Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$16.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 18, 2014
On the box, this collection is described as an "HD remaster." I cannot think of a better term for this package. This definitely had more work put into it than your run-of-the-mill PS3 HD port collection, and I don't just mean visually too. Overall, I'm pretty impressed by the amount of upgrades these games received. For those who are already familiar with the original Final Fantasy X and X-2 and want to hear about the enhancements/changes the games have in this package, skip the next two paragraphs. If you're new to the FFX/X-2 saga and want to know a little bit more about those games, then I'll try to sum them up in a concise manner.

*Quick reviews for Final Fantasy X and X-2*

Depending on who you ask, FFX is either the last great *traditional* single-player FF game, or the beginning of the end of the series. For my money, FFX is a classic. At the time of its release, the whole gaming community was caught up in its beautiful world and interesting characters. Thematically, FFX is a magical game, filled with beautiful locales and heaps of mystery. There's also a great deal of deep philosophical musings on all sorts of things ranging from religion to dreams to the very nature of existence. MOST of the characters are also likable. Auron is a real contender for coolest FF character ever. The visuals were seriously incredible back in the day, and its art design is still wonderful (this world really benefits from being in HD now), and the music is among Nobuo Uematsu's very best works, and that's saying A LOT. Mechanically, FFX was a pretty great JRPG. There were plenty of things to do, and almost all of them engaging. The battle system is incredibly deep, strategic, and rewarding to master. There's even an interesting, huge meta-game that incorporates the in-universe sport, Blitzball, with JRPG mechanics that are pretty interesting. Even though I don't think it matches up to its immediate predecessor, the virtually perfect Final Fantasy IX, FFX is still a fantastic classic very much worth playing.

FFX-2 is not quite so beloved as X, generally speaking. At the time of its release, the consensus among the FF community was a lot of confused and pissed off fans. It was the first sequel to any entry in the FF series, and it was such a dramatic departure in pretty much every way from FFX that nobody knew what to make of it. Gone was the sweeping orchestral music, replaced by lots of J-pop. Gone was the feeling of a FF adventure, replaced with an almost Charlie's Angels "BOW, PICHOW, KACHOW, let's strike a cheesy pose for no apparent reason" campy romp sort of way, starring Yuna, Rikku, and newcomer Paine (designed to be a female Squall) on their quest to find Tidus. It has been stated by the developers that it was made to appeal more to the large female demographic of X's fanbase, and I'm not sure if that succeeded. I have to admit, some of the game is so cheesy and embarrassing to be caught playing (The scene where Yuna gives another character a message complete with orgasmic sounds is borderline pornographic, and makes me cringe every time). X-2 IS a strange game, no doubt about it. What most haters of FFX-2 DON'T tell you is that, mechanically, X-2 is pretty awesome. The dressphere battle system is pretty great, utilizing a class-style focus in a very unique way. There's always something engaging to do in X-2, and getting to the mountain of side quests is easy and intuitive. The story also features some genuinely well-written parts as well, despite the overwhelming cheese majority. It's not as great as FFX is, but if you can get used to the strange thematic elements, then you may be surprised just how fun and engaging X-2 is as a JRPG.

*Review of this package as an HD remaster*

Obviously, the biggest change is in the title of the package: HD visuals. How does this collection do in that way? Surprisingly well. Despite the fact that the bones of the package here are from an early PS2 title, the visuals in these games look fantastic. Textures have been cleared up immensely, and the lighting and shadow effects have also received attention and look great. The game is in 16:9 widescreen and it all looks fantastic. Because of the transition to widescreen, the cutscenes and their assets have been remade completely and look gorgeous in HD (although you still can't skip them, which is sure to bother some). Perhaps best of all, almost all of the in-game character models have been remade from the ground-up and look right at home on the PS3 system. Auron has never looked more awesome than here. It may not be as huge of an upgrade as some modern full-on remakes and there are some graphical quirks remaining (i.e. hands going through sleeves, hair clipping into clothes if a character moves their head back, some hilarious lip syncing blunders, etc). Still, considering the fact that most HD collections amount to slapdash up-rezed ports and nothing more, this collection looks great. So bravo to Square-Enix for clearly going the extra mile to refresh this game visually. They did a great job.

From an audio perspective, there have been a few improvements as well. Voices are clearer and sound better (whether the voice acting was great or not in the first place is highly debated by fans). Now all aspects of Tidus and Yuna's imfamous forced laughter scene look and sound clearer than ever. Whether that's a blessing or a curse is up to you, lol. Roughly 60 tracks have also been remastered for this game and they sound better than ever. However, the audio enhancements in this package are clearly not as drastic of an upgrade as the visual elements are. Still, X/X-2 have never looked OR sounded better.

Another huge change from the originals comes in the form of additional content. Back in the day, FFX was rereleased with additional content in Japan. We never got that version in the US. Now we do. In addition to some new optional bosses, FFX also gives you the option to try out a revamp Sphere Grid that allows for more customization and challenge. X-2 has some new dresspheres as well as a "Creature Creator" that allows you to capture and train most enemies, including bosses from BOTH games, to use as party members in future battles. I wouldn't describe any of these additions as paradigm shifting, but they are pretty cool additions and it's nice to know we're getting the most updated, complete version of the games. Add in trophy sets for each game, and you get what is pretty much the definitive release of these games.

The package includes several new additions to the X universe's story. There's Final Fantasy X: Eternal Calm, which is a long epilogue cutscene following the events of FFX. It's not a particularly interesting plot,but it does bridge the gap between X and X-2 stories, and that's nice. There's also Final Fantasy X-2: The Last Mission, which is a short expansion of sorts that takes place three months after X-2's ending. I can't speak as to its quality, but I do know that it does change depending on the events that took place during a players' game of X-2, which is neat. Finally, there's a brand new audio drama set a year after X-2 entitled -Will-. I'm always a little hesitant to buy into these sorts of official/unofficial side stories, as they can be really bad at times, but still, I'll take what I can get. Clearly, the main draw of this package is the core X and X-2 games, but all this content at $40 is pretty cool if you ask me.

So there you have it. Overall, I'm very impressed by the work that went into this collection. It's definitely higher-quality than your average HD port. The visuals and audio have never sounded better in these games, and there's just so much content here on just one blu-ray disc, it's pretty awesome. All of this for $40 seems like a steal to me. If you've never played these JRPG classics before, then now is definitely the time to get into them, as they have never looked/sounded/played better than here. If you're like me and you sunk countless hours into the original all those years ago, I'd definitely recommend picking up this package again. I've been loving diving back into the world of FFX again. The enhancements to this version definitely makes it feel new again. These games, and particularly FFX, hearken back to a time when Final Fantasy games were universally hailed for their immersive worlds, great stories, interesting characters, brilliant music, and engaging JRPG mechanics. Now, they're better than ever. So buy it, prepare for a classic FF experience, and get lost in the magical, lovely world of Spira.
1818 comments| 193 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2014
When I first heard about this remastery, I was skeptical. Anyone can see that I have bought several collections and remasteries in my purchasing history, and I have enjoyed each of them for what they are and because I no longer own each of those games for my PS2 (that and trophy support = plus!). Never the less, most of them feel like they just took a Blu-ray disc, plugged three games onto it, gave them an HD boost in graphics and sound (which isn't a ton of a boost but still), and release the game for gamers like me who might not own the games or never played them. Don't get me wrong, I am glad they do it most times, but some companies overdo it (Konami, in my opinion) or do a shoddy job (Silent Hill collection). Which is why I was worried with this "collection"; I loved FFX, it is my personal favorite FF besides 8 and 9 (7 is a given really anymore). I was scared that Square Enix would just take the PS2 versions of each, make them HD'ed, and sell the games as they were. But to my surprise, they did so much more, and that is why this is not just a collection, but a full blown remastery of the two games. Square Enix went back in time almost, and not only made the games look new, fresh, and overall better, but they remade the music, added new themes or revamped them, new textures, ect. ect. In short = they rebuilt both games from the original blueprints, and made them look, feel, and sound fresh and great once more. The cinematics still look great, so there was no need to make them new again really (and they didn't). Really the one downside to the remastery in terms of looks is the lip sync to the dialogue; somehow, they neglected to rework the dialogue to the mouth movements, for they still look awkward at times. Overall, the graphics, sound, and presentation, as well as cinematics all are fantastic and great. Gameplay wise, it remains the same as before with some upgrades in terms of the presentation of the battles and whatnot, but in general the game plays and operates in the same outline as the original PS2 version did. For those who didn't play the original, the battles operate in a turn based system, with attacks, abilities, items, magic, and so on available to be used, and even the ability to switch characters in and out with a couple button presses (which is vital at times, and can also be extremely helpful when wanting to get the entire party some experience). It is a simple battle system, but it's deeper than it seems, and is a system that you learn new things with harder and harder battles (appropriate uses and importance of Yuna, when Auron is vital versus Titus versus Wakka, and so on). This game is rewarding, encourages grinding with nudges at times, and is a game that is focused and linear in many ways, yet has much to do on the side as well (which is what FF-13 lacked). If you loved RPG's, especially turn based RPG's, then get this!
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2015
Back in the old days when gas was less than a dollar and all kids had to play with were sticks and rocks... Okay too far back. But back when the PS2 was still in its infancy, I picked up my first Final Fantasy game and, you probably guessed it, it was number ten in the series.

This game was always a wonderful epic to me. When you first start the game you hear your main character asking you to listen to his story. The game just went to great heights after that. It's always held a special place in my heart in the endless RPG genre. So when I heard they had an HD remake coming to the PS3, I most certainly preordered it and waited patiently for it to come.

The updated graphics really got a nice overhaul as I'm sure most of you have already seen in a lot of comparison screenshots. Is the games graphics better than other PS3 titles? Yes. Is it the best, not even close. What really pulled me towards this, other than just sentiments, was the fact that this has the international content and being an American resident (it only was released in Japan if I remember correctly) I never got to explore the extra material! Boy I was so stoked.

I have put well over 80 hours into Final Fantasy X and I'm still going strong! Better believe I plan on platinuming it. With that said, I still haven't given X-2 any of my time yet. No, it wasn't my favorite game. It's actually one of my least. Storyline it falls short, but once again, X-2 is the international version of the game and I want to explore the new content on that as well!

The game comes with additional features as well such as the audio Final Fantasy X Will and X-2 Last Mission. I've listened to the audio. It's interesting to say the least. It would be cool if they continued the story they introduced in it in a new game. X-3 anyone? Maybe that's a bad idea judging from how XIII faired..

This is definitely a game you can sink your teeth (and countless hours) into. For the price, it's definitely worth it, so stop thinking, buy it and blitz!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2016
This review is for Final Fantasy X|X-2 HD Remaster

Shipment: The product came on time and in good condition.

Final Fantasy X and X-2 have captivated many people. Last year, they were released as a remaster on PS3 and Vita. This year, they have made their way onto PS4 with a new coat of paint.

Now on PS3, I was excited to jump back into these games and maybe start working on those Platinum trophies again.
So yes, just to get it out of the way: yes the game looks prettier. They’ve spruced up the fields and NPCs, though I think they also now look a bit shinier than before. The loading times are very much fixed, with loading near instant in some places on the digital version. The ability to change to the Original OST on FFX is also fantastic, though I do wish it could’ve just been patched in on PS3 and Vita.
Some issues have cropped up in this version though – and they all seem to be issues relating to FFX. FFX-2 is perfectly fine and is still highly suggested by me to play – the International content really is awesome. So what ARE these issues in FFX?

Issue one: The music doesn’t continue from where it left off when you leave the battle. This is the minor issue, though slightly annoying if you want to hear more than the first little bit of a song if you don’t have No Encounters on. My guess is this has something to do with how the ability to switch to Original OST was added. It’s definitely an issue, no matter how minor it is. EDIT: It has come to my attention that the music issue is ALSO present in FFX-2, which I was not aware of at the original time of review. I have checked and can confirm this to be true. I now have no clue as to why this has happened, though I still have a theory it was to do with them adding the Original OST for FFX back in.
Issue two: The RNG (Random Number Generator) is broken. Yes, you read that right. The RNG in FFX has been broken. It’s not random anymore. You will always have the same events happen every time you load a save. The fourth battle you get? It’s going to be an ambush. Want to farm Dark Aeons by reloading your saves? It’s never going to drop a Ribbon. At least, from my time on Dark Valefor this was true. I saw a lot of Regen armors before I realized what was going on. Stuck on that boss and want to take a break? When you reload it, it’s always going to do the exact same things.
Now, so I don’t turn this review into a 5-page long review, I’ll try and keep it brief. It doesn’t matter what your playtime is. Your stats matter only so much in it determines your turn order, and I’m guessing it will change when your misses will happen. If you have the same stats though, those misses will always happen on the same hits. In fact, it doesn’t even matter if you defend to try and push them.
There is some minor variations that seem to happen when it comes to fights with multiple enemies, but only so much in who they hit. Even then, most of the time it will always be the same battles happening after a reload. The same drops will also happen. It seems you can also minorly influence the turn order by adjusting the order of your party (including reserves). It doesn’t affect drops however.

Luckily, Final Fantasy X-2 remains intact, RNG and all.
This RNG brokenness extends beyond battles, too. While I didn’t go into as much extensive testing, I did look at Blitzball for a bit. Every time I reloaded, something that should NORMALLY randomize if you get a tournament or not… I always got one. It wasn’t just “getting a tournament” either – it was always the SAME TOURNAMENT. No, it wasn’t started, I checked. I had an active league going at the time, but not a tournament.
So my question is: Square Enix, what in the WORLD did you do to break FFX’s RNG on PS4? It works perfectly fine on PS3 and Vita! This RNG issue is a gigantic blow to how playable the PS4 version is. Well, it is playable but not if you want to actually farm drops or do ANYTHING involving RNG. I desperately hope that this will be patched, as I would very much prefer to be able to farm on PS4 because the loading times are SO nice.
As a small note, I also questioned the install of the digital version a bit. It installs it as a “piecemeal” so-to-speak. The last thing it installs? The data transfer. So if you’re like me and want to transfer over your saves from PS3 or Vita, be prepared for a wait.
As it stands now, I give the PS4 version of Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster a pass. The nice shiny new coat of paint is nice, as are the loading times and the option to change to the Original OST, but the fact the randomness is so broken just kills it.
If you are just looking for FFX-2 and NOT FFX from this release then the PS4 version is fantastic. The only thing I’d nitpick about is the places where broadcast blocking are placed are a bit awkward – namely, why are the loop video and the title screen blocked? Final Fantasy X-2 performs, as far as I can tell, as it did on PS3. It just has that nice shinier coat of paint and MUCH improved loading times. The score below is influenced JUST from of Final Fantasy X. Final Fantasy X-2 alone, as said, is much better – it would be more like a 4.5 if this was FFX-2 alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2015
Nice to see a great game revived. I love the added features and additional fights, but I'm disappointed that there isn't an option to toggle between remastered music and original tracks. I was really hoping for a language option as well (I wanted to hear the original actors with the subtext), but I guess you can't have everything.

Definitely worth the buy as I'm hoping to retire my PS2 as much as possible due to the superiority of the PS3's wireless controller. I don't have a PS4 and wouldn't imagine there'd be any appreciable difference between the two versions of this game, so I'm happy with this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2016
I'd say this is probably in my top 5 games ever created. Fantastic remastered graphics and a quality story line. Gamefly wanted $17.99 for it and I picked it up here on Amazon for $7 something. Couldn't be happier. Love Final Fantasy.

Also the game came in the original case which was purchased at gamestop or some other used game seller. Had leftover residue of the price sticker on it. The game itself was in perfect condition. Not one scratch and looked brand new.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2016
I've been playing Final Fantasy since the very first one came out on NES. My favorites are (American Versions) I, II, III, VII, VIII, X, XIII-LR. Seeing these two revamped for HD was wonderful. For someone who put over a 200 hours combined into the PS2 versions I saw the role of HD immediately. It didn't exactly make the game "new" again, but it definitely gave it a new coat of paint, so to speak. If you're like me and love the series, this is a worthy buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2016
It is everything you want in FFX and more! Beautifully remastered and very nostalgic. It comes with both FFX and FFX-2 HD so you can play either one. The load times aren't super noticeable, but they add up after a while. The story is fantastic and it looks great on the PS3. I would DEFINITELY recommend this, especially if you are on the fence and already own it on the PS2. Just get it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2015
Most people that grew up with these kinds of games are very sensitive to how game developers and publishers treat their nostalgic memories. With all the HD Remakes and Remasters being produced lately, they can sometimes be a blessing or a curse.

In the case of FFX/X-2, everything you experienced (on a technical scale, at least) has been improved upon: Widescreen Support, Reorchestrated Soundtrack, Achievements, the Dark Aeons and secret bosses from the International Versions - it's all a delight. Granted, there is that awkward laughing scene with Tidus and Yuna still, but that's neither here nor there in regards to this HD Remastered treat. I liked this HD Remaster so much that I sold my original PS2 discs of both X and X-2.

Be warned though: some of these achievements are brutal, and will require you to sink hundreds of hours into it if you are a completionist gamer like me. 200 Lightning Bolt Dodges, anyone?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2014
This game is simply amazing. I bought a PS3 about 3 weeks ago and this is one of the games I bought. I was a little uneasy since it is an older game and I wasn't sure the graphics were going to be up to par.

When I received the PS3, I forgot they came with the aux connection. I played the game with the aux connection, and sadly to say, I was a little worried I wasted my money. When I bought the HDMI and connected it, boy what a difference it made! You can tell the game is on the older side due to the type of graphics they use, but I tell you, don't let that fool you. I don't have much experience in playing Final Fantasy games. In fact, this is only my second. I bought FF XIII-2 on Xbox360 and I'm still quite new to the FF 'series'. It reminds me of my favorite game Baten Kaitos that came out on the Nintendo Gamecube. That's probably a good reason as to why I admire it so much.

This game has a good storyline. I believe any game worth buying should. I do realize that there are gamers out there that don't need a story. Good thing I do like stories because there really is no way to skip the cut scenes. If there is something I don't like about this game, it's the inability to do so. Including after you lose a big boss battle and you go back to your last saved point. The cut scene before the big battle is five minutes long. You have to listen to that five minutes again. I personally get up and make a cup of tea. But it does get a little annoying when you lose more than once.

All the characters are unique and have their own skills. You also get a broad choice of characters you want which is also fantastic. Gameplay is easy. It's easy to get tired of using the same characters over and over again. No wonder this game has withstood the test of time. There aren't many games that I would buy that are as old as this one in this day and age. But I tell you, you won't be sorry you did. Regardless if you're a weathered FF player or just starting out, it's a good game to invest in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 33 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.