Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WORTH A FIRST OR SECOND LOOK! THANKS SCREAM FACTORY!!
This is regarding the Scream Factory release from July 2014, not the sorry excuse for releases that came out before. This is a nifty little film, that's part backwoods urban legend slasher and part wilderness survival. The beautiful redwood forest and assured direction provide a really tense, creepy atmosphere that is missing from most of the Friday the 13th knockoffs...
Published 5 months ago by Aaron Dean

versus
17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Crap Transfer
Let me just start by saying that I DO like the film(it is what it is)-but this DVD release is crap!Hmmm..let's see..It's basically worse picture quality than a rough VHS transfer,it has about 4 chapters,the audio volume changes throughout the movie and there are no extra features.

I viewed a DVD from a friend who purchased a copy of this film off...
Published on December 31, 2005 by R. Peck


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WORTH A FIRST OR SECOND LOOK! THANKS SCREAM FACTORY!!, July 10, 2014
By 
Aaron Dean (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Final Terror (Bluray/DVD Combo) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is regarding the Scream Factory release from July 2014, not the sorry excuse for releases that came out before. This is a nifty little film, that's part backwoods urban legend slasher and part wilderness survival. The beautiful redwood forest and assured direction provide a really tense, creepy atmosphere that is missing from most of the Friday the 13th knockoffs. This isn't sheer cinematic brilliance, by any means, but you could do worse on a Saturday night where you feel like getting spooked. The acting is also top notch by a cast of soon-to-be-veterans. I would have liked it to be about a half hour longer with 2 or 3 more deaths, but it's fine the way it is. Definitely worth a first or second look, as Scream Factory has worked wonders on a film where the original prints have vanished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, but is it digitally remastered?, May 30, 2006
By 
B. DeBoer "onebad84" (Barnegat, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Final Terror (DVD)
I remember seeing this movie in the late 80's when it was taped off of HBO. I've always been a fan of this film, because I think it has alot to offer, but if your talking in terms of DVD status, it dosen't rate so high. Im glad to see this was put out on DVD for others to check out, but its sad it got such bad treatment. The video quality is probably worse then the VHS version. It looks like to me they took the best copy on tape, and converted it to DVD. Its definitly not "remastered". It would have been nice to see it in its widescreen format with cleaned up audio and sound, but not so with this one. In fact, because this movie didnt exactly burn up the charts, you probably will never see a special edition or any other version then the one currently out because there just isnt enough interest in this film. The DVD also lacks any features, commentary, ect. Also no artwork insert either, but mine did come with $50 in coupons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ESSENTIAL FOR FANS OF 80'S LOW BUDGET HORROR MOVIES, November 20, 2006
This review is from: Final Terror (DVD)
As a kid I remember seeing this in about every video store in the horror section alonside other 'classics' like Slaughter High,Scarecrows,The original The Hills have eyes and of course, Don't Go In The Woods. If you are reading this review then you know what I am talking about and the old time video stores with that musty smell and and fun it was on the weekends to get some horror movies. To me, as long as it was set in the woods or had an old house/barn or even a scary field then that is all I needed to know to make my choice.

The Final Terror has all the elements of a good horror movie. I don't even mind if this formula has been done before. It has a group of campers going into a very dark forest with a crazed bus driver. They pass by a mental institution on the way that only gives it more of an edge with your mind wondering of the possiblities of someone maybe getting out of the asylum and into the woods. You have a campfire tale that talks of a crazy person roaming the woods that enforces the idea even more. Of course you have the character that gets a prank pulled on him and he stays in the woods all night howling like a wolf(you have to see this prank...a highlight of the film) that they later look for and that splits up the group for when the inevitable happens.....the leaders are the first to go leaving the others to fend for themselves.

Then you have some great moments of tension including many false scares where the music builds up only to have someone they know tap them on the shoulder or something. Some of the best moments are when two of the guys go into a shack in the woods where they find out their food/raft and equipment has been hidden at and that the bus driver is the one that lives there. They find some very disturbing things in there and take off running back into the woods!!! You also have the very scary bus scene that I won't give away.

Bottom line is even if this did not have future big name stars in it then this would still be what I would call an essential movie to watch for fans of movies like this. If you are a fan of newer movies with big budgets and special effects then this will most likely disappoint you. For others who want a movie that let's their mind wonder what could be next then this is for you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Crap Transfer, December 31, 2005
This review is from: Final Terror (DVD)
Let me just start by saying that I DO like the film(it is what it is)-but this DVD release is crap!Hmmm..let's see..It's basically worse picture quality than a rough VHS transfer,it has about 4 chapters,the audio volume changes throughout the movie and there are no extra features.

I viewed a DVD from a friend who purchased a copy of this film off ebay,unfortunately it was an obvious bootleg,however it is sad to say that the quality of THAT transfer was far superior to the commercial release...Hmmm,emkay.Makes no sense to me.

I guess my point is if you like the movie,buy the Amazon release,but if your expecting a quality DVD,don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING movie! But who the hell made this DVD?, March 25, 2008
By 
This review is from: Final Terror (DVD)
This is one of my all time favorite "killer in the woods movies, and it is really a lost gem. The main characters are played by Darryl Hannah, Rachel Ward, and Joe Pantoliano! I can't believe more people haven't seen this film. It ranks up there with The Burning as one of those great early 80s teen horror movies with a big cast of actors who later went on to make it big in mainstream hollywood. Another cool thing is that the plot is not one of the those formulated slasher films that is completely predictable. There are actually some original ideas here!
The only thing that I found inexcusable is the DVD transfer quality. It is awful, worse than a VHS!! The sound is bad, the picture is blurry at parts and dark, just poorly done! The original movie is not like that. I originally watched this movie on VHS made by Vestron Video about 20 years ago and the picture and sound are fine. Shame on these jerks who manufactured this cheap knock-off DVD. This film deserves a deluxe treatment!! If they put out a good edition a lot more people would probably buy it.
But all in all, I would still recommend this film. The DVD is still worth 10 bucks if you don't mind poor picture quality, or just buy one of the VHS copies still floating around. Somebody will eventually reissue this film if it sells.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The Final Terror" worth a look for cast alone, July 18, 2001
By 
C.H. (Beach Park, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Final Terror [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Young Daryl Hannah, Joe Pantoliano, Adrian Zmed, and Rachel Ward are campers in the woods of Northern California who turn survivalist when they realize that there's a killer in their midst. Nothing terrific, but worth a look, if only to see the latter-day stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The final Terror, October 25, 2008
By 
Terri "3kids-at-home" (Crescent City, California United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Final Terror (DVD)
This movie was made in our hometown in 1981 in our National Park called Stout Grove. I remember several local people that worked on this movie giving credit to the late Irene Sanders, who played a cook keeping watch on food supplies, and also including my brother Aaron, and a handful of my father's chickens were also in the movie. This movie stars Adrian Zmed, Daryl Hannah, John Friedrich, Ernest Harden Jr., Cindy Harrell, Joe Pantoliano, Lewis Smith and Rachel Ward. This was before they were household names. My brother made most of the props on the set, and got to know quite a few of the members playing in this movie. This film was filmed mostly in the dark, or at dusk, so some of the movie in my opinion is too dark to see. This was a very low budget movie and I believe that's why it's so dark. That way you don't have to pay so much when you can't see much! Anyway, I would say this has to be the poorest made film, although we get a kick out of it, since it was made in our area (Crescent City, California). The acting isn't that bad, but the lighting is what makes this movie so bad. This movie is not recommended for young viewers because of the killings (although there's not much blood to see, there's violence), and also there's a sex scene on the river bank during daylight hours. Good for a stormy day, worth a one time watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad..., July 23, 2001
This review is from: The Final Terror [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Making a review for this movie isn't so hard. In fact, the movie is so simple and goes right to what he's made, to scare people, and do very well. Teenagers goes to the woods camping and one by one are kill by an mysterious murder. Some scenes are well made, and thinking about you could be there in all that darkness, that's scare you. Of course this movie is just fun, don't waste the money, in case you want to buy, but it's worth it if you're looking to rent some horror movies. Again, it's very simple, and the final isn't all that twist some new horrors movies have, but it deserve respect, being different from other ones. Good acting are showed when people are in dangerous moments, you can note they aren't "artificials" like most of horror movies out there, they do exactly what is the most common to do in that moment, and this is all about the movie. The sound (almost doesn't have music) fit exactly in this type of movie and the landscape isn't beautiful, more claustrophobic. See it once and you won't be disapointed, see it twice and you start to get bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy addition to a slasher film collection., August 14, 2014
By 
Midiander (Cleveland, OH USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Final Terror (Bluray/DVD Combo) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Low body count 80's slasher that was almost lost to time due to original source materials being lost. I'mm shocked and very happy to see Scream Factory showing this almost forgotton minor gem some love and affection. The picture is not perfect ( I saw this one in the theater upon initial release) but I'm greatful to have this in my collection. Great cast and atmosphere. Worth a purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Final Terror, September 25, 2005
This review is from: The Final Terror [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a worthwhile movie to view, if only for the presence of soon to be famous actors. Joe Pantoliano, Rachel Ward, Daryl Hannah,and Mark Metcalf (Seinfeld's The Maestro) star in this sometimes brilliant slasher epic. While the gore is not plentiful, the mood is effective. If you love horror that plays on isolation watch this movie. Gore hounds might be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Final Terror (Bluray/DVD Combo) [Blu-ray]
The Final Terror (Bluray/DVD Combo) [Blu-ray] by Andrew Davis (Blu-ray - 2014)
$26.99 $18.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.