Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Online Research Guide for Beginners
This book deserves more than 5 stars for making the Internet fully accessible to anyone for a minimum of cost in time and money.
If you have enough skill to turn on your computer and get onto the Internet, this book will take you where you want to go in the fastest, least frustrating way. Within hours, you will be more efficient and effective than people who have...
Published on October 26, 2000 by Donald Mitchell

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Canadian Buyers Beware
While this book has got good intentions, it somehow fails to live up to the reviews that I have read of it. There are literally thousands of websites listed in the book, with a brief statement of what the website is about.
As a Canadian, I found this book lacking. If you are looking for American websites or information on American businesses or people, then this...
Published on January 22, 2003 by Jennifer Bowers of CharltonBow...


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Online Research Guide for Beginners, October 26, 2000
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This book deserves more than 5 stars for making the Internet fully accessible to anyone for a minimum of cost in time and money.
If you have enough skill to turn on your computer and get onto the Internet, this book will take you where you want to go in the fastest, least frustrating way. Within hours, you will be more efficient and effective than people who have done online research for years, but have not yet read this book.
Although Web addresses and sites will change, the best basic methods of how to do research online will shift much less often. You should be able to apply what you learn from this book for some time to come.
Some of the many helpful things you will learn include:
(1) which search engines work best for which kinds of questions
(2) how to get the fewest possible sites from a search with the greatest likelihood that they will be helpful to you
(3) which sources of information to go to directly without a search first
(4) how to assess the credibility of a source
(5) how to get things for free that most people pay for
(6) when to spend money to save time
(7) how to manage your e-mail to spend less time on it.
You will also benefit from three sample search models in chapter 12, one for finding a person, another for doing a business profile, and a third for problem solving. Most of your searches will involve one of these three search types.
An area you may not think about now is what people can learn about you while you do your research. The sections on privacy issues and how you can protect yourself are outstanding.
About a third of the book is devoted to indexes to make it easier for you to find government public records and the right Web site for your research needs.
Even though I have been doing online research for many years, I plan to keep this book next to my computer from now on. If you read many of my reviews, you will notice that that is something I rarely say about a book.
After you have finished learning how to do better and faster online research with this wonderful resource, I suggest that you step back and think about new questions that you should be asking now that you have improved access to good and timely information. For example, should you be doing more to check out investments? Or should you be learning more about becoming a better parent? Or spouse? Asking and answering those questions will probably be the biggest payoff you can get from this very helpful guide.
Be rich in knowledge and turn it into wisdom!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Reference Lacking CD-ROM or Online Version, November 15, 2004
This is the second of three basic guides by Facts on Demand press that I am very happy to have in my collection and to recommend to others.

Some really top-notch information brokers contributed to this book, and it is a superb reference, well-organized, that lacks a CD-ROM with clickable links or an Online Version to which access can be gained for a fee or from a password in the printed version.

This book is extremely well-developed to the point that it can meet the needs of a first-time researcher eager to become quickly familiar with the ins and outs of the Internet, as well as the more experienced professional that wants a handy reference work to suggest new sources and methods.

The other two books are Helen Burwell's Online Competitive Intelligence, 2nd Edition: Increase Your Profits Using Cyber-Intelligence--the one book to buy if you can only buy one of these three books--and Sankey & Weber's Public Records Online, 6th Edition: The Master Guide to Private & Goverment Online Sources of Public Records (Public Records Online) (buy only if you have do work in this area or want to protect yourself by monitoring your divorced spouse's assets, etc.)

See also:
The New Craft of Intelligence: Personal, Public, & Political--Citizen's Action Handbook for Fighting Terrorism, Genocide, Disease, Toxic Bombs, & Corruption
Information Operations: All Information, All Languages, All the Time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eureka! I can do it, March 13, 2000
By 
Mario L. (Grand Rapids, MI) - See all my reviews
When Mr. Schlein spoke at a recent seminar, he asked Internet novices to raise their hands. As one severely computer-challenged I did't put mine up, as I had yet achieve that level. However, as a journalist, I picked up the second edition "Find It Online," came home, and started trying to search sites as he described. Wonder of wonders, it worked. The book is written with clarity, in an understandable way and contains a wealth of information for the neophyte as well as for the expert. It is an invaluable tool and a great ego-booster as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide for research librarians, June 20, 2003
This review is from: Find it Online: The Complete Guide to Online Research, Third Edition (Paperback)
It used to be that a good reference librarian had only to keep up with the new books being published, and perhaps keep one eye on the newspapers and learned journals. Nowadays, one has to keep track of where best to find the answers to questions on the Web, as well. And it ain't easy! Massive printed volumes of Web addresses weren't much help even a decade ago because they were indiscriminate and seldom included annotations. What we needed -- and still need -- are a few collections of a (relatively) few carefully selected germane Web sites with the reasons given for their inclusion. And this discriminating and well thought out guide is the best one I've seen yet. It's intended mostly for the professional information broker or commercial researcher-for-hire, but librarians in any large public or academic library system do much the same sort of thing and will profit enormously by reading it. After an excellent introduction to the principles of online research, it's divided into topical sections: government resources, public records, news sites, business tools, and international (i.e., non-U.S.) research. Then there are several sections on managing and filtering what you find, how to evaluate its credibility and utility, and privacy concerns. Schlein spends considerable time on fee-based and "hidden" resources, too, not just the freebies on the public Web. Some of the sites he recommends I was already aware of, but there are many others I hadn't run across before. And I have been recommending his advice on search strategies and information massaging to my colleagues. There are a couple of annoying things about this otherwise superior book, however. One is the need for much, much tighter copyediting -- like saying "the software can be moderated" when they meant "modified," and the sometimes eccentric punctuation, and the tendency to break Web addresses in peculiar places (letting only the last character of ".html" fall to the next line gives you a quite different address). The other annoyance is a tendency by the author to laud (frequently) any book published by his editors, associates, or advisors -- so much so that it becomes embarrassing. But given the high quality of the book's actual content, I suppose I can live with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, August 23, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Find it Online: The Complete Guide to Online Research, Third Edition (Paperback)
I'm somewhere in the middle of average search-freak and power-user. When I scanned the first edition, I was amazed at the number of useful tips it offered. As I got more proficient at searching, I would refer back to the book, and start to pick up the little nuances it offered.
The Third Edition is just that more valuable and detailed than the First. I've given almost a dozen of them as gifts, all with the initial reaction of, "How nice -- a book..." Each and every recipient made a special point to thank me by the end of their first week browsing through it. You'll thank someone too, even if it's yourself for finding this great resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BETTER THAN GOOGLE or at least in addition to GOOGLE, March 9, 2005
By 
Alan Schlein is the guru of search and find online . An award winning journalist he knows how to navigate through cyberspace. He includes lots of pointers from industry experts and divides the chapters into easy to find sections ranging from a) search strategy to search tools to b) saving and downloading your results to scouring government documents and public records-- great for ancestry searches and wills and other legal documents to getting the latest in news resourcesonline. A fabulous addition for any business book shelf and it belongs on every researcher's desk. Plus his section on Privacy Protection and your identity is probably worth the price of the book alone. I know and have the honor of having met the author-- he's a sharp guy who continues to update this reference tool and really knows his stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide Worth Owning, April 16, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Find it Online: The Complete Guide to Online Research, Third Edition (Paperback)
If your first concern with this sort of guide is learning to use the Internet to find quality information, or gain competitive or market intelligence using free resources on the Net, then 'Find It Online' is an excellent guide worth owning.
The analysis of what types of information you should and should not expect to find on the Internet is truly insightful, as are the suggestions on verifying the accuracy and authority of the information you uncover while searching.
The list of resources offered at the end of each section seems to provide thorough coverage of the topic, without overwhelming you with too many URL's to evaluate.
Finally, the section on online privacy and protection will open a casual user's eyes to the threats that online activities may entail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book about web research, August 22, 2002
This review is from: Find it Online: The Complete Guide to Online Research, Third Edition (Paperback)
Alan Schlein has tackled the almost-impossible task of describing how to find information on the web, and how to find it efficiently. If you want to conduct *quality* research on the web, start here. This is a great resource that should be on every web researcher's desk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The all-purpose single resource and reference book, September 6, 2002
This review is from: Find it Online: The Complete Guide to Online Research, Third Edition (Paperback)
Collaboratively edited by Peter Weber and J. J. Newby, and now in a fully revised third edition, Find It Online: The Complete Guide To Online Research by journalist and online trainer Alan M. Schlein is the all-purpose single resource and reference book to looking up the latest and most useful information on anything, anywhere, using the resources of the Internet. Individual chapters address the basics of the Internet, framing one's search strategy, the best tools and search engines available, government resources, evaluating the credibility of information found on the net, and a great deal more. Find It Online is a very highly recommended addition to any personal, professional, school or community library Internet Information Resources reference collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easiest read reference for online resources, February 27, 2006
By 
foraminut (Michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Of the many books I have read and own on this subject, this one flows the best and is the easiest to read. That said, this book does not speak to the technical in terms the hows/whys of resources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Find it Online: The Complete Guide to Online Research, Third Edition
Find it Online: The Complete Guide to Online Research, Third Edition by Alan M. Schlein (Paperback - August 1, 2002)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.