Customer Reviews


141 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable
I really enjoyed this story and plot line. The only thing that tended to be distracting to me was the grammatical errors and other typos. Even though it was revised, rewritten and professionally edited, it needed an editor that pays attention to grammar. It wasn't bad in the beginning but I started noticing it more towards the end.
Published 23 months ago by Tamara J. Walters

versus
26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Really needs an editor
This book really had possibilities, but the grammar mistakes and sudden shifts in point of view made it difficult to really enjoy. It is written in a jerky manner, with short and sometimes incomplete sentences. A good editor could really improve the overall tone of the book. The author needs to learn how to pick a point of view and stick with it. I lost count of the...
Published on December 30, 2012 by *Meya...Kindle Pro*


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Really needs an editor, December 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding Her Way (Wildflowers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book really had possibilities, but the grammar mistakes and sudden shifts in point of view made it difficult to really enjoy. It is written in a jerky manner, with short and sometimes incomplete sentences. A good editor could really improve the overall tone of the book. The author needs to learn how to pick a point of view and stick with it. I lost count of the number of times the story was being told from Corrine's mind, and suddenly a third person POV was being used. I sort of expected another character to be introduced who was actually the one narrating the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, January 2, 2013
This review is from: Finding Her Way (Wildflowers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The storyline was interesting, and the author had obviously done her research. I kept hoping she would explain Andrew's motivation for his resentment of his new wife. It was even more disconcerting when you met his parents. However, the lack of editing was a terrible distraction. Run on and incomplete sentences, switches in tense and point of view made it almost painful to read. I would have liked to have given it more stars, but feel it could have been so much better with good editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Story is good, but the grammar is horrible., February 23, 2013
The description says it is a re-release and has been professionally edited. However, nearly every sentence makes me cringe when the tenses don't agree. The author also jumps back and forth, randomly, between telling the story and having the main character tell the story - usually mid paragraph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Was the proofreader out to lunch?, December 14, 2013
By 
CALI L BONFOEY (SAN MARCOS, TX, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding Her Way (Wildflowers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I could not get past the poor grammar and bad spelling mistakes. I am surprised it got beyond the editor...? The author started with a good premise but could not deliver in her writing. I trudged through half the book before giving up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where was the editor??, December 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding Her Way (Wildflowers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The story line was good and the characters well developed, but it needs serious editing. The sentence structure is very poor, and there are many grammatical and spelling errors throughout. This could have been a 5 star book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, March 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding Her Way (Wildflowers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I finally gave up around half way through. This book was so boring and the writing so stilted, that I just couldn't read any further. On top of the slow pace, the POV jumps from character to character and sometimes moves from 3rd person to first. I would not recommend this book, even if it were free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good story line, poor editing, December 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding Her Way (Wildflowers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The story line of this book was very interesting. I find, however, that I am totally distracted when the verb tense changes from past to present--oftentimes in the same sentence! The editing in the book was simply atrocious. For example:
"Lucas Grant smiled at her while also half-heartedly looked away." (Perhaps looking instead)
"His letter said he wanted to meet her in Oregon but would the disappointment still linger between us?" (Them, not us, would be the proper word).
These are just two minor examples of the editing in the book. Surely an author who takes the time to write an excellent story (this was a very good book) should take the time to ensure that it is properly edited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea, January 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding Her Way (Wildflowers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Immature twaddle, poor grammar. Could have been written by or for 12year olds. I could not get past first few chapters so maybe it improved?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Even the preview is riddled with errors, March 11, 2014
By 
Lexica510 "Lexica" (Oakland, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Finding Her Way (Wildflowers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
It's not a good sign when the book preview is full of errors, especially when it's claimed to have been professionally edited. This one has an assortment [note, text in parentheses is quoted from the preview; I haven't added quotation marks to avoid confusion, since one of my criticisms is the author's incorrect use of quotation marks]:

- incorrect verb tense in the very first sentence (Today she married a stranger.) should be (Today she had married a stranger.) given that this section takes place after the ceremony, not before.

- comma splices (Her inner fire was snuffed out when he stood near, she was not sure if her immature wit could stand up against his ill-tempered condescension.)

- failure of parallelism in sentence construction (The walls gilded in pinks and golds, great drops of crystal cascaded from the chandeliers, the grand staircase wrapped elegantly around the back and majestically descended into the great hall.)

-sentence fragments (The fireplaces designed by a famous stonemason, the iron grates, and tools imported from the best artists and craftsmen from around the world.)

- incorrect use of single and double quote marks, as well as things in quotes that should not be because they're not direct quotations (Corinne stood up to her Aunt and made her realize that this was not a 'social event' but a simple ceremony. Corinne boldly told her it did not concern her. 'Their train would be leaving at two in the aftemoon. There was no time for wedding nonsense.') Another example: ("Miss Fahey," Corinne spotted her companion. Despite their cultural and social differences they were the dearest of friends but kept it behind closed doors for the sake of 'house rules' and the taboos of polite society.)

- problems with verbs (His height reaching well over six foot and it made her feel tiny.)

- first-person/third-person narration glitches (They double-checked the packing, when suddenly a small vial of peppermint was dropped and broke, by a servant who would remain nameless, for his protection from my Aunt.)

…and at that point I closed the preview, having decided not to download the book, even for free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor grammar meets unprepared society girl, March 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding Her Way (Wildflowers Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is an educated, albeit unprepared, young woman. I cannot understand why the author would shift from elegant language to something a hillbilly would say in the same chapter. I thought several times that it was another character speaking. And I sincerely think her riding clothes would not fit without her corset and the weight of skirt and petticoats would pinch her waist unbearably - you try it and see how it feels. Anyone who would embark on such a journey without preparing mentally and physically would certainly perish - or at the least be saddle sore or blistered. Would have liked to know why her husband acted the way he did, a little insight would not have left us wondering about his sexual orientation. Glossing over the mountain part of the journey was the easy way out - when compared to the detail of the first part of the journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Finding Her Way (Wildflowers Book 1)
$0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.