Customer Reviews


153 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


112 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Final Fantasies Reborn
Pros:

+Impressive Visuals
+Fantastic soundtrack
+Very likeable characters
+Augment systems helps gameplay along
+Fast paced battles
+Good storyline

Cons:

-A very difficult game, even those who mastered Final Fantasy IV previously will have a hard time if they don't go about battles right

In 2006...
Published on July 24, 2008 by S. Rhodes

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars `A great upgrade to a classic gem
I'm going to keep this short. Final fantasy IV came out many years ago as final fantasy 2 and was awesome. Remastered for the gba a little while back, and now we have the ds version. Final fantasy 4 is a fun game that those who are hardcore fans of final fantasy and just regular rpg fans will enjoy. In comparison to the older versions you have 3d graphics, cut scenes that...
Published on January 11, 2011 by Greatdragon99


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

112 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Final Fantasies Reborn, July 24, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy IV (Video Game)
Pros:

+Impressive Visuals
+Fantastic soundtrack
+Very likeable characters
+Augment systems helps gameplay along
+Fast paced battles
+Good storyline

Cons:

-A very difficult game, even those who mastered Final Fantasy IV previously will have a hard time if they don't go about battles right

In 2006 Square-Enix released Final Fantasy III on the Nintendo DS. It got by in America mainly because the game never had a prior release. The success of the game was such a surprise to Square that they decided to redo Final Fantasy IV. Unlike Final Fantasy III, though, Final Fantasy IV has had several releases. The original Super Nintendo, the Playstation version and recently, the Gameboy Advance. With so many versions out there already, Final Fantasy IV DS will need more than just a face lift to make it worthwhile, and it manages to do so. At its core its still the same classic game you've played before, but there are some additions that make the DS version worth playing, even for those who completely mastered previous releases.

The story of Final Fantasy IV is a classic and still holds up well more than fifteen years later. The game opens with Cecil, the leader of the Baron Red Wings. He has just completed a mission for the King of Baron to secure a powerful Crystal, but feels it was the wrong thing to do. When he returns and questions what has gotten into a King, the King strips him of his duty and orders him to deliver a ring to the town of Mist. Something has gotten into the King of Baron, and now Cecil questions his loyalty to the crown and ultimately decides he must do something about it. His journey will lead him not only to do what's right, but to eventually save the world.

The story is told through on screen text that's been redone to give the game a better feel as well as some dramatic cutscenes. There are even moments of voice acting in some of the games more dramatic moments. The voice acting and fantastic cutscenes help to flesh out the characters, who remain some of the most memorable in the series.

Battling is one of the best parts of Final Fantasy IV. It uses the ATB battle system, which means that the flow of battle is fast paced. Every character has an ATB gauge that must fill up before they can take an action. Every character also has unique standalone abilities to help you out. Tellah can use his "Recall" to cast spells he's forgotten, Rosa can pray and heal allies, Rydia can summon beasts. There are a ton of characters who join you, each with their own unique ability. However, when characters depart (as several will come and go throughout the story) they'll leave behind Augments to teach characters their abilities. Unfortunately you can only teach it once. Once a character learns it, they can't forget it or teach it to another character. Augments are more than just abilities departing characters used. There are also augments for standalone abilities like Auto-Potion and Counter. It's a good system that really forces the player to consider strategy. And you'll need to keep your wits about you, as Final Fantasy IV is a very hard game.

Final Fantasy IV has often been said to be one of the hardest RPGs ever made. Apparently Square-Enix took pride in that, as Final Fantasy IV DS is even harder than the original game. There's a strong need for strategy throughout Final Fantasy IV. The bosses in particular are brutal. Even those who mastered Final Fantasy IV time and time again will find this game to be very challenging. If you began with later installments (in particular, the Playstation games), Final Fantasy IV is a rude awakening.

When not battling, you'll be trumping through dungeons. The bottom screen of the DS displays a map of the dungeon. Uncover all of it and you'll get a reward. Usually an item that can be used. Final Fantasy IV also allows you to roam around using the stylus, but it feels like an after thought.

There's a lot of new stuff in Final Fantasy IV. The game has new secrets, new sidequests and new optional bosses for the gamer to tackle. It also has a new unique summon for Rydia called Whyt. Whyt, when summoned, basically takes Rydia's place in battle and uses the abilities learned by all the characters in your party. You can't control Whyt, however. You can raise Whyt's stats by participating in a series of mini-games, most of which are simple, but they're also not a whole lot of fun. It's necessary to bring out the best in Whyt, however. One neat thing about Whyt, however, is that if you power him up enough, you can go and battle friends online and see who has the stronger one.

Visually, Final Fantasy IV is easily one of the best looking games on the DS. The towns and environments all have the same layout as the original game, but they all look better than ever. The monsters in battle are equally impressive as are the games many cinematic moments. Some of the game looks a little pixelated in some spots, but it doesn't separate from the fact that its amazing looking. Final Fantasy IV DS is a visual masterpiece. If there was anything about the graphics to gripe about, it would be that the character models look a little too cute. This is especially strange when one considers the dark story and mature themes that Final Fantasy IV tackles. Regardless, it's still a beautiful game.

In addition to that, much of the music is reworked and sounds better than ever. Most of the voice acting is quite good. The voices themselves really fit for the characters. There are some instances where the voice work isn't as good as it could be, but it's still very memorable.

Final Fantasy IV DS is how an old school Final Fantasy should be done. It's old school charm comes out a lot (particularly in the difficulty), but at least Final Fantasy IV gets more than just a facelift. With new quests, story sequences, an ability system and a refined script, Final Fantasy IV is worth picking up even if you played the original to death. This is how Final Fantasy IV was meant to be played. If you haven't played Final Fantasy IV, this is a good version to pick up. If you have, it's worth reliving again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest nostalgia trip I ever took., August 19, 2008
By 
trashcanman (Hanford, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy IV (Video Game)
Hardcore RPG gamers of the old school variety will know what I'm talking about. When this game was originally released in the U.S. as "Final Fantasy 2" on the Super Nintendo; this genre barely existed stateside. But those of us that picked it up had our tastes in video games -if not in all entertainment- permanently changed after playing FF4. There were two kinds of people I showed this to back in the day: people who couldn't even comprehend a game where instead of controlling a character directly you issued them orders and watched them carry them out, and people who became instant hardcore RPG fanatics. Type B: this one's for you.

FF for the NES was a cute little adventure where you handpicked your party out of a small array of cookie-cutter archetypes and set about hunting treasure and fighting monsters and such. It was a start. That and "Dragon Quest" were the only games in town at that time. Then, along with the SNES came this mindblower. Having been skipped over by two Japanese sequels, Americans were treated to their first video game that was on par with other mediums of entertainment. Mario could jump around, Sonic was fast, Samus had cool weapons, and Link had massive worlds to explore, but did you ever really FEEL for them? Did you ever have to watch them die for reals, knowing that you wouldn't be playing as them again in this playthrough? this game made me feel loss, excitement, accomplishment, and a genuine NEED to see what was going to happen next. FF4 has a story that could compete with the best novels, great art designs, wonderful characters with unique abilities and personalities, epic powers at your control, and what I still consider to be the finest score ever in a video game. This one changed video games from a childhood diversion to a lifelong obsession for me. I've spent nearly two decades wishing for a direct sequel (FF: Mystic Quest" was a HUGE letdown), a cartoon series, a movie, something/anything to pay homage to the video game that deserves it most. Final Fantasy VII on Playstation was the first huge hit of the series and the one that gets most of the love from younger fans, but it lacks the flawless execution, focus, and originality of 4. Nonetheless, it's popularity earned it a cool CG movie and spin-offs. But my prayers have been answered in a way with this ground-up remake of my favorite game of all time. I bought the Nintendo DS just for this game. Now let's just hope it catches on this time around and gets the FF7-like treatment it deserves.

I showed the opening animation to a woman at work and her jaw dropped. "SO COOL!" were her exact words. That barely begins to describe how much I enjoyed seeing my favorite characters realized in 3D glory after some 17 years of picturing it in my head. FF4 has been faithfully reproduced in it's entirety with completely redone graphics, new character models, actual cutscenes, some voice-acting, and many more new additions that only make this classic better. You can now raise and train your very own monster who can be conjured to battle in your summoner's place using techniques learned from your party. The training consists of several mini-games that use the DS's stylus in interesting ways. You can even draw the monster's face however you like. Very cool. The dual-screens make using the mini-map extremely handy. The augment capability adds some customization to the game and assures that even when you say goodbye to your favorite characters, some of their talents can still help you out. The only way I could be happier with what I got was if it had been given the full-on next-gen treatment on the Xbox 360. And yes, I would buy this game yet again to experience that. It is that good. A hundred bloated Lost Odysseys, Legend of Dragoons, and Blue Dragons as well as subsequent Final Fantasy games have tried and failed to recapture the one-of-a-kind character work, epic story, unforgettable score, and perfect pacing of this almost-forgotten relic of a genre that is still going strong in part because of the groundwork laid by this title. This is the most fun one can have with one tiny game cartridge.

I spend most of my free time watching genre films, reading comic books and novels, playing story-based video games, and watching any outstanding television series out there, so rest assured that I know a great story when I see one regardless of the medium. Playing through FF4 -even for the dozenth time- gives me the same feeling I get when watching the Star Wars Trilogy or reading The Lord of the Rings. Great fiction is great fiction and this is the kind of game, dated as it is, that reminds me why I'm still doing this at age 30. If you've ever enjoyed a role-playing game in any way, shape, or form don't hesitate to pick this up. It is the best Japanese RPG of all time and it accomplishes that without mindblowing graphics, dozens of lengthy cutscenes, or even decent voice-acting. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good outing. But not as good as it could have been., July 27, 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy IV (Video Game)
"What do you mean?"

That's likely the first thought crossing your mind, so you clicked into my review. Don't worry, reader...I will explain in clear terms. But first, some history, so you know I'm not full of it.

Final Fantasy IV is actually the sixth Final Fantasy game, but the fourth to be released as part of the official series. If you didn't know, the Final Fantasy games (with the exception of X and X-2) have little to do with each other and are not true sequels. Think of them as separate books under a brand; each one tells a different story, even if they might use slight pieces concurrently (such as spells). There were Final Fantasy games released on GameBoy, as well as "Mystic Quest" which didn't really count, but since it held the name, I list it here.

Back in the days of Super Nintendo, Squaresoft released this game as "Final Fantasy II". There were two separate versions, referred to as "Easy Type" and "Hard Type". The SNES version was allegedly the "Easy Type", though I can't fathom why that was...*cough*EvilWall*cough*...Final Fantasy IV was then re-released on the Final Fantasy Chronicles game set along with Chrono Trigger, replete with new CGI cutscenes to further the gameplay. This version was allegedly the "Hard Type". As if that weren't enough, Square Enix (as they were now called) released Final Fantasy IV on the Game Boy Advance - again, allegedly the "Hard Type". And now here we are.

But wait - this isn't the same as either previous version. This is a remake, not a port. The game has been converted to full 3D. Some of the spell and summon names have been changed. And Square Enix has added some features to the game to make it just enough "new" as to make it interesting. So I'll go down the list of good and bad, and then elaborate.

*** THE GOOD ***
- The difficulty is now more in line with some of its latter forefathers, especially with the Active Time Battle system. Bosses such as the Mist Dragon (the first "boss" you'll encounter) are actually challenging if you don't know what you're doing. New gamers might actually get whooped repeatedly. Veteran gamers who understood the patterns will find challenge, but not nearly as much as new gamers. Oh, and by the way...Dr. Lugae? He's no longer a pushover. That's all I got to say about that.

- Certain characters who where difficult to use because they just weren't useful were given additional skills to help them contribute in battle. One character's ability was so blatantly useless as to be laughable, yet he was one of the final characters in the game. This has been changed to where his skills contribute almost as well as Rydia's spells.

- "Augments" add a whole different dimension to the game. With these, you can effectively take the natural skills of other characters and apply them to anyone you want. SO for example, you could have Cecil set up with Counter, Kain set up with Draw Attacks, and have Cecil cover, which effectively makes Cecil a tank while Kain is free to dish damage. That's just one example of the various combinations you can employ to go through the game.

- Item limit is removed - no more relying on the Fat Chocobo to store excess Elixirs.

- Summons, now referred to as Eidolons, have been powered up substantially. In the older ports there came a time when your summon could barely do the damage of Fire 1, so by the time you got Fire 3, there was no point in using Ifrit. (There is a negative to this though, more later)

- The graphical detail of the game is top notch for the DS, especially in certain caves and dungeons. It's clear they put some work into making the game as visually appealing as they could.

- The audio has been remixed, and even improved in some areas. FFIV's music had always been quite good, but the remixes are even better (negative here, more on that later).

*** THE BAD ***

Yes, there are some not-so-good things to this, I'm sorry to say.

- Eidolons. Remember how I just got done praising them for what they bring to the table now? Well, there's a new problem. With the exception of the Four Fiends there's really no point to using them over spells except to watch the scene. This has more to do with how slowly it takes Rydia to call them than anything else.

- Some tracks were remixed with added instruments that totally kill the spirit of the original song/atmosphere it was used in. Troia comes to mind.

- The "sudden death" set of notes was removed. This is what plays the moment someone dies as part of the story, usually at a point when Cecil is yelling their name out. I have no idea why they removed this.

- Cecil's "Darkness" ability was nerfed. On the SNES version, he didn't have this ability. On the PS1 and GBA versions he did. It sent out a wave of dark energy to hit all enemies and caused you damage when you used it, but it was quite useful. Here, it just makes his attacks stronger and takes energy when you attack, but you can only hit one enemy.

- The ability to equip weapons has been altered. Characters who could easily equip certain weapons no longer can or the way they equip said weapons has been changed. For example, Cecil could always equip a bow and arrow as an alternative to a longsword, which was particularly useful in one specific cavern, but now he can only equip daggers and swords, making him effectively useless when you get to that part except to Cover. Plus, depending on how you equipped Rosa's bow/arrow combination, her power went up a bit. This has been removed as well.

- Because everything is in 3D it makes navigating caverns and towers extremely difficult. I'm sure this was intentional, but because you can't change the camera, you can't easily tell which way you're going. Some might actually like this as it forces you to learn the paths all over again, but I don't care for it. The camera is almost directly in front of you, you don't get a "top down" view and can't tell which path leads to a dead end and which does not. I don't mind the camera angle, as long as I can move it at will. This also causes a minor annoyance at one castle where someone is eavesdropping on the throne room: in the older version you can clearly see the perpetrator as they jump up momentarily. This adds suspense that is missing on this version.

- A brief cutscene plays before almost every special ability. It detracts from the fluidity of combat to have to watch Kane for two seconds before he executes the Jump command. I really wish you could disable this.

- The placement of "Switch Rows" has nearly cost me battles. It should be on the left rather than right under "Defend". Because I'm used to fast paced battle, I'm used to pressing right to defend and left to switch rows. No idea why they would change this.

So...do I recommend this game? Absolutely. My negatives are personal nitpicks based on my extensive knowledge of this game, for the most part. I would say if you're a vet like I am who remembers the game from SNES, just don't expect the exact same experience. Square Enix has tried hard to freshen the game in quite a bit of areas. A lot is the same, but a lot has changed, including the names of things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars `A great upgrade to a classic gem, January 11, 2011
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy IV (Video Game)
I'm going to keep this short. Final fantasy IV came out many years ago as final fantasy 2 and was awesome. Remastered for the gba a little while back, and now we have the ds version. Final fantasy 4 is a fun game that those who are hardcore fans of final fantasy and just regular rpg fans will enjoy. In comparison to the older versions you have 3d graphics, cut scenes that have great voiceocers, a soundtrack that just rocks, and really fun extra mini-games. But the downside in this remake is that random encounters get outta hand sometimes where you are constantly fighting random encounters, and if you go on youtube look up the older version you will notice that you get to attack 2-3 times before the enemy even attacks you, while in the ds version the enemies are on the same speed you are which can make the game very hard sometimes which adds on to the fact that the game is hard in itself at times. So heres a breakdown of the pros and cons

Pros
+good graphics for ds
+good soundtrack
+English voiceovers
+Mini-games
+Great Storyline

Cons
-attack less in comparison to original
-hard at times

I say go and get this game despite the difficulty, this game has a lot going for it and is worth it when you finish the story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult, But Worth It, February 20, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy IV (Video Game)
Due to the success of the Final Fantasy III DS release, Square Enix thought it could make some quick cash on Final Fantasy IV: DS version.

Okay, they were right. Even though this is the third version of FFIV out there, it was my first introduction to the game. The main thing I was impressed with was its ability to withstand the test of the time. Even though this version is a full 3D remake of the original -complete with voice-acting and a gorgeous CGI opening, the overall story and gameplay stayed true to the original and were amazing.

Lord Cecil is the leader of the Baron Red Wings and is very loyal to his king. However, after Cecil defies the king he is sent on a mission to Mist. The mission turns out to be nothing it seemed when the package Cecil was instructed to deliver ends up destroying the village. In his guilt Cecil rescues a young summoner named Rydia, the sole survivor of the attack.

The plot of FFIV is more complex that many of the FF plots, includes a wide range of characters and is considerably more difficult than usual. The game even allows you to have up to five members in your party. There are around ten different playable characters in the game, ranging from white/black mages and summoners to sages, monks, paladins, bards, ninjas and others. Some fans may not like the fact that characters constantly enter and exit the party, but it didn't bother me too much. I liked the variety and versatility this approach allowed -plus it made the entire game about plot. There was always a reason for characters leaving and entering; a surprising number of characters even die!

But I have to admit -this is the most difficult Final Fantasy game that I have ever played. I think I died more times than I ever have in any video game, but instead of throwing the DS down and avoiding the game for a few days (like I usually do), I just had to pick it back up and try again. Why? The plot was just that engrossing -and I enjoyed the challenge. As opposed to most FFs where you can just bust into a boss fight and win due to the sheer power of your party's level, you can't really do that here -you need a strategy. Yes, you heard me right -there's more strategy involved, which may make the game unappealing for some.

If you've played FFIV before, however, it may not be worth the money. The updated graphics are a treat and the voice-acting is surprisingly well done (heck, the music even sounds good by modern standards). Yet, this game does not make use of the DS's touch-screen capabilities at all. Even though the bottom screen is not completely neglected (maps, battle statuses etc.), it is not fully utilized. I know this is a minor thing, but the touch screen is such a big feature of the DS that it's a shame when it's not used.

Whether you're new to the Final Fantasy universe or you're new to FFIV, this is a fun, challenging game, as well as one of the best in the series. I was particularly refreshed by the lack of belts/zippers on characters, the strong character originality and the fact that the female lead was not an annoying Damsel-in-Distress like many modern FF female leads are. Thank you FFIV. Thank you for reminding me why I love Final Fantasy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Redemption, September 25, 2008
By 
Dal (Salt Lake City, Utah) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy IV (Video Game)
I'd like to chime in and share my thoughts on this lovely little gem of a game, me being one of those who never played the older FF games, and my first exposure being, FF7, I just have to say that this is quickly becoming my all time favourite Final Fantasy game ever! I'll also note that I'm a huge fan of jrpg's and any rpgs in general, but just the old school turned based is what I love the most. Honestly the portability with the handheld system (DS) is fantastic, I'll just take this with me to work and play on my breaks or waiting for a ride or on the bus or train, it's just great.

As far as the actual game is concerned enough reviewers here have referenced the improvements or irks they might have from the original, or other remakes of this game, I'll just talk from a first time experience, and it's everything I have ever loved about this genre, graphically it's the best I've ever seen on the DS, and the depth and ability to customize using the augmentation system is amazing. I've found some difficulty dealing with certain bosses and the level grinding can be a bit tedious at times, but over all I enjoy it for the sake that I've never had a problem grinding out the levels and can just spend days on end leveling my characters up, and really learning just how to use them to their full advantages.

As far as story is concerned it couldn't get better than this a dark knight, seeking redemption and salvation for the wrongs he's caused, and for such a colourful and viberant world, the story is very mature and dark, dealing with death and betrayal, and ultimately saving the world, it's all very epic. And I can't help but become completely swept up into the world and struggles of each character and every time someone knew is introduced I get really excited and just can't wait to find out more about their personalities and traits.

I'm not quite finished playing through this game, and should probably update this review once finished, but I thought I'd chime in and give this remake the credit it deserves, and can't wait to see even more jrpg's on this system, and a chance to play all these famed classics for the first time, ie, Chrono Trigger, and the DQ series. Thanks to Square Enix I'll be able too!

**Edit**

I finished the game and the ending was bitter sweet, so hard to let these characters go. *sniff* And now ranks in my favorite FF ever played.

Highly Recommended to new comers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a great game with sme interesting new features., July 24, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy IV (Video Game)
When this game was first released here in the states a group of us got together and powered through it over the first 24 hours (give or take) of having. We'd each take turns playing for a couple of hours. Eventually everyone else fell asleep and I kept on playing. By dawn the next morning I was in the last dungeon marching through the multitude of mini-boss battle to the final boss. Some great memories there.

Now I get to play this awesome game again, just at a more leisurely pace this time. One of the reasons to take more time with the game is the inclusion of mini-games for you Eidolon Whyt. These mini-games are pretty fun, reward you with items, and increase the strength of Whyt when you summon it for battle. Also new to the game is some nice cut-scenes and voice acting. It brings the game up in the epic feel while still retaining everything that the great offered when it first came out.

If you are an FF fan and a DS owner you probably don't need these reviews to know the game is worth buying, but if you are on the fence rest assured the game is definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply spectacular, July 24, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy IV (Video Game)
Like Final Fantasy III before it, Final Fantasy IV has undergone a complete makeover for it's transition to the DS, and the game as a whole is a simply spectacular achievement. Completely remade in lush 3-D, Final Fantasy IV returns players to familiar faces like Cecil and Rosa as your journey begins. And what a journey it is. Final Fantasy IV for the DS blows the previously released, and well done, version for the GBA that came out a few years back, and despite the game's transition to 3-D, the core gameplay remains the same, and the overall experience has become all the better as well. The game looks great for a DS game, and while it hardly takes advantage of the DS' touch screen capabilities, there's really no reason for it to either. Customizing your characters is enjoyably addictive thanks to the new augment system, and the game seems more challenging as a whole as well. If there's any downside to Final Fantasy IV, it's that the voice acting is pretty weak. While it's nice to finally hear Cecil and his crew talk, the voice acting just comes off as kind of lame. That aside, there's a spectacular story here (one of the best of the entire Final Fantasy series) and deep, engaging gameplay that doesn't disappoint on any level whatsoever, so this is a minor gripe at the very best. All in all, Final Fantasy IV is a brilliant re-imagining of a classic game that any and every DS owning Final Fantasy and/or RPG fan should definitely pick up, and may very well be the best RPG available for Nintendo's dual screened handheld at this time. Thanks Square, you've done it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly Surprised, September 5, 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy IV (Video Game)
I've played FF IV probably 5 or 6 times before this, so I was struggling to find the motivation to play again. I was shocked by the amount of new content though, and the overall new presentation, enough to make it feel almost like a totally different game.

If you enjoyed it the first time, there's enough to bring you back again. Best new addition by far is the auto-battle mode. You can pick one move for each character, assign it to them, and then just set it to auto-battle. With the simpler RPGs that are a bit older, this is a godsend. No more A,A,A,A,A,A,A 1000x just to select "Fight" in 100 random battles. You literally don't have to ever again. Made the game immensely enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few annoyances, but overall a solid game., August 14, 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy IV (Video Game)
So I jumped into the FF series VERY late, and decided to go in no logical order (that also happens to be chronologically), so I had no experience with the dynamic battle system inherent in the later games until this point.

I was very pleasantly surprised.

The main problem with FF 1-3 (apart from the unimaginative stories) was that once you figured out who was weak to what, the game became a grindfest until you could easily defeat higher enemies. This of course breaks flow, is boring, and is not good for any game (save MMOs, apparently). The Active Time Battle system (along with some considerably smarter enemies) overcomes this, where every random encounter feels like a fight for your life. Strategy and information are KEY in this game, as enemies frequently can and will wipe your whole party (the libra spell is your best friend!).

There are some problems with the explanation of the system, though. If you wait a moment at any characters main menu (not to be confused the magic or item menu) in battle, you'll quickly notice enemies are still free to take their turns, so you have to either open your spell list or target an enemy to stop time, even in WAIT mode (I end up using pause more often than not, myself). The game shadily tells you this (in so many words) in a few places, but it never quite jumps out and says it, and this can be pretty annoying the 15th time after checking for sure the ENEMIES WAIT THEIR #%^$ TURN button is checked (of course, if you're crazy you can run through the whole game on ACTIVE mode, where enemies can act as soon as they can, no matter what you're doing).

Another not so desirable feature is the touch screen, which can best be described as having little to no effect on the direct game itself. Yes, there are a few minigames that make use of it, but apart from those it doesn't get used at all, even in battle! (And for anyone who points out that you can use it to move like in FF3, I will counter that because your characters are on the top screen, the feature becomes a shadow of what it used to be)

One good thing the touch screen brings to the table (although this is the "screen" part of it, not the "touch") is a map feature, handed to you a bit into the game by a certain rabbit. This map makes dungeon crawling infinitely easier, especially when you clear a whole dungeon only to realize you need to leave the way you came in (which happens more than once).

The story is clear, well paced, and not as full of itself as some of the later games, and it's made more immersive through the magic of VOICED CUTSCENES (to hear the Gamestop guys tell it, at any rate). Frankly, the voiced ones don't come into play very often, but considering the quality of the actors, that's ok... The story, at any rate, is of good quality, and worth finishing the game for.

Finally, a warning. As with many Final Fantasy's, characters come and go in this one faster than enemies, so be careful who you equip with what, and save often. This is doubly true of AUGMENTs (powers you can equip on one character), which can't be moved after the fact.

My final rating:
Gameplay: A-
Sound: B-
Story: B+
Creativity: C- (But you're playing a Final Fantasy game, what did you expect?)
Fun: A
Overall: B+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Final Fantasy IV
Final Fantasy IV by Square Enix (Nintendo DS)
$31.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.