original graphics are preserved, but with the added benefit of FMV movies at the beginning and end of the game. The story, dialogue, items, weapons, spells, and all that jazz remain intact. This was released as "Final Fantasy IV Hard Edition" in Japan, and as the title suggests, this game is not easy. You are looking at 60 hours MINIMUM to complete this game, 100 is more realistic. Despite all my praise of FFVI, this is what I consider to be the best game in the Final Fantasy Series. It has a deeper story, and it is far more challenging. I cannot argue that the graphics are a bit, well, dated. But who cares? A great game is still a great game.
Ditto for Chrono Trigger. This is one game that I am glad they re-released. It is one of the most pleasant gaming experiences you will ever have. Unlike the Final Fantasy games, the battles happen in real time, and you can use combo attacks with certain characters. The basic elements, like leveling up and attain stronger weapons and magic, are still here. The graphics are way ahead of it's time, and fit well with other Playstation titles like "Legend of Mana" and "Breath of Fire III". This game is a pure classic.
One mistake made by RPG fans (like myself) is that they do not get these games while they are readily available, and wait until they become out of print and hard to find. I urge you not to do the same. There will come a time when this game, like the FF Anthology, will demand a high price because it is extremely rare. Best to get it now while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chrono Trigger review only, November 5, 2001
This review is from: Final Fantasy Chronicles: Chrono Trigger/Final Fantasy IV (Video Game)
This will be a review of Chrono Trigger as it was on the SNES, since they don't have a page for it (on the PSX its slowed down an incredible amount, which really detracts from gameplay).
Anyway, Chrono Trigger is, hands down, one of the best games ever made, behind only Final Fantasy 6. You cannot call yourself a true rpg fan untill you have played both of those games. The graphics were top of the line at the time it was released, and the "old school" (i.e. hand drawn) graphics are far better than anything a computer can create. The musical score for this game is absolutely incredible; It's up there with FF6 and Chrono Cross in this department, if not better. Even something as simple as the tune that is played when you sleep is very good.
The storyline is awesome, it's incredibly innovative and involves an accident that sends 3 young people through time. when they witness the barren future of the world, they decide to change the future, and their actions have huge repercussions throughout time. Its all very believeable, and a lot of attention is paid to detail, no matter how small. As you are playing, you get hit with this sense of enormity, the scale of the quest is incredibly large, and yet there is still a good deal of character development (sadly not as much as in FF6).
Gameplay itself is quite good, the controll is very good, and combat is intuitive. You learn new attacks only by going up in level, which can be frustrating and lead to repetition in combat, but the advent of dual and triple techs (attacks that use two or three people) immediately makes up for this. Many of thse moves are incredibly powerful, and are fun to watch. Theres plenty of side quests, for those who love to find everything; once you hit a certain point, you can choose to beat the game, or go and find the "uber" stuff. These side quests greatly add to the storyline, however, and affect the ending as well...which leads me to another fantastic point. The endings. All 12 of them. Ive achieved almost all of them, and many of them are quite good, many are humorous. The "developer's ending" which is by far the hardest to get is stellar.
In short, for all the naysayers of the SNES rpgs, graphics do not make a great game, storyline makes a great game. its as simple as that. FF7 and FF9 are great games that earn solid 4 stars, but cannot compare to the greatness of this and FF6. If you have ever played an rpg and liked it (and even if you didnt!) give this game a try. You WILL NOT be disappointed, I will wager everything I know on that fact. This is the real deal. Very Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Final Fantasy Chronicles: Chrono Trigger/Final Fantasy IV
$21.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.