Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting Historical Read!
Even non-Native Texicans will be hooked by Mike Engleman's "Finding Home", his first in a series of six books detailing life on the South Texas frontier when Tejas was a Mexican state. This introduction to Lawes Raiders is indeed an epic saga, and I can't wait to read the next! Move over, "Lonesome Dove" - you've got competition.
Published 21 months ago by Sparkle43

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fiction, Historical Fiction, Western
This is the tale of Daryl Aaron Lawes, a semi-literate who was born to a Tennessee sharecropper and his friend "Barrel" Dewayne Johnson Lotto. They managed to work their way through Tennessee and New Orleans before becoming Rangers on the South Texas frontier. The story is based on Lawes' manuscript written in the late 1800's. The misspelled words and grammar mistakes...
Published 15 months ago by Jill Bemis


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting Historical Read!, December 13, 2012
This review is from: Finding Home (Lawes' Raiders, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Even non-Native Texicans will be hooked by Mike Engleman's "Finding Home", his first in a series of six books detailing life on the South Texas frontier when Tejas was a Mexican state. This introduction to Lawes Raiders is indeed an epic saga, and I can't wait to read the next! Move over, "Lonesome Dove" - you've got competition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Texican descendant's virtual tour, December 10, 2012
This review is from: Finding Home (Lawes' Raiders, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
As a native south-Texan, familiar with south Texas history and a descendant of an influential early Texican family, I started reading Mike Engleman's "Finding Home" history novel with much anticipation. I was not disappointed. The historical and geographic references brought it home, even in its pre-development setting. And its vivid descriptions of frontier life, dangers, and violence of the times not long after the Civil War gave this old "Valley Rat" (Rio Grande Valley resident) a good feel for what my predecessors must have experienced in those days. The D.A. Lawes recollections of his experiences is a great way for me to be there, too. Thanks, Mike. Keep 'em coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Texas Pride, December 12, 2012
By 
DG "DG" (THOUSAND OAKS, CA, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Finding Home (Lawes' Raiders, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I found the story of Daryl and Barrel very interesting.....even with Daryl's horrific grammar. As a native Texan I particularly enjoyed the historic value of this book. Looking forward to Book Two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History comes to life!, December 10, 2012
This review is from: Finding Home (Lawes' Raiders, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was an excellent tale about a man who lived the hard life during Texas' formative years. The characters were well developed and believable, and the story was a good read! I look forward to the MOVIE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!, December 10, 2012
This review is from: Finding Home (Lawes' Raiders, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a powerful, amazing story. It goes to show with perseverance anything can be accomplished. I found this book to be very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Engleman Classic, December 10, 2012
By 
ken Luce (Dallas, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Finding Home (Lawes' Raiders, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Mike Engleman once again pulls the reader in from page 1 and never lets up. His grasp of Texana, Texas History and fascinating charters makes his latest a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Editorial writer has expanded his horizons, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding Home (Lawes' Raiders, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have been an admirer of Mike Engleman's talents for years since he was an editorial writer for the Dallas Morning News in the 1960's. So glad to see that he has expanded his horizons and become the inevitable novelist with aspirations that have taken him to another level! Hear, hear, Mr. Engleman! Onward and upward with your interests in Texas history!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply, A Must!, December 11, 2012
This review is from: Finding Home (Lawes' Raiders, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Finding Home is a fascinating wild west chronicle that follows events in the lives of two young men, Daryl Aaron Lawes and Dewayne Johnston Lotto, from a Tennessee farm, through New Orleans and on to Texas to join the Texas Rangers in the rough and lawless 1800's.
Mr. Engleman weaves his exceptional writing skills and love of South Texas' history in a captivating and fast-moving tale of Texas Rangers battling lawless sheriffs, feuding families, and Mexican cattle rustlers. The reader will be enchanted by the story's heros and yet shocked by violence of the times-while being provided a life-sized vision of hardscrabble Ranger life.
An epic of a fascinating era!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Horse Lover, December 11, 2012
This review is from: Finding Home (Lawes' Raiders, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
As a horsewoman, I am enchanted by the relationship between Daryl Lawes and his "pony, little Fire." Mr. Engleman has captured the feelings of a horse lover and, I assume, of the love shared by Daryl Lawes' Brother Rangers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the Characters !, December 10, 2012
This review is from: Finding Home (Lawes' Raiders, Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I think Mike Engleman has done an excellent job of introducing his readers to Daryl and Barrel and to the times in which they lived. These were simple
people who were not afraid of hard work as long as they were pursuing a dream. I loved the dialogue and felt a real personal connection to the characters. Mike's story is well written and I think he did an excellent job of making history fun and interesting. I would love to see the book continue on into a series or be made into a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Finding Home (Lawes' Raiders, Book 1)
$6.11
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.