Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trick Daddy has returned to form, September 15, 2009
This review is from: Finally Famous: Born a Thug Still a Thug (Audio CD)
2009 seems to be the year that the veterans come back to try and reclaim the rap game. Mos Def, Meth & Red, Raekwon, JayZ, Eminem, 50 Cent, Goodie Mob and more have all returned to full time rapping and I must say they are much welcomed. Along with them Trick Daddy Dollars from Miami, a southern legend and pioneer, has also returned to let these young people and haters know who he is. Also commendable is that he is going the independent route...something I believe most established artists should attempt.

It's amazing how all of Trick Daddy's album names have incorporated the word "Thug". But that's exactly what Trick Daddy is. A respected OG on all levels. One would be a fool to doubt a legendary figure when they are still hungry for respect and still able to do what they love. We all know Trick Daddy loves the kids and here he is to teach the kids how this is done.

One of the things that makes Trick Daddy who he is is his ability to flip the switch from talking about the normal rap topics (best flexing, females etc.) to going in depth about life topics and they are just as good as his other songs. EVERYDAY STRUGGLE is a prime example of this where he starts the track " I know how it feels to wake up dead broke" which is more than enough to capture the listener as he takes you through the struggle that millions of people are going through everyday, hence the name. There's plenty of that reality rap to be found on FINALLY FAMOUS.

There's plenty of worthy tracks on this offering; EVERYDAY STRUGGLE, HOMIE SONG, B.A.N., THIS THE ISH I LIVE, DA REALIST, GANGSTA MUSIC, I CAN TELL, WHY THEY JOCK and more. He manages to get the legendary Betty Wright for a feature on That's How We Do It and shows that he respects women (despite the few strip club esque songs Florida rappers are notorious for) on STRONG WOMAN. TEARS OF A GROWN MAN is another great song from Trick Daddy where he takes the time to address some of the bigger issues in the world. This is something Trick does on every album but never gets old or sounds cliche' or tired.

There are some missteps though such as the endless amount of skits (5) that are only funny the first time, the unbelievably bad GHETTO SUPERSTAR and a few filler tracks here and there. The album is a tad bit too long but these days a skip button isn't too hard to find. If you got your copy from BB then you will get three bonus tracks YOU AINT A GOON, SMOKE SONG, and FANTASY ft. Trina. If these were included instead of the weaker tracks and skits Born A Thug Still A Thug would be album of the year material but that stuff weighs the album down.

All in all Trick Daddy has returned to the rap game and he hasn't missed a step. I advise you to definitely pick this album up you won't be disappointed at all. 4 stars.

P.S. I don't know why Amazon has that cover up there since that's not the one that's in stores. The one I have is way less tacky than that. They need to change that ASAP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO SICK, September 15, 2009
By 
This review is from: Finally Famous: Born a Thug Still a Thug (Audio CD)
THA MAYOR T DOUBLE IS BACK AT HIS OLD TRICKS. THIS ALBUM IS THAT OL' SKOOL TRICK THAT BROUGHT THA HOUSE DOWN! HES SO GOD DAMN HOOD! AND FINALLY HE REPS OUR CITY(305) IF YALL DONT KNOW, LIKE NONE OTHER! LOVE IT TRICK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TDouble On Top-Always Bringin That Thug Sh&^ Back!!, September 15, 2009
This review is from: Finally Famous: Born a Thug Still a Thug (Audio CD)
Trick is always spitting some REAL fire that he has lived & seen! This album is definitely off da chain. It's on FIRE! And for ALL of you Hatas (Officer Ric&&&) & (#Lies) lay around, or lay down & learn from the BEST, Now that we have some real music again that the 305 can relate to we're going to listen to the BEST! Trick good luck on all of your future endeavors....Now that we've heard this one..... i'm anxiously awaiting another one.... I can't take this one out of my c.d. player....OMG!! We love you Trick "Da Mayor of MIA"... Dunk Ryders Motto: Lay Down....I Gotcha!!!! LOL... 305 Ryde or Die!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tdd is back!, October 2, 2009
By 
T (miami florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Finally Famous: Born a Thug Still a Thug (Audio CD)
it good to have trick back i been waitin fo this album a while. n as always trick didnt dissapoint my fav tracks r tears of a grown man,the realist but all tracks r pretty good classic trick album. its good to have miamis king back im lookin forward to anything else trick has to put out in the future. also trick has many otha good albums to based on a true storey may b his best so if u havent heard it check it to. good album trick miami still loves u keep it up......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRICK DADDY CAME SO HARD, September 15, 2009
This review is from: Finally Famous: Born a Thug Still a Thug (Audio CD)
THIS ALBUM SHOWS ALOT OF THAT OLD SCHOOL RAPPER THAT HAS HAD SOME DOWN FALLS IN THE GAME THEN WHEN OTHERS HATE ON TRICK LIKE
BOSS RICK ROSS. It makes rappers stronger like trick daady this album IS so so raw and every cut is bangging. pick this album up
it's that old trick daddy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iller then all that wanna be miami muzik, November 8, 2009
This review is from: Finally Famous: Born a Thug Still a Thug (Audio CD)
illest trick cd!!!, he difined himself with this album as the number one miami representative!!. i guess when jay said "trick is next" he know something...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back with the old Trick, December 3, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finally Famous: Born a Thug Still a Thug (Audio CD)
Trick Daddy is back with that straight south sound we all love. This cd is strong all the way through, no need to skip any tracks. Go get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRICK DADDY DOLLARS RETURNS WITH FIRE!!!, September 20, 2009
This review is from: Finally Famous: Born a Thug Still a Thug (Audio CD)
[...]

THE CD IF TIGHT FROM BEGINING TO END. THE 1ST RELEASE FROM HIS OWN DUNK RYDER RECORDS IS CLEARLY TRICK'S MOST DIVERSE ALBUM TO DATE. PRODUCTION IS TIGHT AND THE LYRICS ARE FIRE. A DO NOT MISS FOR ANY TRICK DADDY FAN OR A RAP FAN FOR THAT MATTER.
GLAD TO SEE TRICK OFF SLIP N SLIDE AND ON HIS OWN!
BE ON THE LOOK OUT FOR HIS GRAPHIC NOVEL, BOOK (MAGIC CITY: TRIALS OF A NATIVE SON)& MOVIE (JUST ANOTHER DAY)OUT SOON. TRICK HAS DEFINITLY PROVEN HE IS ONE OF DA REALEST IN THE GAME AND HAS BEEN SINCE THE BEGINING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Finally Famous: Born a Thug Still a Thug
Finally Famous: Born a Thug Still a Thug by Trick Daddy (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.