Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great vacation CD
This is one of the very few tribute albums that really works. Some of the best known Dead tunes are given a fresh new look. Even if you're not a big fan of the Dead, you'll probably like this CD, due to the sheer fun and tunefulness of the music. This is a great CD to play while on the beach or anywhere near the water. My favorite was 'Uncle John's band'; the...
Published on January 12, 2000 by Erik Vitols

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars reggae is dead
This album of reggae covers of grateful dead songs is a bit flat -- none of the songs are really gripping.
Published 14 months ago by Stephen J. Millner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great vacation CD, January 12, 2000
By 
Erik Vitols (San Antonio, TX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fire On The Mountain: Reggae Celebrates The Grateful Dead (Audio CD)
This is one of the very few tribute albums that really works. Some of the best known Dead tunes are given a fresh new look. Even if you're not a big fan of the Dead, you'll probably like this CD, due to the sheer fun and tunefulness of the music. This is a great CD to play while on the beach or anywhere near the water. My favorite was 'Uncle John's band'; the original was good, I think the remake here is even better. Very highly recommended, especially if you like Bob Marley, or if you like to sit on a tropical beach with umbrella drinks in both hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lively and joyous, May 18, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Fire On The Mountain: Reggae Celebrates The Grateful Dead (Audio CD)
The Reggae musicians recorded here seem immediately comfortable with the Dead's material. I guess that shouldn't be a big surprise--it's loose and open. The passion and joy in this music did surprise me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent material, excellent reggae music - a winner!, June 13, 2001
By 
S. Guernsey "sguernsey" (North Yarmouth, ME USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fire On The Mountain: Reggae Celebrates The Grateful Dead (Audio CD)
I just heard this CD last weekend being played between sets at a club I was gigging at. It knocked me out. Each song was rendered with heartfelt passion to both the material (Dead songs) and the genre (Reggae). There wasn't anything phoney, forced or "wrong" about it. It just worked to the point of near perfection. I saved the fifth star for the original writers and performers - The Greatful Dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judy Mowatt great, April 11, 2000
By 
This review is from: Fire On The Mountain: Reggae Celebrates The Grateful Dead (Audio CD)
I loved Judy Mowatt's (one of Bob Marley's backup singers) version of Row Jimmy Row. Brings alive the deep soulfulness of many Dead tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dreads do the Dead, January 16, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fire On The Mountain: Reggae Celebrates The Grateful Dead (Audio CD)
Excellent covers of Grateful Dead songs by artists who have as much fun playing as The Dead did. Easy to smile when reggae music is coming out of my speakers with lyrics I know know by heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars reggae is dead, October 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fire On The Mountain: Reggae Celebrates The Grateful Dead (Audio CD)
This album of reggae covers of grateful dead songs is a bit flat -- none of the songs are really gripping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A splendid combination of Reggae and Grateful dead magic, July 8, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Fire On The Mountain: Reggae Celebrates The Grateful Dead (Audio CD)
Truly some of the best Grateful Dead inspired music recorded. Brings a fresh breath of life into some of the best songs of all time, not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fire On The Mountain: Reggae Celebrates The Grateful Dead (Audio CD)
100% satisfied
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT A BIG GREATFUL DEAD FAN, December 21, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fire On The Mountain: Reggae Celebrates The Grateful Dead (Audio CD)
I'm not a big Greatful Dead fan, I sure enjoy this version though. This is more my style. I actually like this much better then the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PAINFUL, December 16, 2003
This review is from: Fire On The Mountain: Reggae Celebrates The Grateful Dead (Audio CD)
This music is good for making sleep. I want to return this music CD but i can not find my receipt. (*&)(*&&)(*&!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.