Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars German Boundaries a Puzzle...this is the book
If you don't understand how the boundaries in Germany changed this will give you a brief history so that you understand the "Historic Germany". This book is not a comprehensive source for researchers...but an added book that fills in an definite need for anyone wishing to locate family history. You will learn how to research Germanic records and little problems to look...
Published on October 26, 2011 by C. Miller

versus
40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very limited benefit
It IS inexpensive, so that's a good thing. However, the book was about 50% history from the Roman Empire to the formation of the German state. None of this historical information would be of use to a beginner since it does self-identify as a "beginners guide". One thing that would be of obvious benefit would be for the book to include comprehensive examples of common...
Published on January 24, 2008 by B. Trusinsky


Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very limited benefit, January 24, 2008
This review is from: Finding Your German Ancestors: A Beginner's Guide (Finding Your Ancestors) (Paperback)
It IS inexpensive, so that's a good thing. However, the book was about 50% history from the Roman Empire to the formation of the German state. None of this historical information would be of use to a beginner since it does self-identify as a "beginners guide". One thing that would be of obvious benefit would be for the book to include comprehensive examples of common german language documents such as birth, death, baptismal, etc, records. Nope. No such things. As someone who is doing family research with German documents, there are about 10 documents that are similar and are used over and over again throughout the German world. How about a translation of said documents?? How about explaining why, in some instances, the maiden name is omitted for the mother in birth documents? The book does have a bunch of contact information that anyone could amass in an afternoon on the internet. However, it was written in 1999, so who knows how valid the information is at this point. If I had to choose again, I'd go to the library and read it in about an hour. After that, I would photocopy the pages with contact information for a dollar and then be done with it. Don't buy it, but if you do, understand what you are getting and know that it isn't a reference book in any meaningful way. It really made me think that I could write a much better guide over the summer that would truly be useful for the beginner. Hmmmm...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars German Boundaries a Puzzle...this is the book, October 26, 2011
By 
C. Miller "millersequine" (Aiken, SC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding Your German Ancestors: A Beginner's Guide (Finding Your Ancestors) (Paperback)
If you don't understand how the boundaries in Germany changed this will give you a brief history so that you understand the "Historic Germany". This book is not a comprehensive source for researchers...but an added book that fills in an definite need for anyone wishing to locate family history. You will learn how to research Germanic records and little problems to look for. There is no ONE complete guide out there, but in order to do the research one has to understand the boundaries and also how Poland, Russia and Ukraine speaking people will be in the mix of Germanic genealogy....A quick read with addresses for Archival Records that for the price is a true plus to the researcher of Germanic Genealogy....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a small quick book easy to use., May 14, 2007
By 
D. B. Wolfe (Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Finding Your German Ancestors: A Beginner's Guide (Finding Your Ancestors) (Paperback)
I am just beginning to trace my ancestors to the French-German border area. I found the background history in this book to be helpful in giving me insight into why my ancestors may have left their homes to come to America. The contacts and sources suggested later in the book likewise provide me a good starting point for dealing with foreign leads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gave as door prize, March 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding Your German Ancestors: A Beginner's Guide (Finding Your Ancestors) (Paperback)
it worked fine as a door prize for an event; if used books are in decent condition, many people still like to hold books in their hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars German Genealogy, October 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding Your German Ancestors: A Beginner's Guide (Finding Your Ancestors) (Paperback)
This book was a great find for helping with the discovery of my German ancestry! It is very easy to understand and I have gone back to it numerous times in my research. Anyone tracing their lineage in Germany is encouraged to get a copy of this handy book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book came as promised and in good shape. Really started reading it last night and ..., September 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding Your German Ancestors: A Beginner's Guide (Finding Your Ancestors) (Paperback)
book came as promised and in good shape. Really started reading it last night and I think it will be helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners, January 17, 2009
By 
Sherbet (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding Your German Ancestors: A Beginner's Guide (Finding Your Ancestors) (Paperback)
This book truly lives up to its name. It is full of useful information and and addresses. It also shows samples of some of the records you may come across in your search.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Discover YOUR German heritage!, March 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding Your German Ancestors: A Beginner's Guide (Finding Your Ancestors) (Paperback)
Fantastic wonderfully written book. This book contains great useful information on how to locate and search for your long lost ancestors in Germany. With Mr. Hansen's guide, you too can begin an amazing journey of discovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks, October 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding Your German Ancestors: A Beginner's Guide (Finding Your Ancestors) (Paperback)
I so appreciate the way I can obtain books at Amazon for a good price. This book has alot to offer on this subject and I will read it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Finding Your German Ancestors: A Beginner's Guide (Finding Your Ancestors)
$9.95 $9.13
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.