Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn - Playstation 3
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 8, 2013
The PS3 version of the game -- the version I am reviewing -- is almost as good as the PC version but has some significant differences. First the PS3 version of the game graphically speaking is very much inferior to the PC version. I would compare the PS3 graphics to that of a low end PC. Secondly, in order to keep the frame rate somewhat stable the developers decided to cut frames of animation from NPCS, and other player characters while playing on PS3. This means that when you are running around in the world or in town and you run into other players or NPC's you will see them running looking quite strange. To put it bluntly it looks like everyone running around is Mr. Game & Watch. You get about 1/2 the frames of animation that you would normally get on the PC version and it makes the PS3 version feel a lot less smooth. Don't get me wrong however, your character still very fluid and fully animated. The developers made sure that YOUR character was fully animated and had the most graphical detail out of the entire displayable game world. The Frame rate is decent most of the time but when you get into large events with more than 5 people trying to kill monsters at the same time it does drop down below 30. If you are around more than about 8 people fighting at the same time it will only display the 4-5 closest to you at any given moment in order to keep your frame rate at least roughly above 20. The game is perfectly playable in any situation and these few differences between the two versions should only detour those players who feel they have to have the most graphically impressive and buttery smooth version of the game. If you have a PC that could only run this game on low and maybe even medium-low mix settings then the PS3 version is likely not going to be a bad alternative. If however your computer can handle the game at medium or medium high / high settings then you are better off getting it for PC.

The rest of the game is identical to every other review out there so go and read those for a description of the product itself. I just wanted to make note of these few differences between the PS3 and PC versions.
22 comments| 74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2013
I love FInal Fantasy 14: ARR. It's a traditional-feeling MMORPG with enough twists to make it unique, addicting, and just plain fun. But one thing holds it back -- the elitist community members.

After I hit level 50 and started learning the new dungeons/Primal fights, I found myself being paired with more and more people who were ruthless with their criticism. Not only would they say nasty things about a person struggling with their toon (i.e. character), they would then blacklist (i.e. ban) these people who didn't do well so that these folks would no longer have others to team with. I've been told this attitude is pervasive in all MMORPGs, but seriously, it's got to stop. It's a game. FF14: ARR's Duty Finder tool is supposed to be the answer to this problem but being paired with random people has yet to work for me and others I've come across, especially with the Hard Mode Primal Fights or Coil. I'd rather pay to play a single player game and have fun, than be subjected to text abuse while trying to learn a new fight/dungeon.

At this point I've cancelled my subscription and account to FF14: ARR, and don't plan on going back. I enjoyed my time in Eorzea and while I found a few people who were genuinely nice, my negative encounters coupled with an over reliance on other people to do end-game events, really ruined what had otherwise been a phenomenal experience.

Last thought: Try it out for the 30 Day Trial, but be sure to find a friendly Free Company (i.e. Guild) to do end game events with.

Toon: Justice Marshall, Lvl 50 DRG
Server: Malboro
1919 comments| 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2013
Can one of the crappiest MMORPG's turn it around and become one of the greatest?

---Story---

The story of FFXIV is initially told in the opening cutscene and is continued to be told as the player advances in missions, here's a breakdown of the story with the assistance of Wikipedia:

"Seeking control over the peaceful realm of Eorzea and its abundant crystal resources, the more advanced civilization of the Garlean Empire invades the realm from the north. In retaliation, despite their differences and anatgonisms, the city-states of Eorzea reinstate the Grand Companies--comprehensive centers of command which combine the cities' military and economic assets.

8th Imperial Legion Legatus Nael van Darnus, has his own agenda, insanely bent on purging all he sees as impurities, Nael orchestrated Project Meteor to summon the lesser moon Dalamud and wipe out all life. This forces the Grand Companies to put aside deep-rooted differences and consolidate their forces under the banner of the Eorzean Alliance. At the behest of this new confederation, adventurers from across the realm take up arms and march to the floating islands of Rivenroad to defeat Nael after he absorbed Dalamud's power.However, despite the mad imperial's death, Dalamud continues its descent to Eorzea.

In a final bid to save Eorzea, the Grand Companies turn to the Archon Louisoix, an enigmatic scholar hailing from the forgotten city-state of Sharlayan. Louisoix devises a plan to summon the power of the Twelve, Eorzea's pantheon of guardian deities, to banish Dalamud back to the heavens. But for this to succeed, the rite needs to be performed directly beneath the point of Dalamud's impact: A vast swathe of barren lowlands in central Eorzea known as the Carteneau Flats.

The battle ceases when Dalamud enters the atmosphere while revealed to be a prison created to contain the elder primal, Bahamut. Freed after aeons of imprisonment, Bahamut jump starts the Seventh Umbral Era while unleashing his wrath upon the realm.

Louisoix attempts the ritual to seal Bahamut in vain. Seeing his death certain in the Primal unleashing his ultimate attack, Louisoix summons the last of his strength to call upon the Twelves' power to send the survivors (including the player) into an ethereal rift, where they will be untouched by the passage of time, until it is once again safe for them to emerge and rebuild their ruined land."

---Gameplay---

The gameplay is like most, if not all, MMORPG titles, the player can form parties, join guilds, run dungeons and participate in PvP. Of course, there are various trades the player can perform such as weaving, alchemy, blacksmithing and more, these offer items that might be harder to obtain otherwise and can earn you a nice sum of Gil for rarer items (if sold to players, NPCs offer little to nothing).

The player can freely* switch what class they are, you are not tied to one type. The exception being when you first start, you'll have to reach level 10 and complete your class quests in order to switch, from there you can join a new guild and start working on that class (some skills earned from the previous classes carry over to your new class, but more on that later).

Once you've reached level 10, you can join Guildhests, which are essentially mini dungeons. If you are level 10 in a trade, you can take Guildhests to earn exp and Gil that will help you level faster in said class. Upon completing the required quests, dungeons can also be entered (the first is available at level 15).

---Graphics---

The graphics look pretty good considering how much of a hiccup the first version went trhough. Although since the game is also on the PC, and therefore made FOR the PC, the PS3 version does tend to suffer a few graphical errors, such as the rare bug of enemies not appearing properly on screen, or party members seemingly disappearing despite them being right in-front of you.

When using the chat feature, characters mouths will move with your text, so this is a minute detail, but one that I find pretty cool non-the-less. Facial expressions are well-done as well, so be sure to try them out when you get the chance to do so.

The game has had a nice over-haul since it originally released some years ago, the new graphics engine shows quite well on many characters and skill effects.

---Controls, Voice and Audio---

The controls on the console are a tad tough to learn at first, so I'll try to run them down as thoroughly as possible.

The Cross button is your selector, although since you likely won't have a cursor to use (although you can opt for that), you'll need to be looking at the person you want to talk with, although the game is pretty good at figuring out what you're trying to do.

The Triangle button is simply used for jumping, so there's no need to go into depth on that, it is what it is.

The Circle button allows you to deselect your current target and cancel out of various menus. Simple.

The Square button allows for quick access of the map, which will be very handy when doing quests as the location of various monsters, items, etc will be shown on there.

The d-pad is used to cycle through enemies and friendlies, it takes some getting used to in order to 'master' using it.

All of these buttons take on a different role when either of the R2 or L2 bumpers are held, this brings up your hotbar for skills, items, etc that you may have registered to those slots (they also your the d-pad, so in total you'll have 16 available slots, but you can also have more than one hotbar, so cycling through them gives even more options). Confusing? Undoubtedly, however the games tutorial runs you through the basics quite well.

As any Final Fantasy fan can hope to expect, the music is well performed, during standard battles, you may recognize the music (it's more reminiscent of the older games on the NES, SNES and such). When riding a Chocobo, as well as other mounts I would assume, you are treated the Chocobo music. Music in town and on the field are quite elegant and, to some degree, soothing and rhythmic.

Voice acting is scarce, the intro and small cutscenes are the only place they really occur at, but they are done well when they are done. The only other time you get to hear voices is from the various grunts that characters make, so don't expect much when it comes to voices.

---Other---

As I mentioned earlier, you are not restricted to one class and can switch once you've completed your current classes level 10 class quest (you usually get a quest at level 1, level 5, level 10 and so on). The classes you can choose from are many, from fighting classes (such as Gladiator, Pugilist, Arcanist and many more) to trades (such as Weaver, Alchemist, Blacksmith, etc). The latter are, as you may have guessed by the term 'trade' non-combat classes and are used to make armor, potions and other nick-naks that can be used by combat classes. When you start a new class, you revert to level 1 within your new class but retain the level in the previous class, so returning to your previous class will allow you to continue where you left off at.

The game has what are called 'Fates', if you've played Rift, they are like rifts, randomly generated missions where you and other players work to meet a goal, generally killing a certain number of enemies. The more you contribute, the larger your exp and Gil reward will be.

There are also unique chats called 'Linkshells', which can consist of up to 128 players that are not necessarily a guild or friends, but can use the chat feature to chat solely with each other and no one outside of the Shell can read your chat, it's basically a giant party chat.

Most of the negativity that has been generated was during the beta, people would complain that servers were constantly down or laggy, this has since been rectified and almost all of the game works as intended. If you see a review that says otherwise, look at the date, anything prior to Sept 13th is unreliable.

And yes, this is a subscription based game, but you get 30 days free.

---Overall---

This is a great MMORPG that has a lot to offer and much to do. With free expansions coming, this is a must have for fans of Final Fantasy or MMO's. I know I'll be cancelling my WoW sub so I can enjoy this great game.

9.0/10.0

Pros

+ An all-around great MMO
+ Great music score
+ Interesting class system
+ Guildhests are a fun way to level up quickly
+ Linkshells offer a great way to stay in touch with people you like, but not enough so that you want to add them as friends or join their guild

Cons

- Picking an enemy out of the crowd is sometimes unbearable
- Gold spammers are plentiful
- If you don't have a keyboard, typing is a hassle

***More reviews at lvgrb.blogspot***
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2014
To have the most fun from this game, you need friends to talk **** with while going through dungeons, boss battles and FATE's. This is my first MMORPG and I guess it makes sense sine FFVII was my firs JRPG. What will FFXXI be???

Anyway, having one free month, you will never be without content and things to do. There is so much game to be played that you may start to lose hours of your social life to this game so BEWARE!

Playing on the PS3 does make me slower than my PC counterparts but learning how to customize my hotbars and how to switch back and forth between different hotbars has helped me ALMOST keep up with them. There will be animation slow down and frame rate issues on the PS3 version when you will be engaged in a battle with as many as FORTY (many times MORE) different characters on screen (other players, npc's and enemies) at the same time. Loading times are much slower than PC so my friends do have to wait for me to pop up.

Other than that, this game is a drug. You WILL get addicted...and you WILL LOVE IT!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2014
Great Price! Almost $5 less than Best Buy and $20 less than GameStop!

The code in the box gives you a 30 day trial subscription but you'll need to pay for a monthly subscription after that. Square-Enix has great incentives to keep you subscribed. There are veteran subscription rewards for pay periods which become instant when you pay with subscription cards.

Right now there is also a recruit a friend bonus that will give you and your recruitee a circlet that boosts EXP 20%. Jump on it now if you want the bonus.

The game itself is super fun and addictive and the online community has been pleasant and welcoming so far. If you like games that require long term planning but have plenty of wiggle room for customization then you will Like FF14.

Overall FF14 is also very accessible for casual players when compared to other Massively Multiplayer Online Games (MMOs) but go into the PS3 version knowing that there is a learning curve with the HUD layout and button controls. Be patient and take your time discovering how it all works on the six axis controller.

Go for it and Have Fun :-)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2014
Great game, brings the nostalgia back from playing FFXI for 2-3 years of my life, I'm over that phase, but this game is beautiful and full of things to do, so if you got the time and are an introvert and like PC gaming, this game is for you, I've outlived my days in Vanadiel and Eorzea lol
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2016
While this game does give a lot of fan service, it's basically doing a lot of the same things over and over, day in and day out. Still, very graphically "pretty" and if you love Final Fantasy, then you will probably love this game, for a few months. It will get old and their cash shop (pay real money for game stuff) is shamelessly over expensive. Outfits that give you ZERO benefits when worn will cost you money, even as silly as $15 for an outfit with a haircut. If you miss an event, you will have to wait 1 year to buy the event rewards (which were free last year, but this year you will spend over $10 for things most got for free. Also the people in the game can be very toxic and the company that runs this has HORRIBLE customer service. When you call their not free phone number, you will wait from 50 minutes to 2 hours to get someone on the phone and when they are on the phone, you MUST be extremely nice to them or they will hang up on you. Even normal/neutral conversation will get them to give you attitude and if you return the attitude, they will hang up on you and you will have to make another, non-free, call to them, with another 1-2 hours of being on hold and you better be nice. Also, after all of that, you will learn that the company does not help with the majority of your concerns and they will not make any exceptions to any rules (there are known cases of customers having autism and letting them know and they still treat the customer like they are bothering the employees, it will not increase their helpfulness nor friendliness.) My honest advice is to just avoid this company completely. I've had to call them a few times over the years and only once was I helped and three times I was hung up on (twice for asking for a manager/supervisor and once for asking for help with something they didn't want to help with, the employee even went as far as telling me that I was lucky I was even allowed to play the game since employees cannot not so I should not complain (I was calling over their payment system locking me out for a month because I put the wrong last digit on the credit card, tried twice and that was enough for them to lock me out of the game for a month...they even said that the system is out of their hands and they can't override the payment lock-out...) Just avoid Square-Enix until they actually offer customer service that actually helps and doesn't treat customers like criminals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2014
this game is, unfortunately, a lot more fun than I was expecting. i bought it because it was on sale, and a friend really wanted to play together. i hate subscription games, but i caved, figuring it wasn't too bad a price. I LOVE IT. it's so much better than square's last final fantasy mmo. they just really need to move away from the monthly sub thing, that's worth more than one docked star for me. i don't want to spend x00 dollars a year on a game that gives me as much entertainment as any of the other final fantasy games.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2015
I had originally purchased this game through the playstation network, and took advantage of the upgrade campaign to transfer that license to the playstation 4 before that campaign ended last month (March 2015). That license transfer meant that I no longer had a playstation 3 license. Purchasing this hard copy of the game got me an activation code which could be used to re-add the license to my account, so I can now play on either the playstation 3 or 4. I have no intention of playing the PS3 version, and once the expansion comes out, that will be even less likely because the expansion needs to be purchased separately for each platform, but I bought this for two reasons; The first is that the PS4 is still relatively new, so it's hard to predict how reliable the hardware is going to be. If the ps4 fails, I could play on the ps3 until the ps4 is repaired or replaced. The second is that the license for this game came with an additional 30 day trial period, for roughly the cost of a month of basic service, so it's like getting another platform license free with a month of service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2014
Seems SE has fallen into the MMORPG rut that WoW, Rift, LOTRO and every other game that I have played recently looking for that new original wonderful game that will sweep me off my feet. So far, it seems I will never find another. Every game has copied so much of all of the other games out there today that you're basically playing the same game, different look. I was hoping that being pay to play that FFXIV would meet some of my expectations. Besides being a huge time sink, I'm really not impressed :(
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 14 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.