Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy kids!
I was able to catch Fingerprints over the weekend at Texas Frightmare Weekend and have already pre-ordered my DVD. This movie rocked! I didn't know what to expect, and I knew it was based on a Texas urban legend, but I was surprised at where the movie took me.

The ghost kids are pretty creepy and it was great seeing actors like Loud Diamond Philips. I must...
Published on February 27, 2008 by Dolby

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the worst movie I've seen... But not far from it.
Early into it, I got the vibe this was going to be a stinker of a movie. It would occasionally seem to redeem itself because of the relatively strong performance from the main character, but then something (or someone) stupid would come along to mess it up. The biggest problem is the characters. Everyone is basically a caricature. Overly attentive and compassionate...
Published on July 13, 2011 by Alan Lau


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the worst movie I've seen... But not far from it., July 13, 2011
Early into it, I got the vibe this was going to be a stinker of a movie. It would occasionally seem to redeem itself because of the relatively strong performance from the main character, but then something (or someone) stupid would come along to mess it up. The biggest problem is the characters. Everyone is basically a caricature. Overly attentive and compassionate teacher? Check. Cold-hearted parent that suspects their child of being a junkie? Check. Horny teen punk who attacks the attractive new girl? Check. Good looking jock with the heart of gold? Check. Small-town hick cop who thinks he's Columbo? Check and mate. I could have overlooked the silly plot (most horror movies don't exactly excel at this department), but I kept marveling at how bad the characters were. Not bad acting per se (though some were doozies for sure)... Just badly written characters.

I get that its been fashionable for years now to make movies out of urban legends. Some have succeeded with the formula (Candyman comes to mind), but most movies that try, like this one, end up being worse than forgettable... I'll always remember this movie for how annoyed I was by it. Why am I giving this 2 stars instead of 1? Leah Pipes single-handedly saves it from 1-star because she puts in a pretty good performance (given the material she was handed) and did make herself into a likable lead character. Alas, she's the only very faint bright spot in this otherwise dreary movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rent, don't buy--Possible minor spoilers, May 14, 2008
This review is from: Fingerprints (DVD)
Starring Leah Pipes, Kristin Cavallari, Josh Henderson, Andrew Lawrence, Lou Diamond Phillips, and Geoffrey Lewis. I saw the preview for this movie and thought it looked promising--like a decent low-budget ghost story. It starts off interesting enough...a high school girl (Pipes) comes out of rehab and moves to the town of Emerald. Her sister (Cavallari) tells her the train tracks are haunted because a bus full of school children were hit by a train years earlier. She attempts to adjust to her new life and she catches the attention of two of her male classmates (Henderson and Lawrence). Life becomes even more complicated when she starts seeing a girl who had died in the bus crash and so she now must find out what actually happened to the children who died in the crash.

The first half builds like it will be a spooky ghost-story. The second half of the movie is were it falls apart, because all of a sudden it becomes a typical teenage slasher movie--a badly done Nightmare on Elm Street rip-off. The deaths are ridiculous and unoriginal and seem to come out of nowhere. The movie has a very made-for-t.v feel, except for the strong language. The lead actress is quite good and I always love to see Lou Diamond Philips and Geoffrey Lewis; however, some of the other actors inexperience (especially the mother) showed through too much.

Overall, if you know the tale or just want to watch it out of curiosity--rent it first. It's a two-in-a-half star movie, I just bumped it up because of the actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy kids!, February 27, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fingerprints (DVD)
I was able to catch Fingerprints over the weekend at Texas Frightmare Weekend and have already pre-ordered my DVD. This movie rocked! I didn't know what to expect, and I knew it was based on a Texas urban legend, but I was surprised at where the movie took me.

The ghost kids are pretty creepy and it was great seeing actors like Loud Diamond Philips. I must admit I thought I had predicted what was going to happen but I am happy to report I was wrong.

If you're in the mood for a good old fashioned ghost/slasher horror movie then Fingerprints should do the trick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Original Horror Movie Centering On The Ghosts Of An Old Train Crash, July 30, 2008
By 
Stephen B. O'Blenis (Nova Scotia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fingerprints (DVD)
The title of "Fingerprints" refers to the marks left by the ghosts of dead children when they make their appearance. There was a tragedy in the small town the movie takes place in when, decades ago, a train slammed into a school bus that was stalled on the tracks, killing everyone onboard; in the modern day, there's a legend that if you park a car on those tracks, it will be pushed off the tracks and to safety by an invisible prescence - only fingerprints on the bumper or car's back remain, indicating it was the ghosts of the crash victims, trying to prevent any other accident from occuring on that spot. But what's always apparantly been just an urban legend starts to come true...

The catalyst for the change comes when a girl named Melanie (well played by Leah Pipes) returns home after a stay in an out-of-town hospital. When Melanie and her friends try out the local legend, the car actually does move off the tracks. And shortly thereafter more supernatural occurences start happening. Melanie was in the hospital after an incident that left her legally dead for two minutes; it seems that her brush with death has resulted in her being able to interact with spirits more closely, and once near those haunted tracks... However, things may not be what they seem. It turns out that there are rumors that the crash all those years ago never happened at all, although how or why someone would fake something like that is unknown. In addition to the spirit appearances, new deaths start to occur as an unknown assailant begins slashing through various people connected in one way or another with the tracks and/or the legend.

"Fingerpints" blends its 'haunting' story with 'stalk-and-slash' elements very well, coming out with a distinctive movie based on a fresh storyline. And it does tie the different plot threads together in the end, leaving off with a powerful finale plus an opening for a possible follow-up (which I personally would be in favor of, although it might be tricky to reopen one of the plot threads that seems pretty much resolved). In addition to Pipes's performance, the rest of the cast does a good job too, with Lou Diamond Phillips deserving special mention for his role as a teacher/guidance counsellor at the local high school.

Aside from a couple of film festival appearances, this one went direct to DVD. Direct-to-DVD titles have an unjustly bad rep; personally I've always thought there were quite a few gems in among the weaker entries, but over the last little while the ratio of quality direct-DVD titles has been picking up. With the number of theatrically released horror movies in a bit of a dry spell, it's good to know that the original DVD releases are picking up the slack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put your Car In Neutral and Wait For the Terror to Begin, March 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fingerprints (DVD)
I just watched this movie via Amazon Prime Instant and I have to say it was excellent! THIS is a film and how a horror film SHOULD be done! Picture it: You are a teenage girl who takes some bad dope with your boyfriend. HE dies in the ambulance and you ALMOST die yourself... then end up in rehab. You have a daddy who loves you, a mom who is a total bitch (AND a bad actress), and an older sister who is actually cool! You get out of rehab to find your entire family has moved to a one horse town that if ya blink while passing through, you will miss it. The sleepy little town of Emerald has a dark secret in its' past. There was a horrible accident involving a rainy night, a school bus full of children, a malfunctioning railroad crossing, and one train. OR WAS THERE? HOW the story unfolds and who tells it is the unique part of this movie. Local legend says if you put your car in neutral and sit at the crossing, the childrens ghosts will push you across. Well, THEY PUSH! A coverup, a killer, a teen who has had a near death experience and now sees one of the children reaching out from beyond to enlist her help in getting some justice. ALL elements that make this a must see movie! If I had to take any points away it would be for the ending, as I truly believed the killer would be haunting the tracks. Watch and let me know what you think!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprising., October 9, 2008
This review is from: Fingerprints (DVD)
Fingerprints (Harry Basil, 2006)

You've heard of the After Dark Horrorfest, right? Eight movies supposedly "too scary to be released in theaters" every year that are actually one step above (or, in some painful cases, one step below) Sci-Fi Channel Original Movies? Well, every once in a while I run across a movie that would have been absolutely perfect for After Dark that they somehow missed, probably because it's too well-made to actually bear the title-- it would make all the really mediocre movies look even more mediocre than they actually are. Fingerprints struck me this way; it's not all that good a movie, being both entirely unscary and entirely predictable, and thus it's perfect After Dark fodder, but it's well-made and well-acted enough that it would stand out in a typical After Dark lineup like a glowing beacon of sanity.

Melanie (Pixel Perfect's Leah Pipes, all grown up) gets out of rehab and heads back home-- except "home" is now somewhere different, as her family moved to a new town while she was locked up. Her bubbly sister Crystal (Kristin Cavallari of the upcoming Green Flash in her first big-screen appearance) tries to help Melanie fit into the new digs as much as possible, but word got out, and the kids in her new high school already think of her as a freak. It doesn't help that it seems she sees ghosts. The town's local urban legend involves leaving one's car in neutral on a set of railroad tracks, which will encourage the ghosts of a number of children who died in a horrible bus/train collision in the fifties to push your car off the tracks, leaving fingerprints on your bumper if you've coated it in baby powder (thus the movie's name). Everyone knows it's just an urban legend (in the movie, anyway-- I've seen at least two claims that this is based on a true story, both of them, of course, in different towns), but Melanie befriends a shy youngster named Julie, who, it turns out, is not at all what she appears to be. Worse yet, kids are disappearing. Can Julie-- and, through her, Melanie-- figure out what's going on before she becomes the target?

Yeah, it's a pretty standard mystery with supernatural elements, but nothing here feels clichéd, the way that such things often do. Pipes is a decent actress, and the Cleveland Brothers' (Souls' Midnight) script gives her a good, meaty part to sink her teeth into. There's also a strong supporting cast, including Lou Diamond Phillips in his best role (as a hapless guidance counselor) in close to a decade, and Geoffrey Lewis, one of those character actors who always seems to show up at just the right time (he also showed up in one of the better After Dark releases, Wicked Little Things, the same year this was released).

A very enjoyable film all around, and one that you probably missed, given that theatrically it showed on just two screens (horror film festivals in New York and LA). It found its way to DVD earlier this year; hunt it down and give it a chance. You'll be glad you did. *** ˝
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fingerprints, February 21, 2011
This review is from: Fingerprints (DVD)
This movie was very different than what I thought it would be. I wasn't sure how good it would be because usually the better the cover looks the worse the movie actually is. This movie was actually pretty good and great for a low budget film. It did give me goose bumps a few times and had me guessing. I liked that this wasn't just a scary movie and it actually had a murder mystery to it. There was very little nudity (and when I say very little I mean one part and is like a 5 to 6 second breast shot) which I also liked because for some reason most low budget films always have a lot of nudity in it because they think it will be better or because it will get more people to watch it. There were parts when certain characters died that I was kind of like "they could have done that better," but it wasn't the way the character was killed, it was the way the character acted. There were only a couple unbelievable parts that you could tell the character lacked in acting skills, but it wasn't horrible enough for me to stop watching it. The ending was pretty good too. The only thing I didn't like about the ending was that they should have just ended it before they showed the two new characters making fun of the ghost story at the train tracks. It almost ruined the good note the ending left off on. However, this was a movie worth watching, but I would not spend more than $5 to own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ghostly Children, July 5, 2011
By 
Stan C (Independenc, MO) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fingerprints (DVD)
This was a good movie... Geared more for the teenage group but it kept me interested. It took a little while before someone died. And you will know who gets it first. I think too much attention was given to the witch of a mother. This was not an addiction recovery flick so they could have cut down on the "tough love" crap... This movie has a bit of everything, funny, corny, not real scary, and overall entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hoppin' On The Ghoul-Bus..., June 10, 2009
This review is from: Fingerprints (DVD)
A 50yo urban legend, a masked killer, and a dark secret held by an entire town combine to form the story for FINGERPRINTS. A recovering teen girl (Leah Pipes) returns to her family after rehab, only to be plunged into the middle of the ghostly mystery. Is the legend for real? Are the restless spirits of long-dead children roaming the steets of Emerald? Could be! Lou Diamond Phillips is the ill-fated school guidance counselor. Geoffrey Lewis is the town drunk (w/ a major piece of the puzzle). Also starring über-hottie Kristin Cavallari as Crystal! My goodness...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Children back for revenge, July 6, 2014
Read the reviews almost didn't watch it but was GLADE I did. Suspenseful,creepy, supernatural, ghost children, urban legend of horrific tragedy.like watching scary movies supernatural, true stories or urban legend. Since I'm on prime through Amazon I didn't have to pay for it. But would of .That's how much I liked it ! Good acting, casting,plot, directing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fingerprints
Fingerprints by Harry Basil (DVD - 2008)
$9.98 $4.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.