Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Little to complain about if you can't play it elsewhere, but problems remain unaddressed
As with the recent re-release of Final Fantasy VII for the PC, little has changed from the original, which is now, what, almost 15 years old?

There's plenty good to be stated about that fact, for, if you're like me in that you've found that there are few titles that have been released in the intervening years that exhibit the qualities you liked about it, you...
Published 12 months ago by Michael W McVicker

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game play, horrible sound emulation
I was excited to purchase this download and I thought it would be almost like the original. The graphics and gameplay are fine- the sound emulation was horrible! I remember playing the original game and loving the music. I am saddened that Square-Enix would put out a mediocre product.
Published 11 months ago by Jeeviebaby


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Little to complain about if you can't play it elsewhere, but problems remain unaddressed, December 16, 2013
This review is from: Final Fantasy VIII [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
As with the recent re-release of Final Fantasy VII for the PC, little has changed from the original, which is now, what, almost 15 years old?

There's plenty good to be stated about that fact, for, if you're like me in that you've found that there are few titles that have been released in the intervening years that exhibit the qualities you liked about it, you wouldn't hesitate to pick up an even moderately improved version (particularly if you've been made unable to play the original) at a fair price with widescreen support, cheats, achievements, and cloud saves.

However...

The same complaints apply to this re-release. The 3-D models are improved, but the backgrounds are low resolution and make for a strange mix of sharp and muddy. It looks better than 7, but there has been no effort to really augment the product and it's difficult to condone. The soundtrack is in the same punchless midi that everyone's complained about in 7, worse than the original PlayStation tracks. Control is bad unless you use a controller (use a controller). There's no additional content to the main game (there's Chocobo World, originally a Pocketstation game which ties to the game in an optional way, here and launchable in-game).

The story here is rich and intricate, with much room for speculation, even if the tropes to begin it are, indeed, tropes. Characters are rich, if underexplored, as is the world as a whole. The battle system is different and, in my opinion, flawed. In it you draw magic from the environment and your enemies and assign the spells to attributes like speed and strength through junctioning. While an interesting mechanic that limits the number of spells at your disposal and might give you pause when you consider using one that bolsters an important stat, spells are too easy to come by and the junction system is too easily exploited and leads to all characters being essentially the same. There is challenge to be found though, should you know where to look (or handicap yourself, but I don't believe you should have to do that), but I felt it on too few occasions and they were some serious peaks compared to the rest of the encounters.

In short: Minimal updates to presentation (with music quality lowered).
Highly interesting story and characters, particularly if you love to consider what is left unsaid about events, motivations, etc... Great speculation material.
Hard to play without a controller.
Battle system is easily exploited and tedious for such a long game (~30-40 hours).

I really enjoyed it for the thinking it made me do, but the amount of fun is diminished by the lacking presentation and the gameplay ease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great classic, December 21, 2013
By 
Joshua Sweeney (hatfield, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Final Fantasy VIII [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This game is just like the origional PS1/PC copy. They did touch it up with smoothing out the graphics a little but didnt upgrade them. They did add more enemies and side quests. They also made it compatible with all the newer computers/windows based tablets (with keyboard but controller is recommended) I played this on my windows surface pro using a usb controller (as well as my desktop too). If you are wanting an easier way to play this game use either a logitec controller (like the Playstation style controllers) or a 360 usb controller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game - must buy., March 24, 2014
This review is from: Final Fantasy VIII [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Classic jRPG. Wonderful music, really nice graphic and deep story. Also awesome "junction" system.

Everyone should check it out. TODAY! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great title!, June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy VIII [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Best final fantasy ever... there are some mods in the community that make it even a better experience... totally in love...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FF8 Steam only copy =), January 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy VIII [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
as always final fantasy 8 is the awesome game =) this copy is ment to be used on steam and works quite nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy VIII [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
One of the best in the series, buy it, give it time an watch the story line. Great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The game is great and this buy gives you a steam code, July 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy VIII [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
It's Final Fantasy 8, The game is great and this buy gives you a steam code. You can't ask for much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love FF,love square, June 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy VIII [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
can not be actived on steam in any country except america,this is a very old game,but its classic and wonderful,love FF,love square
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars old school memories, June 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy VIII [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
old school memories. played on psone not my favorite of the ff series but it has an interesting story (no spoilers)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Game!, May 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy VIII [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I really enjoy playing this game, and especially enjoy it in this format. It is very easy to download and start playing and you don't need a up-to-date gaming computer (desktop) to be able to play it. I've been playing on my 3-year old Acer laptop.

Highly recommended to fans of the series and to those who appreciate this type of turn-based RPG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Final Fantasy VIII [Online Game Code]
$11.99 $8.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.