Customer Reviews


150 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tighter Formatting but Polished Improvements
Having never played X-2 (looking forward to it!), I can only compare the new HD remaster guide to the original Brady Games X guide.

First difference is the new guide is about a quarter inch shorter in height and the same in width as the original as well as 367 pages long *for both games* as opposed to the original's 267 pages for just Final Fantasy X. Okay, so...
Published 6 months ago by Tinfoot

versus
38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad But Some Omissions Keep It From Being Great
The original Final Fantasy X guide by Bradygames was actually really good. It was a helpful guide that got you through the game with ease and clarity. The Final Fantasy X-2 guide was a bit larger and had a lot of info as well. Both guides are here in their entirety. The guides themselves are very identical to their original counterparts, just put into one big guide...
Published 6 months ago by S. Rhodes


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tighter Formatting but Polished Improvements, March 17, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
Having never played X-2 (looking forward to it!), I can only compare the new HD remaster guide to the original Brady Games X guide.

First difference is the new guide is about a quarter inch shorter in height and the same in width as the original as well as 367 pages long *for both games* as opposed to the original's 267 pages for just Final Fantasy X. Okay, so yes, we are already dealing with less over all page real estate. The new guide does use tighter and smaller formatting- if it didn't, thue guide would be a HEFTY 500 pages or more (guesstimate off the 165 pages in HD guide dedicated to X). You really want something that big on your lap? Bad enough when I have fat cats trying to cuddle up while playing....

Smaller, tighter format aside, I noticed that at least in the Final Fantasy X portion, the text has been copied verbatim from the original in places (i.e. the Blitzball section), but not all the repeated information is simply pasted back in. There are some retypes that seem to be aimed at greater clarity - I am not including the new International Version information, just what was already in the original.

Also much of the original art graphics have been ported, albeit smaller. However, the first thing to greet my eyes on opening the HD guide was they made the sphere grid much LARGER than it was in the original. Also, looking at the first temple walkthrough, more detail is added with accompanying screen captions (6 extra steps over the original). So we can see that HD guide may be more "compact", using much of the same text and art previously published, yet positive, polished changes have also been made (along with the entirely new content, of course).

In the sum, this is not an entirely new guide, but an updated, some may insist more polished (I am one), guide to beloved favorites that after a long wait has received glorious new High Definition life.

~EDIT ADDITIONAL~ 18March14

Just received my Final Fantasy X|X-2 HD Remaster from Amazon, and be AWARE that no in-packaging or on-disc game mechanics manual is included. I at first ignored the lack of a manual, but when I encountered the first new mechanic, Standard Sphere Grid or Expert Sphere Grid, I opened up the HD manual, and sure enough there it is was along with all the basic gameplay how-to that I normally ignore.

So if for some reason you want a basic gameplay how-to WITHOUT buying this guide, you will have to look for free online sources. (see final edit)

~EDIT final~ Apparently there is an insert that is missing from my package that has the address to Square Enix basic manual PDF download, so be sure when you get your game copy... check for the insert! :p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad But Some Omissions Keep It From Being Great, March 18, 2014
This review is from: Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
The original Final Fantasy X guide by Bradygames was actually really good. It was a helpful guide that got you through the game with ease and clarity. The Final Fantasy X-2 guide was a bit larger and had a lot of info as well. Both guides are here in their entirety. The guides themselves are very identical to their original counterparts, just put into one big guide book. From the 367 or so pages that it is this seems like a bad thing at first. Really, the information has just been more condensed. Some things were cut or changed but it'll still be a helpful guide.

First, the Final Fantasy X section of the guide. In the past when Bradygames wrote strategy guides for games, they had this unusual tendency to leave in a lot of unused space. Case in point, the original Final Fantasy X guide by Bradygames was a whopping 272 pages. Here, it's just a little more than 160. Bradygames is often notorious for having a lot of space in their strategy guides left unused. The original Final Fantasy X guide was double spaced and also had sections where there would be enormous screenshots or artwork that sometimes covered up half a page. This is often a practice done to inflate the size of the guide itself. Sometimes it's easier to read but other times it seems like it's done so that the guide appears to be thicker. Here just about all the same info is there. Clearly, Bradygames wanted to conserve on space because everything here is condensed and compact. The font size is smaller, it's now a single spaced guide and it's in two columns. In some ways this is nice because it actually looks very well organized as a result. On the other hand, some things are also squished together. The maps (which are EXACTLY the same maps in the original guide) are somewhat smaller as a result. Likewise, there are moments where the text is really jumbled together.

There are a few major differences, however. The sections detailing characters and the Aeons is smaller. They aren't full bios. They also no longer show you each characters section of the sphere grid. These things might be okay for returning players, but not necessarily for newcomers. Likewise, the into on the Expert Sphere grid is pretty tame. They mention it and show you (although they insist on you going to their website for a larger version) but don't actually tell you much about it. Again, probably not that big of a deal, although NOT showing you where characters begin on the grid is a major issue.

The walkthrough, however, is very similar in a lot of ways. A lot of it is copied and pasted from the original guide. There are some sections that have been revised or rewritten but the basic instructions are the same. The boss strategies in particular are very identical. Some changes to the walkthrough are very present, however. For one, there is no longer a step-by-step objective list like there used to be. Likewise, the guide lists the enemies at the beginning of the area but not their stats. As I said, a lot of it is simply condensed. The bestiary in the back is exactly the same, however. So is the comprehensive look at Blitzball and all the stats for the players.

There are two major problems with the Final Fantasy X section I'm not fond of, however. The lesser of the two is that there is simply not enough coverage of the new stuff. Particularly the Dark Aeons. There's some preparation but the strategies aren't the best. The bigger of the two is that there is no mix chart for Rikku... or really anything about mixing at all. Considering how much emphasis is put on mixing for the Dark Aeons it's really surprising that we don't have anything for Rikku's mixes. Much like with the sphere grid, Bradygames tells you to go online to their website. If I'm going to pay for a strategy guide I don't want it to send me online. If that was the case I'd have already gone online.

All that said, some of the same problems are also still present. For one, the guide still has very little coverage on the monster arena. It tells you all the basics but for some of those creatures it would sure be nice to have some strategies or some guidance on what to expect.

The Final Fantasy X-2 guide is, likewise, largely the same as the original guide that's been published. Again, a lot of the text has been revised and a lot of the information has been condensed. Where as the original guide was a whopping 352 pages, it's been condensed to around 200 here. It is primarily in two columns as well with small font. There is not as much new to Final Fantasy X-2, however. If you have the original guide it'll help out just fine. Much like the Final Fantasy X section some of the same things have been done to condense it. There is no longer a list of objectives and the enemies in each area are named, but no stats are shown.

There is still a 100% completion checklist, although it's important to note that not EVERYTHING shown in that checklist is also in the walkthrough. Originally I felt this posed a problem before. And I find it still does now. The walkthrough is still somewhat disorganized. It's laid out just fine but still written in a play-as-you-go fashion. Meaning if you aren't following the walkthrough to a tee, you're going to miss something... but the problem is that you may find something on the checklist that is not actually described in the walkthrough at all.

The guide also gives you a trophy list for both games, but I find this to be somewhat useless. In my experiences with strategy guides I'd rather not be given a trophy list if it isn't going to be expanded into a trophy guide. I can open my PSN for the trophy list. Granted it also tells you the hidden trophies but the trophies that ARE hidden are trophies that you'll get through completing the story anyway. The good news is that the coverage of other trophies (such as the celestial weapons or dodging 200 bolts) are already covered in the walkthrough or in the sidequest. The point, however, is that it seems like a waste to simply list out the trophies when the player can already go to the list of trophies anyway.

If you already have the original Final Fantasy X and X-2 guides by Bradygames there isn't really much incentive to pick this one up. There isn't really a lot of information those guides wouldn't give you. Alternatively, if you managed to get a hold of the Piggyback Interactive guides for Final Fantasy X and X-2 then you won't get ANY new info at all since Piggyback would've already covered what came to be known as the "International Version."

The Bradygames guide isn't bad. It's not great either. Some of the info has been condensed but really the biggest problem is that they decided to omit things they had in there before or really condense it all down. The fact that they didn't actually cover some of the stuff they didn't cover before is also kind of a drag. If you have the original guides when they were published in 2001 and 2003 respectively you are probably better off with those guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great update to two old guides and all in one place!, March 15, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
First of all, hats off to Amazon for delivering this guide an entire 4 days before March 18th when the games are available. I preordered the book with other items and they shipped it separately in a great box that delivered the book in one piece. No bent spine or bumped corners. This is good, because there is no limited edition hardcover of this book. The book combines the two old Brady Games guides from yester year and updates them in one easy to reference complete guide. If you want all the collectibles and pointers and complete walk through...you got it! Paid $14.99 plus $1.98 for S&H. Now it is going for $15.99 with free S&H. Either way, well worth the money at anything below $19.99. Great for collector's and the completest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strategy now-a-days are not what they used to be, March 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
I got both Final Fantasy X and Final Fantasy X-2 strategy guides when the games first came out 10 plus years ago, and both of those books were twice the size of this strategy guide. I remember reading word for word some boss fights because I was excited to play the game. This guide literally takes sentences/paragraphs word for word from the old strategy guides and puts them in this new book. They do cover the international content that was previously unavailable on the original version, but they briefly talk about it. Brady Games and Prima Games have been lack luster on their strategy guides as well as Boss fight strategies.

"Just attack the thing and it will die quickly."

Yeah, that really helps me out a lot. I could have figured that out myself.

The maps help with finding treasure items, but they don't show the Al Bhed primer locations. Another thing that annoys me is that some of the pictures are random stand stills. At least show where some hidden items are or something.

Price was good for a 2-1 strategy guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Same Great Guide, New In-Depth Sections, March 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
Coming from someone who has gamed through FFX roughly 50 times (and X-2 quite a number of times as well), I can honestly say this strategy guide covers everything that the old strategy guides for each game covered! I owned Brady's guides on both and this guide literally combined both guides together in a compact, yet still detailed guide. Interestingly, the print IS smaller, but it still covers everything needed and then some just like before.
My favorite part is that it DOES go into great detail about preparations for the Dark Aeons, still has the Monster Arena's enemy drop/steal chart, details on X-2 coliseum, and an easier to read Alchemist mix chart for X-2 (as well as basic suggestions for mixes in X in Rikku's bio, such the mixture for an Ultra Potion, Mighty G, Chaos Grenade, etc., as well as a link to the full X mix chart for online purposes).
All in all, for a game that is well over a decade old, it still goes into detail more than some of the recent guides published for games (cough, XIII-2 and KHFM in HD guides, cough cough). For people who have never played the game, or the international game such as myself, and need that little extra help, save money on buying the same two guides and just get this one. It literally covers the exact same things as the original X|X-2 guides plus the additions I listed above. I completely recommend this for anyone who needs help (or just likes pictures) :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well done., March 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
This guide doesn't give too much information on how to succeed, minus a couple of the more technical boss fights, which this guides strategies are mediocre at best in maximizing your teams ability to best your foes. That being said there are still some rather significant story spoilers for first time players, but this tends to be the case with BradyGames' many RPG guides. Another unfortunate is that this guide lacks some of the really comprehensive lists or data that would prove to be beneficial for first time players who are wanting to maximize their team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Please stop comparing it to Piggyback's guide......or the old one for that matter., June 19, 2014
This review is from: Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
We are talking about a 2 for 1 guide that is less than the cost of ONE of the original Bradygames guide. I've never played either game before but I have watched my friend played and have seen the original guide before. YES, the paper quality is much lower in this guide. It almost feels like newspaper. YES, there are less images throughout the guide than the original. Can't speak for missing information and such because well, I wouldn't know.

In terms of the quality of the guide itself, you have to think about the formatting of this book. Trying to mash two guides into one, they would have had to compromise with a giant book that would be unnecessarily thick. I don't know about you gu ys, but I'd rather carry a separate guide if the book was going to be any thicker. And the reason it's not very thick is due to the thin paper.

The font / text size does not bother me at all wtf? I'm blind as a bat and have terrible eye sight, but the print does not bother me. You must be super far sighted if you can't read the text and I would recommend reading glasses. They're like $5 at your local pharmacy. I mean, the text in GAME is smaller than the text on the guide.....

I don't mind there being a ton of pics. I have the game itself for beautiful imagery. All I want is a GUIDE. And this is exactly that. A very basic guide. Any veteran FF player knows these games are full of secrets. I actually like looking around for hidden gems...but will refer back to the guide in case I missed any of those hidden gems.

I have Piggyback's FFX guide via pdf. But reviewing over both guides, yes, Piggyback's is more thorough about certain details but the guide is written really weirdly. Maybe Bradygames has a better writer......but Piggyback is a bit more informative about specific quests and secrets. But it doesn't look modern and LOOKS outdated. I think Bradygames looks more modern and simple, aesthetically.

If you are a veteran FFX player and are trying to get 100% completion rate, THEN YOU PROBABLY WILL NOT LIKE THIS GUIDE. I speak for the majority of us who do not care for completion rate the very first time. I will no doubt, play this game again. But the first time, all I care about is the story.

I will say the only thing I disliked about the guide and give it -1 star for, is that they sorta spoiled some things inadvertently. Just be aware of that. I don't read this guide word for word either. I mostly use it to look up boss and enemy info because I hate dying and losing all my items unecessarily. I used to go online for tips but people write too many spoilers so this is why I bought the strategy guide. I'm not saying this guide will spoil you, just be aware that it may give you information about certain aspects of the game that you haven't encountered yet, beforehand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Overall, but International Content not fully addressed, March 18, 2014
By 
Larry S. Mccoy "Muckoy" (New Haven, Connecticut United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
I expected much duplication, and the changes in font, pictures, etc. don't bother me. In many places (customizing weapons, armor, etc.) the larger font is much welcomed. Details on material needed to perform the upgrades (for both aeons and gear) are much clearer. My issues are with the FFX-2 portion of the guide, where I would have liked a more thorough explanation of the Creature Create component. Other than that, I think most everything is addressed fairly well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gets the job done. Is not necessarily special in any way...., June 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
It's $16 and it's 2 guides in 1, so I can't really complain much about the guide itself. There are some downgrade qualities of this guide from the older guides but that's to be expected with such a thin book with two games on it!

As another reviewer said, the material of the pages is like paper and not the higher quality semi gloss of the old guides. Doesn't bother me much though. If you need a guide and you're playing this game for the first time, I really don't see how this guide can fail you. There are also FREE guides online everywhere to make sure you have 100% completion rate. This guide is really a BASIC and that's all you should take it for. People are expecting way too much out of a guide that is not a collector's edition or limited edition or is meant to be all that special. It will get you from the start of the game all the way to end with aid on enemies and bosses. That's all you need. The rest is your journey with this game. Have fun with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the individual guides., May 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide (Paperback)
I played FFX and FFX-2 over a decade ago, and had the individual guides for them. Those guides provided a more in-depth walkthrough, especially in regards to FFX-2. Using this guide, I actually missed a few items required for 100% completion in my first run, because some of the requirements were placed in image subtext or otherwise awkward places, but that's okay as I would recommend two playthroughs for FFX-2 regardless.

Otherwise, it still is a pretty decent book for getting almost everything in both games. The tables and charts are extremely useful, and you definitely won't regret having this when it comes time for the end-game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide
Final Fantasy X-X2 HD Remaster Official Strategy Guide by Joe Epstein (Paperback - March 18, 2014)
$24.99 $14.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.