Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.

Used - Acceptable | See details
Sold by hippo_books.
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.
 
   
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Finance (Barron's Business Review) [Paperback]

A.A. Groppelli , Eshan Nikbakht
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (16 customer reviews)


Available from these sellers.


Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback --  
Paperback, July 1, 2006 --  
There is a newer edition of this item:
Finance (Barron's Business Review Series) Finance (Barron's Business Review Series) 3.1 out of 5 stars (7)
$14.48
In Stock.

Book Description

July 1, 2006 0764134205 978-0764134203 5
Books in Barron's "Business Review Series" are intended mainly for classroom use. They make excellent supplements to main texts when included in college-level business courses. In adult education and business brush-up programs they can serve as main textbooks. All titles in this series include review questions with answers. This expanded, updated text explains plotting and understanding economic graphs, market equilibrium and the nature of the price system, macroeconomics, microeconomics, and the dynamics of international trade.


Editorial Reviews

From the Back Cover

(back cover)
Barron's Business Review Books make excellent supplements to college textbooks. They are also popular as main texts in adult education courses and business brush-up programs. You'll find key business terms defined, important concepts reviewed, and pertinent examples of business transactions summarized. Topics examined in Finance include business types and taxation methods, the value of money over time, capital budgeting, investing, financing, dividend policy, investment decisions based on financial derivatives, financial analysis, managing working capital, analyzing financial statements, using financial software, and much more.

Product Details

  • Series: Barron's Business Review
  • Paperback: 624 pages
  • Publisher: Barron's Educational Series; 5 edition (July 1, 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0764134205
  • ISBN-13: 978-0764134203
  • Product Dimensions: 1.3 x 6 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.8 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (16 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #449,039 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
(16)
3.8 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Praise for High Finance August 8, 2001
Format:Paperback
This book is superb. At first, I was a bit hesitant, because at first glance it appears technical and dense. But as I began to study it, I realized that fear and excessive eagerness to understand everything right away in an obstacle when approaching a book like this, and it was my fear and eagerness that caused my initial misgivings. In fact this book is great. It has no excessive verbiage that characterizes many textbooks today. It makes it clear that a theoretical model is just that--a very simplified view of a possible reality, and not a reflection of the real world. It also gives relevant problems and provides the answers immediately. I like the fact that the author introduce key terms for each chapter in the beginning. This sets your mind in the direction of the subject, and you know what to pay attention to when reading through the chapter.
In short, a beginner can use this book effectively to learn about finance, while someone more experienced can use this book as a valuable reference tool. I have invested in stocks for many years and studied international political economy at the graduate leve, but there is nothing like a direct, no-nonsense explanation of the basics and intermediate concepts. This book will give you just that.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for DANTES DSST Finance March 19, 2005
Format:Paperback
I used this book solely to study for the DSST Finance exam. Be forewarned if you are taking this test: it is VERY DIFFICULT. This book was sufficient for me to obtain an A grade of 61 (minimum passing score is 46). I would recommend the Barron's book, but you might want to supplement with other materials. All in all, this should be enough if you study hard and understand the concepts.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great MBA program, or CLEP prep September 17, 2003
Format:Paperback
Your Business Review series is excellent. While this series was not designed for CLEPs or any of the other standardized examinations universities use to test accomplished areas of knowledge, I have found the entire series crucial for just that. Particularly as I am entering an MBA program. These volumes were precisely what I needed, and I have been telling everyone with even slight interest in these topics about them. Specifically, I am referring to the following books of the series (by title): Accounting, Business Statistics, Economics, Finance, Management, and Marketing.
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great basic, intermediate and a bit more! November 1, 2001
Format:Paperback
I loved this book! Usually the fact that it's a text book would bore you already, however this book is both entertaining and educational! I'm an accountant but recently I've started exploring the investment banking world, and this book was definately my candel through the dark times! It's easy to read, yet rich in content! Actually, I loved this book so much that I bought all the Barron's business series books! If you want to study finance, or need a great comprehensive reference, then I recommend this book!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great! May 3, 2000
Format:Paperback
This book explains method of finance very clearly. For me, finance is out of my experties, but once I read this book, I was facinated! The authors intend for college students, but I dare to recomend it not only who are studying financial theory but also experts of the industry.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable January 6, 2009
By R. D.
Format:Paperback
Reasonable value for price. Decent overview of finance topics. However, lots of typos and other mistakes if you read closely and repetitive in some respects, which lessens the effectiveness of the presentation of material somewhat.
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as other Barron's books February 8, 2010
By J. Lee
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This book is fine, I use it and find it relatively helpful, though I'm not as enthusiastic as other reviewers. The reason I like this Barron series is that only pertinent information is given. This is in nice contrast to textbooks that often are quite verbose and make difficult subjects even more difficult. This book continues with this philosophy but in my mind perhaps goes overboard.

Here are the reasons I don't feel particularly excited about this product:

1. The problems at the end of each chapter are perhaps too simplistic to really be helpful in test preparation.

2. Some of the chapters are too vague. For instance the valuation chapter is quite short and gives very few examples about how to value bonds or equity.

3. There is not even one word of mention about how to use spreadsheets or financial calculators. It is actually a little annoying to me how often they refer to the FV and PV tables as if they were some kind of ultra-convenient high tech tool.

While this book is not terrible by any means, I feel it is outdated and not on par with other Barron's books I've used. I would hesitantly recommend it, because I think there is a lot of room for improvement.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars good information November 17, 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Great book! It provided me with the information that I was looking for and is an easy read. Not every book has all of the information that you may need, but it is definitely a good start.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars It is the updated old barrons book
Has some new chapters. A good reference book. A great buy as a used book. Covers all of the basics.
Published 14 months ago by Ray C
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book
Fast delivery of the item. NO issues. Book is great for those wanting to learn finance. Easy to understand with basic problems. Good business purchase
Published 21 months ago by jdimas
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent self-study and review guide
If you have undergraduate degree in Finance, this book helps you refresh and sink in financial theories and math at an introductory level. Read more
Published on May 22, 2012 by Towfik A. Elmi
3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful and confusing at the same time
Easy to understand when it comes to some topics and confusing on others. Only got this for class and ended up not much compare to what you can find on the web.
Published on January 10, 2012 by vm
1.0 out of 5 stars Barron`s Finance book rating
It is an interesting book for a beginner..It just needs to provide enough elaboration of the material and enough examples for that matter though!

Thank you
Published on October 14, 2005 by Mohammed Boucanna
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the right book for me!
I bought this book because I am a freshman in college and am very interested in finance. On the cover of the book it says a "great self teaching book," so I bought it. Read more
Published on June 9, 2005 by Jeremy Callaway
5.0 out of 5 stars Im Only 14!!!
Great book! I could actually stay focused, very interesting but has a whole lotta information. I decided to read this book because Im buying another on mergers and acquistition,... Read more
Published on March 26, 2003 by Leonard Parks
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty awful
Reading the other reviews on this book, I can't help but wonder whether we are talking about the same book. Read more
Published on February 2, 2002 by Dr. Eduard Van Kleef
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Forums

Topic From this Discussion
5 th Edition Be the first to reply
Have something you'd like to share about this product?
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions


Look for Similar Items by Category


Want to discover more products? You may find many from factoring finance shopping list.