Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Finding Faith: A Self-Discovery Guide for Your Spiritual Quest Paperback – July 1, 2000


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$9.97 $0.01

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Zondervan (July 1, 2000)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0310238382
  • ISBN-13: 978-0310238386
  • Product Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.5 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 10.7 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (22 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #268,616 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

We are surrounded by evidence of a rising tide in spirituality. We see it in books such as Douglas Coupland’s Life After God; in lyrics from songwriters like Jewel Kilcher, Bob Dylan, and Alanis Morissette; in radio talk shows like those of Larry King and Dr. Laura; in TV shows such as The X Files and Touched by an Angel. The search for a living faith and a spiritually oriented life is alive and well at the dawn of the new millennium.

Perhaps you and your friends are asking important questions like these: Is there a God? If so, what might God be like? What is the relationship between faith and certainty? Can intelligent people believe in spiritual realities without compromising intellectual and moral integrity? Why are there so many religions, and how does one sort through the maze of conflicting dogma to discover a faith that is authentic, honest, enriching, and challenging? Is it possible to experience a relationship with God—and if so, how?

Finding Faith calls you to neither a blind leap in the dark, nor to a cold rationalism that denies your deepest intuitions and spiritual longings. Rather, in the tradition of C. S. Lewis’s Mere Christianity and M. Scott Peck’s The Road Less Traveled, it summons you to reflection and honesty. With logic, passion, and an evenhandedness that the thinking person will appreciate, this book helps you face your obstacles to faith by focusing not on what to believe, but on how to believe.

Whether you want to strengthen the faith you have, renew the faith you lost, or discover faith for the first time, Finding Faith can coach, inspire, encourage, and guide you. And it can help you discover, through a dynamic, authentic, and growing faith, more in life than you’d ever imagined or hoped for -- Publisher --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From the Publisher

C. S. Lewis' thoughtful, witty, and unpretentious approach in Mere Christianity was unique in its appeal to secular readers. Finding Faith continues the tradition of speaking to a generation of non-Christians in their own world and language. Using contemporary, fade-resistant language and illustrations, Brian McLaren helps today's baby boomers and busters discover not only what to believe or why to believe, but also how to believe. Finding Faith deals realistically with the questions and choices that confront seekers in our postmodern, pluralistic culture. This is a book Christians can give the skeptics in their lives, confident that it will meet the questions they are asking with intelligent, reasonable, and meaningful answers. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

More About the Author

Brian D. McLaren is an author, speaker, pastor, and networker among innovative Christian leaders, thinkers, and activists. His groundbreaking books include A New Kind of Christian, A Generous Orthodoxy, The Secret Message of Jesus, and Everything Must Change. Named by Time magazine as one of America's top twenty-five evangelicals, McLaren has appeared on Nightline and Larry King Live, and has been covered by The Washington Post and the New York Times.

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1
See all 22 customer reviews
It would have made certain things a lot easier!
Darren Hewer
And McLaren is brutally honest about the fact that when most non-Christians look at what Christians are like, what they see tends to repulse them.
Michael P. Clawson
The two books complement each other very well and I recommend both highly.
Gary Jones

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

90 of 90 people found the following review helpful By Michael P. Clawson on November 11, 2002
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
As a rather progressive postmodern recovering-Evangelical I found this book to be a breath of fresh-air. While this book does fall into the category of apologetics, it is most certainly not an "Evidence That Demands a Verdict" or "Many Infallible Proofs for Christianity" style book. It's entire approach is radically different and immensely relevant to today's postmodern culture. Rather than focusing merely on cognitive arguments that are supposed to rationally convince people of the "absolute" truth of Christian beliefs, "Finding Faith" takes an existential approach that deals with the real life hang ups that postmodern individuals will have about Christianity. In other words, McLaren recognizes that postmoderns don't care so much whether Christianity is true as whether it is good.
Of course, postmoderns aren't entirely unconcerned about truth. They're not going to buy into something that is just obviously false. But what is much more important to them is whether our beliefs are livable, workable, and worthwhile. They want to know not "Is Christianity true?" but rather, "Will buying into the Christian faith make me into a better person?" And McLaren is brutally honest about the fact that when most non-Christians look at what Christians are like, what they see tends to repulse them. Too often we Christians present our worst face to the world: our bigotry, our arrogance, our legalism, our lack of cultural and social sensitivity, our tacky art, kitsch merchandise, and bad music, our lack of philosophical depth or intellectual nuance, our sexual or financial scandals, our abortion clinic bombers, our homophobic preachers, our aggressive culture wars and paranoid right-wing conservativism, and worst of all, our lack of visible unity and our inability to even love one another as Christ commanded.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
35 of 36 people found the following review helpful By Ed Chinn on May 13, 1999
Format: Hardcover
I highly recommend this book. But, I warn you -- it'll torque the hell out of traditionalists.
Author Brian McLaren also wrote last year's "Reinventing Your Church" which was the best Christian book I've read since the early 80s.
"Finding Faith" is a very clear, intellectually honest, and non-manipulative book on how to approach the whole subject of faith. It respects serious thought, postmodernism, and doubt. Not once does he resort to traditional arguments, evangelical tricks, or dogma.
It is a very honest and probing book.
For the first few chapters, he really got under my skin (exposing my own traditionalism!). But,I stuck with it. By the time I got to Chapter 13 (a wonderful look at the Bible), I was a convert.
McLaren clearly knows what he's doing here. He has taken a bold leap to present Christ in the open market of ideas. He doesn't assume any kind of Christian consensus and he doesn't try to defend God.
The book is a refreshing, contemporary look at the Kingdom of God.
If you want something to give to non-Christian friends, this is the book. It is very respectful of non-believers; it gives them lots of room.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful By Gary Jones on May 28, 2003
Format: Paperback
Finding Faith is rare in that it takes seriously the issues that modern people have with christianity and presents a point of view that isn't tone deaf. McLaren has feeling and sensitivity to issues that educated 21st century people find troubling.
These include doubt, sexism and hypocrisy in the church, abhorrent church culture, postmodernism, atheism, intellectual certainty, are handled respectfully and seriously, without the author descending to smug polemic. McClaren actually allows people to disagree with him and form their own opinions. And he's quite open that the christian church sometimes seems very embarassing.
Ironically, insiders may find this book even more helpful than it's intended audience. His chapters on the personality types of churches, stages of faith and how God might be experienced should be must reading for those who already believe. McLaren is honest about his own struggles in his journey. These chapters alone could give hope to many older christians if only the church at large was aware that there's more depth to the journey with God than conservative christianity usually presents.
Finding Faith is not as highbrow intellectual as some might wish, but that's not it's intention, and will reach a wider audience. It's a good starting point to lead into more heavy-duty works. My only reservation is that Finding Faith occasionally uses christian jargon like "grace" without explanation, and that it's style is sometimes more wordy than needful. But I'm being picky: Until someone writes the perfect "Might belief in God make sense?" book, this is as good as it gets.
I'd also recommend "Why Believe?: Reason and Mystery As Pointers to God" by C. Stephen Evans. It's a little more intellectual, but still very readable and user friendly.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful By Darren Hewer on November 23, 2003
Format: Paperback
I certainly wish this was the first book I read when I began my spiritual quest (which eventually led me to become Christian). It would have made certain things a lot easier! To someone who is interested in "finding faith" but has no real experience with anything spiritual (the position I was in), I recommend this book. It covers a lot of issues that "beginners" are going to want to explore, and it does so in an open, patient and caring manner.
I would also like to respond to the review "SELF-motivated SPIRITUALITY". The reviewer complains that McLaren says: <They want to know not "Is Christianity true?" but rather, "Will buying into the Christian faith make me into a better person?"> While this is clearly not the proper motivation for seeking God, it is often true that people begin their search for God for these reasons! Mr McLaren is not saying that this is the proper motivation; he points out only that it is common and must therefore be acknowledged. While I now know that this sort of initial selfishness is not right, it can very well lead a person to come to faith ... as it did for me!
In sum, I recommend this book wholeheartedly for all readers: atheists, agnostics, seekers and committed Christians. One of the few books I've read that deserves 5 stars!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?