Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Fingerstyle Ukulele Instruction
Fred Sokolow is a great musician and instructor. This book will take the ukulele strummer into the world of ukulele fingerpicking in a very satisfying way. The material is well graded from beginner to intermediate and advanced. The various styles are clearly presented and illustrated, and the tunes used are quite well known. For those who want to take their ukulele...
Published 15 months ago by Art

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so good
Ukulele Fretboard is a great book...this book is not Lot's of weak songs with some weak singing with a few simple fingerpicking
examples enough said
Published 6 months ago by Toni Ross


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Fingerstyle Ukulele Instruction, September 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fingerstyle Ukulele - A Method & Songbook For Fingerpicking Backup & Solos (Book/CD) (Paperback)
Fred Sokolow is a great musician and instructor. This book will take the ukulele strummer into the world of ukulele fingerpicking in a very satisfying way. The material is well graded from beginner to intermediate and advanced. The various styles are clearly presented and illustrated, and the tunes used are quite well known. For those who want to take their ukulele playing to a new level, this book will serve as a very useful tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chock full of information and how to's, October 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fingerstyle Ukulele - A Method & Songbook For Fingerpicking Backup & Solos (Book/CD) (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoying working through this book. Lots of info and techniques. Will be using this as a reference for many years. The CD that is enclosed helps to explain some of the less easily understood techniques by giving great examples of what the sounds are that you are trying for.
Wish I had found it sooner...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fingerpicking method, November 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fingerstyle Ukulele - A Method & Songbook For Fingerpicking Backup & Solos (Book/CD) (Paperback)
Just now learning to play the ukulele and wanted to get beyound the chords! This is an interesting method and should be useable by anyone really wanting to take their ukulele playing to the next step.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars variety of techniques, May 23, 2014
By 
Deb (Blaine, Washington, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fingerstyle Ukulele - A Method & Songbook For Fingerpicking Backup & Solos (Book/CD) (Paperback)
Melodies are pretty basic, tabs underneath. Progressively harder ie chords for song, basic melody for song, basic melody w chords, rolls interspersed in song. Various options for playing the chords through out a song depending on time signature. ( Not different chord shapes but variations on which strings of that chord you play separately or together, in a pattern, within a bar or two. ) There's a lot in here to try. Not advanced rocket science stuff. I am intermediate self taught. I can play everything in here. It's the introduction of different ways to play the chords/rolls/styles that I liked. I can apply that to other songs I play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning to finger style picking?, November 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fingerstyle Ukulele - A Method & Songbook For Fingerpicking Backup & Solos (Book/CD) (Paperback)
It allows you to learn the basics of finger picking and play a few songs by yourself. Would choose this over Easy classical Ukulele songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every little bit helps!, March 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fingerstyle Ukulele - A Method & Songbook For Fingerpicking Backup & Solos (Book/CD) (Paperback)
I have been absorbing everything I can about learning to play a ukulele. This book is very helpful for someone like me, with very little experience. You can peek inside and immediately start practicing new techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice and Easy to Follow, June 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fingerstyle Ukulele - A Method & Songbook For Fingerpicking Backup & Solos (Book/CD) (Paperback)
I need a lot more practice, but the music is straight forward. You can read the number of frets on the strings that you hold down with your left hand and pick with the strings with your right hand. I play them slow as I read them, but will pick up the pace and get into tempo with the help of the CD that comes along with the book. I especially like the fact that it has some Blues songs like Rising Sun Blues and St. Louis Blues. Some of the chords on page 70 on MORE CHORDS! (JAZZ) are hard to form with my left hand, but in time I should be able to play them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Practical, February 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fingerstyle Ukulele - A Method & Songbook For Fingerpicking Backup & Solos (Book/CD) (Paperback)
He gets you pickin' fast and fun! I like the tunes that he uses and the CD.
I Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 1, 2014
This review is from: Fingerstyle Ukulele - A Method & Songbook For Fingerpicking Backup & Solos (Book/CD) (Paperback)
truly a work to work and develop your skills
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, October 16, 2014
By 
Angela Anobile (Fort Lauderdale, FL. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fingerstyle Ukulele - A Method & Songbook For Fingerpicking Backup & Solos (Book/CD) (Paperback)
I'm a beginner, but the explanations, especially with the CD accompaniment makes the process of learning reasonable. I didn't expect the picking style to be with multiple strings, but that is a new challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Fingerstyle Ukulele - A Method & Songbook For Fingerpicking Backup & Solos (Book/CD)
$16.99 $14.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.