Facility Spring Cleaning Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc The Jayhawks Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars28
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 17, 2011
Mishkin delivers a serviceable, but not great book. In his rush to leave his post at the Fed, you would think he would create a more engaging book, or at least include more flesh on the financial crisis. His analysis is fairly shallow and his structure seems more geared towards a freshman/high school level class than a full fledge book for college students. Several errors in the book, including on page 428 where he definitely uses incorrect numbers from the FDIC.

That being said, as some of the material was new to me, this book provides a great, accessible overview of many concepts and structures in the financial world. The readings are a breeze, and most of the examples used are easy to grasp and understand. I would highly recommend this book to anyone wanting an introduction to financial markets, but as a Economics and Business double major, I find it difficult to rate higher than 3 stars.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2014
I was taking an SEC and financial markets class and had no background in the markets at all. I had a required text but it wasn't user friendly and a little over the top with the technical information. I previewed a few books and decided on this one. It was great. It explained everything in terms I could understand (I'm an MBA student) and wasn't painful to read like the other book. Plus the US edition of this books retails for somewhere around $200. I was able to purchase the international edition for about $50-- well worth it.
33 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2013
This is a book about "Financial Institutions" and it does not discuss Private Equity firms! (as separated from Venture Capital firms). And it only discusses Venture Capital firms for a few pages. And as far as I can see, not a word about investment strategies: Levaraged Bouyots, Growth vs. Venture Capital, Mezzanine Capital, Distressed Investment.
In a book about financial institutions and their role on the financial markets, you would expect that a full chapter should be given to Investment Banking, a full chapter to Private Equity, a full chapter to Venture Capital firms, a full chapter to Angel Investing. Not in this book. Other than that, the book is written well.
Now I have to buy a book about more financial institutions.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2014
If you want to understand how the financial system here in the US and abroad runs, this is your book. VERY well written in logical order with great examples and makes hard concepts easy to understand. A really informative and good book that starts at the bare basics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2014
Book came in by expected delivery date and was in the condition that it stated it would be in. Great price too...saved me a bunch from having to buy my professor's select custom made book that was essentially just excerpts of this book slapped together with a 3x price tag. Yeah...university living is a scam but at least buying this book wasn't! The content itself is very informative and easy to understand for someone who isn't majoring in Finance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2013
This book was ordered for school. It came in very good and extremely quickly. I would certainly use this seller again.
(I am copying and pasting this comment section, because it applies to all of my school books ordered. :) )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2014
It is a great book, just that there are some questions which were not treated in the book and they want you to figure it out yourself. It is bad. We are not magicians.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2014
My daughter's boyfriend ordered this for college - he graduated this past may Cum Laude with Highest Honors, so I guess it's good! He already has a job!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2013
very user friendly, explains difficult concepts in everyday terms which are easy to understand. It is the best finance book that I have ever used.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2013
Arrived as expected and on time. Its a good book. Bought is as a supplementary book for a course but read more from here than the primary one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse