Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far better than the story you thought you knew
More than two years after the rescue of the Chilean miners, I had thought that I knew everything I wanted to know about their plight. Then I read "Finding the Devil," William Langewiesche's panoramic spectacle of the extraction. His mastery of the technical details of mining--the construction of tunnels, the nature of drills, the climate underground--is extraordinary, as...
Published 16 months ago by Mr. Crow

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Since This Occured Not Long Ago
This is an interesting story of what happened with the trapped miners and how they were saved. But, one or two more chapters about the rescued miners TODAY would have been interesting. In other words, how are they and their families NOW coping.
Published 10 months ago by Chester F. Wilt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far better than the story you thought you knew, November 26, 2012
This review is from: Finding the Devil: Darkness, Light, and the Untold Story of the Chilean Mine Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
More than two years after the rescue of the Chilean miners, I had thought that I knew everything I wanted to know about their plight. Then I read "Finding the Devil," William Langewiesche's panoramic spectacle of the extraction. His mastery of the technical details of mining--the construction of tunnels, the nature of drills, the climate underground--is extraordinary, as is his ability to communicate this knowledge to the common reader. His portraits of the miners and their rescuers are incisive, as is his portrayal of the political circus that sprang up around the crisis from the beginning. Unexpectedly, Finding the Devil is tinged with comedy throughout. Not long after the drill bit explodes through the ceiling of the refuge, leading to joyous contact with the world above, several of the miners' families smuggle marijuana back down the shaft to their men. Langewiesche's epic will survive as the authoritative account of this not quite unalloyed tale of survival.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing and Heroic, December 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding the Devil: Darkness, Light, and the Untold Story of the Chilean Mine Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Though I followed the story of the Chilean miners as the disaster unfolded, I had no idea of the rich tale behind the headlines. Langewiesche, an absolute master storyteller and reporter, delivers a gripping account of the miners' plight almost a mile underground as well as the opportunistic circus that sprang up on the fringes of the rescue effort. A wonderful story of survival, courage, and human nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Story, Expertly Told, December 12, 2012
This review is from: Finding the Devil: Darkness, Light, and the Untold Story of the Chilean Mine Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Another gripping and detail-rich story by the best reporter working today. Nobody is able to combine the technical and human sides of the story like the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Oh yeah...What happened?, April 12, 2014
By 
Josh (Seattle, WA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding the Devil: Darkness, Light, and the Untold Story of the Chilean Mine Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
One of those stories that you remember from a few years back....I remember just thinking "those poor guys are dead...." but as already there is more to the story than that, and the author does a great job of telling the whole story with perspective and hindsight. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good look down the Shaft, February 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding the Devil: Darkness, Light, and the Untold Story of the Chilean Mine Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Like the rest of the world, I was mesmerized to the tale of the Chilean Miners and I cried as I watched their rescue on television. This is an interesting look at details that escaped the TV monitors. I did however, wish for more. I didn't feel that I had learned a great deal more and I would have liked to "meet" more of the miners personally on the page. Worth the read, but somewhat disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well written, compelling, informative, September 4, 2013
By 
E. Everhart (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding the Devil: Darkness, Light, and the Untold Story of the Chilean Mine Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This short balances the telling of a technical history of the engineering feat(s) involved in the rescue of the 33, telling the human story of the men and their families, and illuminating a small bit of the internal politics that inevitably swirl around such incidents (and balances it well). It is a quick and compelling read that was well worth the time and price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Since This Occured Not Long Ago, May 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding the Devil: Darkness, Light, and the Untold Story of the Chilean Mine Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This is an interesting story of what happened with the trapped miners and how they were saved. But, one or two more chapters about the rescued miners TODAY would have been interesting. In other words, how are they and their families NOW coping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding the Devil: Darkness, Light, and the Untold Story of the Chilean Mine Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I found this story quite interesting. I am not really sure how the title fitted the story really, but it was an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Finding the Devil by William Langewiesch, January 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding the Devil: Darkness, Light, and the Untold Story of the Chilean Mine Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
A well written book about a story that the news on tv and newspaper kept us informed of for the duration. Mixed emotions for me seeing people from a different country deal with disasiter.This book took a public story and gave us a personal look,and let us know the stories of each person had far reaching details, of how an industry that would never tell the truth about the way it got away with putting people's lives in danger.. Another good book from Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very well done!, January 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding the Devil: Darkness, Light, and the Untold Story of the Chilean Mine Disaster (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent story of the Chilean mine disaster, well-written with understandable explanations of all the technical parts. It begins with an overview of the mining conditions in Chile, then goes on to the story of how the mine collapsed and what the miners did to survive. The author was in the camp which sprung up around the collapsed mine and tells of the conditions there as the relatives of the miners waited for news. He tells how the rescue was completed, and how many politicians used the rescue for their own publicity. It is a gripping tale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa1abdd14)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.