Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Stephen Kellogg All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Lisa Loeb AMO Shop Now Sale

Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:$0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 13, 2011
I loved this short story. Extremely fulfilling. I haven't read a short story for a long time that was as effective as Fire In The Sky, by Joel Goldman and I do a lot of reading. This is highly recommended for readers who want to leave behind their daily grind. A +
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2014
My take......

In case it has escaped anyone’s attention, I am shamelessly padding the numbers with a lot of short fiction in order to try and hit my year end reading target of 120 books of various lengths and types. Another new author then in Joel Goldman, a three time Edgar Award nominee and the co-founder of Brash Books.

Fire in the Sky………is a short (obviously) tale set in a small town in America during the depression. Goldman packs a lot into this tale…….. friendship, lust, desire, fair-grounds, stunted prospects, bank robbers, a children’s home, fire, panic, gun play, hospitals, death and in a satisfying conclusion, a seizure of opportunity and the prospects of a brighter future as our adolescent hero takes a giant step towards manhood.

Possibly a missed chance here by Goldman as I kind of feel there was enough of a storyline going on that it deserved a longer treatment. That said a great introduction to another new-to-me author.

4 from 5

Joel Goldman’s website is here. http://www.joelgoldman.com/

You can acquire this story free by signing up to his newsletter, which is how I happened by it. Definitely an author I’ll read more from in the future.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2013
Whether it is a full-length novel or a short story, Joel Goldman can write. This is a short tale of two teenagers in depression-era Kansas City who go to the Electric Park every night to see the girls pose in the fountain. This particular night a fire breaks out and the question is posed as to who has the balls to do something. The writing is crisp and this is no more than a ten minute read
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
24 pages of excitement. By no means Goldman's best work, but a solid story nonetheless. Set in the depression, it's a quick but purposeful tale of youth, chance taking, and repeated mistakes. While a bit predictable, it's worth the read and the dollar.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2013
This was very entertaining reflection on the young at heart with a youthful vision. Some think that their hopes & dreams can be fulfilled through love and money.....that is until both run out! Left me with a void because I wanted more!!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2012
The book makes an interesting read, having it seem like the two young men are out for a good time. But then comes the page-turner. The suspense builds when the shooting starts.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2013
The story was fairly entertaining and managed to hold my interest enough to read it in two afternoons! I might recommend it to friends who like mysteries!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2013
This short stirs up the feelings of a young man within that wants to break free and run in glorious freedom!
A challenge to what life could be!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2013
Exciting and well-written story. I enjoy the author and he presents the story characters well. Looking forward to more of the author's imaginations.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2014
Love this author and am always intrigued by the story lines. Would definitely recommend if you like detective stories and suspense
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.