Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Finder: Voice
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars9
5 star
89%
4 star
0%
3 star
11%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$16.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 15, 2011
If you have haven't read Finder before, this wouldn't be a terrible place to start. This is a fairly straightforward tale of seeking, loss, recovery and finding your voice, told in Carla Speed MacNeil's usual fascinatingly complex concepts and beautiful images. Do catch up on the other volumes though, now recently back in print, for more of the story of Rachel and her family.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2011
....but I can't wait to read the rest of her "Finder" series. The art is beautiful, the story is compelling, and the world is complex and interesting. I just reread it after about a year and was pleasantly surprised to find that it was as good, if not better, the second time around. This time I read it along with the authors notes in the back and they certainly added a new layer to the story (though I would advise just reading it without the notes the first time). It's a work of science fiction, it's a story of self-discovery, it is a commentary on human society, and it is a great story.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2011
You don't have to have read the other great Finder books to enjoy this excellent comic, but there's a ton of stuff in there for those who have. Carla Speed McNeil's storytelling is as sharp as ever, and the art is great too; expressive and affecting, simple where warranted, and rich and complex at times, too. I have trouble comparing her stories or artistic style to anyone else, but if I had to, I'd pick the Hernandez Brothers. Storytelling-wise, she might be a little closer to Beto's more magical, oblique stuff (although she's writing not-very-hard sf) but art-wise she's probably closer to Jaime's more conventionally polished work. The stories are all her own, though.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2011
You can think of Speed as the most underrated science fiction writer working today, or you can think of her as the Best Kept Secret... Her story is broad and deep at the same time, rich and nuanced and complete. In the decade or so she's been at it, her black and white illustrations have blossomed into something really special. Do yourself a favor and start at the beginning.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2015
I read this online, and then bought it, just to hopefully ensure the further writing/drawing of the Author. This is a stand-alone story, though it can be helpful to know something of the back story to the world. The Plot of essentially a quest, partly for a MacGuffin (in this case a ring), partly for a title, but mostly for internal things. Main character Rachel Grosvenor is trying to find her way to a title, which will open doors for her to help support her family. When she is mugged and her clan ring is stolen, she embarks on a quest to find her families friend, the Finder of the series title. She finds something else, indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2016
Finder is, without a doubt, one of the most amazing works of art ever put in comic form. Complex, beautiful, thought provoking, love (and lust) provoking, is very hard to do an impartial and objective review of it. Just read it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2013
Carla puts the /graphic/ in graphic novel, but she is
no slouch on the novel part either. If you ever pick up
a graphic novel, ever, it should be this one.

Someone should give her a movie opt!

^.^
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2011
This is my first exposure to the world of Finder, and it has already inspired me to seek out the rest of the series.

Even this brief glimpse of the world is both intriguing and detailed.

I want more.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2012
The product was good. The book was not as fascinating as I expected after reading such positive comments. It was my first book of this series, and I was not familiar with the story. Anyway this is something totally personal - anyone can argue differently. I have read better comics books with better graphics. That's all. Sometimes when you expect too much is the safest way to disappointment. Overall, good story, not extraordinary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$16.56

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.