Customer Reviews


268 Reviews
5 star:
 (215)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Helping Your Child Learn to Read to a Syncopated Beat!
Researchers constantly find that reading to children is valuable in a variety of ways, not least of which are instilling a love of reading and improved reading skills. With better parent-child bonding from reading, your child will also be more emotionally secure and able to relate better to others. Intellectual performance will expand as well. Spending time together...
Published on October 19, 2000 by Donald Mitchell

versus
51 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT the book you know and love!
This is a nice enough board book, but be advised that it is NOT the full version of Dr. Seuss' book! They've left out several (charming!) pages of text and illustrations for the Board Book... What a disappointment to loyal fans, and how unfair to the newest generation of fans-to-be.
Published on September 14, 2005 by Tiffany Holley


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Helping Your Child Learn to Read to a Syncopated Beat!, October 19, 2000
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Researchers constantly find that reading to children is valuable in a variety of ways, not least of which are instilling a love of reading and improved reading skills. With better parent-child bonding from reading, your child will also be more emotionally secure and able to relate better to others. Intellectual performance will expand as well. Spending time together watching television fails as a substitute.
To help other parents apply this advice, as a parent of four I consulted an expert, our youngest child, and asked her to share with me her favorite books that were read to her as a young child. Hand, Hand, Fingers, Thumb was one of her picks.
What is most unusual about this early reader is that it adds a beat to make the material more memorable and fun. The story has monkeys using their hands to beat on various drums. All children will find themselves pounding on something to match the rhythm of the rhyme. "Rings on fingers. Rings on thumb. Drum drum, Drum drum, Drum drum drum." (By the way, for parents old enough to remember Ringo Starr, this does seem to be a satire on Ringo here.) That use of drumming adds a useful kinesthetic clue that will ingrain the material faster. Children start to learn to read by memorizing, and this book is unusually well designed to assist in that process.
But the main thing is that it is fun to read this book. You would have a smile on you face if you read it alone. The smile will broaden when you read with your child, in response to her or his pleasure in the book. That's a great gift for you, as well!
There are lots of jokes about musicians in here that you should enjoy. One of the beats is a play on the word "ditty" for a song. "Dum ditty, Dum ditty, Dum dum dum." Naturally, you can also read this as "Dumb song, Dumb song, Dumb dumb dumb." Your child will never know what you are laughing about.
After you have finished enjoying this very helpful and entertaining book, I suggest that you try your hand at writing and illustrating a similar one. One possible theme could be built around bees buzzing. This book alludes to humming, so you could work with that, as well.
Have many laughs, and be encouraged as a reading tutor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abridgement, August 12, 2011
In case anyone is interested, here is the text that's missing from the six pages that were cut from the Bright & Early Board Book version:

Monkeys come
And monkeys go.

Hands with handkerchiefs.
Blow! Blow! Blow!

"Hello Jack."
"Hello Jake."

Shake hands
Shake hands
Shake! Shake! Shake!

"Bye-bye Jake."
"Bye-bye Jack"

Dum ditty
Dum ditty
Whack! Whack! Whack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT the book you know and love!, September 14, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hand, Hand, Fingers, Thumb (Bright & Early Board Books) (Board book)
This is a nice enough board book, but be advised that it is NOT the full version of Dr. Seuss' book! They've left out several (charming!) pages of text and illustrations for the Board Book... What a disappointment to loyal fans, and how unfair to the newest generation of fans-to-be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this because I've read it 100 times and don't hate it, January 16, 2000
You know how some children's books you've read so many times that you just cringe when your toddler picks them out? This one I still like to read. It was a favorite of my daughter's at 8 months and is still a favorite at 20 months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our family's favorite book., April 20, 2000
By 
P. Bonoff "Yaleman" (Scarsdale, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is still our family's favorite book, after some 30 years. We had to search for it when grandson was born in 1999. Amazon's search under "monkey" actually turned it up, so we immediately sent it down to him in New Orleans. He prefers eating the book right now, but he's got the rhythm and loves the pictures. Every child would love this book. It grows on you, and excites your memory of reading. I recommend memorizing it (easy) and chanting it in the car, on a stroll, or on the pot. It's interactive in the best ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars abbreviated fun, April 12, 2006
This review is from: Hand, Hand, Fingers, Thumb (Bright & Early Board Books) (Board book)
This is a fun book to read and watch. The rhythm is easy for adults to say and children to hear. My daughter was hooked after the first read. It is not the original but an abridged version of the Dr. Suess classic. 5 stars if it was in full form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding rhythmic read-aloud for a young toddler., March 5, 2000
This review is from: Hand, Hand, Fingers, Thumb (Bright & Early Board Books) (Board book)
Grandma dug out the old dog-eared copy of this book for the 12 month old grandson. Now he is 18 months and we are very relieved to find that it is still in print, because the old one has finally been loved to pieces. The book doesn't look especially unusual, just a bunch of cute monkeys, but the rhythms are fantastic. It doesn't have flaps, or textures, or bright colors, but this was the first book he would really listen to and he still wants it read to him daily. He has many books that he loves to look at, but this is the best one for listening. The old book isn't a board book and we will replace it with the same size book. We are finding that often the board book pictures lose impact because of the reduced size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Feeling a little jipped!, November 14, 2003
By 
This review is from: Hand, Hand, Fingers, Thumb (Bright & Early Board Books) (Board book)
I was raised on this book as a child, and have only the fondest of memories. My book that I had as a child was a first edition hardback that today is quite worn, but still in great use. My 14 month old boy has adopted this book as his favorite as well. Yet, 14 month olds don't fully understand the concept of not ripping pages. So recently I purchased the board book version of Hand Hand Fingers Thumb. I was extremely disapointed that six pages from the original book were omitted! The part omitted is the 'Hello Jack, Hello Jake... and Bye Bye Jake, Bye Bye Jack, and also the Hands with hankerchiefs blow blow blow part. While the book is still a great reading and listening tool, I was very disapointed that this great little board book, that will stand my sons pounding, is abridged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Children's Book, November 10, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Hand, Hand, Fingers, Thumb (Bright & Early Board Books) (Board book)
I can read it with my eyes closed. It was my boys favorite book when they were younger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A favorite passed on to the next generation..., November 20, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hand, Hand, Fingers, Thumb (Bright & Early Board Books) (Board book)
My son would NOT sit through a book at 15 mos. old. I decided to bring out my childhood favorite. It's new name is the "Monkey Book" and it is read several times a day, every day. He's 18 mos. old now and has it memorized. The book doesn't even have to be open and he knows the next line. He loves this book so much, that sometimes he just gives the monkeys kisses as he looks at the pictures, narrating when he feels compelled. Highly recommend this book to anyone having trouble getting their young ones to appreciate reading. My son now has a love of reading that I thought would never blossom 3 months ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hand, Hand, Fingers, Thumb (Bright & Early Board Books)
Hand, Hand, Fingers, Thumb (Bright & Early Board Books) by Al Perkins (Board book - January 20, 1998)
$4.99 $3.13
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.